Snoops Annual Mock Draft with explanations

• Thread starter Thread starter Snoop Dog

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=647838

Thought some of you might be interested in the mock draft I do. Post it up every year. Its just a view on the players I think will go in the National Draft.

Dont get upset if you dont agree - its just my view!

Gysberts at 30 (can't see him being available, but he is a 15-25 range guy).
Otherwise Travis Colyer is another who should go 20-28ish.
Nat Fyfe also an option.
And Josh Thomas definately rate higher than Carey. But if we fail to pick him I agree Hawthorn will snag him.

Alex Carey is someone I see being available at 62.

And at 62 that was also a big surprise, non that Temel is not an attractive prospect but instead becauseJasper McMillan-Pittard is still available and same with Roland Ah Chee who both strike as attractive prospects.
Personally I think Jasper McMillian-Pittard will go 28 to Geelong and Roland Ah Chee will go in the 30s, but he could drop, just don't expect as far as 62.

*Unrelated to Collingwood:
Kane Lucas at 14 :eek:
And Cunnington at 13? :confused:*

All that said I like your detailed annalysis of the prospects and respect your views anyway.

Just interested on your view but if Troy Taylor was available at pick 30 would you take him? Personally after Ball he would be my 2nd perference because he has in my view the most upside in this draft and could become something inbetween Lance Franklin and Daniel Motlop. Will have a bumpy start to his career but I see him becoming someone special at the right club, and I think we could get the best out of him. Could play a bit of a Steve Johnson type 3rd/ medium tall.

Was a Harwood fan after watching the Championships. Would he be a chance at pick 30?

I considered him a type Collingwood would like.

Yeah Lucas at 14 our Old Pick - Would of Loved Lucas.

Lucas Video's:

[YOUTUBE]hElTlpq1jzY&feature=player_embedded[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]Evsm7WokCHU&feature=player_embedded[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]mnkPSP0PWM8&feature=player_embedded[/YOUTUBE]

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=647838

Thought some of you might be interested in the mock draft I do. Post it up every year. Its just a view on the players I think will go in the National Draft.

Dont get upset if you dont agree - its just my view!

A great read mate... must have taken you from the end of the footy season to write all that up...

I REALLY think we should use pick 30 if we have to (assuming luke ball and/or welsh are taken by then) to draft Myles Sewell.

I watched him a fair bit this year and to win the Liston medal is no mean feat. It is far to risky to hope he is still there at 62. I personally would draft Sewell at 30, Temel at 62 (if still there) and Daniel Harris/Beamer Jnr/McDonald at 78.

I would be thrilled with these selections. (not unrealistic at all IMHO)

Great read Snoop, probably the most in depth and thought out phantom draft I have seen.

I am a Josh Thomas fan, but I agree with you that he may be rated slightly lower then pick 30.

I pray you are right about Temel at 62, he would be a steal that late in the draft.

Great job.:thumbsu:

i would be stoked with...

30 - Fyfe (if not i'd hope for thomas, colyer etc)
62 - Temel (too good too pas up if availiable)
78 - Beamer Jnr. (makes sense)

plus welsh in the draft :p haha

i would be stoked with...

30 - Fyfe (if not i'd hope for thomas, colyer etc)
62 - Temel (too good too pas up if availiable)
78 - Beamer Jnr. (makes sense)

plus welsh in the draft :p haha
Where would we get Welsh in the Draft?

nice job snoop id be pretty happy with carey at 30 he looks the goods. i would love jordan williams so slip to our pick 62 good rebounding defender with a lovely left foot. And what are your thoughts on byron sumner i was just watching a video of him vrs vic metro and he has a very good penetrating left foot kick which we dont really have on our list and he is also very quick wouldnt mind him slippin to pick 78.

Gysberts at 30 (can't see him being available, but he is a 15-25 range guy).
Otherwise Travis Colyer is another who should go 20-28ish.
Nat Fyfe also an option.
And Josh Thomas definately rate higher than Carey. But if we fail to pick him I agree Hawthorn will snag him.

Alex Carey is someone I see being available at 62.

And at 62 that was also a big surprise, non that Temel is not an attractive prospect but instead becauseJasper McMillan-Pittard is still available and same with Roland Ah Chee who both strike as attractive prospects.
Personally I think Jasper McMillian-Pittard will go 28 to Geelong and Roland Ah Chee will go in the 30s, but he could drop, just don't expect as far as 62.

All that said I like your detailed annalysis of the prospects and respect your views anyway.

Just interested on your view but if Troy Taylor was available at pick 30 would you take him? Personally after Ball he would be my 2nd perference because he has in my view the most upside in this draft and could become something inbetween Lance Franklin and Daniel Motlop. Will have a bumpy start to his career but I see him becoming someone special at the right club, and I think we could get the best out of him. Could play a bit of a Steve Johnson type 3rd/ medium tall.

Certainly of the view that from 30 onwards I think you would find it very difficult to seperate a lot of players. Thats why the general view is that this will be a needs based draft along with it being the last uncompromised for a while (albeit I think its compromised bc of the 17yos).

Gysberts a definite chance from 20 onwards for mine. Not sure he is what we need though
Colyer I think is a reach but his athletics background and endurance running might get him close to 25 onwards.....I would be surprised if he goes around 20 bc of the height
McMillan- Pittard - yeah some folk have him that high - I aint one.
Taylor is def option at 30 but he really is a 3rd tall so it wouldnt be a needs based pick I would have thought.
I dont think we need Fyfe either..........thats not to say he aint worthy of a pick around there but I think we have enough 3rd talls.
Re Thomas. Clearly the Pies know more than I do but on what I have seen of both I would have Carey ahead of him comfortably. Doubt Carey will be there at #62
Ah Chee is 40 onwards for me as I just dont think he probably has the upside of others but in saying that if a club have a need for his type he could go earlier

Anyway - time will tell and if there is one thing I am sure the end result will be a quite different to this.

Was a Harwood fan after watching the Championships. Would he be a chance at pick 30?

I considered him a type Collingwood would like.

very much so - he could go from #15 to be honest. He slipped for me bc I have always loved Tassie mids and ultimately they have dropped on me.

A great read mate... must have taken you from the end of the footy season to write all that up...

I REALLY think we should use pick 30 if we have to (assuming luke ball and/or welsh are taken by then) to draft Myles Sewell.

I watched him a fair bit this year and to win the Liston medal is no mean feat. It is far to risky to hope he is still there at 62. I personally would draft Sewell at 30, Temel at 62 (if still there) and Daniel Harris/Beamer Jnr/McDonald at 78.

I would be thrilled with these selections. (not unrealistic at all IMHO)

was crook for a couple of days and did it then. had the list developing since May and to be fair it hasnt changed much in last 5 wks.

yeah I am a Sewell fan and had him in my mock 3 years ago I think. Followed him closely this year and great to see him come on. I think 30 is a reach but given we dont have a pick til 62 if they want him thats when its going to have to be bc i dont think he will be there at 62.

nice job snoop id be pretty happy with carey at 30 he looks the goods. i would love jordan williams so slip to our pick 62 good rebounding defender with a lovely left foot. And what are your thoughts on byron sumner i was just watching a video of him vrs vic metro and he has a very good penetrating left foot kick which we dont really have on our list and he is also very quick wouldnt mind him slippin to pick 78.

yes i would be happy for Jordan Williams to be called out as well - if you have watched / seen him you know your junior footy. sat next to an afl recruiter at one of his games and they loved him. loads of tricks and the kick is terrific.

byron sumner I doubt will be there at 62. i have had him as high as 20. he has a lot of tricks, great pace and poise and v good skills. one of the few really quick players in the draft.

dont be surprised if collingwood call out jason tutt though!

Certainly of the view that from 30 onwards I think you would find it very difficult to seperate a lot of players. Thats why the general view is that this will be a needs based draft along with it being the last uncompromised for a while (albeit I think its compromised bc of the 17yos).

If it is that then we should go Tall instead of Mids?