The 90s thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Plugger35

90s was the GOAT decade for AFL footy. Looking back, it seems that we were spoiled having all those goat forwards like dunstall, lockett, carey, modra playing in the same era.

People remember the big names and "speccys!!". They forget the delayed games finishing at 11:30 at night.

In the 90s Craven Morehead cried when Terry Lewis was sentenced but Daisy the cow let him touch her there which eased the pain.

You're so cruel green bong boy. While you were fapping over grown, juiced up men in spandex acting like idiots, I was paying taxes for your parents welfare.

billychuck5.jpg

I saw Beck at a rock festival in Portugal in 2000, the night we were there was a classic 90s line up of Elastica, Placebo, Beck and Bush.

Beck was the highlight, expected him to do a more laid back acoustic type set but he had a huge band and really rocked out.

Maybe it was the dope we were smoking but I swear this song went for about 20 minutes.

It was funny watching the Portuguese people there belt out all the lyrics word for word but could barely speak any English when you tried to talk to them.

I saw him support Blur or the Strokes in Hyde Park in London and Devil's Haircut does indeed still go for 20 minutes. It was a fun show. Heaps of kids around kept going 'wait, he does this song too?'

Mellow Gold was better.
And Sea Change is his best in general. But none of them hit culture like Odeley and no other album sums him up best. It influenced music too.

What was that show on Sunday Nights called where that campaigner with the weird Blonde hair hosted?

In the 90s one would got to The Arthouse (now the s**tty Irish pub on the corner of Queensberry St and Elizabeth Street Silent Alarm ) which was a quality punk/thrash type venue on a Monday night for unlimited 50c pots of Geelong Bitter.

Geelong Bitter my friend. Oh dear Jesus.
Used to get the train up from Frankston on Monday nights to go to the Arthouse.. then occasionally a visit to Hellfire afterwards. Would have to wait for the first train back around 6am so got up to all kinds of mischeifs in the wee hours.

Ah yes, Hellfire. My mate was with one of the door bitches.

This thread is going a lot better than my last GD thread, the ill fated GANGgajang thread.

Speaking of GANGgajang they produced one of the best music videos of the 90s with their comeback single Hundreds of Languages.

It's a who's who of 90s news presenters - Richard Morecroft, George Negus. Anne Fulwood, Darrell Eastlake, Mary Kostakidis, Jeff McMullen and Stan Grant.

I just googled this Hellfire club and it's basically bdsm? What is this, 2019?

I'm old enough that two of the clubs I used to go to all the time have been closed for about three years now. Probably more. Venues like Ding Dong Lounge, Roxanne Parlour are gone as well. It's not even called 'Lounge' now either. Even John Safran had his girlfriend stolen there by the Beastie Boys.

Me and my mate used to go to this place down Flinders Lane called the Liberty Social. Strong memories include Bored Nothing, this young guitarist fella who got a good review on Pitchfork and killed himself a few years ago, coming up to us because we 'said hi last time.' It was just a smell of smoke and chemicals even on like a Tuesday. I don't think I ever even pinged there. Kind of a try hard, 'who's gonna look the most like an Amyl Nitrate abuser?' vibe but that's Mawbs.

Do clubs even take photos and upload them to facebook anymore?

The thing about the 90s is there was a very... last saloon, final bastion of optimism and chance.

Angry young men of the United Kingdom were born into Thatcherism and were keen to improve but couldn't. They weren't going to be coal miners but they couldn't be like their dad and granddad, could they? So they started The Clash and Sex Pistols and Joy Division.

Fifty-odd years later you had guys like Kafka in Europe and John Steinbeck in California who were complete romantics, trapped in physical labour.

There was no scar of war and the recession had just gone. The internet is the tool of the youth – edgy and underground, look at pr0n and talk to someone in Wisconsin from Pascoe Vale, read about your favourite band and see photos of ones you never would – and there's excess and possibility. All this money and privilege and possibility. Go to England and 'get off your head' when that term wasn't used by... people who are old now!

The movies are (far too) romantic or cloying and lost in this idea of perfection and the ideal.

The music is slinky and syrupy and by 1995, even the black man has succumbed to money and jewelzzzzz... not anger, pride, resentment, power, and loving a brother.

Anyway I just like this video, kinda feels like every 'alt' teenagers dream when they go to the pub at age 18.

How hot was Anne Fulwood though?

Her and Sandra Sully were worth watching the news for back in the 90s.

When Ch10 started out in Perth in 1988 they had Christina Morissey hosting the news and she was a fox.

I was a teenager working a fairy floss stand at the Perth Royal Show back then and she ordered some fairy floss off me.

All posts have to end with a 90s song now.

This song is youth.

Gaz Coombes was like 17 or something when this came out. What a life he found himself. The diamond geezer.

What a great pop song too, absolutely embodies all it wants to. Arrogant and all-knowing.

Chuck a bit o Disco 2000 on and then play this scene from a great film and you'll pull tonight (directed to any punk on the forum).

The thing about the 90s is there was a very... last saloon, final bastion of optimism and chance.

Angry young men of the United Kingdom were born into Thatcherism and were keen to improve but couldn't. They weren't going to be coal miners but they couldn't be like their dad and granddad, could they? So they started The Clash and Sex Pistols and Joy Division.

Fifty-odd years later you had guys like Kafka in Europe and John Steinbeck in California who were complete romantics, trapped in physical labour.

There was no scar of war and the recession had just gone. The internet is the tool of the youth – edgy and underground, look at pr0n and talk to someone in Wisconsin from Pascoe Vale, read about your favourite band and see photos of ones you never would – and there's excess and possibility. All this money and privilege and possibility. Go to England and 'get off your head' when that term wasn't used by... people who are old now!

The movies are (far too) romantic or cloying and lost in this idea of perfection and the ideal.

The music is slinky and syrupy and by 1995, even the black man has succumbed to money and jewelzzzzz... not anger, pride, resentment, power, and loving a brother.

Anyway I just like this video, kinda feels like every 'alt' teenagers dream when they go to the pub at age 18.

Thatcher stood down in 1990. John Major was British PM for the majority of the 90's.
The Clash were active from 1976-1986.
Sex Pistols were active from 1975-1978.
Joy Division were active from 1976-1980.

Three of my favourite bands who heavily influenced the 1970's and 1980's.

Why do you talk so much shit?

Thatcher stood down in 1990. John Major was British PM for the majority of the 90's.
The Clash were active from 1976-1986.
Sex Pistols were active from 1975-1978.
Joy Division were active from 1976-1980.

Three of my favourite bands who heavily influenced the 1970's and 1980's.

Why do you talk so much s**t?
ha ha.. probably due to tele vision back then..breeding ignorance.. feeding radiation ha ha

TV's with teletext.

I recall fondly using this extensively in the UK. Waiting for division 1 results. Then if you missed it, you'd have to wait and wait and wait for it to scroll back. It was the internet before the internet.

Also music and videos like this

no fuss, no (or much less) "musician featuring X, Z, Y"

Classic 90s tune from Elastica,

Became the theme for Trigger Happy TV.

Damon Albarn wrote all their songs.

Damon bought a house and a bar in Reyjkavik. When she came over to visit, there was a sketch on an Icelandic TV show where every woman in a hospital was giving birth to a little Damon. She broke him up with him and Elastica put out a shit second album and then she moved to America to become a painter.

No idea why he went out with her for the whole of the 90s. She's got a very... strong face.

Meanwhile he was one of the prettiest blokes ever

0a787870b6f4b86b44faf6f4d80ff781.jpg

What happened to the living end?

They went off brand. Classic Living End is slick riffs, double bass solos, turning an upbeat 3 minute song into a 10 minute live performance etc.

Chris Cheney is an awesome guitarist but an average singer. When they do bog standard rock songs any bad can do they sound just like any other band.