Society & Culture Things you do/did that you probably think no one else does

On a spray bottle/can etc, I turn the nozzle so it facing the same way as the "front" (label side) of the can.

You could be a geisha. We had one a few years ago in Kyoto, they'd pour your beer for you and then turn the bottle so it exactly faced you. We were drinking out of opaque cups as well, but they could tell when you'd emptied your cup and needed a refill.

Funnily enough, when drinking etc I don't care about having it exact.

But I am weirdo anyway so 🤷‍♂️

Its f’ed isn’t it? You really do need to pick your battles though, happy wife a d happy life and all of that

One of the only times I put my foot down was the wedding, was like 2k for the photos, which is ok I guess. But they wanted an extra 3k to film the ceremony and reception!

I said fu** that and my cousin filmed it all on a mini video camera for nothing and we’ve never watched it anyway.

Mate

I film weddings, and done a job for a mate for free as it was only my second gig, they offered cash but I politely refused, as long as I didn't pay for drinks and food even after the bar tab ran out.

I later found out they paid their photographer SEVEN THOUSAND DOLLARS.

I think I should have accepted some money out of principle, when they were just throwing it away like that.

I only charge about $350 - $500 to film a wedding and produce DVDs.

Plus having unlimited food and drink.

Mate

I film weddings, and done a job for a mate for free as it was only my second gig, they offered cash but I politely refused, as long as I didn't pay for drinks and food even after the bar tab ran out.

I later found out they paid their photographer SEVEN THOUSAND DOLLARS.

I think I should have accepted some money out of principle, when they were just throwing it away like that.

I only charge about $350 - $500 to film a wedding and produce DVDs.

Plus having unlimited food and drink.
If i ever got married i wouldnt even utter the word "wedding". Would elope then have a party.

If it's someone's main job I can understand the high cost, but for me it's a side thing and I honestly couldn't justify charging more than a grand, depending if they wanted a super professional job with microphones and that, etc.

And I do a good quality job, not gonna be modest, I ain't good at many things, not even ok, but I do a good job at that so I'm gonna advertise it.

I ask to be present for rehearsals as well, and some couples are like 'why?'

Oh I dunno, you just want me to wing it on the day, or have some idea how to lay it out with angles, timing, and all the rest?

I mean if you just want someone to turn up and film on the fly using a phone in portrait mode from row 7, I won't stop you, but if you want something semi professional, it takes a bit of prep.

kozi whats the longest wedding/funeral etc youve been to?

Id estimate a christening- dragged on for ******* ever, everyone stood during it. I eventually had to take a seat i was in heels ffs.
Best man at a Greek wedding.. that was about a 20 hour affair all up (including the reception)

For just the ceremony it would have to be a christening. You do not want one of those on a 40 degree day

One wedding I done had like a 90 minute ceremony, especially infuriating as I know the groom is like an annoying militant atheist who's facebook feed is 90% anti religion memes.

Best man at a Greek wedding.. that was about a 20 hour affair all up (including the reception)

For just the ceremony it would have to be a christening. You do not want one of those on a 40 degree day
Yeah longest wedding was my first cousins Nicks. We had to be at their house about 9amish? Got home 12am (was an early finish cos it was a Sunday ). So yeah.. 14/15 hours.

My toes spasmed uncontrollably when i took my heels off in the car.

Aforementioned lengthy religious wedding was declared as formal, Done in a cathedral, reception at a function centre. but had a lot of bogans that consider black jeans and black work shoes as formal, very very few ties and jackets, petrol station sunnies with the bluey green lenses, etc.

Done another more 'bogan' wedding, short and sweet, advertised as semi formal, done in a chapel, reception at a footy club, but funny enough the average standard of dress was more formal than the other wedding. More suits, ties, dresses, per person.

People and demographics are weird.

That was my brother's wedding, three piece suits and 38. And one of my other brothers had the runs, 5 mins before the service he was shitting through the eye of the needle. And we went out in the first leg of the quaddie that day.
My step sister got married at the same time as Owen got a hat trick and England put five past the Hun, you could hear the roar from outside the church after the ceremony was over and people checked their phones or however else news carried back then.