The Thread About Nothing - PART 2 OPEN

• Thread starter Thread starter Groupie_

If Cameron wanted to leave at the end of next year what could GWS do about it? They'd either have to make a deal or watch him walk into the PSD. Definitely worth going for IMO. Much moreso than the overrated Elmer Fudd of The Filth. Should be getting into his ear now, Carey Mk.II deserves to be playing in front of big crowds and real supporters every week.

It's because the dogs are shit. Swannies copping it now, just like Dusty did. As for Connors he got sacked "for taking sleeping pills". More of a story there

Popping the pill in the first place was the mistake as it led to a series of incidents that put his AFL career at risk.
I'm not going to discuss the drug debate with you or anyone else, but putting that aside, the risks of doing so were:

losing conciousness on a notorious street where violent crime happens almost nightly
passing out on a concrete footpath that could have killed him (ie David Hookes)
being out at 3.30am in such a state on King St, where nothing good is ever going to happen
getting a strike next to his name and having it become public, something that will taint him for the rest of his career
being suspended by the club for 4 weeks and not being able to even gonear the club for the next month

AFL players are not in the position where they can act like the sad majority of 20-year-olds out there. It's a non-negotiable aspect of the profession. Dan Connors couldn't adhere to it and look where he is now. It's just the way it is, whether it's right or wrong.
I don't know how old you are, but I will presume until you tell me otherwise, that you are closer to Tom's age than I am. Sometimes it takes something like that for you to wake up and realise that you won't do anything like that again. Fortunately I am still alive to relate to you that experiece happened to me.
I am close to Tom's age, and I live in the same city. There is no argument that what he did was a mistake, especially as an AFL player. I can't understand when young men are given an opportunity and all they need to do is avoid bad substances, but they can't manage it. My only point is that it doesn't mean he has a problem, it only means he got caught. AFL players do what Libba did every week, they just manage to get away with it. Libba could well be one of the least involved at the club. When people say "he has a life threatening problem, I hope his career isn't in jeopardy, I feel for his family" it's just an enormous over reaction.

Thoughts on the Milne-O'Brien thing?
I think the AFL is going way over the top with some of this PC stuff, but what it does reinforce to me is that Milne is a germ of a human being. His goal celebrations are enough alone to make me dislike him immensely.

Re. Milne v Harry O...
I dunno... I'm sure I am far too old fashioned but as much as I hate Milne, this is starting to get out of hand isn't it?
I know the AFL needs to set examples re acceptable behaviour within itself and the broader community but as a society we have some massive double standards IMO.

For eg. my 11 year old daughter is flicking around the TV dial on Saturday mornings and lands on Video Hits type shows where the overt sexualisation of girls/women is standard and yet we wonder why there is generally a lessening of respect in the community and perhaps increased instances of freaks and wierdo's threatening us.

Then we allow extremely violent internet and gaming "entertainment" to be readily accessable to underage and all-aged people and wonder why it's getting more and more violent and dangerous on the streets.

We extend licensing hours until dawn and open up more and more clubs and bars and wonder why the community has increased issues with alcohol (& drug) abuse.

We make the avenues for gambling in person, on-line and at venues more and more accessable but yet wonder why problem gambling and resulting individual and family breakdown is a massively increasing issue,

& yet a couple of words said by men in the heat of intense sporting battle needs to be stamped out and punished with an iron fist???????

I remain, in my middle aged years increasingly confused!!!???!!!??? o_O o_O

Re. Milne? He probably deserves a 'talking to' and a suspended fine.

Great post Roachy.
I have a mate whose son is ultra talented in footy and cricket and will need to make a decision which one to pursue in a year or so.
He is dead set being turned away from footy and if forced to make a decision today, would choose cricket. Not only because of the ridiculous moral standards that AFL players are expected to abide by these days, but also because he wants to have a life away from sport.
Now it's possible he won't make it in either sport, but this is the path that the AFL is going down and it's turning people away. Maybe not in mass droves, but it's holier than though attitude is a concern.

I hope the kid makes the right decision Tugg, it's a pitty that chosing a sport to play is becoming more of a career path nowadays rather then simply a choice for physical fitness, mateship and enjoyment.

I get the fact that big time sport is now a business almost before it is an avenue for physical competition but at some point things just grow and evolve too far and end up changing into something totally different.

I will always love my footy and in particular my Tigers but as they say, the simple things in life are often the best and a couple of hours of kick to kick in the park with a dozen mates and 4 or 5 Sherrins is IMO still the best way to spend a sunny afternoon. :)

I have been playing cricket for 30 years and at a decent level for some of them. I have seen talented kids come and go. This kid is out of the box. Will play for Victoria if he goes down that path and I wouldn't be surprised if he goes higher.
Haven't seen him play footy, but apparantely he is a freak at that as well.
If he is good enough to make it at the highest level at both, then if I was his dad, it would be a no contest as to what I would advise him to do.
Cricket wins. Travel the world, playing for your country, professional outfit with professional standards, but not so rigid that you can't have a beer six days before your next game.
Footy: daily meetings, strict diet, your whole life 24/7 mapped out for you, can't have an opinion unless it tows the company line etc etc.

On the Bulldogs- they are seriously screwed. I don't think the supporters realise just how bad the next few years are going to be.

Current ages

31 - Gilbee, Hargrave
30 - Lake, Giansiracusa, Murphy, Boyd
29 - Morris, Cross

Then you have Cooney who appears to be breaking down at the knees (I do feel sorry for Cooney who is a great player)

They do not have the stocks to replace these guys and are going to be rooted for at least 3 years. The majority of BF Doggies seem to think that because they have such a great culture they are going to be able to develop their list and replenish their stocks through the draft etc.

Personally I think their immediate future is the most bleak of all (including Port) and they are nowhere near rock bottom yet. You have to ask yourself is this a club that can sustain this.

I'm not sure if many of their supporters are prepared for years of bottom 4 and wooden spoons.

Thoughts on the Milne-O'Brien thing?
I think the AFL is going way over the top with some of this PC stuff, but what it does reinforce to me is that Milne is a germ of a human being. His goal celebrations are enough alone to make me dislike him immensely.

Was going to make comment but decided that in this PC world, no matter what you say and how, it can be turned against you if someone so desires.......probably shouldn't even have said that.

LOL! Give me a ******* break... West Coast Duck supporters complaining about the umpires...
They just don't get the game. I can get tickets to WC games every home game and refuse to go.

just watched the tv telecast of the Eagles and Geelong game to tonight..that last quarter was unbelievable..

Those maggot umpires did everything they could to give the Cats an advantage in that last quarter...

Disgracefull...i really think the game has passed the umpires by...substandard....and you can justify that crap anyway you want geishan...but i call it crap...

AzXGbL5CIAAJ3Ni.jpg:large

What's with the constant booing at Subiaco? Do they spend any time watching the actual game? It must be hard when you are putting so much effort into booing at the top of your voice.