Society & Culture Things you do/did that you probably think no one else does the sequel; More Things

I figured out a way to get free sausages at my sons hockey. The canteen is where you pay, they give you a bit of bread in a yellow serviette and then you go to the barbecue to get the sausage. So I figure all I need to do is get a loaf of bread and some yellow serviettes, go straight up to the barbie and collect free snags!

Note that I would never do this, I feel like it's poor form to steal from a local sporting club run by volunteers etc etc, I'm not sure why I think of shit like this ha ha

Bunnings you could never do this, every one I've been to they give you the snag as you pay, so no dice there.
I know all the tricks for sneaking into the cinemas around Perth. Pretty easy to do.

I figured out a way to get free sausages at my sons hockey. The canteen is where you pay, they give you a bit of bread in a yellow serviette and then you go to the barbecue to get the sausage. So I figure all I need to do is get a loaf of bread and some yellow serviettes, go straight up to the barbie and collect free snags!

Note that I would never do this, I feel like it's poor form to steal from a local sporting club run by volunteers etc etc, I'm not sure why I think of shit like this ha ha

Bunnings you could never do this, every one I've been to they give you the snag as you pay, so no dice there.
A number of years ago I was at Day 1 of a test match at the WACA and in the members beer tent (Langers Loft) they had a system where you ordered your food or drink at one station then moved to the next and told the person there what you ordered.

Pretty quickly people realised you could pay for a hot dog and then tell the next person you ordered a hot dog and 4 beers.

They must have checked the numbers that night and wondered how went through 15 kegs of beers and made next to nothing.

The setup was changed for day 2.

At the Expo in 1988 (remember that?) the queues to get into the exhibits were miles and hours long. We went in the exit doors.
Expo was awesome. My dad drove buses from Toowoomba to Brisbane for it so I would hop on the bus with him. I went many times.

Expo 88 was awesome - was my first trip to QLD and we got to go to Dreamworld as well

We had an awesome carvanning holiday (as a lot of families did back then)

Was one day of panic when my youngest brother went AWOL and hid under one of the street procession people's costume as it went along - he got his hide tanned and spanked severely when we got home

Watching movies, tv shows, music vids look closely at power points to identify which country the media was filmed/based in.

Sometimes its obvious, i.e american shows, but other times requires close analysis.

When the media is australian, close attention is paid to number plates to ID which state, then squint and open slowly during particular scenes to guess which suburb the scene is in

if you want to play this game, other things to look for include:

• signs containing words spelt differently (UK vs USA english)
  • letter boxes
  • house designs
  • telephones
  • street signs
  • footpaths
  • sporting grounds/arenas

Watching movies, tv shows, music vids look closely at power points to identify which country the media was filmed/based in.

Sometimes its obvious, i.e american shows, but other times requires close analysis.

When the media is australian, close attention is paid to number plates to ID which state, then squint and open slowly during particular scenes to guess which suburb the scene is in

if you want to play this game, other things to look for include:

• signs containing words spelt differently (UK vs USA english)
  • letter boxes
  • house designs
  • telephones
  • street signs
  • footpaths
  • sporting grounds/arenas
Are you a fan of GeoGuessr?

Watching the world championships and having the top players explain the minutia of their detective work is fascinating. "Oh that's Mongolian grass", etc

Are you a fan of GeoGuessr?

Watching the world championships and having the top players explain the minutia of their detective work is fascinating. "Oh that's Mongolian grass", etc
Geo Guesser is awesome
It helps if you’ve travelled a lot though at the start

Then I reckon you get a bit more of a feel for different landscapes

Power lines and road markings are good ones

I suppose being on topic, one thing I do is watch other people play GeoGuessr.

There's this fella called Rainbolt that drills down into the tools he uses to train and also accepts challenges from his viewers to find locations in old photos.

Society & Culture Things you do/did that you probably think no one else does the sequel; More Things