Society & Culture Things you do/did that you probably think no one else does

Pillow one is the best. Have one on either side of me. Girlfriend couldn't stop laughing when she found out. :eek:

Take it to the bay, Wellingtons.

I want to know if people have similar habits.

Lots of people speak to themselves sure, i was just saying that i have absolutely no concept of what it is you do.

So you get some catchphrase stuck in your head and repeat it to yourself when you are on your own, adapting it to various scenarios?

To all the backyard/lounge room AFL players did you ever have the 8 points to win scenario where you would heroically kick 2 points keeping the ball in the forward and nail a goal to win on the siren? The 8 point play!

When walking on pavements, if I see a crack coming up or a drain cover for example, usually when I am within say 10 paces I will subconsciously decide which foot I am more likely to step over it with. I always alter my steps if necessary to ensure that I do step over it with the foot I intended to.

Whenever I listen to music with guitar solos, I always imagine myself playing it on stage with a band, to a crowd of my friends and people I really want to impress (especially chicks).

Something I used to do was whenever I heard people say long words, I would try to count the letters in that word in my head as quick as possible. Became quite good at it too I think

Quite strange

If I'm driving home and there's heaps of blugs flying toward my windscreen, I pretend I'm doing the Death Star trench run on Star Wars and move my head around in order to 'dodge' said bugs, as if they were TIE fighters.

When I'm watching sport and something awesome happens (goal is kicked or boundary is scored), I tense up and imagine I'm the athlete performing the act of awesomeness. Apparently looks very weird for those watching.

Did all sorts of strange shit as a kid when it came to sports.

Obviously had the backyard sports - nearly all of them. Cricket, basketball, footy, soccer, even a bit of ice hockey (on tiles). Played my own games/seasons - spreadsheet fixturing, all scores, tables etc. to go with it - all while commentating every single game.

Also used to stage motor races while on a scooter or bike, also commentating that as well. Not sure how I managed to do it all, as well as keep the nuetrality, but I did, and it was really great fun. I just did whatever popped into my head at the time and didn't think about it - it was easy to keep it nuetral that way.

Also had the game I'd play with dice with footy in particular. Where you'd roll the dice for goals/behinds in every quarter for both teams. I've simulated entire seasons doing that. I'm sure I'm not the only one that has done that.

I've got a huge collection of old notebooks full of played out scores, or simulated with the dice. I particularly laughed looking back on a notebook full of cricket games I'd played in the late 90s - and looking back through the old NZ teams with Parore, Harris, Astle and co. - even some of the mid 90s Redbacks teams.

Pretty embarrassing looking back on it, but **** it was fun at the time. :eek:

When walking on pavements, if I see a crack coming up or a drain cover for example, usually when I am within say 10 paces I will subconsciously decide which foot I am more likely to step over it with. I always alter my steps if necessary to ensure that I do step over it with the foot I intended to.

I do this as well! :D

Suffer from the footh path cracks thing as well. Must adjust the length of a stride to make sure i dont step on the crack. Or if i do step on the crack i have to make sure i step on the next crack to be even.

Its always left sock then right sock and then left boot then right boot when getting footy gear on.

Tv must be on 10,12,15,18 or 20. Then 22,25,28,30 and so on..

Whenever I listen to music with guitar solos, I always imagine myself playing it on stage with a band, to a crowd of my friends and people I really want to impress (especially chicks).

I do both of these daily.

When I'm eating dinner (it's only ever dinner) I always save a bit of my potato-based food (chips, mashed, whatever) ad about half my drink until the end to help wash everything down. I know I do it but I can't help myself. It's a brilliant way of finishing a meal! :D

I always walk curbside when I'm with somebody. Male or female.

Also had the game I'd play with dice with footy in particular. Where you'd roll the dice for goals/behinds in every quarter for both teams. I've simulated entire seasons doing that. I'm sure I'm not the only one that has done that.

I've got a huge collection of old notebooks full of played out scores, or simulated with the dice. I particularly laughed looking back on a notebook full of cricket games I'd played in the late 90s - and looking back through the old NZ teams with Parore, Harris, Astle and co. - even some of the mid 90s Redbacks teams.

did that heaps when i was young as well, also had a cricket game i would play with a deck of cards.

Whenever I'm receiving a serve in tennis, I spin my racquet twice, then knock the frame lightly twice on the ground as I go into my stance. Done it as long as I can remember.

I tend to find playing sport is full of those little OCD moments. For me, anyway.

I don't know whether this has been said yet, but I get a lot of satisfaction when I buy something from a machine (like a train ticket) with heaps of poo change.

I also like the feeling of giving the correct cents for something and just getting whole dollars back. Kind of like buying something for $20.80 with $50.80. I dont know why:eek:

Great thread, v funny and a relief to hear others do stuff like this!

I shave in the shower, often avoid cracks in the footpath and other stuff which I'm sure others do

I often try to put in $54.54 or 54.54 litres etc when filling up the car and remark on the time when it is 54 minutes past the hour - 7.54pm is the best time of the day

I tend to find playing sport is full of those little OCD moments. For me, anyway.

Definitely. Next time Punter is batting watch him mark centre after every single ball he faces. Every single ****ing ball he will drag the spikes on his right shoe through the pitch to make sure his centre line is still alive. Without fail.

When I'm batting I tend to step away, look at square leg for a minute then face up again.

Before hitting a golf shot I will always do that little wrist movement that makes the club go back and forth a few centimeters before the ball.

For some reason when playing table tennis just prior to serving I'll always brush my hair to one side.

Plenty of others that I can't remember right now.

In sport, I used to count every wicket I took in club, school (lunch and real), garage, street and beach cricket for the summer. Got into the 600s. Got insane but I loved it.

I don't know whether this has been said yet, but I get a lot of satisfaction when I buy something from a machine (like a train ticket) with heaps of poo change.

F*ck yes. I do this every time I catch the train. Just unload on the machine with silver coins.

In sport, I used to count every wicket I took in club, school (lunch and real), garage, street and beach cricket for the summer. Got into the 600s. Got insane but I loved it.

I got a mate who has a an exercise book with every goal he's scored in hockey since he started playing as a 12 y.o. including the date, opponent, venue, round, the score the goal created, the final score and the goal number. It's crazy. I wish I had something like that.

yessss! like if something cold touches my right arm i have to match it with the left hahah. i thought i was the only only

I thought I was the only one! Can get really annoying when I'm running and a foot clips the opposite ankle, and then i have to try to clip the opposite ankle with the other foot in exactly the same spot. I honestly thought I was the only person in the world that did that haha

When I'm browsing on BF boards I frequent often (like GD) I'll go into most threads but if a post is more than a couple of lines long I'll just skim my eyes over it until I've reached the bottom of the page (yeah I'm lazy cbf reading). This is just to make the thread not bold so technically I've "read it" and up to date even though I missed a lot of what was posted.

I thought I was the only one! Can get really annoying when I'm running and a foot clips the opposite ankle, and then i have to try to clip the opposite ankle with the other foot in exactly the same spot. I honestly thought I was the only person in the world that did that haha
I do exactly this. And it can get particularly embarrassing if I miss the spot I clipped on the opposite side when attempting to even it up, because that then creates a spot on each side which I need to clip to even up, if that makes any sense. It can accumulate and really become quite a problem as I end up running along kicking furiously at all parts of my legs.

I hear ya brother. I do that too. Sometimes I can be strong mentally and stop myself, other times I'm doing exactly the same. Weird.