News Swans Talk in the Media 2023

20JUL23: Swans Daily Media
Will Barras get to Sydney? Apparently yes for a our 1st and 2nd round pick according to Twomey at 26 mins into the vidoe ...but Dawson wasn't worth a 1st round I hear you all scream into ether!

Errol a shoe in for our B&F this year?

Will Barras get to Sydney? Apparently yes for a our 1st and 2nd round pick according to Twomey at 26 mins into the vidoe ...but Dawson wasn't worth a 1st round I hear you all scream into ether!

We both know that Barrass is still under contract so the Eagles have leverage whereas Dawson wasn't.

Once again the point is made by Logan;
“Being from WA and there only being the two clubs it was something very much that I was made well aware of early in my draft year that I was probably going to have to move interstate,” McDonald told SEN WA’s The Run Home.

“Especially because there were no real (WA) clubs around where I was projected to go."

Hey you're Harley Reid, Bailey Smith, Archie Perkins or any other of the Vic kids who make it clear to clubs you don't want to move interstate, no problem.
The Academies on the other hand. Well that gives an advantage to home grown kids, that Vic clubs just don't have. :think:

Barrass' agent not terribly enthusiastic:

“Look, you never say never,” Gieschen said.

“But for now, he's very settled in Perth.

“He's just had his second baby.

“Right now, I'd say no. But again, we'll see what happens.

Helpfully the story goes on to quote David 'Super Player Agent' King saying the Swans "have toget Barrass... I don't think they've got a choice." Sounds like Barrass' agent thinks he has a choice.

West Coast’s problem (well, one of them) is that Hurn and McGovern are near the end, as are Shuey, Gaff, Darling, Natanui, Cripps and a bunch of others.

IF they lose Barrass, they’re going to start to resemble GWS when they first entered the comp.

I’m just not sure West Coast can afford to lose one of their few high-calibre established players who isn’t about to retire.

A young team needs senior leaders.

West Coast’s problem (well, one of them) is that Hurn and McGovern are near the end, as are Shuey, Gaff, Darling, Natanui, Cripps and a bunch of others.

IF they lose Barrass, they’re going to start to resemble GWS when they first entered the comp.

I’m just not sure West Coast can afford to lose one of their few high-calibre established players who isn’t about to retire.

Some of these guys are on lucrative contracts. None of them have trade appeal. WC need to free up salary cap $s to prepare massive offers for both English and Naughton.

But, but, but......he's got a sister in Sydney. :confusedv1:

Bang on DQ.

I'd love Barrass but West Coast will be and should be desperate to retain him.

Paywalled HSun article on Ron Barassi's move to Sydney;

I never knew there was a group within the club that wanted Peter Hudson as coach, but Ron Joseph ( then CEO of the Swans) got his way and convinced Barassi to move to the Swans.
Barassi was a name that surely would have been known by even the most diehard Rugby League supporter.

As Neil Cordy says in the article;
“To have ‘Barass’ come to our club was huge. It was also an endorsement that the Swans were something worth keeping,” Cordy says.

He cites the stability that has been in place ever since as evidence.
“With John Longmire continuing on it will soon be three coaches in 30 years.”
“In 1993 we had three coaches in a month!”

I don't think it was coincidental either that Barassi's first full year in the coaching job was also Richard Colless' first full year as Chairman.
Add Tony Lockett a year later, appoint Paul Kelly as captain and it helped establish the Swans in Sydney and a couple of years later in a GF under Eade's charge.
Joseph and Barassi didn't hang around for long in the Harbour City, but I do wonder where we'd be without that pivotal decision of bringing in Barassi to help stabilise the club.

As Inside Football said;
barassi or bust.jpg

Paywalled HSun article on Ron Barassi's move to Sydney;

I never knew there was a group within the club that wanted Peter Hudson as coach, but Ron Joseph ( then CEO of the Swans) got his way and convinced Barassi to move to the Swans.
Barassi was a name that surely would have been known by even the most diehard Rugby League supporter.

As Neil Cordy says in the article;
“To have ‘Barass’ come to our club was huge. It was also an endorsement that the Swans were something worth keeping,” Cordy says.

He cites the stability that has been in place ever since as evidence.
“With John Longmire continuing on it will soon be three coaches in 30 years.”
“In 1993 we had three coaches in a month!”

I don't think it was coincidental either that Barassi's first full year in the coaching job was also Richard Colless' first full year as Chairman.
Add Tony Lockett a year later, appoint Paul Kelly as captain and it helped establish the Swans in Sydney and a couple of years later in a GF under Eade's charge.
Joseph and Barassi didn't hang around for long in the Harbour City, but I do wonder where we'd be without that pivotal decision of bringing in Barassi to help stabilise the club.

As Inside Football said;
View attachment 1746264
Yep just read it from Neil Cordy on twitter

Interesting discussion at about 18 minutes about Errol guldens kicking with a champion data fellah. I don't know about this kick rating that they use but what comes out of it is that Errol is incredibly good when kicking over 40m but actually really terrible with his short kicking. So terrible that he is the second worst in the competition above only Brad crouch. It does really seem like we over rate his kicking both on here and in the AFL media in general.

It's usually the other way around for most players hey. Just only kick it long from now on. 😜

There's a difference in saying we 'have no choice' targeting him and saying Barrass has no choice coming.

Only if you believe those flogs

The observation that he is the 2nd most likely player to turn the ball over to the opposition with kicks under 40 metres is true though. Like they haven't made it up. it's nice to just say "they are flogs" if you don't like something but it doesn't have any bearing on if what they have said is true or not.

Old mate qualifies it a bit by talking about the way we try to use Errol kicking long 50 so when he is trying those shorter kicks something is not going right for us so he'll tend to be under pressure etc.

Still I'm not the only poster in the board who thinks he turns it over a bit. Interesting to have it confirmed.

The observation that he is the 2nd most likely player to turn the ball over to the opposition with kicks under 40 metres is true though. Like they haven't made it up. it's nice to just say "they are flogs" if you don't like something but it doesn't have any bearing on if what they have said is true or not.

Old mate qualifies it a bit by talking about the way we try to use Errol kicking long 50 so when he is trying those shorter kicks something is not going right for us so he'll tend to be under pressure etc.

Still I'm not the only poster in the board who thinks he turns it over a bit. Interesting to have it confirmed.
Nothing is confirmed i know what i see , goodbye

Don't tell me what i'm watching , as i said goodbye as it's off topic
We are talking about some swans talk in the media. That's exactly what the thread topic is come on.

Is it genuinely your belief that they are just making it up? That the media is just straight up fabricating the observation that gulden turns it over more than any player not named brad crouch when he kicks it under 40 metres?

We are talking about some swans talk in the media. That's exactly what the thread topic is come on.

Is it genuinely your belief that they are just making it up? That the media is just straight up fabricating the observation that gulden turns it over more than any player not named brad crouch when he kicks it under 40 metres?
GOODBYE

If Bailey Smith had enough possessions, he’d turn it over more than the rest of the AFL combined.

I don't have much time for Champion Data. I also don't love Gulden's short kicking. I feel that the standard 20-30 metre pass has become a bit of a tricky one these days as players tend to stab at the ball. Think I commented in the game day thread a few weeks back that the "low, hard bullet" pass that used to be so desirable has now become kinda easy for opposition teams to set up for and cut off.

I also reckon part of what makes Gulden a strong kick is his vision. He kinda knows where to place the ball for his target to run into that space. That's why he's so damaging kicking inside 50. But shorter field kicks you often can't find the space to place it into, you have to just get it on a stationary target's chest. Bit of a different skill.

At least that's how I see it.

I don't have much time for Champion Data. I also don't love Gulden's short kicking. I feel that the standard 20-30 metre pass has become a bit of a tricky one these days as players tend to stab at the ball. Think I commented in the game day thread a few weeks back that the "low, hard bullet" pass that used to be so desirable has now become kinda easy for opposition teams to set up for and cut off.

I also reckon part of what makes Gulden a strong kick is his vision. He kinda knows where to place the ball for his target to run into that space. That's why he's so damaging kicking inside 50. But shorter field kicks you often can't find the space to place it into, you have to just get it on a stationary target's chest. Bit of a different skill.

At least that's how I see it.

Agreed. His short stabs have been wayward this year, to say the least. It cost us multiple goals against Richmond, for example.

What sets him apart is what you said. The vision he has to spot a spare pocket of space 35-40m away and drop it on a dime there.