The Perth Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter BALKAN

Yep that's Perth. What this state needs is another big capital city.
We need another capital city?

Two capital cities - that'd be unique

Used to be known as the arty school when I was of that age but yeah has a good rep. Not sure if that explains it though. Guess it's just proximity to Perth.
I've heard it's gone down the drain.

While I'm a flog and agree with some of his points, I don't think another big city would help.

The only thing Geelong is good for is masochistic trips down to see what footy was like in the early 90s.

That and Lambys on a Sunday night. Actually that's not a good thing at all.

No one ever talks about Wollongong, Newcastle, or Gosford. And Townsville, Cairns might as well be operating in their own state. Second cities don't have much pull or relevance in Australia, and them helping out WA in any way – especially in terms of making Perth a bigger, bustlinglinglinglier city is a bit nonsensical. Bunbury, the shithole, or Albany, too far away, swelling ten times their size will just take people away from other areas.

Other areas like Nauru Processing Centre.

I actually love Perth. And i like the size it is. If i wanted to live in a city as big as Sydney or Melbourne I'd go live there. I have been to both lots of times and always long for home. Don't quite see the obsession to make Perth well not Perth. It annoys me actually. Life is as boring as you make it. Not everwhere has to be a clone of everwhere else.

Other than being new, I don't understand why Auburn Grove and Hammond Park are expensive. Way out of the way, in what was once swampy bush.

I can't speak for Hammond Park but Aubin Grove as far as I'm aware is about average price. There is a part of the suburb where there are a few 2 story houses and there is also the part towards Banjup and Wandi where there are some bigger blocks which may put the median price up. Other than that it's normal AFAIK.

It's not really that far out of the way either. It's about 20 minutes from the city and 25 minutes from Freo. It's right on the Freeway as well.

I've never understood why property in Booragoon has always been expensive relative to the surrounding areas. Because of Garden City and the public swimming pool?

Asians and the rossmoyne school

I actually love Perth. And i like the size it is. If i wanted to live in a city as big as Sydney or Melbourne I'd go live there. I have been to both lots of times and always long for home. Don't quite see the obsession to make Perth well not Perth. It annoys me actually. Life is as boring as you make it. Not everwhere has to be a clone of everwhere else.
Agree, I don't really want to see it get much bigger. A big part of the attraction of WA is the lack of people and ability to get up or down the coast and find deserted beaches, etc. More people will just put more pressure on the relatively pristine coastline. Plus after having lived for a while in a much bigger city, coming back to Perth always felt laidback and comparatively friendly. It's quite normal to have a chat with people working in shops,etc here, but in big cities people think you're weird if you do that sort of stuff.

Apparently Albany was penciled in to be WA's capital city but then Silent Alarm's ancestors rocked up there complaining about how it wasn't hipster enough.

Nek Minnut Perth became WA's capital city.

True story.

We were discussing it at lunch and wifey thinks Albany is the retirement capital of WA. I thought it was Busso?

My old man used to take us down to Albany for school holidays, we stayed in these chalets in the Lower Kalgan region amongst all the sheep and cow paddocks. The chalets were hired out by farmers and you'd wake up with cows mooing outside your bedroom window and sheep on your doorstep, it was always cold, windy and raining too.

I think it reminded of my old man of NZ but was cheaper than flying back there, Albany was the next best thing.

It's a very sought after area amongst the old sea changers, retirees these days.

I'm sure Silent Alarm would know about the Lower Kalgan region being an Albany lad.

What do you mean 'Asians'?

And as discussed above the consensus was it's not in the rhsz (as much as a couple of people on a forum can be a consensus).

I think we were going with leafiness and proximity to transport/garden city last I checked.

There are a number of suburbs in that area that are catchments for good or excellent public schools. These suburbs become "self-actualising" as asians by into the suburbs, study harder and achieve better results and thus deliver an even stronger reputation for the schools.

Winthrop is affectionately known as Chinthrop by asians, attesting to its high asian population.

Part of this was driven by Indonesia and Malaysia's racist education policies which prevented Chinese-Indo and Chinese-Malays going to university. So the parents bought properties in these suburbs to send their kids to high school and then to university. My wife is a product of this, owns a place in Chinthrop and went to Rossmoyne.......same with all her friends.

There are a number of suburbs in that area that are catchments for good or excellent public schools. These suburbs become "self-actualising" as asians by into the suburbs, study harder and achieve better results and thus deliver an even stronger reputation for the schools.

Winthrop is affectionately known as Chinthrop by asians, attesting to its high asian population.

Part of this was driven by Indonesia and Malaysia's racist education policies which prevented Chinese-Indo and Chinese-Malays going to university. So the parents bought properties in these suburbs to send their kids to high school and then to university. My wife is a product of this, owns a place in Chinthrop and went to Rossmoyne.......same with all her friends.
IIRC 1/2 of Winthrop is Melville with the other 1/2 being Applecross.

I say this as a Chinthrop resident

We were discussing it at lunch and wifey thinks Albany is the retirement capital of WA. I thought it was Busso?

I think Denmark and Bridgetown are popular places to retire to

Yunderup is practically a retirement village for seniors with money isn't it?

Yeah there is some serious money down Yunderup way, a mate of mine from high school's parents had a holiday home down there with their own jetty, we went down there and ran amok hooning about on dingies.

And their place was povo compared to some of the super rich campaigners down there, they just bought in early back in the 80s when it was still being developed.

Past Busso down Dunsborough way is. Busso is more "Caravan Park/ School holiday central" for those that think Bali is a backwater and "want to explore the mother country". You know, from the relative comfort of a Winnebago with all the fruit.

The commercialisation of Areas down south like Margaret River etc shit me to tears, but that's mainly because of the historical links that area has to my family. (My family owned the land the townsite is on many many many moons ago).

IIRC 1/2 of Winthrop is Melville with the other 1/2 being Applecross.

I say this as a Chinthrop resident

The wife lived closer to the freeway to get into rossmoyne before moving in Winthrop

She was then allowed to stay at R

The commercialisation of Areas down south like Margaret River etc shit me to tears, but that's mainly because of the historical links that area has to my family. (My family owned the land the townsite is on many many many moons ago).
Margaret River is an awful place these days.