The diving thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Topkent

He was talking about the Parker incident...MRP said body contact but the video clearly sees Parker collecting his chin and his hair flinging back. Difference is that he is not a squib (unlike a certain ranga).

What did you expect? The week before MRP acknowlegded Buddy hit Menadue high with a bump but let him off. They make up their own rules.

44f.gif
giphy.gif

He was talking about the Parker incident...MRP said body contact but the video clearly sees Parker collecting his chin and his hair flinging back. Difference is that he is not a squib (unlike a certain ranga).
The MRP has no reason to be fooled through. If they want to rub it out, then the MRP needs to ignore staging. I know I'm boring as anything bringing Ballas in to it again, but there are two MRP sanctions this week that appear to be based upon blatant exaggeration from the player on the receiving end.

Schofield should have kept his elbow to himself - it's beyond belief that the blame is on the guy who was clipped. FACT: without the elbow (which is clearly showed making contact) none of this would be an issue.

Just wondering if any of you tough guys lamenting Oliver's dive have ever been elbowed in the chin - or thrown one?

As a female who does taekwondo - my elbow is my first choice strike for self defense - I can put hardly any effort or energy in and know that it will impact hard enough for me to get away or plan my next self defense move.

Oliver gave Shuey a shove in the back, Schofield gave Oliver a shove in the shoulder and his elbow brushed his chin.

If Oliver had kept his hands to himself none of this would have happened, so who perpetrated what?

Schofield hand pushes Oliver in the shoulder first, his elbow followed onto the chin ever so slightly. So what was the intention? To elbow him the the chin or push him?

A lot of grey here as is the dive from Oliver. Did he exaggerate the impact when the doctor asked how he felt because if he admitted the impact was minimal that would be an admission he dived. Oliver has a motive to report the contact was worse than it was.

There's a part of me that likes it as long as the umpires don't get sucked in. It's funny watching the players trying to justify it afterwards because they know how ridiculous they would have looked.

Squirming on the ground while they try to figure out how long they'll have to maintain it to try and fool the audience, knowing full well that it's a lost cause even though they've committed.

Oliver went next level aussie pub fight machoism in his attempt. Was great to watch!

That flog Toby McLean qualifies top 5 for both flopper and diver.

Seems like just yesterday we were trying to work out how many he would milk in the GF, and whether it would cost us a flag if the ups were stupid enough to fall for it, yet again. Turned out to be 4 :rolleyes: As usual more than anyone else....just lucky with the umps allllll season i guess.

Shouldnt have come as a surprise, it was expected. The ultimate "dont touch him for christsake" faking spud piece of shit.

Seems like just yesterday we were trying to work out how many he would milk in the GF, and whether it would cost us a flag if the ups were stupid enough to fall for it, yet again. Turned out to be 4 :rolleyes: As usual more than anyone else....just lucky with the umps allllll season i guess.

Shouldnt have come as a surprise, it was expected. The ultimate "dont touch him for christsake" faking spud piece of shit.

Ducks but certainly doesn't dive. Puts his body on the line and takes his knocks.

Dry those eyes

What's the weather like in your mums basement?

Hopefully this is put to bed
Oliver copped his whack in the media, Schofield got off which he deserved and everyone is on notice for diving.

It shits me he did this because he goes harder at the footy than any other 19 year old in the comp and never drops at the knees or shrugs the shoulders or ducks his head.

The AFL was never gonna make a 19 year old the face of the diving conversation when Alex Rance dives every week. Chad wingards was just as bad but he didn't go and blow it up himself like Oliver

I hate this more as a Melbourne supporter because instead of people acknowledging he is one of the brightest young talents in the game who is on track to win our best and fairest in his second season the flogs on here will make the same exact jokes everytime his name is brought up like 10 year olds and 'ya mum' jokes.

He has got it as bad as anyone in the history of the game now. I guarantee he is close to best on on Friday night.

Mostly a good post but let's see how he goes in the engine room with JPK, Hanners and Parker.

Got the feeling Hewett will be making his life hell too.

Hopefully this is put to bed
Oliver copped his whack in the media, Schofield got off which he deserved and everyone is on notice for diving.

It shits me he did this because he goes harder at the footy than any other 19 year old in the comp and never drops at the knees or shrugs the shoulders or ducks his head.

The AFL was never gonna make a 19 year old the face of the diving conversation when Alex Rance dives every week. Chad wingards was just as bad but he didn't go and blow it up himself like Oliver

I hate this more as a Melbourne supporter because instead of people acknowledging he is one of the brightest young talents in the game who is on track to win our best and fairest in his second season the flogs on here will make the same exact jokes everytime his name is brought up like 10 year olds and 'ya mum' jokes.

His moronic response to (a vindicated) Damien Martyn tweet didnt help.

Yeah he brought more of it on himself which I didn't like. If he had said 'yep took a dive, was shit but I made a bad choice everyone would be over it by now)

Mostly a good post but let's see how he goes in the engine room with JPK, Hanners and Parker.

Got the feeling Hewett will be making his life hell too.

Meh got tagged last week and had 28 touches and 8 clearances. Send whoever to him. JPK is the best clearance player in the game but we have Max Gawn

Fair enough mate :thumbsu:

We'll see Friday ;)

It feels weird being cocky to a swans supporter before a game. Last decade has been us laying down and spreading essentially. I can guarantee you will realize how good Oliver is by the end of the game. He's a bloody star.

Yeah he brought more of it on himself which I didn't like. If he had said 'yep took a dive, was shit but I made a bad choice everyone would be over it by now)
i like the way Oliver goes about for the most part, but his diving antics are not a one off instance, check the 3 sec mark of this vid-

http://wwos.nine.com.au/2017/05/21/18/28/kangaroos-beat-demons-in-spiteful-clash

higgo barely touched him, if that was forcefull enough contact to drop Oliver to the ground he really should be playing netball rather than footy.

We have seen it with LT, if you keep going there you will get a rep you ultimately wont be able to shake.

carey commented on TF the other night that Oliver was a tough player and that in a contest no way any of these contacts would sent him to the ground.

Meh got tagged last week and had 28 touches and 8 clearances. Send whoever to him. JPK is the best clearance player in the game but we have Max Gawn

The attention clearly isn't bothering him, otherwise he would have stopped it. For the next few weeks everyone will be watching him and realise how good he is.

Wouldn't be surprised if it was his agent telling him to keep tweeting, his contract price will go up exponentially with this sort of attention. Won't be underrated for much longer.

I'd rather be known as a diver than a thug. But the whole time during this discussion, thugs like Brereton and Carey are passing judgement. I'd rather hear what somebody like Hird or SOS had to say about it, real tough guys.