Steven Baker found guilty

Fair enough. It is hard to argue against that logic. Weird and random is a bad combination if you're at the wrong end of it.

Actually, we were on the right end of it with that horrible decision in tassie in rd 2 2005 when hammil won the game for us by a point....

i don't know what all the fuss is about. I think the tribuneral finally got something right. Looking at the results of the incident (farmer's face) and it is plainly obvious that...
a) it was high contact
b) it was high impact
c) reckless

I'ts not the first time baker has been involved in a reckless striking incident behind the play or off the ball so he got what he finally deserved.

Wrong.All the AFL stipulates is Trainer,s have to have First Aid.

I work as a time keeper for a vfl club we are classed as club officials and VFL officials doesn't matter whether you are a trainer, assistant coach,manager as long as your name is on the team sheet when it is handed in. This also applys for the AFL as well.

Obviously St Kilda do not know the rules of the game. Rules clearly state you cannot apply a shepherd/block otside 5 metres of the ball. By admitting he did Baker has admitted he broke the rules which is reckless and therefore he is guilty.

Once he was guilty of a reckless act, the grading comes in:

1. High contact
2. Behind play

Therefore maximum points, plus a loading for his record and carried over points and you get to 7 pretty easy. St Kilda will lose the appeal as the facts are correct, after all Baker agreed to them, the Freo trainers evidence etc has nothing to do with the verdict.

i don't know what all the fuss is about. I think the tribuneral finally got something right. Looking at the results of the incident (farmer's face) and it is plainly obvious that...
a) it was high contact
b) it was high impact
c) reckless

I'ts not the first time baker has been involved in a reckless striking incident behind the play or off the ball so he got what he finally deserved.
Striking?

Do you know anything about what was presented last night?

Surely even Fremantle supporters would agree that 7 weeks is ridiculous.

Even if he was guilty of "rough play", would not 3-4 weeks have been the appropriate penalty, given other judgements this year?
I don't know to be honest.
Imagine roles reversed; everyone would be screaming for Farmer to be sacked and Baker's not exactly squeaky clean himself.
The fact of the matter is that Farmer's deliberately left with a broken nose for no justifiable reason at all.
Forget footy; that's assault.

Obviously St Kilda do not know the rules of the game. Rules clearly state you cannot apply a shepherd/block within 5 metres of the ball. By admitting he did Baker has admitted he broke the rules which is reckless and therefore he is guilty..
So if a player pushes someone in the back, the player falls over and hurts himself, he should be suspended for it?

I thought suspending someone for a block was pretty stupid, but you are suggesting players should be suspended for a push in the back?

Let me guess . . . you also think the game's becoming soft? :rolleyes:

The fact of the matter is that Farmer's deliberately left with a broken nose for no justifiable reason at all.
Forget footy; that's assault.

He ran into a bloke.

Assualt? Fair dinkum are you for real?

What Headland did was assult. He got off. A court would not accept "someone poking fun at my tat" as a reason to assult someone.

Of course the (W)AFL did. :rolleyes:

I work as a time keeper for a vfl club we are classed as club officials and VFL officials doesn't matter whether you are a trainer, assistant coach,manager as long as your name is on the team sheet when it is handed in. This also applys for the AFL as well.
Not doubting you but there is a difference between a Paid official and a non paid Official when it comes to legal status.

He ran into a bloke.

Assualt? Fair dinkum are you for real?

What Headland did was assult. He got off. A court would not accept "someone poking fun at my tat" as a reason to assult someone.

Of course the (W)AFL did. :rolleyes:

Give up JD.. it's like trying to explain economic rationalism to 5 yr olds.. no idea..

JD

If the player is injured as a result of the action it is reckless and that is the problem in Bakers case. It is the same as it being made clear to players that smashing a player in a tackle when his arms are pinned is reckless.

Yes the game is soft, by then again when Rocca got outed for a perfect hip and shoulder where contact to the head was caused by the player slipping and Rocca being taller, it was pretty obvious that anything that results in injury to the head that is 'outside' the rules (Rocca did hit high) will result in suspension.

Shepherding off the ball is illegal, once he admitted that he was gone.

Re: Baker found guilty, what a disgrace

I hate Baker and what he stands for in football. Cant get a kick himself so just puts the game down a level.......but to suspend him would be a joke.

If there was footage or someone saw it then 15 weeks as its dirty BUT:::::::

no one saw the incident

no footage of the incident

claims that farmer ran into his "shepard" and was knocked out" substantiated by medical reasons where steve baker has marks/indents/bruises in head to say that farmer hit/ran into/collided with him.

no one remonstrated the incident.

Baker must be cleared in this incident, its not like the leigh matthews incident where there was footage etc.

Bad luck jeff farmer, can honestly say that youre not the cleanest player to have a misfortune.

if it was harvey, hird, buckley, riccuito etc it would have been different.....
A shepard 50 metres behind play?

I think Baker should have got a 14 week suspension. He king hit Farmer and then stepped on his head...dog act.

Typical Freo scum.

Are you all pathological liars?

Surprised the Purple Rabble didn't present you as a 'credible' witness as Barry Kirkwood wasn't a good liar.

Typical Freo scum.

Are you all pathological liars?

Surprised the Purple Rabble didn't present you as a 'credible' witness as Barry Kirkwood wasn't a good liar.

I also believe that the Saints should have to change their nickname after this to "the dog acts". Also the match should be awarded to Fremantle.

I think Baker should have got a 14 week suspension. He king hit Farmer and then stepped on his head...dog act.
possibly

In that case then i think the AFL and the tribunal better stop being so precious about lying before the tribunal.

Why wouldnt you lie ?...if u even admit there was contact seems they'll nail you if they feel like it...and evidence isnt required either.

Stick to the lies boys :thumbsu:...it must be what they want.