Society & Culture Things in life you just don't understand - Part 5

that happens a lot?
amazing how often it happened - be 10-20 a year who would be pricks to get money out of. Would get to the mid-point of the season and these players were told they couldnt play anymore until they paid up....except for the years we were relatively short on players and they couldnt say that otherwise we wouldnt have a team.

we always said to put a list on the locker room wall of players who havent paid or (or made a payment arrangement) but then said players would complain

move 10kms-20kms-30kms - plenty of housing going up 30kms out of melbourne.....

otherwise, for those who say 'but i dont want to live 30kms from the city', then rent and stop complaining, prices in and around the city arent going to be $600k ever.....EVER

Fingers crossed you have more money and a better application than the 50 other people looking at buy the same house!

I think the middle ground isn’t even close to the middle (and I’m a 35 year old that just recently bought my first house, without any help from parents).

I can appreciate the very very lucky position I was in to have a very well paid job and a partner who also had a very well paid job, we waited to have kids and still had to move much further than our parents ever did.

Compare that to say my wife’s Aunty, who had a gap year, came home and worked in a bank for a few years then got the deposit for a 2 bedder in Footscray off working 3 days a week.
It doesn't always have to come back to past generations having it easier. We know they did, and it's too hard for home ownership now and something has to be done. That does not invalidate a view that youth spend more recklessly than before. I do not have a well paid job, or holidays, or a lot of flash gadgets, or new cars, but I do have a kid and a house and I am more than happy with the result of the belt tightening. I keep my avocado cafe breakfasts to a minimum, a treat, not a routine. Sometimes mum and dad pay for brekky. He can afford it, he has a well paying job. He also no job for the entire 90s but lucky he was a boomer with a mortgage paid off in the 80s, so being a centrelink kid wasn't back breaking.

I think young people now spend their money elsewhere because their own home is so far out of reach that they may as well enjoy life in a different way.

Agree, I've said this before too. But it's kind of a made your bed situation after all that spending elsewhere, innit? A bit more can be done to grow the savings enough to afford something.

like young local footballers who 'cant afford' to pay their footy fees but can spend plenty on a few pingers and a shit load of grog every saturday night. Used to shit me up the wall watching club volunteers chase them up week after week and them basically shitting in their face saying 'i cant afford it this week'
I bet they aren't buying beer on tap either. It would be pricey premixed stuff.

I think young people now spend their money elsewhere because their own home is so far out of reach that they may as well enjoy life in a different way.

Especially for those that are single and don't have a partner to help buy a place with.

Travelling is easier to do these days and travelling on your own seems to be more common than it was.

It doesn't always have to come back to past generations having it easier. We know they did, and it's too hard for home ownership now and something has to be done. That does not invalidate a view that youth spend more recklessly than before. I do not have a well paid job, or holidays, or a lot of flash gadgets, or new cars, but I do have a kid and a house and I am more than happy with the result of the belt tightening. I keep my avocado cafe breakfasts to a minimum, a treat, not a routine. Sometimes mum and dad pay for brekky. He can afford it, he has a well paying job. He also no job for the entire 90s but lucky he was a boomer with a mortgage paid off in the 80s, so being a centrelink kid wasn't back breaking.

Agree, I've said this before too. But it's kind of a made your bed situation after all that spending elsewhere, innit? A bit more can be done to grow the savings enough to afford something.
Well I didnt start the direct comparison but ultimately that is how everyone views it and it is just overly simplistic to say that kids these days dont tighten the purse strings and want the 5 bedder in toorak at 22. In my experience that just isnt the case.

Put it this way, our 3 bedder in Point Cook was $650ish and even for that we needed to have about $100k for deposit, stamp duty and fees, trying to save that with wage growth dead an insanely competitive job market at entry level, inflation etc. is just so ridiculously far away for most that they get to a point that they want to give up and that is BEFORE you consider taking a gap year etc etc (which plenty of our parents did too).

Could young people do more to save? Yeh most probably could, would it be enough to let them buy a decent home in a decent area before they are 40, probably not. So until there is some infrastucture help to do it, why should they cop shit for complaining about it.

So did i and i realise how incredibly lucky i am to have been able to do so (and not be reliant on parents assistance).
I don't see myself as lucky and parental assistance was rare. I just lived a lifestyle that was necessary to have something I wanted by 30, and I don't feel I missed out on much. A few things maybe, but I still went to see AC/DC twice. I'm happy with that.

So did i and i realise how incredibly lucky i am to have been able to do so (and not be reliant on parents assistance).
I got my first place which was a brand new 2 bedroom (3 rooms total, shit was tiny) unit 35kms from the city when I was earning $50k and I paid $240k for the place

It wasn't a classy area, its still not a classy area, but older places than that are going for $550k+ with some going for over $700k now, talking 2 bedroom units over 15 years old

our last place was ****ing terrible, it was over 50 years old, had been run into the ground by previous owners, multiple bad renovations done, slightly further out, only a 3 bedroom, needed a full reno and it almost doubled in the 7 years we were in it and it still needed the full reno when we moved out

when 50 year old shit boxes 40kms from the city have nearly doubled in value in 7 years, it takes a bit more than just saving harder to get into the market

It's going to make middle and lower class property investment unattainable, even though I have a house now, having another is never gonna happen until there's a property inheritance of some sort.

Obviously property investment isn't a right, but any privilege that is only achievable for the upper class, deserves to be smashed to pieces.

Moving to regional areas isn't feasible for many. My industry doesn't exist there, having moved from regional Tassie to Melbourne for work in the first place.

I don't see myself as lucky and parental assistance was rare. I just lived a lifestyle that was necessary to have something I wanted by 30, and I don't feel I missed out on much. A few things maybe, but I still went to see AC/DC twice. I'm happy with that.
You own your own home, have a child and got to see your fave bands a few times and DONT consider yourself lucky? Perspective is an interesting thing. Ive travelled a bit, married a beautiful woman, own my home and have a 10 month old son and i think i got kissed on the dick by a 4 leaf clover wielding leprechaun. I was born into poverty, grew up skipping between government housing and public schools. What i have now i incredible to me.

I got my first place which was a brand new 2 bedroom (3 rooms total, shit was tiny) unit 35kms from the city when I was earning $50k and I paid $240k for the place

It wasn't a classy area, its still not a classy area, but older places than that are going for $550k+ with some going for over $700k now, talking 2 bedroom units over 15 years old

our last place was ******* terrible, it was over 50 years old, had been run into the ground by previous owners, multiple bad renovations done, slightly further out, only a 3 bedroom, needed a full reno and it almost doubled in the 7 years we were in it and it still needed the full reno when we moved out

when 50 year old shit boxes 40kms from the city have nearly doubled in value in 7 years, it takes a bit more than just saving harder to get into the market
Yeh wifes parents bought their first place in like Rowville in the early 80s for like 20-30k or something absurd (i think it was about 3-4 times the yearly wage back then). Their first home which has been mildly renoed in the meantime sold 2 years ago for $900+ which would be at least 8-9 time the yearly wage (without even adjusting for the age profile).

Its just weird to try and claim its young peoples fault when the rules of the game have changed so substantially.

You own your own home, have a child and got to see your fave bands a few times and DONT consider yourself lucky? Perspective is an interesting thing. Ive travelled a bit, married a beautiful woman, own my home and have a 10 month old son and i think i got kissed on the dick by a 4 leaf clover wielding leprechaun. I was born into poverty, grew up skipping between government housing and public schools. What i have now i incredible to me.

Yeh wifes parents bought their first place in like Rowville in the early 80s for like 20-30k or something absurd (i think it was about 3-4 times the yearly wage back then). Their first home which has been mildly renoed in the meantime sold 2 years ago for $900+ which would be at least 8-9 time the yearly wage (without even adjusting for the age profile).

Its just weird to try and claim its young peoples fault when the rules of the game have changed so substantially.
and rowville has ****ing terrible access to public transport and no trees

I consider myself lucky to the rest of the world, to my brother who was almost crushed to death and left disabled by my age, to my other brother who died of cancer a long time ago, etc etc. As I said, I was also a centrelink kid with the associated disadvantage and lack of material goods and experiences that kids like. A bit unlucky I guess. Like yourself growing up.

But statistically, by the social and lifestyle standards of the country I reside, not the entire world, I still have less than average. Less money, less assets, less chicks I've laid, less overseas travel, etc.

So I gotta ask myself, having less than most of my countrymen, do I consider myself lucky? Well, do ya, punk?