Time for a spell Tex

• Thread starter Thread starter bigman

This thread is ridiculous. The last 2 weeks we have been beaten by 49 + 67 points. Tex has not played well, is he the reason we haven't played well or is the team the reason he hasn't played well? I have a pretty sure thought it is due to the way we are playing. This year he has kicked 5,6,6,3,2,3,2 and 0 on the weekend. So apart front he weekend he has kicked at least 2 goals and averages 3.85 goals prior to the weekend. Even if you add the weekend in he averages 3.37 goals. We are a bottom 4 side and he is ranked elite for goals and we should drop him? WTAF. If that's not enough for you he is also rated elite in the following:
* Shots at goal
*Goal assists
*Score involvements
*Score launches
*tackles i50
*metres gained

You don't think he looks sore?

Do you think he is playing while injured enough to not be able to put his best on field for the club? Lets say he twinged a calf and had a light calf strain.. if he was still suffering from that then he runs the risk of a higher grade strain or a tear. Do you think either he or the club would say that is an acceptable risk? I think his "injury" has coincided with us not playing well and everyone is assuming he isn't kicking goals because of this fact. Real reason is Tex isn't going to crash packs and mark the ball and that's the way we have been kicking to him the last few weeks.

Give him a rest and the forward line becomes:-

Rowe. Thilthorpe. Berry

Fogarty. Himmelberg. ?Sloane

Himmelberg another chance to make an impact.

Do we even need Himmelberg in there?

Why not just TT and Fog rotating at FF and CHF and the rest smalls?

Nup... himmelbergs had enough chances. 5 years on the list. Cant mark and cant kick with anthing near resembling consistancy.

Missing from 30 out nearly straight infront is just draining on the entire teams momentum.. and himm does it week in week out.

Time to move on from himm and Frampton. Seen enough to know both arent worth it.

TT is the future.. team him up with Fog.. and maybe look at encouraging Callum Coleman Jones home..

ROB is a worry.. maybe last year was an outlier.. he’s pretty much been terrible all year.

Spot on with just TT and Fog as the KPF.

We've dug our own hole with ROB. We can't drop him on form as we have no one behind him, and this could be an issue for years. No one is trading or delisting a good ruckman, and drafting one will take years to get to the standard.

We may have to play TT up forward, in the ruck and on the wing (less necessity) all at the same time!

The club really manages to make the most basic of tasks / decisions become really complicated. Resting Tex this week is really a no brainer and yet you still have a few people on here claiming he shouldn't be rested....

Spot on with just TT and Fog as the KPF.

We've dug our own hole with ROB. We can't drop him on form as we have no one behind him, and this could be an issue for years. No one is trading or delisting a good ruckman, and drafting one will take years to get to the standard.

We may have to play TT up forward, in the ruck and on the wing (less necessity) all at the same time!

You can almost put your house on at least 1, if not 2, eventually good to great AFL ruckmen will be traded this off-season after that comment.

Not only that, but not like anyone to overreact over a bit of bad form. ROBs good enough to work his way out of it, and he will eventually.

You can almost put your house on at least 1, if not 2, eventually good to great AFL ruckmen will be traded this off-season after that comment.

Not only that, but not like anyone to overreact over a bit of bad form. ROBs good enough to work his way out of it, and he will eventually.

Never said he won't recapture last years good form, but we just have to sit and wait until he does. We have no one to put any pressure on his spot.

I'd give him a week off, no shame in that. It does make the contract situation interesting. Given the bigger preseason I'd give him another year.

Why even consider making that call now? Betts just had a good one, would you re-sign him now? The Tex call needs to be made after the season. Right now he doesn’t look like getting to the bye, let alone the end. Would be rank stupidity to look only at the first 3-4 games and ignore his decline since. First it was going missing in the 2nd half and now it’s the entire game.

Walker has been moved from a forward who pushes up the ground and involves others in the play, back to something closer to a true full forward role. Surely you would expect him to:
  1. Kick more goals himself when Adelaide play well and have a lot of forward entries.
  2. Be less able to impose himself on the game when Adelaide play poorly and the ball lives up the other end.
Turns out thats exactly whats happened.

I still think its 80% midfield supply. Our forwards all look good in the first 3 rounds with nice hit up passes and a dominating midfield. Since then all we do is sky the ball and complain when Tex doesn't mark it. Tex can compete fairly well with 1 on 1 contests but his strength is leading and beating his man. We simply are not getting it to him or other forwards in space.

Frampton struggled, Himmelberg is struggling, Tex is struggling and now Fog is struggling after being brought into this disfunctional setup with shithouse delivery. We do have a very bad midfield and what good midfielders we have cant kick (Laird/Keays).

On SM-A205YN using BigFooty.com mobile app

Nobody could play to those forward entries over the past two weeks. It’s a coaching directive to bang it in there as high as it can go because we have 3 talls and we’re going to take some contested marks.

It’s 100% a coaching directive, which is mind boggling considering how well we were playing the first month when lowering the eyes and hitting a man on the lead. Has the impact of the new rules disappeared or are we just stupid?

This thread is ridiculous. The last 2 weeks we have been beaten by 49 + 67 points. Tex has not played well, is he the reason we haven't played well or is the team the reason he hasn't played well? I have a pretty sure thought it is due to the way we are playing. This year he has kicked 5,6,6,3,2,3,2 and 0 on the weekend. So apart front he weekend he has kicked at least 2 goals and averages 3.85 goals prior to the weekend. Even if you add the weekend in he averages 3.37 goals. We are a bottom 4 side and he is ranked elite for goals and we should drop him? WTAF. If that's not enough for you he is also rated elite in the following:
* Shots at goal
*Goal assists
*Score involvements
*Score launches
*tackles i50
*metres gained
I also think Tex is being unfairly blamed on our poor showing of results in the last few weeks. Technically speaking, if he's kicking 2 goals per game, then you can say he's doing a fair dinkum job, with the midfield that we currently have (young and inexperienced). So 5 out of the 8 games, he's gone above himself (especially when comparing to the last 2-3 years); 2 out of the 8 games he's about on par with a typical forward role; and 1 shitty game last round. He's far from being cooked at this stage.

With that being said, I don't really have a problem with him being rested for a week just to get him sorted if there are any niggles present. If he's ripe to go without any niggle concerns, then I much rather seeing Tex out there. He's still the most consistent forward that we have despite a bad game last week!

And anyone saying Tex is "injured", take a look at 2:20:

I reckon Tex could have kicked a goal, but did the team thing and passed it to RT instead. I think it's more the fact he had an overall stinker, but still moving ok.

Dont know about gps but you can see his running is laboured and has been for a few weeks now.
Should just give the kid a rest.
The club needs to come to terms with the fact that at this point in his career he will always have some sort of injury. He isn't Benjamin Button. He has been injured for 3years and the fact he had a 3 game period where he seemed uninjured was due to a 6 month layoff which freshened his body up. My advice would be to give him a month off and we may get 3 or 4 good games out of him 2nd half of the season. Our forward line is structured all around him so if he isn't scoring we have no chance of winning. The club needs to look at the future now and not labour a misguided point. I know his best mate Riccuito wants him to play on but the decision must be taken out of his hands. He's done enough damage. It's hard watching Nick's play the company line whenever he speaks about Tex as I'm sure he wants to start developing the forward line for the future.

I also think Tex is being unfairly blamed on our poor showing of results in the last few weeks. Technically speaking, if he's kicking 2 goals per game, then you can say he's doing a fair dinkum job, with the midfield that we currently have (young and inexperienced). So 5 out of the 8 games, he's gone above himself (especially when comparing to the last 2-3 years); 2 out of the 8 games he's about on par with a typical forward role; and 1 shitty game last round. He's far from being cooked at this stage.

With that being said, I don't really have a problem with him being rested for a week just to get him sorted if there are any niggles present. If he's ripe to go without any niggle concerns, then I much rather seeing Tex out there. He's still the most consistent forward that we have despite a bad game last week!

And anyone saying Tex is "injured", take a look at 2:20:

I reckon Tex could have kicked a goal, but did the team thing and passed it to RT instead. I think it's more the fact he had an overall stinker, but still moving ok.

In the last 4 years I dont recall the Crows ever actively managing players, especially the veterans.

A time has come in our rebuild to manage some of them to ensure their longevity to make the rebuild a successful one.

I actually didnt have a problem with Tex's game in the Showdown, our poor forward line entry coupled with the the Power double tagging Tex at times made it challenging for him.

Port are also a decent Top 6 side, so its not like we had control and or ease of ball use when moving it.

Tex had a post on his instagram story the other day of him lying on a couch (somewhere at the club) and his left leg was in a compression "sleeve" - it looked like an airbag wrapped around his entire leg (possibly pictured below). I'm assuming this is for the calf issue? If this is the case, it makes sense to rest him.

Screen Shot 2021-05-11 at 12.16.06 pm.png

Tex had a post on his instagram story the other day of him lying on a couch (somewhere at the club) and his left leg was in a compression "sleeve" - it looked like an airbag wrapped around his entire leg (possibly pictured below). I'm assuming this is for the calf issue? If this is the case, it makes sense to rest him.

View attachment 1124332

These devices are fairly common for recovery nowadays, injured, sore or otherwise.

I really hope the great man does the right thing and retires this year.

Yes, he had that purple patch before all the coaches worked out how to flood back despite the stand rule by about round 4.

But it's just going to get ugly if he goes around again at 32.

The coaches and club don't have it in them to see that. It will be up to the big man.

I hope he passes the baton to the next generation so they can try to reach their full potential without all our forward entries being funnelled to an ageing club legend.

The club really manages to make the most basic of tasks / decisions become really complicated. Resting Tex this week is really a no brainer and yet you still have a few people on here claiming he shouldn't be rested....

if they could select Wright and Jackson this week they would. Under pressure we revert to experience every time. Pyke had seniors playing 2s in 2019 but they all came back when we needed to win to stay in the 8.

Walker has been moved from a forward who pushes up the ground and involves others in the play, back to something closer to a true full forward role. Surely you would expect him to:
  1. Kick more goals himself when Adelaide play well and have a lot of forward entries.
  2. Be less able to impose himself on the game when Adelaide play poorly and the ball lives up the other end.
Turns out thats exactly whats happened.

No, you're doctoring the outcomes to suit your belief. If he's staying closer to goals he should kick more goals. That we're not playing as well evens that up. So his goal output shouldn't change. And you're deliberately ignoring the key question which is why is Tex not working further up the ground any more. His body is cooked and he needs to get right again.

I still think its 80% midfield supply. Our forwards all look good in the first 3 rounds with nice hit up passes and a dominating midfield. Since then all we do is sky the ball and complain when Tex doesn't mark it. Tex can compete fairly well with 1 on 1 contests but his strength is leading and beating his man. We simply are not getting it to him or other forwards in space.

Frampton struggled, Himmelberg is struggling, Tex is struggling and now Fog is struggling after being brought into this disfunctional setup with shithouse delivery. We do have a very bad midfield and what good midfielders we have cant kick (Laird/Keays).

On SM-A205YN using BigFooty.com mobile app

The secondary forwards to Tex struggled early in the season as well though. Lynch played deeper and struggled, Billy struggled. McAdam struggled. It's not that, try again.

Nobody could play to those forward entries over the past two weeks. It’s a coaching directive to bang it in there as high as it can go because we have 3 talls and we’re going to take some contested marks.

It’s 100% a coaching directive, which is mind boggling considering how well we were playing the first month when lowering the eyes and hitting a man on the lead. Has the impact of the new rules disappeared or are we just stupid?

It's aversion to risk. Nicks doesn't want to turn it over 40m out, he prefers to turn it over much closer to goal as defending that is easier.

I’ve been a big Tex fan this season, but can’t argue he had an absolute shocker. Dropped some sitters as well.

Here’s an interesting thought: how about we play Tex as the Med Sub next week? Allow some form of continuity (if someone gets injured) whilst reducing his work load next round. If no one gets injured in the next match, we don’t lose anything do we?
Is he sufficiently injured to be our med-sub? What is his current warm-up time?