The 90s thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Plugger35

Video games were social in the 90s. Sure I burned through hours at a time playing side scrolling Super Mario Bros but who didn't enjoy riding their bike over to someone's house with a bunch of controllers for a Goldeneye or Mortal Kombat session? Sitting in a fancy office chair wearing a headset sounds more like working in a call centre than playing video games with friends.
n64 i still has it

I was sitting in back of a BMW driving through Jo'burg and I bought a copy of the Times from one of the guys that sell them at the lights and on the inside front page it had Kurt Cobain dead. It wasn't that big a news at the time because the place was wound up so tight because of the upcoming election, plus South Africa in the early 90s was like going back to the 70s. Musically a lot of bands hadn't started touring there again yet and a legacy of Apartheid was that a lot of music was banned so not many had heard of Nirvana.
Saffies were searching for The Sugarman around that time weren't they. Don't know what it was like in the 90s but S.A. is incredible.

Plugger35 surely a fan of Jonah Lomu's Rugby on PS?

I did have a rugby playstation game, not the Jonah Lomu one, but I hardly ever played it, soccer and cricket were better games to play on it.

Also had an AFL playstation game but that rubbish as well.

Maybe a tad controversial but I always thought N64 was a bit of a crap console, at least compared to PS1 and the legendary SNES.

I never owned a PS1. N64 was pretty groundbreaking to kids who had NES/SNES previously. 4 player multiplayer, 3D Mario Bros, rumble pak, the controller with trigger underneath and the 3 parts to hold... *heavy breathing*

When I think of 1990's in local terms think of the uncertainty of clubs in the AFL as Ross Oakley and his co-horts were actively trying to cause mergers. They nearly pulled off the Fitzroy Bulldogs in late 1989 but Dogs fans kicked up a stink and some people power in western suburbs stopped it going ahead.

For most of 90's clubs like North, Fitzroy, St.Kilda, Bulldogs, Swans, Bears, Melbourne, Richmond and later Hawks were unsure whether they would even make it though the decade as the same club that started it. The league was in massive state of flux with salary caps, drafts and tv rights not the major factors they are today. Even the finals system were in state of flux from final 5 to final 6 trials to extra time in finals to to first versions of the final 8 with first year of two preliminary finals happening in 1994.

We tended to look forward to new movies coming out as most of us still regularly went to cinema a few times a month or even a drive in that were shutting down. Tv series were still not planned well and just produced from week to week for most part. Twin Peaks was super strange for those times but I never watched it then. X Files was big in later 90's and these move tv series closer to what they would become now than what they were like in decades before.

The local video store was to hire VHS tapes to watched on your VCR and you only really hired movies or music concerts.

I remember going to see this at cinema in early 90's with mates.

If was with girlfriend only was more likely to be this... lol..

either way I still enjoyed the unknown of going to cinema's regularly

Way before the internet became a household thing to stream stuff

I did have a rugby playstation game, not the Jonah Lomu one, but I hardly ever played it, soccer and cricket were better games to play on it.

Also had an AFL playstation game but that rubbish as well.
And you try and call yourself a kiwi lmao. Seriously Lomu's is one of the greatest games ever, I hated rugby at the time but it was that much fun to play it actually managed to get me into the real game a little bit on the back of it.
I never owned a PS1. N64 was pretty groundbreaking to kids who had NES/SNES previously. 4 player multiplayer, 3D Mario Bros, rumble pak, the controller with trigger underneath and the 3 parts to hold... *heavy breathing*
Pfft mostly gimmicks, PS1 simply had a far larger and better games library. I thought the N64 controllers were also too bulky and pretty poor tbh. PS ones weren't bad but had a fatal flaw in that they were pretty easy to break if you slammed it against the ground as opposed to say a SNES one which is virtually indestructible.

It was definitely a simpler time in terms of food and language.

You could go home from school with a form for your mum or dad to sign and it wasn't a big deal. You could have a class Christmas party and it wasn't a big deal. You could bring chocolate crackles or peanut butter slice to said party and it wasn't a big deal. Etc.

Maybe a tad controversial but I always thought N64 was a bit of a crap console, at least compared to PS1 and the legendary SNES.
Yeah I didn't rate it. I was late onto the PS One game. I never had the classic big chunky one, just the cheap slimline version after. It reminds me of my parents and it was the first Christmas present where I was really like 'woaaaaaah.' I remember playing demo discs repeatedly and my old man saying 'if you just wanted those, I wouldn't have bought any games!

While we're on the topic of death and events, I reckon I was playing a demo of Crash Bash the night of 9/11. I just put the two together. Can remember that lounge room and the lights on and my parents and I just about to go to sleep.

I never had one but the Dreamcast always allured me. That was ahead of its time. Conjures up images of Freddie Ljungberg with the trademark red faux-hawk in those great Sega Dreamcast-sponsored Nike strips. That excitement around innovation and how you could play games with anyone anywhere, all the graphics... these days people expect a smaller phone and we need to know what's coming next.

As far as computers went in 1990's basically no real internet for most of it so PC's were mainly for playing games from what I recall I did with them. You were not online, you were simply on your computer and usually a desktop. The game I spent most time on was Civ. Spent many an hour avoiding study this way...

When I think of 1990's in local terms think of the uncertainty of clubs in the AFL as Ross Oakley and his co-horts were actively trying to cause mergers. They nearly pulled off the Fitzroy Bulldogs in late 1989 but Dogs fans kicked up and stink and some people power in western suburbs stopped it going ahead.

For most of 90's clubs like North, Fitzroy, St.Kilda, Bulldogs, Swans, Bears, Melbourne, Richmond and later Hawks were unsure whether they would even make it though the decade as the same club that started it. The league was in massive state of flux with salary caps, drafts and tv rights not the major factors they are today. Even the finals system were in state of flux from final 5 to final 6 trials to extra time in finals to to first versions of the final 8 with first year of two preliminary finals happening in 1994.

We tended to look forward to new movies coming out as most of us still regularly went to cinema a few times a month or even a drive in that were shutting down. Tv series were still not planned well and just produced from week to week for most part. Twin Peaks was super strange for those times but I never watched it then. X Files was big in later 90's and these move tv series closer to what they would become now that what they were like in decades before.

The local video store was to hire VHS tapes to watched on your VCR and you only really hired movies or music concerts.

I remember going to see this at cinema in early 90's with mates.

If was with girlfriend only was more likely to be this... lol..

either way I still enjoyed the unknown of going to cinema's regularly

Way before the internet became a household thing to stream stuff

Romper Stomper is a great film, one of those must see films of the 90s.

Pulp Fiction and Trainspotting were other must see films of that decade, saw both at the cinema, me and a mate went to see Pulp Fiction stoned which made that film even more of a head spin than it already was.

I reckon the 90s would have been the best time to live in Melbourne, or the late 2000s.

Being idealistic – completely – but it's like Perth in the 70s where you just imagine it's one big Robert Drewe book. You live near the beach and go to watch Souths on the weekend with your old man, try talking to girls down the pool, then turn 17 and start drinking Swan Gold.

But 1990s Melbourne... the Espy isn't steel panels and Bec Judd but junkies and the Birthday Party. You go to the footy and don't hate every player out there – and if you aren't at Optus Oval, Western Oval, you're not listening to some absolute campaigner on television: it's Sandy or Den and Bruce. Freo have some character and keep getting close to finals. No extortionate rents. The only azns in town were hard-working Vietnamese and a bunch of angry-young Thai blokes who smash pot-plants over skinheads' skulls in Footscray beer gardens – not aloof Chinese students with 14 kilos of puppy fat, stuffing their mouth with that weird oversized fried chicken in the shape of a drumstick, in those Off White sneakers with the tags still on them and 0 social skills and 13491 (paid for) instagram followers.

Romper Stomper is a great film, one of those must see films of the 90s.

Pulp Fiction and Trainspotting were other must see films of that decade, saw both at the cinema, me and a mate went to see Pulp Fiction stoned which made that film even more of a head spin than it already was.
Pulp Fiction first movie I went to cinema to watch a second time. Saw Reservoir Dogs a little before it which was great too.
Best decade for going to cinema imo.

As far as computers went in 1990's basically no real internet for most of it so PC's were mainly for playing games from what I recall I did with them. You were not online, you were simply on your computer and usually a desktop. The game I spent most time on was Civ. Spent many an hour avoiding study this way...

My favourite games to play on the computer back then were Doom and Wolfenstein, they were two of the earliest first person shooter games and were pretty mind blowing at the time. There was also a Simpsons version of Doom which was pretty funny to play.

Whilst playing games it was awesome to listen to great albums like Achtung Baby over and over or Blood Sugar Sex Magik

I listened to these albums over and over again.

Two of my favourite albums from the decade too along with Throwing Copper, Hi-Fi Way, Aenima and OK Computer, had a pretty big collection of CDs back then but now they sit in the garage gathering dust.

My favourite games to play on the computer back then were Doom and Wolfenstein, they were two of the earliest first person shooter games and were pretty mind blowing at the time.
Yeah, I remember them being big at time but when I attempted to play, I would get motion sickness moving rooms on screen so I ditched them after ten minutes...lol

being born in 91, my memories start from about 95/96 onwards. The 90's for me are Kappa or Fila tracksuit tops, suburban soccer grounds on cold & grey days, and barbecued cevapi and lamb on the spit.

Pretty sure that describes suburban soccer clubs in Australia in any era.

Kappa doesn't seem to have as much of a presence these days. There used to be a Kappa store somewhere around Mt Lawley/Inglewood.

Pretty sure that describes suburban soccer clubs in Australia in any era.

Kappa doesn't seem to have as much of a presence these days. There used to be a Kappa store somewhere around Mt Lawley/Inglewood.

I vaguely remember the Kappa store but I thought it was in the city? I may be getting confused with another store but I remember owning lots of zip-up kappa shoes in primary school.

Didn't Bobby Despotovski also own a sports apparel shop on hay St?

Def somewhere eastside.

There was a soccer shop in one of the arcades in the city (pretty sure the whole building is gone now) called Soccer Central. Bobby Despotovski bought it and called it Bobby 10 Football World. It closed years ago and I imagine was never successful given it was a small outlet selling stuff that you can mostly get at Rebel, Jim Kidd etc. It's not like Hockey Action which used to exist in East Vic Park where Welshpool Rd, Shepparton Rd and Albany Hwy all converge which catered to a niche market.

Def somewhere eastside.

There was a soccer shop in one of the arcades in the city (pretty sure the whole building is gone now) called Soccer Central. Bobby Despotovski bought it and called it Bobby 10 Football World. It closed years ago and I imagine was never successful given it was a small outlet selling stuff that you can mostly get at Rebel, Jim Kidd etc. It's not like Hockey Action which used to exist in East Vic Park where Welshpool Rd, Shepparton Rd and Albany Hwy all converge which catered to a niche market.

Yeah thats the one, I was right about it being on Hay St I think it was right next door to a music shop. I remember being in there once and thinking wow this is much worse than Jim Kidd, which was/is just around the corner on Murray St.

At least the West Indies were still strong for the first half of the 90s, they played in few great test series against Australia both here and over there.

From memory Ch9 showed both the 1991 and 1995 test series in the West Indies, not something they've done since, now they just show The Ashes.

1995 was on Ch10. This is the early days of Pay TV (remember Galaxy?). Was good being able to wake up at 7am and watch some of the games (or get the summary) before getting ready for high school.

House music too. I know you're an Oasis fan but I listened to WTSMG and it's dated horribly. A Different Class is era defining for me, sorted for e's and whiz was mapping your weekend out.
WTSMG was already retro when it came out.