Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

I've thought about having a troll account before, but really just couldn't be bothered logging in and out all the time.

Ok so i've been here for 11 years and I didn't think of that

I would think they would use different browsers so they wouldnt have to log in and out
Yeah but you have to be careful not to troll with your legit account. I had an account years ago that sent the main board into a frenzy, several threads that got to 700+ posts.

You're suzi olsen???

I'm watching the footy show grand final review, and I feel embarrassed and ashamed. **** knows how the idiot players involved would be feeling

I've thought about having a troll account before, but really just couldn't be bothered logging in and out all the time.

I created one 11 years ago, I thought long & hard for an obscure & witty name & came up with Chris

I've used it for 4 whole posts, reckon it'll fool anyone?

How old would someone need to be as at October 31st, 2017 to qualify as a father son option for us?

I know of a player who played over 200 games with one of our assigned f/s clubs. He has a son who is showing a a bit of promise at the moment in footy and sport in general. Played in a junior colts (under 15's I think) premiership recently and got in the best players, and I think has another 2 or so years in that grade.

I think the son started high school this year, so presumably would be 13 some time this year.

I created one 11 years ago, I thought long & hard for an obscure & witty name & came up with Chris

I've used it for 4 whole posts, reckon it'll fool anyone?
well not now!

How old would someone need to be as at October 31st, 2017 to qualify as a father son option for us?

I know of a player who played over 200 games with one of our assigned f/s clubs. He has a son who is showing a a bit of promise at the moment in footy and sport in general. Played in a junior colts (under 15's I think) premiership recently and got in the best players, and I think has another 2 or so years in that grade.

I think the son started high school this year, so presumably would be 13 some time this year.

If he qualifies I'm sure the club would already be all over him.

Rodan confirms the Johnny Warren Theory about football - his soccer/football theory works for Aussie Rules.

I feel I have followed the Johnny Warren path in life. Early on it was all about the British game and British/anglo things and then he went to Brazil in 1981 and fell in love with the latin world, the latin ladies, the latin food and the latin way of loving life.

Johnny used to say that the reason why the Brazilians are so good at soccer is because of their dance culture. The fact they learn to dance and move at an early age helps their movement when they play soccer.

Applying the Johnny Warren theory, we can see that Rodan comes from a dance culture and the way he can move off the field is reflected in the way he moves on it. The way he can swivel those hips and get around opponents like few others. The indigenous boys are similar.

So if we ever get the $$$ to get those kids thru the Magpies academy and are able to hide them and get them via some dodgy draft dodging method, then dance classes should be compulsory when they start at 14 and 15.

I don't know how accurate it was, but in the mid 80's I heard some Soviet/Russian athletics coach say that every Soviet male gold medalist had taken ballet classes at school as well as gymnastics.

Anyway one day I will go to carnivale and dance the Samba in the streets of Brazil, do the Tango in a club in Buenos Aires and dance the Salsa in the city square of Bogota, with a lovely local lady.

"How old would someone need to be as at October 31st, 2017 to qualify as a father son option for us? "

The 20 year sunset clause was scrapped years ago.

If only Rodan performed as consistently year to year on the park as he does in the revue.

He does, one big performance a year both on and off the field each. ;)

I know its wikpedia, and can't be relied upon...so this is not up to date then?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Father-Son_Rule

"Until 31 October 2017, Port Adelaide can select any player whose father has made 200 SANFL appearances prior to 1997 for the Port Adelaide Magpies, North Adelaide, West Adelaide, Central District, Woodville or West Torrens".

Therefore the lad I know of won't be eligible if he turns 13 this year? Or are there other criteria to consider?

Take a quote from the player rules not wiki

2010 AFL player rules
As at May 2010

4.2 Father/Son Rule

4.2.1 Players Eligible – All Clubs

Subject to Rule 4.2.4, a Club may include a person on its Primary List if
the person’s father played 100 or more Senior Matches (being either
Home and Away or Finals Series Matches) with the Club.

4.2.2 Western Australian and South Australian Based Clubs

In addition to the rights conveyed under Rule 4.2.1;

(a) The West Coast Eagles Football Club may include a person on
its Primary List if that person’s father played 150 Senior Matches
(being either home and away or finals series matches) at one of
the following clubs prior to, but not including, 1987:
(i) Claremont Football Club;
(ii) East Perth Football Club;
(iii) West Perth Football Club; or
(iv) Subiaco Football Club.

(b) The Fremantle Football Club may include a person on its
Primary List if that person’s father played 150 or more Senior
Matches (being either home and away or finals series matches)
at one of the following clubs prior to, but not including, 1995:
(i) South Fremantle Football Club;
(ii) East Fremantle Football Club;
(iii) Perth Football Club; or
(iv) Swan Districts Football Club.

(c) The Adelaide Football Club may include a person on its Primary
List if that person’s father played 200 or more Senior Matches
the following clubs prior to but not including, 1991:
(i) Norwood Football Club;
(ii) Glenelg Football Club;
(iii) Sturt Football Club; or
(iv) South Adelaide Football Club.
- 34 -
AFL Player Rules – May 2010

(d) The Port Adelaide Football Club may include a person on its
Primary List if that person’s father played 200 or more Senior
at one of the following clubs prior to, but not including, 1997:
(i) Port Magpies Football Club;
(ii) Woodville Football Club;
(iii) West Torrens Football Club;
(iv) North Adelaide Football Club;
(iv) Central Districts Football Club; or
(v) West Adelaide Football Club.
(e) This Rule 4.2.2 is subject to Rule 4.2.4.

4.2.3 NSW and Queensland Based Clubs........

2011 AFL Player Rules
As at February 2011

4.2 Father/Son Rule

4.2.1 Players Eligible – All Clubs

Subject to Rule 4.2.4, a Club may include a person on its Primary List if
the person’s father played 100 or more Senior Matches (being either
Home and Away or Finals Series Matches) with the Club.

4.2.2 Western Australian and South Australian Based Clubs
In addition to the rights conveyed under Rule 4.2.1;

(a) The West Coast Eagles Football Club may include a person on
its Primary List if that person’s father played 150 Senior Matches
the following clubs prior to, but not including, 1987:
(i) Claremont Football Club;
(ii) East Perth Football Club;
(iii) West Perth Football Club; or
(iv) Subiaco Football Club.

(b) The Fremantle Football Club may include a person on its
Primary List if that person’s father played 150 or more Senior
at one of the following clubs prior to, but not including, 1995:
(i) South Fremantle Football Club;
(ii) East Fremantle Football Club;
(iii) Perth Football Club; or
(iv) Swan Districts Football Club.

(c) The Adelaide Football Club may include a person on its Primary
List if that person’s father played 200 or more Senior Matches
the following clubs prior to but not including, 1991:
(i) Norwood Football Club;
(ii) Glenelg Football Club;
(iii) Sturt Football Club; or
(iv) South Adelaide Football Club.
- 35 -
AFL Player Rules – February2011

(e) This Rule 4.2.2 is subject to Rule 4.2.4.

4.2.3 NSW and Queensland Based Clubs......

This appears to be the applicable clause then:

So presumably the 2017 part is the bit that doesn't apply. So should be no worries for eligibility then.