Society & Culture Things you do/did that you probably think no one else does

Sometimes if I hit my hand or knee on something, I'll have to hit my other hand/knee on it to even it out. I don't do it as much as I used to when I was younger though. Back then, if I even brushed my hand across my face to get rid of a fly, I'd have to do it with the other hand as well.
I think Gibbsy said he used to do that too.

Don't like using gps. If i semi know where i'm going, i prefer to just drive around and find it. Helps remember a whole lot more for the next time. Kind of like the whole calculator thing, where people claim 'why do i need to know that if i can just use a calculator.'

The worst one is 'I don't need to learn to spell, spell check was invented for a reason' :eek::eek::eek:

Can confirm I have heard it said before.
Well luckily for them most writing is done on a computer these days

I have never understood people finding spelling hard. I'm a naturally good speller and I know different people are good at different things but how people can spell "lose" as "loose" and "he's" as "his" astound me. THEY ARE COMPLETELY DIFFERENT WORDS YOU MORON

Well luckily for them most writing is done on a computer these days

I have never understood people finding spelling hard. I'm a naturally good speller and I know different people are good at different things but how people can spell "lose" as "loose" and "he's" as "his" astound me. THEY ARE COMPLETELY DIFFERENT WORDS YOU MORON
I got a Golden Key event invitation tonight (supposed to be for high achievers etc.) - the invitation says 'you have nothing to loose but heaps to gain'.

Face palm.

I got a Golden Key event invitation tonight (supposed to be for high achievers etc.) - the invitation says 'you have nothing to loose but heaps to gain'.

Face palm.
Not only is the spelling horrid but at a high achievers event (whatever the flip that means), that is beyond embarrassing. I think it's more genetic than anything though. My Dad and Sister are almost dyslexic according to my Mum even though they read quite a bit. I haven't read a book since primary school and I don't have any problems. However they are good at things that I am not so it evens it in the end I guess

Dyslexic people can read okay. Spelling is where they have problems.

Don't be a bum, read the bloody book, I'll even give you one of my copies if that's what it takes. There's more freedom in that book than you can possibly imagine.
Tbh I really am just not into reading. Not sure why as everyone else in my family does (especially my mum who reads I reckon every day). The last book I read I was like 11/12 and was really into Wrestling at the time. Mum got me Stone Cold's autobiography from the library because although she hated wrestling and thought it was stupid, rubbish etc etc she wanted me to read shit. Thought it was going to be about wrestling (which at the time I didn't know was fake) and it turned out to be about his childhood and boring stuff like that so I never got past about the 5th page

You should try again now that your older. You like footy, try Blainey's The Winter Game, or the late great Matt Price's Way to Go (Freo fans, read this book) or Emma Quayle's The Draft, all are brilliant books. It's usually just a matter of finding something you're into, if you have an interest in the subject then reading isn't usually a chore.

Get enough readings done during Uni that I wouldn't dare pick up a separate book.

Some find it enjoyable. Definite chore material for me, although it is strange I like this forum.

Probably because of the "realism" and the "now" factors. Experiences > History and research.

You should read books SG, the written word is an amazing thing. On the Road literally changed my life.

Reading Clive James autobios didn't so much change my life, it was my life.

Everything he wrote I could identify with.

I'm not a huge reader of books but I've read most of his books at least 2 or 3 times, he is literally the funniest writer I've ever read.

I used to be a huge reader a few years back, now I get through a couple of sporting autobiographies a year and that's about it.
There's a few I want to get, but I never seem to get around to it.

I know its not just the African Americans who talk/yell at the Movies/TV, but I do it on a bigger level.

When I watch TV shows I find myself arguing with the choices that characters make, and sometimes find myself annoyed by it, even though I know it's just a TV show. It's not just for shows like Breaking Bad/The Wire etc. Even with Hey Arnold, I was watching it and I just lost my shit at Arnold "Oh stop being such a good guy, your grandparents are sweet and but you have no parents, why are you such a good guy just relax man ****, Helga might be an ugly mole and her mums an Alco, but look at her sister, she grew up to get pretty fit just wait man".

Sometimes when I get annoyed I'll just google so and so is an idiot, and always smile when each time I searched, a group of people have bitched about the character on different forums.

This book does not get enough love. Evidently, I am a fan.
Michael-Scott-What-reaction-gifrific.gif

Great read, albeit spoken of well beyond what it actually is.

I know its not just the African Americans who talk/yell at the Movies/TV, but I do it on a bigger level.

When I watch TV shows I find myself arguing with the choices that characters make, and sometimes find myself annoyed by it, even though I know it's just a TV show. It's not just for shows like Breaking Bad/The Wire etc. Even with Hey Arnold, I was watching it and I just lost my shit at Arnold "Oh stop being such a good guy, your grandparents are sweet and but you have no parents, why are you such a good guy just relax man ****, Helga might be an ugly mole and her mums an Alco, but look at her sister, she grew up to get pretty fit just wait man".

Sometimes when I get annoyed I'll just google so and so is an idiot, and always smile when each time I searched, a group of people have bitched about the character on different forums.
hahahaha gold.