Over The Post
Bless you my children
- Nov 17, 2007
- AFL Club
- Richmond
- Other Teams
Ophidian Old Boys
Go visit the hepatitis monkeys in City Park.
Is that a euphemism for junkies?

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Ophidian Old Boys
Go visit the hepatitis monkeys in City Park.
Is that a euphemism for junkies?
How often do get back home
Do you miss the nature etc ?
Going to Tassie for a holiday in March.
Any things to do/see people have enjoyed?
Basing ourselves in Hobart but hired car so can check out whole island
On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
Nope, the icies aren't in the park in Launceston.
The macaques at City Park all contracted and gave each other Hepatitis, which from memory was discovered in the late 90s/early 00s, and necessitated the construction of this grand new monkey enclosure. It's really impressive and a bit fun though.
Where they based?A friend of ours has a farm and started his own butcher’s business. His food is soo much nicer than store bought and really well priced. Reckon his snags are only 11-12$ kg
Just googled drunken admiral and looks amazing.You'll want to spend part of your trip on the road.
On your way out of Hobart, visit Richmond. The maze is ok if that's your kind of the thing. The bakery right next to the bridge is one of the best and oldest in Australia.
From Richmond you go to Port Arthur. Spend at least 24 hours there, and make sure you do the boat tour.
Then, head up to Coles Bay to the Freycinet National Park. It's a vey easy walk to the peak of the mountain, I first did it as a 6yo with very overweight parents. You'll also want to visit the beach at Wineglass Bay. So I'd spend a night here as well. (Make sure your car has a national parks pass!)
From Wineglass Bay, travel to Launceston through Campbeltown. Not cos there's necessarily anything to see on that route - there isn't, although there's a really good Banjo's Campbelltown - but because I wouldn't recommend any tourist head north to St Mary's Pass or Elephant Pass, it's too intimidating if its raining/foggy/misty.
In Launceston, spend an afternoon looking around the Cataract Gorge. Eat at the Gorge restaurant. You might also like to try and do a tour of Boags Brewery. Go visit the hepatitis monkeys in City Park.
Then back in Hobart you'll want to make sure you're there on the Saturday morning for Salamanca market - looking at my list, this is the only thing that's time critical. Salamanca is only worth doing on Saturday (keep an eye out for the bratwursts or the crepes). You'll want to head up Mt Wellington just for the views. Choose any one of the seafood restaurants around the dock - they all get their seafood straight off the boat. (The Drunken Admiral was the last one I went to, and it was amazing... but I've been vegan for 10 years!) And you'll obviously want to do MONA.
There's more stuff in the northwest & west (the wilderness railway is incredible), but I'd strongly prioritise doing Hobart properly (as properly as you can), Port Arthur and Mt Freycinet - I don't think you're going to have time to go any further northwest than Launceston.
Another good day trip you can do from Hobart is Hastings Caves if you're into that. I think the Tahune Airwalk is down that way too (I don't know if it still exists, it was created as an attempt to astroturf Forestry Tasmania's old growth logging campaign in the late 90s.) Cascade is in Hobart. You might like to spend some time at the Winery next to MONA.
If you have any specific interests, let us know. I grew up there, and I was lucky enough to see almost all of it, except the inaccessible south west and the Bass Strait islands.
Just googled drunken admiral and looks amazing.
Reckon we'll give that a go!
The oyster shooter and depth chargers look amazing (on paper [emoji1787])
Whilst watching sport when eating, do you eat quicker?
Certainly drink quickerWhilst watching sport when eating, do you eat quicker?
Going to Tassie for a holiday in March.
Any things to do/see people have enjoyed?
Basing ourselves in Hobart but hired car so can check out whole island
This is why Tassie team wont work.Stick to the North. Southern Tasmanians tend to be unpleasant; emitting an offputting smell and having an poor taste in beer.
This is why Tassie team wont work.
Two Teams for Tassie!
Two. How fitting. I agree.This is why Tassie team wont work.
Two Teams for Tassie!
Yeah I reckon about 3.How long is too long to wait for a proposal?
I just read a comment online with a lot of likes saying if the bloke hasn't done it within 3 years, break it off. My partner waited almost 6!
My friends have been together for a good 20+ years, two children, still not married.lol my GF and I just cracked 10 years in October... no proposal
Everywhere we go I get questioned by others.
Got very close couple of times then people say stuff to us (sometimes aggressively) and the timing feels off