Showdown 17

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

johnnypanther said:
final 22 named: Shirley, Torney, Van Berlo are playing (Ladhams misses out)
So S Stevens, Bock & Ladhams are emergencies then.

Kane McGoodwin said:
So S Stevens, Bock & Ladhams are emergencies then.
Then why was Begley named in the Sturt Side???

Would suggest Ladhams is playing

DJ75 said:
Oh, of course we would have to actually be able to use the ball! Doh'

Hey and I've hit 100 posts.....I wonder if I'll get a telegram from the Queen?

She's still working on the one for her son's wedding ... ;)

Wayne's-World said:
Then why was Begley named in the Sturt Side???

Would suggest Ladhams is playing

I have a theory that Brenton Phillips has AFL player dyslexia and meant to name Chaplin there.

Mad Dog said:
yep - this would be a worry .... :(

Not necessarily given the predicted temperature for the day of 38c. I reckon you need smaller players in those conditions. Certainly will be interesting as midfield rotations are going to be crucial to the outcome and I reckon we have better rotation options than the PAPs given their injuries and suspensions.

kirky said:
Not necessarily given the predicted temperature for the day of 38c. I reckon you need smaller players in those conditions. Certainly will be interesting as midfield rotations are going to be crucial to the outcome and I reckon we have better rotation options than the PAPs given their injuries and suspensions.

Actually, the forecast for Sunday is 28 with showers expected. This may explain why we've picked a 'shorter' team.

I, personally, hope Ladhams plays..the guy has got alot to prove. What better stage (aside from a final) than a Showdown.

Crows must attack Port: Ricciuto
6:00:44 PM Fri 8 April, 2005
Alan Shiell
Sportal for afl.com.au
An aggressive, defiant Mark Ricciuto believes Adelaide must 'keep attacking' Port Adelaide in Sunday's Showdown XVII at AAMI Stadium.

The Crows' captain said this meant 'just basically playing attacking footy all over the ground, whether it be at stoppages or up forward - basically not getting dictated to by the way they want to play the game'.

"We need to improve in a lot of areas," he said of how Adelaide could boost its 5-11 record against Port.

"I think the main thing is we've got to make sure we keep attacking Port. I think a lot of sides fall into the trap that they don't try to take them on, they don't try to get at them. We've probably been a little bit guilty of that in the past so I think we'll be attacking them a lot more this weekend.

"We've got to find a balance and refine our team pattern a lot. We've probably been getting a bit too many guys behind the ball lately, so there'll be a bit of a balance with that this week and we certainly need options across half-forward.

"If we're going to win the ball at half-back, we need to be able to move it through half-forward instead of just bombing it in to the (Chad) Cornes area.

"That's a whole team's job to do. We've got to look and find the players who are loose across half-forward. Obviously the guy who plays on Chad has got to present himself so he can be used, so pretty much everyone's got a role to play in that area."

Asked whether Adelaide had the players to go with Port if the game got physical, Ricciuto said: "Physical is all about at the ball so we've surely got players who can go hard at the ball and win our fair share - there's no doubt about that. I don't think they've got anyone too tough that we have to worry about."

And Ricciuto also was surprisingly provocative when asked whether it was to the Crows advantage that the Power had a number of young players in its line-up.

"Yeah, I think it is," he said. "Sometimes younger players can struggle a little bit. They might puff their chests out and get around and be confident early, but, as we said, there's going to be some hard-fought balls to be won and I think a few of their players might struggle in that area."

And when asked, facetiously, whether he would miss his former regular showdown antagonist Josh Carr, Ricciuto replied, with tongue in cheek initially: "Ah yeah, for sure. Josh and I are good mates, so I'm sure I'll catch up with him when we play Freo. But I think Port are missing him a bit and it'll be interesting to see how they handle it if, as I think, we can turn the tables on them there."

Ricciuto described possible opponent Domenic Cassisi as 'a good tagger' and added: "He's done some big jobs lately so it might either be him or Kane Cornes or (Adam) Kingsley or someone like that, so I'll just have to crack in and give them as much and more as they give me."

Was losing by a big margin his biggest fear?

"You don't think about losing games, you think about winning games, and we're certainly very confident we can win this weekend," he said.

And of taunts that the Crows were playing 'ugly football', Ricciuto said: "People can think what they like. We probably were a bit ugly last week but we got the points and, as I said, we're refining our pattern and we're getting better at that and we'll continue to get better."

On Port's superior showdown record, he said: "They've been a very good club for probably three or four years, and probably not too many teams have beaten them, so it's not as if we're not the only ones who haven't beaten them. But, as I said before, we've probably been guilty of not doing a few things properly in the last couple of years, and hopefully we can address that on Sunday."

How much had Adelaide coach Neil Craig made of the rivalry?

"Not much at all," Ricciuto said. "Craigy likes us to play focused footy and hard footy at the ball, and not get sucked into any other areas that Port might try to do, so we'll make sure we do that."

Ricciuto described as 'a great honour' his qualifying for automatic AFL life membership by playing his 300th official match this weekend.

"You never expect to play 300 games or even 200 games," he said. "It comes upon you pretty quickly. It's a big milestone, one I'm very proud of, and hopefully my family are, and it would be great to have a win."

Id like to see the crows win to stick it up the Port Power fans! [and Mark Williams]

So the Crows are going to attack our younger players? Will Riccuito lose the plot for another showdown? Will these comments spark the biggest all in brawl seen on a footy field? Maybe maybe not, but its clear this showdown is gonna get bloody physical.

As for us not having any tough ball players...well, we'll just have to see what happens, but im not at all worried about supposedly lacking any tough footballers. These sorta comments have bitten the Crows on the arse 2 or 3 times before against us so we'll see what happens on the field.

Im still tipping the Crows will win. I think it will be relatively low scoring but not a close game. Either Port will win by a lot or the Crows will win by a lot. At work ive tipped the Crows by 37 points. Riccuito can go on about a tough fast all out attack gameplan...but this is what Neil Craig said all pre season and all ive seen of the Crows is the most defensive minded football Adelaide has ever played in its history. I think defensively is where the Crows will win it. I think you will continue to drop 2-3 men into our forward line like you did in the first two rounds to stop Tredrea getting any space on a lead.
Im not sure if the Crows will kick a big score, but if they do go small and fast then we may be in a little bit of trouble...tho bringning in Wilson and Poulton will help that out. I think the scoreline will end up 12.9 to 5.14

Edwards for the medal.

Very very disappointed this morning to hear Russell Ebert, who I've always rated as one of the all-time great footballers and fair-minded commentators, lower his standards to that of his fellow Port worshipper and B grade journalist, Michaelangelo Rucci.

Russell opened up the sports show on 5AA by referring to Roo's comments and proceeded to issue a series of snide denigratory remarks, rubbishing the Crows individually by name, and saying in mock fear that he was trembling in his boots.

Well I have news for you Russell - you're not playing to day. And I hope the individual Crow players such as Perrie, Hentschel etc heard your comments about them to day.

Russell, you know full well that such types of comments have been made by EVERY team before important games. The club that you come from has been the master of such statements - win, lose or draw.

Another illusion in life shattered. I thought he was above it, but deep down, Russell is nothing but another loud-mouthed smart-arsed Port feral. :(

Macca19 said:
So the Crows are going to attack our younger players? Will Riccuito lose the plot for another showdown? Will these comments spark the biggest all in brawl seen on a footy field? Maybe maybe not, but its clear this showdown is gonna get bloody physical.

As for us not having any tough ball players...well, we'll just have to see what happens, but im not at all worried about supposedly lacking any tough footballers. These sorta comments have bitten the Crows on the arse 2 or 3 times before against us so we'll see what happens on the field.

Macca, you know football well enough to know that teams shoot their mouths off before games, and talk themselves up.

How many times does this translate into actual deeds - about 1 in a 1000?

Games are never won at press conferences.

It'll just be the normal hard gritty showdown with all players trying to get the ball, with NOBODY targetted physically.

Macca19 said:

Im still tipping the Crows will win. I think it will be relatively low scoring but not a close game. Either Port will win by a lot or the Crows will win by a lot. At work ive tipped the Crows by 37 points. Riccuito can go on about a tough fast all out attack gameplan...but this is what Neil Craig said all pre season and all ive seen of the Crows is the most defensive minded football Adelaide has ever played in its history. I think defensively is where the Crows will win it. I think you will continue to drop 2-3 men into our forward line like you did in the first two rounds to stop Tredrea getting any space on a lead.
Im not sure if the Crows will kick a big score, but if they do go small and fast then we may be in a little bit of trouble...tho bringning in Wilson and Poulton will help that out. I think the scoreline will end up 12.9 to 5.14

Edwards for the medal.

It gives me great comfort that youve tipped us Macca19 :D

On Ricciuto; I get a bit nervous when he makes comment referring to Ports toughness...if Mark Williams doesnt post this up on the teams whiteboard before the game Im not writing this!!

Ive no doubt Roo will walk the talk along with a few others but Id rather he direct his "lets be tough at the ball" to our younger group and not intimidate the Port masses with his warcrys :mad:

I reckon the Crows can win, but they need to to make the most of thier opportunities....which means NOT bombing it to the likes of Cornes,Lade and Brogan to mop up.

Come on Macca. Hes come out and said we lack tough ball players and that we will struggle in that area. Maybe we will, maybe we wont. The point is...why would you say it and give us perfect ammunition to go in bloody hard. I cant recall any Port player coming out a press conference and calling another team soft. And as you well know Macca, showdowns have gotten very spiteful in the past. Jameson/Cummings, Jarman putting down Wilson behind the play, Burgoyne on Bassett, Riccuito and Carr numerous times, Bickley on Wakelin, Monty/Burton and now Pickett on Begley. Its a strange comment to make, especially considering the Crows arent exactly filled with tough hard players as it is.

Macca19 said:
Come on Macca. Hes come out and said we lack tough ball players and that we will struggle in that area. Maybe we will, maybe we wont. The point is...why would you say it and give us perfect ammunition to go in bloody hard. I cant recall any Port player coming out a press conference and calling another team soft. And as you well know Macca, showdowns have gotten very spiteful in the past. Jameson/Cummings, Jarman putting down Wilson behind the play, Burgoyne on Bassett, Riccuito and Carr numerous times, Bickley on Wakelin, Monty/Burton and now Pickett on Begley. Its a strange comment to make, especially considering the Crows arent exactly filled with tough hard players as it is.

Maybe I've missed something, Macca, but my take on it was that the controversial statement by Roo - which I heard on telly - was

"Yeah, I think it is," he said. "Sometimes younger players can struggle a little bit. They might puff their chests out and get around and be confident early, but, as we said, there's going to be some hard-fought balls to be won and I think a few of their players might struggle in that area."

That's a far cry from the implication that people are making that the Crows will physically target the youngsters, as in hurt them. I read it as meaning that this is the moment of truth for these youngsters to see whether they can stand the physical pressure of as showdown, and there is always plenty of that as you correctly described above.

Did I miss something? :confused:

This is the quote im bringing up:

"Physical is all about at the ball so we've surely got players who can go hard at the ball and win our fair share - there's no doubt about that. I don't think they've got anyone too tough that we have to worry about."

I dont know about you mate, but I would have thought that guys like Primus, Tredrea, Lade, Brogan, Cornesx2, James, Wilson, Wanganeen and Poulton have proven themselves over the years to consistently put their body on the line to win the football. Shattock from what i havent seen hasnt been afraid to take a backward step, nor has Pettigrew.

As i said in the other thread, we may not have the c*** factor of a Carr or Pickett at the moment, but to say we have no tough ball winners to worry about.....lets just hope these almighty tough Crows players can match his words because im more than confident in who we have out on the park to win the contested footy.

Macca19 said:
This is the quote im bringing up:

"Physical is all about at the ball so we've surely got players who can go hard at the ball and win our fair share - there's no doubt about that. I don't think they've got anyone too tough that we have to worry about."

Only a madman would query Port's hardness at the ball, especially amongst its senior players.

But like some others, I interpreted Roo's comments as meaning that the hard hurting nuts such as Hardwick, Pickett, and Carr are missing - the ones that make you nervous when you're not quite sure where they are.

Anyhow, I expect the game to be physical as they always are, and neither side to take a backward step.

And yes, the blokes you named for Port will probably be the ones that win it for them, not the juniors, which I think was really Roo's point.

we'll go around in circles all day here mate, see ill just respect your view and agree to disagree.

There hasnt been this much talk up over a Showdown in about 3 years!!! its good.

Macca19 said:
we'll go around in circles all day here mate, see ill just respect your view and agree to disagree.

There hasnt been this much talk up over a Showdown in about 3 years!!! its good.

It certainly is!!

Cheers!! ;)

Macca19 said:
Primus, Tredrea, Lade, Brogan, Cornesx2, James, Wilson, Wanganeen and Poulton have proven themselves over the years to consistently put their body on the line to win the football.

Chad Cornes is one of the softest players in your team.