Roast St Kilda in no mans land - Part 2

Idk about the Sainters but I would think finishing in that range would be considered a bit of a disaster with all the money thrown out this off season?
first season with needing to integrate players into game style? 6th would be fairly reasonable with expectations of a PF the next year

They’ve drafted well recently. The narrative they deflect from and the entire reason they’re having to do this - it has nothing to do with ‘we cannot rebuild through the draft because it’s compromised’. They stuffed up successive drafts and as a result have a big gap between the young good guys and the veterans.

All the guys they’re targeting are to address their drafting errors of the past and fill those gaps. Which is fine.

But it doesn’t sound as sexy as the draft is corrupt.
Hahaha, imagine a Brisbane supporter hung up on comments our president made a year ago about the compromised draft. What price did you guys pay for your two time NS winner and his brother? What about Annable? No wonder you're so defensive!

No one at St Kilda - not Bassat, not Ross, not SOS, none of the fans - is pretending we didn't draft shockingly for over 10 years. We know exactly why our list was the way it was a couple of years ago, and its got little to do with anything else other than our own poor selection and development (and our ex-players' inability to sire male offspring of discernable talent). Most of the people responsible have been moved out of the club.

Brisbane have a nice racket with their academy and you'd be a fool to deny it. You've also drafted well recently. The tide turned after a few years for the Lions due to a decent coaching plan and the club developing its quality talent and we feel at the Saints the tide is starting to turn for us too.

Garcia has pretty much taken Steele's spot in the side, Owens has played KPF which has been via necessity but still is making impact, Wilson spent time in the 2's after a meh year but he came back a best career game vs GWS after a pretty good first year, same with Phillipou who again 2023 was good, hit the ressies but then late 2024 had the form, sadly injured this year but even then came back late/

The club has a young list and has pumped a lot of games into younger players.
But when we say 'develop', we're talking about maximising their potential aren't we?

Not just turning talented kids into decent players.

Again with the rant, want to try again? (PS this the out you should take)

You cannot deny that NWM, Windhager, Owens, Garcia, Caminiti, Hall, Boxhall, Phillipou, Wilson have been developed across the last 3 seasons (How many names do you actually know?)
Are they any good? They haven't done as well as the previous 3 seasons? Rant? It's just an opinion, i know Saints fans won't like that opinion, but it certainly is no rant, it's based on facts. Now, if the Saints got themselves a good progressive coach who knows how to engage with players, the fans and the media with a game plan to go with it they might get somewhere...Of the players listed only NWM has come through as a possible elite player, the rest are just plodding along! 2026 is a make or break for the Saints IMO, if they don't make the top 8, they must give Ross the boss the heave ho!

Well you ignored the out and it is beyond clear that you don't watch St Kilda games.

Surprisingly young sides rebuilding tend not to be good as a mature side that is basic common sense and when rebuilding sides are not north ir west coast tier it helps build culture and with good cap management st kilda can attack in the off season.

Except it's not a fact. It just you loudly exclaiming that you are uninformed about the current St Kilda list and youth.

Well you ignored the out and it is beyond clear that you don't watch St Kilda games.

Surprisingly young sides rebuilding tend not to be good as a mature side that is basic common sense and when rebuilding sides are not north ir west coast tier it helps build culture and with good cap management st kilda can attack in the off season.

The team you rolled out against us this year was old as **** and absolute trash.

26.3yo on average. 🤮

Hahaha, imagine a Brisbane supporter hung up on comments our president made a year ago about the compromised draft. What price did you guys pay for your two time NS winner and his brother? What about Annable? No wonder you're so defensive!

No one at St Kilda - not Bassat, not Ross, not SOS, none of the fans - is pretending we didn't draft shockingly for over 10 years. We know exactly why our list was the way it was a couple of years ago, and its got little to do with anything else other than our own poor selection and development (and our ex-players' inability to sire male offspring of discernable talent). Most of the people responsible have been moved out of the club.

Brisbane have a nice racket with their academy and you'd be a fool to deny it. You've also drafted well recently. The tide turned after a few years for the Lions due to a decent coaching plan and the club developing its quality talent and we feel at the Saints the tide is starting to turn for us too.

Are the compromised drafts in the room with us right now?

Again, Ross Lyon does not have a good track record of developing players, it appears he has some mystical hold on the Saints administration and now they are desperately trying to fill out that list with some good B listers? I understand Saints fans will fall for this also, but the real problem is Lyon is an overrated coach in charge of a fairly dud list. Now they are trying to justify his return by buying up big in the hope they finish 8th next year? If this all falls flat and it most likely will, the Saints should look at a merger with the newly formed Tasmania? From Saints to Devils, it might work?
Any hope you had of not sounding like a moron really dropped away with this line.

Yeh weve been uber aggressive to compliment the kids we drafted for and weve retained all our best talent, would you prefer we just did nothing? Maybe YOU would but i can tell you saints fans (and not all of us are Ross fanbois) are very happy with what were doing.

Obviously if we dont move up the ladder this year then well rightly be heavily scrutinized but merging with Tassie.

Jog on mate.

Any hope you had of not sounding like a moron really dropped away with this line.

Yeh weve been uber aggressive to compliment the kids we drafted for and weve retained all our best talent, would you prefer we just did nothing? Maybe YOU would but i can tell you saints fans (and not all of us are Ross fanbois) are very happy with what were doing.

Obviously if we dont move up the ladder this year then well rightly be heavily scrutinized but merging with Tassie.

Jog on mate.

If anyone should merge with Tasmania it should be Geelong, they're the club closest to Hobart.

I've been hard on the Saints at times but it comes from a place of wanting to see them finally gain relevance

be an interesting exercise to get a bunch of us in a room and we have to detail an off season plan and put to the Saints board
aim - break the cycle of being in no mans land
option 1) go to the draft (7,49,64) ,aim for incremental improvement
option 2) look for FA and trades , again aim for incremental improvement
option 3) go hard for FA and trades , throw money around generate a WOW, creating hope within the Club and interest outside it

well,credit it to them , they are into option 3) balls and all

that old saying "fortune favours the brave"
it well may , but it also chops others up into little pieces

grab your popcorn

be an interesting exercise to get a bunch of us in a room and we have to detail an off season plan and put to the Saints board
aim - break the cycle of being in no mans land
option 1) go to the draft (7,49,64) ,aim for incremental improvement
option 2) look for FA and trades , again aim for incremental improvement
option 3) go hard for FA and trades , throw money around generate a WOW, creating hope within the Club and interest outside it

well,credit it to them , they are into option 3) balls and all

that old saying "fortune favours the brave"
it well may , but it also chops others up into little pieces

grab your popcorn
Option 4) don't be the only team to lose a game to West Coast in a season

That loss kept Carlton above us on the ladder and meant that we didn't get pushed back in the draft order by the TDK compensation. That compensation given because the player that finished 6th in the Carlton best and fairest joined St Kilda.
And because we got that better pick we used it to pick up Sam Flanders who Carlton wanted to recruit.
Not such a bad h&a loss in the big picture. Will be forgotten in time like Carlton getting rolled by Richmond.

That loss kept Carlton above us on the ladder and meant that we didn't get pushed back in the draft order by the TDK compensation. That compensation given because the player that finished 6th in the Carlton best and fairest joined St Kilda.
And because we got that better pick we used it to pick up Sam Flanders who Carlton wanted to recruit.
Not such a bad h&a loss in the big picture. Will be forgotten in time like Carlton getting rolled by Richmond.
Flanders chose St Kilda for the money and nothing else

I remember a time where Carlton used to flash the cash to interstate players, get them on form 4s and brag about winning heaps of flags.
Now paying players more is shameful to the blosers?
We must've really loaded up on the contract to get Flanders to walk away from what the blues are cooking.

Roast St Kilda in no mans land - Part 2