The Crowd Behaviour

• Thread starter Thread starter Gets!

I was disgusted with the comments in our area directed towards huddo when he went down, but what do you expect from a group of people that were drinking wild turkey in their seats and really hadn't had a good wash that day! call me a snob if you like but I think people should shower or bath occasionally. That and them walking off after the game had finished was just plain disrespectful from the supporters and the team. misunderstanding, my arse

But I have to say that some of the smelly group were pretty good towards us and my father and I had a bit of banter going on with them. I do have an advantage in being female which means I can get away with a few comments. I also had a few of the power supporters turn and look at me everytime I yelled go adelaide or cheered. I jumped up for the goals and celebrated, but I have to admit that the ********ed crows supporter in front of me I really wanted to disown. Growing up I went to magpies games every fortnight and I have a healthy respect for them, I love the banter and I really miss it at crows games.

And for some of their supporters to call stiffy a '********-head', well people in glass houses.....

Each group has an idiot base, unfortunately because of the larger supporter bases of both adelaide sides, this idiot base is increased.

But the best part of the night was Riley's response to the banner "crows, no heritage, no respect' :D

NikkiNoo said:
I was disgusted with the comments in our area directed towards huddo when he went down, but what do you expect from a group of people that were drinking wild turkey in their seats and really hadn't had a good wash that day! call me a snob if you like but I think people should shower or bath occasionally. That and them walking off after the game had finished was just plain disrespectful from the supporters and the team. misunderstanding, my arse

But I have to say that some of the smelly group were pretty good towards us and my father and I had a bit of banter going on with them. I do have an advantage in being female which means I can get away with a few comments. I also had a few of the power supporters turn and look at me everytime I yelled go adelaide or cheered. I jumped up for the goals and celebrated, but I have to admit that the ********ed crows supporter in front of me I really wanted to disown. Growing up I went to magpies games every fortnight and I have a healthy respect for them, I love the banter and I really miss it at crows games.

And for some of their supporters to call stiffy a '********-head', well people in glass houses.....

Each group has an idiot base, unfortunately because of the larger supporter bases of both adelaide sides, this idiot base is increased.

But the best part of the night was Riley's response to the banner "crows, no heritage, no respect' :D

I must have missed that, can you explain?

NikkiNoo said:

Details? I saw the banner and thought that it just showed how pathetic they are!

reilly and hart were walking back to the players group in front of our race and riley spotted the sign. he pointed it out to hart and then he pointed to the scoreboard a couple of times for the guy holding the sign. By that time the rest of the group had seen it too and were having a good chuckle, and the guy then put his sign down, he had been trying desperately all night to get it on tv.

Loved that it was a victorian in our side showing some cheekyness. :D

NikkiNoo said:
reilly and hart were walking back to the players group in front of our race and riley spotted the sign. he pointed it out to hart and then he pointed to the scoreboard a couple of times for the guy holding the sign. By that time the rest of the group had seen it too and were having a good chuckle, and the guy then put his sign down, he had been trying desperately all night to get it on tv.

FAN - BL***DY - TASTIC! Good to see our players finally stand up to the ferals! :)

NikkiNoo said:

LOVE IT :D

Pretty funny having a go at Port fans after crow fans have let off flares at the last two Port home game showdowns. (One which was thrown from the new stand and hitting people below). Keep your Ethnic rubbish to the soccer please.

Gets! said:
Okay so me and my mates like being vocal at the footy, however we never swear or anything as I wouldnt want my kids to be exposed to that and whatnot, and we NEVER have cracks at individual supporters, never anything personal.

However me and my mates were hit with so much abuse, and full on swearing, especially when I stood up everytime Thommo kicked a goal in that second quarter and was going off. Three guys behind us were calling us "Fing tossers all night", one other guy "We're gonna knock you off like dominos after the game", and one woman told my mate she would knock his teeth out. And of course these same people were cheering when Huddo was injured and calling him soft etc. This went on throughout the game, people grabbing my guernsey and pulling it back and ********.

I have been to games all over Australia and seen every team play at least twice over this time, and I have to say tonight was the worst I have ever seen, full stop. And what was with those flares after the game???

Don't get me wrong I'm lapping up the win, but just wanted to get this off my chest, meh.

Some Port supporters tonight were a disgrace, an absolute disgrace. Key word being 'some' Port boys, we had some lovely people behind us and were chatting and so on but man some were shocking.

Have a good night people.

A few friends and I were sitting dead smack in the middle of the port cheer-squad :) When Huddo went down SOME were cheering and chanting things to the effect of like, you sook, now you know what we've been through, Now the injury button has been pressed??? Even some of the power supporter were telling them to quite down.

@ three qtr time when MW bought port down in front of the CSquad they all started singing the song (a little too earlier albeit) so it was left to the approximate 10 crows supporterd to start up with the chant.

And when the siren went we went ballistic. Shouting and screaming the song. I have never seen a crowd move so fast. :)

Paralowiepower said:
Pretty funny having a go at Port fans after crow fans have let off flares at the last two Port home game showdowns. (One which was thrown from the new stand and hitting people below). Keep your Ethnic rubbish to the soccer please.

And you know this because................................. :confused:

Re: On Another Note

As the title suggests, this really isnt a big deal so I thought Id slip it in.
What did every1 think about the Power boys walking off the ground b4 the presentation. Just thought, that after the Geelong Bulldogs match this year that maybe some people would have an opinion. :)

Re: On Another Note

Crowz Gal said:
As the title suggests, this really isnt a big deal so I thought Id slip it in.
What did every1 think about the Power boys walking off the ground b4 the presentation. Just thought, that after the Geelong Bulldogs match this year that maybe some people would have an opinion. :)

No problem with that, they want to sook in private thats their right.

Paralowiepower said:

And do you have any proof at all that they were Crows fans? Didn't think so.

Paralowiepower said:

Look it up in the dictionary moron.

NikkiNoo said:

So what! You won the game - doesn't mean the banner is wrong. You're team is so desperate for heritage, it stole the state's.

I had some shocking crows supporters around me. It's not just us. There were also many crows supporters in plain clothes who only took their scarves out 20 seconds before the final siren.

Paralowiepower said:

That sounds like a racist slur to me. I thought you ferals were above racism or is it okay as long as it doesn't apply to poor victimised Byron and the AFL tribunal.

PAFC2004 said:
I had some shocking crows supporters around me. It's not just us. There were also many crows supporters in plain clothes who only took their scarves out 20 seconds before the final siren.

Can say the same about the Power man who zipped his jumper up at half time :)

JohnK said:
The myth is that Adelaide supporters are too quiet at AAMI Stadium. I don't subscribe to that. Adelaide supporters think, feel and have a wider and deeper range of emotions than most Port supporters. If our team is losing, we starting telling stories in the outer, start making jokes, start making ourselves laugh a little in our misery. We reach for our thermos and pass biscuits up and down the aisles... or we talk about the cricket or something.

When Port suppoorters are watching their tream losing, they boo, hiss, sneer, complain, whinge, lash themsleves with whips. They make damn sure their entire night is a complete negative experience. They forget, of course, that they paid good monmey to be there. They forget how to make football an enjoybale experience, win loss or draw.

As, for example, tonight, when after an honourable seven point loss, deeply undermanned, they slunk off to their bunker, before the medals were presented. And they werfe the hosts of this event!.

As for this dribble... you call yourself a journalist and you actually believe that people who barrack for the Crows are deeper thinkers and more wordly than Port supporters? This just shows up the shallowness of your intellect. This argument is actually more offensive than the one about the smelly supposters. The old Port stereotype that we're all uneducated and belong to the underclass, disguised as a well thought out argument. Give me a working class person who's had to struggle in life to some eastern suburbs private school tosser who's had everything laid out on a platter for them anyday. No reflection on you of course John.

PAFC2004 said:

You mean "only finished knitting their scarfes 20 seconds before the final siren". Aren't you the one that always whinges about stereotyping supporters?

JohnK said:
I'm an Adelaide supporter and I've been to every Showdown, both home and away.

In fact, I go to every AAMI match. My girlfriend is a Port supporter and I like football and her enough to enjoy even Port games in her company.

So I go with her to her games and, most times, quietly barrack for the visitors... unless, of course, I lay a bet on a Port margin. Over the last few years, I have had great success backing Port wins and getting the margin right. Thus, in the last ten miuntes of the game, Port supprters go YESS!!! with each goal and I do too, because that goal gets me into the margin and I am close to winning good money.

Perverse? You betcha. It's been the only way to make those Port games tolerable. And strangely, I've had more success backing Port than my own team.

Except this year of course.

My girlfriend comes to the Adelaide home Showdown and sits amongst my Adelaide friends on an extra season ticket that I have bought and make sure that it is available for her for this one game. She makes a great racket and I often tell her to shut up, because she is a respected guest for the day.

At her Port Showdowns, I lay my bets, and sit and watch quietly. I respect the fact that this is her home game. I do not get up and scream loudly everytime Adelaide kicks a goal. Maybe you think I should, but I don't.

I sit quietly and watch the game. Under my breath occasionally, I might say, YES! YES! YES! but I am conscious of the fact that every little thing I will celebrate will be extreme pain for her and vice a versa.

In fact, the quieter I can be, as Adelaide wins or loses these games, the more enjoyment I have and the longer our relationship will continue.

When you say that you got off everytime Adelaide kicked a goal last night, no wonder the people around you hated you.

At the Adelaide showdowns, those Port supporters who stand up and make a big noise at each moment of gain, also get themselves hated by the solid Adelaide core who have been sitting there enjoying their team in the outer with their season tickets, not only for that whole season, but sometimes for five or ten years before that match.

It's a comfort zone, I guess. You go to the footy every fortnight and enjoy losses and wins... and then suddenly, for the biggest match of the year, there is some big ugly thug in front of you, wearing the opposing colours, screaming hatred and bile against your own people, totally destroying one of the highlights of your expensive season ticket.

My point here is to respect the home town crowd and their right to enjoy their game.This is the nature of our two team SA competition. If you attend an away Showdown, let them have their big night out. Don't goad the opposition. Sit and enjoy the game quietly. Especially if you are winning.

As I say, I have been to nearly all of them. Port are always noisier. Port supporters, in fact, are nearly always angrier about everything.. even their own players. The myth is that Adelaide supporters are too quiet at AAMI Stadium. I don't subscribe to that. Adelaide supporters think, feel and have a wider and deeper range of emotions than most Port supporters. If our team is losing, we starting telling stories in the outer, start making jokes, start making ourselves laugh a little in our misery. We reach for our thermos and pass biscuits up and down the aisles... or we talk about the cricket or something.

When Port suppoorters are watching their tream losing, they boo, hiss, sneer, complain, whinge, lash themsleves with whips. They make damn sure their entire night is a complete negative experience. They forget, of course, that they paid good monmey to be there. They forget how to make football an enjoybale experience, win loss or draw.

As, for example, tonight, when after an honourable seven point loss, deeply undermanned, they slunk off to their bunker, before the medals were presented. And they werfe the hosts of this event!

That was disgraceful, actually. Somebody had to run down the players' race into the Port bunker and extract S Burgoyne so that he could come back to mother earth and receive his medal for being joint BOG. Where was the grace in that?

But, on the other hand, as I say, there is little grace in Adelaide supporters jumping up triumphantly with every Adelaide goal, rubbing our host's nose into the backside of their misery. Don't do that next time.

Just sit quietly in your seat and enter the name of your goalkicker and the time of the goal into your budget. And whether it was a 10 metre, 30 metre or 55 metre goal.

At those Port home games, I find it incredibly useful to have a radio with earplugs tuned into ABCFM classical music.

At Adelaide home showdowns? Of course, make as much noise as you want. Go completely mad. And, if there is a feral rogue stray Port supporter in your midst, rubbing his or her every little moment of success in your face, please try as hard as you can to not think that he or she is deliberately trying to provoke you into actions which you may later regret.

Like throwing a left hook.

Please tell me this post is nothing more than a good piece of satire.

If it isn't........:o

NikkiNoo said:
That and them walking off after the game had finished was just plain disrespectful from the supporters and the team. misunderstanding, my arse

Just remind me of the time the Crows stayed on the field for the presentation in the first three or four years before it got moved inside? Yet when we walk off its a terrible thing :rolleyes:

JohnK said:

In fact, I go to every AAMI match. My girlfriend is a Port supporter and I like football and her enough to enjoy even Port games in her company.

So I go with her to her games and, most times, quietly barrack for the visitors... unless, of course, I lay a bet on a Port margin. Over the last few years, I have had great success backing Port wins and getting the margin right. Thus, in the last ten miuntes of the game, Port supprters go YESS!!! with each goal and I do too, because that goal gets me into the margin and I am close to winning good money.

Perverse? You betcha. It's been the only way to make those Port games tolerable. And strangely, I've had more success backing Port than my own team.

My girlfriend comes to the Adelaide home Showdown and sits amongst my Adelaide friends on an extra season ticket that I have bought and make sure that it is available for her for this one game. She makes a great racket and I often tell her to shut up, because she is a respected guest for the day.

At her Port Showdowns, I lay my bets, and sit and watch quietly. I respect the fact that this is her home game. I do not get up and scream loudly everytime Adelaide kicks a goal. Maybe you think I should, but I don't.

I sit quietly and watch the game. Under my breath occasionally, I might say, YES! YES! YES! but I am conscious of the fact that every little thing I will celebrate will be extreme pain for her and vice a versa.

In fact, the quieter I can be, as Adelaide wins or loses these games, the more enjoyment I have and the longer our relationship will continue.

When you say that you got off everytime Adelaide kicked a goal last night, no wonder the people around you hated you.

At the Adelaide showdowns, those Port supporters who stand up and make a big noise at each moment of gain, also get themselves hated by the solid Adelaide core who have been sitting there enjoying their team in the outer with their season tickets, not only for that whole season, but sometimes for five or ten years before that match.

It's a comfort zone, I guess. You go to the footy every fortnight and enjoy losses and wins... and then suddenly, for the biggest match of the year, there is some big ugly thug in front of you, wearing the opposing colours, screaming hatred and bile against your own people, totally destroying one of the highlights of your expensive season ticket.

My point here is to respect the home town crowd and their right to enjoy their game.This is the nature of our two team SA competition. If you attend an away Showdown, let them have their big night out. Don't goad the opposition. Sit and enjoy the game quietly. Especially if you are winning.

As I say, I have been to nearly all of them. Port are always noisier. Port supporters, in fact, are nearly always angrier about everything.. even their own players. The myth is that Adelaide supporters are too quiet at AAMI Stadium. I don't subscribe to that. Adelaide supporters think, feel and have a wider and deeper range of emotions than most Port supporters. If our team is losing, we starting telling stories in the outer, start making jokes, start making ourselves laugh a little in our misery. We reach for our thermos and pass biscuits up and down the aisles... or we talk about the cricket or something.

As, for example, tonight, when after an honourable seven point loss, deeply undermanned, they slunk off to their bunker, before the medals were presented. And they werfe the hosts of this event!

That was disgraceful, actually. Somebody had to run down the players' race into the Port bunker and extract S Burgoyne so that he could come back to mother earth and receive his medal for being joint BOG. Where was the grace in that?

But, on the other hand, as I say, there is little grace in Adelaide supporters jumping up triumphantly with every Adelaide goal, rubbing our host's nose into the backside of their misery. Don't do that next time.

Just sit quietly in your seat and enter the name of your goalkicker and the time of the goal into your budget. And whether it was a 10 metre, 30 metre or 55 metre goal.

At those Port home games, I find it incredibly useful to have a radio with earplugs tuned into ABCFM classical music.

At Adelaide home showdowns? Of course, make as much noise as you want. Go completely mad. And, if there is a feral rogue stray Port supporter in your midst, rubbing his or her every little moment of success in your face, please try as hard as you can to not think that he or she is deliberately trying to provoke you into actions which you may later regret.

Sorry. Just had to put it up one more time. Oh, thankyou 'truebeliever' for bringing this little literary gem to my attention.

JohnK said:

This isn't going to print is it Johnny? :o