Should the AFL have kept Waverley??

All it needed was a train line. It's not far at all from Glen Waverley. Just needed to extend the train line down the Monash, which is what definately needs to be done anyway. It's Melbourne's growth corridor. The AFL won't stop the talk about "extending the game in the growth areas of the nation" and this area is one of them. It just needed a bit of an upgrade to the scoreboard, and some facilities.

It's the AFL's fault that there are thousands of empty seats in the MCC reserve? :confused:

Yep. Unable to negotiate a speedy release of seats.

Football may have paid for much of the redevelopment, but it is the MCC's ground to run. I doubt they give a shit how many of the worst seats in the ground aren't filled.

Yep. Unable to negotiate a speedy release of seats.

Over an area to which they have no control.

Football may have paid for much of the redevelopment, but it is the MCC's ground to run. I doubt they give a shit how many of the worst seats in the ground aren't filled.

An incredibly arrogant viewpoint given the MCC doesn't own the ground, they run it on behalf of the Victorian government, i.e the Victorian people.

Wouldn't be a bad vote getter for a pollie to get on their back about it.

Not only Glen Waverley station close by......Wellington/North Rd (same road) goes from Brighton beach right thru to the mountains.........how many roads in Melbourne do that!!......along the way the road passes over the Frankston railway line and Sandringham line, also the Dandenong/Packenham? line ..... get off there, catch a bus straight up North rd, and whammo, at VFL Park.....could have opened up the areas (transport wise) from the beach right up to the mountains and along the sth east. corridor........very short sighted indeed by the AFL.....there will be a time that they regret it........

Agree, it was a cold and windy place.....but, by god, I've frozen at MCG too!..... many times!..........when you're cold, you're cold I reckon....doesn't matter where you are....... we really miss going there....it was so close to us and convenient..

Over an area to which they have no control.

An incredibly arrogant viewpoint given the MCC doesn't own the ground, they run it on behalf of the Victorian government, i.e the Victorian people.

Wouldn't be a bad vote getter for a pollie to get on their back about it.
Actually the Melbourne Cricket ground run the ground on behalf ot the State of Victoria as its on Crown Land = US the taxpayers and the MCC only are ground managers. The MCC has NEVER owned the MCG.

token effort from demetriou

reality is he wouldn't be on 1.2 mil a year if waverly park was diluting the competition and taking 70k games off 46k "sell-out" telstra dome

I remember in 1997, we went to Waverly to the Anzac Day match for us against Hawthorn.
Cold and windy, but it had character.
both teams were winless as i recall - ken judge left without doing a press conference because everyone wanted northey's head after the hawks won a scrappy one.

Still waiting for that train line that was promised when Waverly was built, might be there one day

This.
I would have been happy to see another stadium built, lets say around Cranbourne or somewhere close to a train station to replace Waverley Park but to actually kill it off and build another one in the city instead was disgusting. Especially when it cuts the size of second ground in Melbourne down to only around 50,000 capacity. Many people from the Gippsland region, Mornington Peninsula and outer south eastern suburbs would have gone but now probably do not bother going to footy with needing to travel all the way into Docklands and forced to cue and then travel all the way home again. Love to know the figures of people lost to going to the footy because of this that were happy to goto Waverley as was way more central location for them.

I think all those rich people who live out in brighton should start using there bloody mcc memberships. grrrr bloody rich people!.

Rich people don't waste their time living in Brighton. At best, they look at Brighton as they drive their Holland & Holland Range Rovers from Toorak down to their holiday houses in Portsea.

:eek: :D ;)

How big was the field at Waverly? I was watching an old VFL match on Youtube (1986 Fitzroy vs Essendonn) not so long ago and there was about 20 metres between the 50m arc and the centre square and the goals were about 15m in from the fence. It looked massive. Was the centre square smaller then?

The playing surface was massive. Built when the idea that bigger was the way to go. During its final years the goals were bought in from the fence to make the playing surface similar to the mcg.
( I loved the place, spent heaps of my childhood going to games and played junior footy on it)

Should the AFL have kept Waverley??