The Questions Thread

Just got a letter for jury duty, anyone been ? What should I expect ?
If you don't want to be picked rock up in a flanno and dada trackies. I have never been, but would be interested, especially if work still pays me.

I imagine each state is different, but in WA you must do it. You can delay to a time convenient within the next six months.

I've been on Jury duty twice and was selected both times, once I dressed down and once dressed "normally". Both cases went for 2-4 days. It's an interesting process and an eye-opener. I don't know if I'm just unlucky but both were indecent dealing cases.

I haven't been to Hungry Jacks in like two years.

Are the chips any better than they were two years ago? I want clarification from somebody other than the token dark skinned man seemingly enjoying them on the new ad.

Mate not even close, those red rooster chips are the clear potato leader.

There's this w*nky restaurant near my house that has "a side of chunky cut beer battered kipfler chips with rosemary and garlic" for $14.95.

Red Rooster beats them hands down. It's so sad that they've shut down several stores in SA. Their food is so much better than all of the other fast food places. And better for you too.

There's this w*nky restaurant near my house that has "a side of chunky cut beer battered kipfler chips with rosemary and garlic" for $14.95.

Red Rooster beats them hands down. It's so sad that they've shut down several stores in SA. Their food is so much better than all of the other fast food places. And better for you too.

They always ask me to wait in the drive through for the chips, never a care in the world knowing they'll be fresh when I get them.... I'm going to red rooster tomorrow now.

Nandos chips > all

Of all the major places, it goes like this:

1. Red Rooster
2. Kingsley's in Canberra (not major, but worth a mention)
3. Nando's
4. Salsa's
5. Oporto
6. KFC
7. Mc Donald's
8. Hungry Jack's

They always ask me to wait in the drive through for the chips, never a care in the world knowing they'll be fresh when I get them.... I'm going to red rooster tomorrow now.

I'm telling work I'm having a 90 minute lunch break tomorrow. I shall gorge.

Grill'd chips would have to be the most overrated in the world. "Ooh we've chucked in some herbs that add nothing to go with our 40 tonnes of salt". At least they have sweet potato fries these days.

Of all the major places, it goes like this:

1. Red Rooster
2. Kingsley's in Canberra (not major, but worth a mention)
3. Nando's
4. Salsa's
5. Oporto
6. KFC
7. Mc Donald's
8. Hungry Jack's

Not a bad list but you've got Salsa's too high. They always put too much of that seasoning on there. I reckon Macca's should be higher, love those little fries.

Grill'd chips would have to be the most overrated in the world. "Ooh we've chucked in some herbs that add nothing to go with our 40 tonnes of salt". At least they have sweet potato fries these days.

Not a bad list but you've got Salsa's too high. They always put too much of that seasoning on there. I reckon Macca's should be higher, love those little fries.

I agree with everything. Grill'd burgers are amazing, but their chips are shit. Shit seasoning and a bland flavour. Little to no crunch either.

Salsa's chips are amazing when you ask them to put only a little bit of seasoning on them. They are way too overpowered usually though. And I agree regarding Macca's. Numbers 4-7 in my list are very close, but I do like my chips chunkier than French fries.

In my opinion, everyone should just do what South Australian deli's have been doing for years. Medium-sized, straight-cut chips, decent crunch, with a nice sprinkling of Mitani Chicken Salt. Red Rooster pretty much do just that. None of this pretentious herbs and spices bullshit. Just good old fashioned hot chips, like God, or Con the local deli owner, in their infinite wisdom, intended them to be.

Look at me, the hot chip connoisseur. My parents would be proud. :thumbsu:

Not sure how it differs from state to state but expect a lot of boredom- particularly when you get there on the 1st day while waiting for everyone to get inside. It took about an hour to an hour and a half to get everyone in and sorted with a number when I did it. Then there was an induction video then more waiting around until it was time to select jurors.

If you get selected, the actual process and watching how a court actually works is quite interesting. You just need to hope for a short case. Mine went for just short of 2 days and we only deliberated for 20 minutes (30 at most). Another day and I would have been bored of it. Also, if you are selected, volunteer to be the foreman of the jury. Nobody else wanted to do it when I did mine so I said I would and I am glad I did.

It's a great experience and I would definitely do it again if given the chance. This is coming from someone who really did not want to do it at all.

After having left my long term job as a nurse due to a bully and now im signed up to an agency. Already been back to my old job and ward as an agency nurse. Everyone was very welcoming. ...except one....who was rude.

Why are bullies bullies? Do they enjoy being nasty? Are they aware that people think they are a douche canoe? Do they care about that?

Bullies are bullies for any number of reasons. Jealousy, abuse during childhood, feelings of inadequacy. If they see somebody happier than them, or with something they don't have or wish they had, they lash out. I was speaking to a mate who works in HR, and he said that bullies are often bullies due to childhood abuse. He said that due to poor parenting, psychological abuse and physical abuse at home, bullies may seek revenge on alternatives who they themselves consider weaker targets. Also, bullies are often narcissistic egotists who abuse any power they have.

If you experience bullying at work, report it to HR and managers. If nothing or very little is done, then report it to Fair Work. They're usually really good with those sorts of things.

Don't do what I did. Last year, I experienced severe bullying from a guy at my firm (he has since been fired). He was a passive aggressive prick to everyone, and gave everyone a heap of shit. He spent the better part of two months barking orders at me and shutting me down every chance he got. I always turned the other cheek. One time, a bunch of us sat in for a session on corporate governance. He raised a point, and I picked a hole in it, respectfully questioning him about an aspect of it. He stuttered a flimsy reply. One of the senior partners agreed with me and said "Good job". About half an hour later, we took a break, so I went to the break room to grab a juice.

He came storming in after me and said "What the f*ck was that? How f*cking dare you!"
"What?"
"You f*cking undermined me in front of everyone!"
"It's a brainstorming refresher on corporate governance. Meaning we're allowed to discuss and share our thoughts. I wasn't rude; I just shared my thoughts"
"You made me look like an idiot"
"I'm sorry you feel that way. I didn't mean to"
"F*ck you. What are you doing here anyway? You're a f*cking intern. Go get me a coffee you useless piece of shit"
"What did you say to me"
"You f*cking heard me"
"Don't speak to me like that"
"Or what?"
"You'll find out"
"Oh yeah?"

He grabbed me and pinned me up against a wall and I just stood there with my arms up, not wanting to get in a fight. Two girls and a guy walk in (nope, not a porno) with all this going on and grab him off me. I tell him in a calm voice "You ever touch me again, and I'll beat the f*cking shit out of you". I should have just left it alone.

He was given a formal warning by HR for being violent, and I was talked to for using threatening language. Word got around the office that he started on me and that I didn't fight back. He was fired about a month later, after further warnings about his behaviour in the office.

I'm really glad he was fired. Work is a pretty awesome place without him there.

Can a tradesperson charge you more than the original quote? I had a tradie to do some work for me based on a quote he gave me. He is now telling me that there were some unexpected costs and it took him longer than expected. I have a budget and hired him on the quote he gave me. Is he in his rights to charge me more?

Did he disclose said extra charges while he was working? If he didn't then it is a grey area, at the end of the day you can pay him what was originally quoted and then it is up to him to pursue more through the courts etc. Do you have a text or hard copy quote from him?

Yeah I have a quote that he e-mailed me before he started the job. He did tell me while he was working that there were things that he hadn't expected but didn't say that it was going to mean more expense to me. I will bite the bullet and pay for it if he is in his rights but want to make sure he is before I pay him.

A quote and an estimate are two different things. Make sure details in the quote are agreed to by both parties, including material costs, labour, travel costs, incidentals, and anything else that may arise. Try to get them to account for as much as possible.

Quotes in most jurisdictions are binding contracts between an customer and the person he or she employs to undertake work.

If costs have risen, get the tradesperson to detail in length about those costs and what they consisted of. If these were not included in the original quote, ask them why. If it was due to negligence in drawing up the quote on the part of the contractor, you will be able to get out of those costs. If for example, you were getting a tap fixed and your entire wall caved in, and he performed the extra work without your prior consent, and then charged you for the extra work, it's not legally your duty to pay him or her for the extra work.

Details are very important. Quite often the problem with contractors and tradespeople is they are very vague with their quotes. Be very thorough.