Showdown 17

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

bringbackbucky said:
Crows full list vs Ports half list - should be a close game...

Pfft, get your hand off it mate.

Port are missing 7 from their best 22.

Crows will be missing 4 (if Hart out) from their best 22.

But by all means keep reading those Rucci articles, good for a laugh.

Well like most I don't think we have a great chance of winning.

However, we have a very sizeable advantage in midfield but that's about it. Assuming K Cornes plays on Bunji, if we move him into the forward line then effectively Port's midfield consists of Kingsley, Francou, Cassisi, James, Cochrane. Considering James and Francou are still pretty underdone I would be expecting Roo, Edwards, Goody, Reilly and Thompson to give us a sizeable advantage in the middle. Granted the ruckman will bring that advantage back a touch but we still have to exploit Port's weakness. If they do however, decide to run Cornes in the middle then Macca could be very dangerous up forward, I don't see anyone who will take him out of the game like Cornes can.

Port should have it all over our forwards. If we bomb it long into contested situations in our forward line like on Sunday, C Cornes will have an absolute field day and will take about 20 marks. We have to keep it away from Chad as much as we can and if that means going wide then so be it. If Chadf starts getting into the game and reading the play we are ********ed and have no chance of winning. He will eat our forward line alive if our delivery becomes too predictable.

Port's forward line is a worry but I think our defence can break even if they work hard. I will be doing my bit for the team by making Tredders my captain in dream team, hopefully putting the mockers on him. :D

I don't think this game is unwinnable by any stretch, I think we can win in the middle comfortably but unfortunately I see us having something like double the inside 50's of Port yet half the scoring shots.

Port by 4 goals, C Cornes BOG.

Would also love to see VB debut in this game. Nothing like giving him probably our most intense game of the year presuming we don't play finals as his debut. Would be a great experience for the young guy.

Also hoping Scooter Thompson shows Port what they missed out on in trade week.

Stiffy_18 said:
Am I the only one here that thinks Doughty will not get dropped?????? :confused:

Craig has shown enourmous confidence in him. Sure he has had a stinker on the weekend but in all honesty he is better than that. Something tells me NC will give him another chance especially if Hart misses with the injury.
He will not be dropped - guaranteed!!!!

The closer to Friday the more I believe we will win :D Then I will put my tips in and get the shakes and wish I had chosen Adelaide..But seriously I cant see Adelaide winning unless something dramatic happens. All I want to see from this game I guess is improvement in skill. I thought our effort has been good for both games, we have been let down by poor choice selection and poor skills

Kane McGoodwin said:
If Clarke isn't fit, should we consider Meeson? It may depend on the weather too.
IMO why not !.....The Paps will play 3 ruckman, and we need to keep them accountable. Sunday looks like being low 30's atm....so all the more reason.

bringbackbucky said:
I watched the Central v Norwood game and young Meeson is still a long way from playing AFL. Not saying he wont make it but he will take a little while to come on, as most key position players do.

Crows full list vs Ports half list - should be a close game...

Meeson's game against the mighty Dogs said just as much about Norwood's game plan, and Central's dominance after qtr time, as it did about his development.........you can't develop sitting on the bench for most of the first half..... ;)

snakebite01 said:
Assuming K Cornes plays on Bunji, if we move him into the forward line then effectively Port's midfield consists of Kingsley, Francou, Cassisi, James, Cochrane. Considering James and Francou are still pretty underdone I would be expecting Roo, Edwards, Goody, Reilly and Thompson to give us a sizeable advantage in the middle.

Very good idea. Although I think if this happened Port would probably leave Cornes in the midfield and play someone else on McLeod while he's up forward. Worth a try though because it may cause them a few problems.

**** said:
Very good idea. Although I think if this happened Port would probably leave Cornes in the midfield and play someone else on McLeod while he's up forward. Worth a try though because it may cause them a few problems.

That's the thing though. If they leave Kane in the middle and we have McLeod in the forward line, is there anyone who can really go with McLeod as a backman for Port? I don't think so.

snakebite01 said:
That's the thing though. If they leave Kane in the middle and we have McLeod in the forward line, is there anyone who can really go with McLeod as a backman for Port? I don't think so.

Walsh would be the one that would pick him up, and he had a great game for Port on Sturday night. He goes alright, does Walsh.

He'll need to though, if he gets Macca, which IMO is a real chance.

firstly there is no way IMO that Meeson will play on the weekend - VB MAYBE but only if we are desperate - NC may want to play youngsters but he does not want to be flogged - that is no much unwanted attention.

we keep mentioning keeping it away from cornes ( this is easy to do in theory )Cornes is going to start on Perrie we all know that, I think its time we started playing out forward line through hentchel who the Power may have difficulty manning up basically we need hetnschel playing the HFF type role around 70 metres out insisting perrie lead to the top of the 50 m arc every lead 1 )giving room to our forwards 2) keep Cornes out of the hole.

eventually Cornes is going to lose intrest in following perrie around and try and plug the hole - with hentshel perhaps the only football brained player in our forward line it doesnt take an expert to kick it to the free man made by Cornes filling the hole. (either that or get perrie to run through cornes early to put him off his game). I dont have much time for the Power backline apart from Cornes and wakelin who will probably we a major problem unless hudson and Biglands rest in the forward line !

what i'm saying is hentschel has to become the go to man in the forward line. (and dont kick it to perrie unless he is miles free)

also IMO use Jericho this week

Doughty = Dropped. This is a MUST. You can't have people giving that type of effort at any stage in any game, let alone when a game is in the balance! If he isn't dropped, you can pencil the crows in to remain crap for the next 3 years (or as long as NC is coach!) Think of the precident is sets if he is allowed to remain in the team!
Another thought for this week, Mattner on Francou - injuring players with good tackles is his main asset! Francou would be thinking twice about that knee!
In: Begley, ?, ? - I couldn't come up with other options assuming Clarke, Torney & Burton are no good (although I hear Torney is a possibility) - Van Berlo = not yet, at least not in this game (although I think he will be picked)
Out: Doughty, Hart, Skipworth - Can we also drop Welsh for being weak as with his 'watch me fall over when the pressure is on' act? Probably not when I can only come up with one realistic in!

DJ75 said:
Doughty = Dropped. This is a MUST. You can't have people giving that type of effort at any stage in any game, let alone when a game is in the balance! If he isn't dropped, you can pencil the crows in to remain crap for the next 3 years (or as long as NC is coach!) Think of the precident is sets if he is allowed to remain in the team!
WAY WAY too prepmature to make that statement. If Doughty gets dropped it could also show that NC is trigger happy and over-reactive. If Doughty has a poor one against Port then you drop him but dropping him for this week would show a lack of beleif by the coach IMHO.
DJ75 said:
Another thought for this week, Mattner on Francou - injuring players with good tackles is his main asset! Francou would be thinking twice about that knee!
No way in hell. Mattner would get murdered. While underdone, Francou is still one of the quickest thinkers in traffic that there is. His ability to sell dummies to players in congested situations is second to none. For this alone Mattner is a completely wrong match up IMHO. Mattner is not footy smart and he would get murdered running with someone who is an inside midfielder.

Stiffy_18 said:
No way in hell. Mattner would get murdered. While underdone, Francou is still one of the quickest thinkers in traffic that there is. His ability to sell dummies to players in congested situations is second to none. For this alone Mattner is a completely wrong match up IMHO. Mattner is not footy smart and he would get murdered running with someone who is an inside midfielder.

What he said

I think Shirley will tag Francou.

Stiffy_18 said:
Wanganeen ;)

or even Walsh

Meh I wouldn't mind it if Wanganeen took McLeod. History suggests Wangas can take a player out of a game brilliantly ala Phil Matera in '03 but that completely limits his rebound, which would be good for us. Conversely if his role in the side is for rebound out of defence he tends to play pretty loose.

snakebite01 said:
Meh I wouldn't mind it if Wanganeen took McLeod. History suggests Wangas can take a player out of a game brilliantly ala Phil Matera in '03 but that completely limits his rebound, which would be good for us. Conversely if his role in the side is for rebound out of defence he tends to play pretty loose.

I wouldn't mind either. Wanganeen is a far more dangerous forward these days than he is a defender. I'd love to see him play on McLeod...what a battle that would be between a couple of out-and-out champs.

I reckon Hentschel may loom as our key this week. If as expected, Cornes takes Perrie, Wakelin takes Biglands or our resting ruckman and Monty takes Sqwelsh then that leaves the inexperienced Pettigrew or Chaplin on Trent. I know who I'd be backing in for 3 or 4. Not saying Pettigrew or Chaplin aren't any good, just inexperienced, and Trent -as we all know - is starting to well and truely get the hang of this AFL caper.

In defence, I'm guessing Stiffy will pick up Ebert or Wanganeen, Bassett to pick up White, Kenny will get Tredrea and Rutten the resting ruckman.

Our wildcard off the bench will be Mark Stevens. He normally plays pretty well versus The Power.

mymansyd said:
I wouldn't mind either. Wanganeen is a far more dangerous forward these days than he is a defender. I'd love to see him play on McLeod...what a battle that would be between a couple of out-and-out champs.

I reckon Hentschel may loom as our key this week. If as expected, Cornes takes Perrie, Wakelin takes Biglands or our resting ruckman and Monty takes Sqwelsh then that leaves the inexperienced Pettigrew or Chaplin on Trent. I know who I'd be backing in for 3 or 4. Not saying Pettigrew or Chaplin aren't any good, just inexperienced, and Trent -as we all know - is starting to well and truely get the hang of this AFL caper.

In defence, I'm guessing Stiffy will pick up Ebert or Wanganeen, Bassett to pick up White, Kenny will get Tredrea and Rutten the resting ruckman.

Our wildcard off the bench will be Mark Stevens. He normally plays pretty well versus The Power.

I dont think the Power would play Monty on Welsh. Monty generally prefers it across half back where he can set up play, I think Welsh is too quick from the goal front and would probably exploit Monty's lack of speed.

That leaves maybe Walsh? Walsh was great in running down the ground and setting up play last week, and the week before when forced to play tight on Farmer did a reasonable job as well.

Stiffy_18 said:
Spot on with those comments Stiffy.

I'll actually suggest he won't be tagged but Thompson to be his opponent

Stiffy_18 said:
Am I the only one that would play Rutten on Tredders and McGregor on the resting ruckman?????? :confused:
Yes ;)

Rutten as a similar player is too short and physically not strong enough for Tredrea.
Best bet will be to play a different player type than Tredrea - would it be outrageous given his poor form to suggest M.Stevens?
Having made his name with the Crows as a backman it may be the injection he needs.

Wayne's-World said:
Yes ;)

Rutten as a similar player is too short and physically not strong enough for Tredrea.
Best bet will be to play a different player type than Tredrea - would it be outrageous given his poor form to suggest M.Stevens?
Having made his name with the Crows as a backman it may be the injection he needs.
Rutten physically not strong enough??????:confused:

Surely you jest.

With McGregors poor form of late and VERY poor showing against half switched on Tredrea in the pre-season game, I would be VERY worried if he got given the job.

Rutten for me ;)

Stiffy_18 said:
Am I the only one that would play Rutten on Tredders and McGregor on the resting ruckman?????? :confused:

I guess the question over Rutten on Tredrea would be can the 'truck' keep up with Tredrea on the lead??? He will get murdered if Rutten cant keep up with him, Rutten will go alright one on one with Tredrea but mmmmmmmmm Tredrea on the burst :eek:

Stiffy_18 said:
Rutten physically not strong enough??????:confused:

Surely you jest.

With McGregors poor form of late and VERY poor showing against half switched on Tredrea in the pre-season game, I would be VERY worried if he got given the job.

Rutten for me ;)
Big does not = Strength

Rutten has definitely not shown any inclination as a strong body on body player.
He will be thrashed one on one with Tredrea WHO IS Physically much stronger and DOES play that strong bodying game very very well.

Play Rutten on him at your peril!!