Society & Culture the internet...

In some aspects the internet is the devil. Giving us access to an unprecedented amount of information, most of which does not improve our knowledge but rather provides us with illegal and sensitive information. The government needs to get it's act together and realise the internet is a new dimension of communication and censor illegal (only illegal) material.

I spend a moderate amount of time on the net, use to be alot more until I placed a self-imposed ban on all forums besides BigFooty. As a uni student I have the time and lifestyle ability to use BF without infracting upon my social life, but one day the time will come when I give up the interwebz and move onto bigger and better things.

Fascist.

Always remember

Misc-Internet.jpg

In some aspects the internet is the devil. Giving us access to an unprecedented amount of information, most of which does not improve our knowledge but rather provides us with illegal and sensitive information. The government needs to get it's act together and realise the internet is a new dimension of communication and censor illegal (only illegal) material.

So you want the government to censor 'most' of the internet? Pretty sure that's the rationale that the Communist Party of China uses...

after reading the responses in here and looking over my OP, I've come to the conclusion that it's all about balance... as long as you take control and have balance in your life it's all good...

as for the internet, it's an awesome invention... any question i have, or disagreement i have with someone... all i have to do is google it... problem solved...

don't know how to change the oil in my car... search the net for a how-to guide...

want to read up on a particular topic... the net will have the answers...

as for big footy... i come on here because (coming from sydney) none of my friends are into afl...here i can get some in-depth discussion going with like-minded, knowledgable people <-- i can't get that in "the real world"...

and then i got to thinking, if i stopped using the internet...what would be the alternative? tv? at least with the net i have control over the content i see... i can do/watch what i want, when i want... rather than having garbage spoon-fed to me...

I do however remember the mIRC days...when I first got the internet (it was kinda like a drug) and there'd be occasions where I stayed up all night chatting to random people... or when warcraft 3 came out I spent countless hours playing that... fast forward to today... I've never made a facebook account (and don't think i ever will)... i no longer play games online... BF is pretty much the only forum I frequent... I guess when I have kids I will automatically just have less time to spend on the net... maybe the future aint as dull as I imagined it would/could be

What I'm worried about is how much internet there is to go around.

We are squeezing this planet dry of internet, and unless we can figure out how to harvest another relatively close planet of it's internet soon, I can see countries colliding and wars being fought. Quick decisive action to take another countries internet.

When we run out of internet, and it will happen soon, civilization will forget how to water plants/prepare meals/conceive a child. No google = no knowledge.

Picture highway after highway of banked up cars, completely barren, pretty much zombie-like, because nobody knows how to pour water into their radiator anymore.

i remeber when the interwebs first arrived. so exciting! now its just the norm. which is sad? perhaps, but seriously, i don't really give a f**k, hell i don;t care about anything atm. fml!

also is f **k counted as lie a swear word even though its totally like blanked out kinda?? whatevs, i'll deal, whatever the case.

also, the internet cant be a bad thing, well not totally if its encouraging boys to man the f**k up as well as teaching them the tricks of the trade and whatnot. seriously, my ex apparently learnt how to... um... eat box... from the internet... weird yes, but effective either way.

also sorry for being so inappropriate... hahahahaha eat box sounds so filthy! aaaaaaaaaahhhhhh. good night all!

What is this, I don't even...

What I'm worried about is how much internet there is to go around.

We are squeezing this planet dry of internet, and unless we can figure out how to harvest another relatively close planet of it's internet soon, I can see countries colliding and wars being fought. Quick decisive action to take another countries internet.

When we run out of internet, and it will happen soon, civilization will forget how to water plants/prepare meals/conceive a child. No google = no knowledge.

Picture highway after highway of banked up cars, completely barren, pretty much zombie-like, because nobody knows how to pour water into their radiator anymore.

I never new all this. We have reached peak internet already. How many clicks is their left. What are the greenies saying? Surely we can dig some more up. Under the ocean?

Not much, not much at all, when I last checked we were at 20%. Under the ocean is a great place to look, why didn't we think of that earlier.

All it would involve is turning the planet upside down and emptying all the water out, then sending the harvesters into the giant empty craters. I'll send a message to the boys.

There's shitloads of internet below the ice in Antarctica but those damn greenies wont let us mine it.

They tryin to stop our interwebz.

There's a lot of raw untapped broadband internet up in the North West apparently so us West Australians should be good for a while.

Eastern Staters will probably just have to make do with shitty old dial up if they're lucky.

i remeber when the interwebs first arrived. so exciting! now its just the norm. which is sad? perhaps, but seriously, i don't really give a f**k, hell i don;t care about anything atm. fml!

also sorry for being so inappropriate... hahahahaha eat box sounds so filthy! aaaaaaaaaahhhhhh. good night all!

late charge for post of the year???

I sometimes wonder how life actually functioned without the Internet. I wasn't alive during the 1980s, but they must have been simple times.

They probably were just used to life without it.

People were going along fine, but then came the Internet. :thumbsu::thumbsd:

I remember the "Browser War" (before Microsoft were neutered),
Back in the days when Netscape ruled the web. Haven't seen it used for years. Many people here would not have even heard of it.
Usenet groups and discussion boards (sorry bulletin board systems)....
Accessed by a 14k modem via an OzEmail ISP account :)

I remember the days pre-Google when we used on search engines like Alta Vista. Hard to imagine a world without Google these days though. Arguably the most influential entity of the internet in the last 10 years. Search engines, browsers, operating systems, maps, applications, cloud computing. They are everywhere. And they will soon be responsible for plumbing the internet:
http://www.google.com/appserve/fiberrfi/public/overview
http://www.google.com/appserve/fiberrfi/

No mobile phones either. You organised things with mates during the week either over the landline or at footy training then you wouldn't actually speak again until you met up. If you rang someone up and they weren't home, the phone kept ringing for 3 minutes then after that gave a busy signal. The world didn't end if no one answered. It's all a money making scam now.

In those days, if no one answered, no problems, no charge. Now, it goes to messages, you pay for the privilege. The person you called then retrieves the message, in some cases they have to pay to do that. They then return the call, again you have to pay.

When you all got together, you sat around and had a beer and talked shite. No phones and no pokies interrupting people. If you got separated during the night you'd all meet at a designated place the following day and do a debrief of the night and find out what happened to everyone. It was actually fun and I miss it.

I remember having to get up and walk to the tv and either pressing a button or turning the rotary dial to change channels. I remember the older brother and sister of my best mate at the time when VCRs first came out. They took out a joint personal loan for $2,500 to buy a top of the range Sanyo Betamax version with remote control (a 15 or so foot cable with a pause button on the end of it) It's funny thinking about it now. Boy it was a lot of money in those days.

I remember watching my first page load over the internet, took about 10 bloody minutes and we all thought it was so amazing. These days I get cranky if I wait more than a couple of seconds.

Anyway, back to the OP. In 30 years we will all be in a real life version of the Bruce Willis movie Surrogates.