The Crowd Behaviour

• Thread starter Thread starter Gets!

Well I was there with my family. We were in amongst quite a few Crows' supporters and there were absolutely NO problems. Having said that, I know that we have some really feral supporters, possibly more of them and more feral than most clubs (richmond and collingwood excepted from what I've seen first hand)

Personally, I won't tolerate Port supporters behaving like idiots. We stood and clapped off Ben Hudson when he was injured out of respect, having seen how Primus and Francou struggled to come back from knee recons.

Possibly the difference is that we take our kids. Hubby and I both want them to see us behaving responsibly and setting an example (a good one not a bad one!). We caught the bus to avoid all the "carpark rage" that goes on after the showdowns and don't go to the Crows' home game, because of all the idiots after the game from both sides.

Anyway, I thought the crowd was better behaved than in previous showdowns. Might have just been the area we were sitting in.

JohnK said:
I'm an Adelaide supporter and I've been to every Showdown, both home and away.

In fact, I go to every AAMI match. My girlfriend is a Port supporter and I like football and her enough to enjoy even Port games in her company.

So I go with her to her games and, most times, quietly barrack for the visitors... unless, of course, I lay a bet on a Port margin. Over the last few years, I have had great success backing Port wins and getting the margin right. Thus, in the last ten miuntes of the game, Port supprters go YESS!!! with each goal and I do too, because that goal gets me into the margin and I am close to winning good money.

Perverse? You betcha. It's been the only way to make those Port games tolerable. And strangely, I've had more success backing Port than my own team.

Except this year of course.

My girlfriend comes to the Adelaide home Showdown and sits amongst my Adelaide friends on an extra season ticket that I have bought and make sure that it is available for her for this one game. She makes a great racket and I often tell her to shut up, because she is a respected guest for the day.

At her Port Showdowns, I lay my bets, and sit and watch quietly. I respect the fact that this is her home game. I do not get up and scream loudly everytime Adelaide kicks a goal. Maybe you think I should, but I don't.

I sit quietly and watch the game. Under my breath occasionally, I might say, YES! YES! YES! but I am conscious of the fact that every little thing I will celebrate will be extreme pain for her and vice a versa.

In fact, the quieter I can be, as Adelaide wins or loses these games, the more enjoyment I have and the longer our relationship will continue.

When you say that you got off everytime Adelaide kicked a goal last night, no wonder the people around you hated you.

At the Adelaide showdowns, those Port supporters who stand up and make a big noise at each moment of gain, also get themselves hated by the solid Adelaide core who have been sitting there enjoying their team in the outer with their season tickets, not only for that whole season, but sometimes for five or ten years before that match.

It's a comfort zone, I guess. You go to the footy every fortnight and enjoy losses and wins... and then suddenly, for the biggest match of the year, there is some big ugly thug in front of you, wearing the opposing colours, screaming hatred and bile against your own people, totally destroying one of the highlights of your expensive season ticket.

My point here is to respect the home town crowd and their right to enjoy their game.This is the nature of our two team SA competition. If you attend an away Showdown, let them have their big night out. Don't goad the opposition. Sit and enjoy the game quietly. Especially if you are winning.

As I say, I have been to nearly all of them. Port are always noisier. Port supporters, in fact, are nearly always angrier about everything.. even their own players. The myth is that Adelaide supporters are too quiet at AAMI Stadium. I don't subscribe to that. Adelaide supporters think, feel and have a wider and deeper range of emotions than most Port supporters. If our team is losing, we starting telling stories in the outer, start making jokes, start making ourselves laugh a little in our misery. We reach for our thermos and pass biscuits up and down the aisles... or we talk about the cricket or something.

When Port suppoorters are watching their tream losing, they boo, hiss, sneer, complain, whinge, lash themsleves with whips. They make damn sure their entire night is a complete negative experience. They forget, of course, that they paid good monmey to be there. They forget how to make football an enjoybale experience, win loss or draw.

As, for example, tonight, when after an honourable seven point loss, deeply undermanned, they slunk off to their bunker, before the medals were presented. And they werfe the hosts of this event!

That was disgraceful, actually. Somebody had to run down the players' race into the Port bunker and extract S Burgoyne so that he could come back to mother earth and receive his medal for being joint BOG. Where was the grace in that?

But, on the other hand, as I say, there is little grace in Adelaide supporters jumping up triumphantly with every Adelaide goal, rubbing our host's nose into the backside of their misery. Don't do that next time.

Just sit quietly in your seat and enter the name of your goalkicker and the time of the goal into your budget. And whether it was a 10 metre, 30 metre or 55 metre goal.

At those Port home games, I find it incredibly useful to have a radio with earplugs tuned into ABCFM classical music.

At Adelaide home showdowns? Of course, make as much noise as you want. Go completely mad. And, if there is a feral rogue stray Port supporter in your midst, rubbing his or her every little moment of success in your face, please try as hard as you can to not think that he or she is deliberately trying to provoke you into actions which you may later regret.

Like throwing a left hook.

Sorry Johnk but I cannot agree with this at all. Some of the best games I have been to have been away games either in Melbourne of Port Showdowns.
What would the atmosphere be like at a showdown if only half the crowd is making noise? Its just not football.

If you buy your ticket to a game you have the right to cheer your side on as much as you like, you dont owe anything to the home side besides keeping it reasonable with regards to personal abuse and swearing.

Does this also apply to when you watch games in Melbourne? So many people comment on the atmosphere and the noise created there, it is great, I know I am always more vocal!

Sorry John, I disagree too. I never bag opposition players, I never bag opposition fans but I always celebrate when the Crows score, or come up with a good play. I do jump up and down in my seat and I don't apologise for that. I stood after every Crows goal on Saturday. It was high fives all round, even with Crows fans I don't know, in the rows in front and behind. It's all good fun and if people get agitated by that, then they take it too seriously and should probably stick to wacthing it on TV.

Mr Magoo said:
Do you know the one thing i have noticed sitting in the members is that quite a lot of AFC fans only will start cheering when they're absolutely positive know that they're going to win the game. Last night it happenend & last year when we played a night game against your team it happened.

Bold text refers to what you would call the lame brain supporters as this kind of baiting is usually the only thing you need to start with the wrong person & then it's all in & usually an innocent bystander will be the one who gets king hit. They are normally the type of supporters who when they lose will look to start trouble as well.

Also sat with a few AFC supporters at the game & some of them said to me it's good to have a bit of competition in the cheering/support of your team, which i throughly enjoyed throughout the night. I have possibly made a few more friends after last night so i can't complain, our team put up a great effort last night & if it wasn't for a couple of simple/silly errors we would have won but i guess it wasn't to be. Let's just hope that we can make the finals & meet again because you know that we'll give your mob another run for it's money. :)

Now this is a very stupid, stupid comment. I would have eaten my hat if i didn't see Port fans rubbing it in to the Crows fans and making it clear who won the game - thats if they won. Not nice when you get a taste of your own medicine is it Port fans? What goes around comes around buddy.

Mr Magoo said:
Do you know the one thing i have noticed sitting in the members is that quite a lot of AFC fans only will start cheering when they're absolutely positive know that they're going to win the game. Last night it happenend & last year when we played a night game against your team it happened.

Must have got loud with 30 seconds to go then..... :rolleyes:

NikkiNoo said:
Macca19 - the presentations were moved inside by the afl after the very first one as West End sponsored the trophy and the medal and the afl did not want to upset cub as their major sponsor. This year the trophy and the medal were presented on the ground again as there is 'no sponsorship'. It was announced during the game on sat night that the presentations would take place on the ground and at the start of the year port stayed on the ground for showdown 17 - why did the crows receive the information that they were to stay on the ground for the presentations at this one but port did not?

Care factor really! Start looking at all of you clubs positive rather than being a drama queen all of the time

arrowman said:
No, read the post - he has two season tickets and takes different guests to the games; his girlfriend gets the ticket for Showdowns.

I am in the same situation and my son, who is a Port supporter (albeit not a particularly passionate one) gets first dibs on the Showdown.

I don't consider myself to be a "disgrace" and neither is JohnK. Get off your high horse.

I was also taking into account the rest of his post, he is the very type of supporter that give the rest of us the soft reputation that we currently have. I am astonished that anyone would say that someone who has payed their way into the ground should not cheer and support their team because it is disrespectful to the home teams supporters.

If he feels the need to tune into ABC classic FM while at the game then I suggest that he should start watching football from the comfort of his living room.

Jumbo said:
Care factor really! Start looking at all of you clubs positive rather than being a drama queen all of the time

I'm a drama queen all the time, hey jumbo? :rolleyes: I was just letting Macca19 know that his info was wrong - he said that the presentations had taken place on the ground over the first 3 to 4 years, I was just pointing out that they hadn't, only the very first one. I am not the only one to correct him on this point, see the main board. If you want to start name calling well.....

OK, enough already...

Look... I'll restate my case.

At Crows games, I make as much noise as anybody.

At Showdowns, I watch them with my beloved. She's a passionate Port nut. That's not her fault. She can't help it and nobody is perfect. And I forgive her for choosing the Dark Side.
If it's a Port showdown, if I holler and gloat and make a complete s hit of myself, I'll have a great day, she will have a miserable one and we will hate each for a week.

It's only football, you guys.

My original post was in response to the person who wrote that he stood up and made a big noise with every Adelaide goal and then wondered why the Port mob hated him.

I mean, how far do we want to take this? Segregated crowds, terracing, crowd fights, a riot or two? Should we all go to Alberton on the morning of the match and smash up their real estate?

What's wrong with showing the home crowd some respect and leave the war to the players?

crowie said:
If he feels the need to tune into ABC classic FM while at the game then I suggest that he should start watching football from the comfort of his living room.

I said that I tune into ABC FM classic FM at Port games during the season, NOT AT SHOWDOWNS, when the Port crowd get so bloody boring singing their club song after they kick every point. I mean, why not? How many times can you hear the "Won't stop stop" thing without going completely mad?

Why go to all the Port games? Good question. I enjoy watching all football live and I enjoy the company of my girlfriend.

JohnK said:
OK, enough already...

At Showdowns, I watch them with my beloved. She's a passionate Port nut. That's not her fault. She can't help it and nobody is perfect. And I forgive her for choosing the Dark Side.
If it's a Port showdown, if I holler and gloat and make a complete s hit of myself, I'll have a great day, she will have a miserable one and we will hate each for a week.

My original post was in response to the person who wrote that he stood up and made a big noise with every Adelaide goal and then wondered why the Port mob hated him.

I mean, how far do we want to take this? Segregated crowds, terracing, crowd fights, a riot or two? Should we all go to Alberton on the morning of the match and smash up their real estate?

What's wrong with showing the home crowd some respect and leave the war to the players?

Sorry mate I still cannot agree with you.

There is nothing wrong with cheering or supporting your team, regardless of who's home game it is.

Thats the great thing about the AFL is that the supporters can intermingle with each other without any major hassle.

Just because a few idiots of the minority take offence to opposition supporters should not change this.

I respect that you have decided to takr this approach but I dont think you should look down at others who choose not too.

Look down was not really the word I was looking for but hopefully you get what I mean, I wasnt having a go at you.

Does anyone else laugh when they tell you to "barrack hard, but don't swear" prior to the game? Don't get me wrong, I rarely swear at the footy, but it seems like such a waste of time to me......

JohnK said:
OK, enough already...

What's wrong with showing the home crowd some respect and leave the war to the players?[/QUOTE]

Cause I got no respect for anything related to port :p

portentous said:
Does anyone else laugh when they tell you to "barrack hard, but don't swear" prior to the game? Don't get me wrong, I rarely swear at the footy, but it seems like such a waste of time to me......

Fkg oath it is ;) :p

cruel_world00 said:
"Hey where were u sitting cos I was round the same area, and heard the Hudo abuse. "

I was in bay 128

:O

I was in bay 128 as well, row K, dude with Crows guernsey with Scotty Thompsons no. 5 on it, was hugging my mates everytime we got a goal and standing up. Couldn't have missed me.

fryingpan said:
Now this is a very stupid, stupid comment. I would have eaten my hat if i didn't see Port fans rubbing it in to the Crows fans and making it clear who won the game - thats if they won. Not nice when you get a taste of your own medicine is it Port fans? What goes around comes around buddy.

So hang on one minute you've said here that your disabled brother was waving a flag & a few port supporter had a go at him which you didn't like which is totally understandable & then next your saying that you should go rub it in & make it clear who won the game. Just ask the crow fan who was mouthing off after the game to every port supporter within ear shot until he said it to the wrong person who took offence & gave him a broken nose, around gate 5 members section i believe & no it wasn't me that did it. I walked out of that ground knowing that our team though undermanned put up a gutsy effort.

I still say that is making an arseclown of yourself by basically baiting people like that, but of course some supporters have a bit more respect than others don't they?

I couldn't have been much prouder of our guys with the effort they put into that game, it was just a few skill errors/turnovers/giving away undisciplined free kicks that really let us down otherwise i have no doubt that we would've won but it wasn't to be, but hopefully we can make the finals & meet your mob again. A cut throat elimination final between the Port & Adelaide i would like to see that. :)

dA Crow said:
The group of Females that showed the least knowledge around us were to drunk to be edgeucated; but they left a lasting impression on alot of people around the area.

So that group of females were pretty hot then, & you didn't try to get lucky with any of them :p

Mr Magoo said:
So that group of females were pretty hot then, & you didn't try to get lucky with any of them :p
hehe and nah, was with my wife ... and of all the poeple at footy park... she scares me the most :p

JohnK said:
OK, enough already...

that crud that you write john, do you try to come across like this or does it just come naturally>? :)

":O

I was in bay 128 as well, row K, dude with Crows guernsey with Scotty Thompsons no. 5 on it, was hugging my mates everytime we got a goal and standing up. Couldn't have missed me."

did you start chanting..."we're in the finals" towards the end? were you wearing glasses? were you behind a group of particularly loud port supporters one wearing a magpies jersey? I stood up and yelled at the bad umpiring decisions and have curly boofy hair lol

JohnK said:
My point here is to respect the home town crowd and their right to enjoy their game.This is the nature of our two team SA competition. If you attend an away Showdown, let them have their big night out. Don't goad the opposition. Sit and enjoy the game quietly. Especially if you are winning.

What a load of rubbish

Go there and support your team. You have paid for your ticket and can behave as you like as long as you are not viloent or personally abusive.

I was called an idiot wihtin one inute on Saturday night just for suggesting Warren should go and get his ugg boots to go with his pijamas. It was on for the rest of the night but was enjoyable banter.

Be lound and support your team - If not, why be there :confused:

cruel_world00 said:
":O

I was in bay 128 as well, row K, dude with Crows guernsey with Scotty Thompsons no. 5 on it, was hugging my mates everytime we got a goal and standing up. Couldn't have missed me."

did you start chanting..."we're in the finals" towards the end? were you wearing glasses? were you behind a group of particularly loud port supporters one wearing a magpies jersey? I stood up and yelled at the bad umpiring decisions and have curly boofy hair lol

yeah that was definetely me, with a couple of my mates, so how sexy am I?

For me personally, i reckon that despite the loss, Saturday night's game was the most fun i've had at the football this year.

It's so much better when there's a large number of opposing supporters to give a bit to and cop a bit from. It's the way suburban football used to be.

If you can't handle that sort of thing (and most of it is just in fun) then perhaps you should be doing other things with your time than going to football games.

Me thinks you've probably lived a rather sheltered life, too.

Gets! said:
Okay so me and my mates like being vocal at the footy, however we never swear or anything as I wouldnt want my kids to be exposed to that and whatnot, and we NEVER have cracks at individual supporters, never anything personal.

However me and my mates were hit with so much abuse, and full on swearing, especially when I stood up everytime Thommo kicked a goal in that second quarter and was going off. Three guys behind us were calling us "Fing tossers all night", one other guy "We're gonna knock you off like dominos after the game", and one woman told my mate she would knock his teeth out. And of course these same people were cheering when Huddo was injured and calling him soft etc. This went on throughout the game, people grabbing my guernsey and pulling it back and ********.

I have been to games all over Australia and seen every team play at least twice over this time, and I have to say tonight was the worst I have ever seen, full stop. And what was with those flares after the game???

Don't get me wrong I'm lapping up the win, but just wanted to get this off my chest, meh.

Some Port supporters tonight were a disgrace, an absolute disgrace. Key word being 'some' Port boys, we had some lovely people behind us and were chatting and so on but man some were shocking.

Have a good night people.
Unfortunate - but this kind of behaviour needs to be factored in when considering attending any Port Power game........and is the very reason I wont take my 7 year old to Showdowns anymore.