MRP / Trib. Tom Hawkins "made an example of" - accepts 1 match suspension

I really don't see why there's any debate here. As soon as it happened we all knew (surely ) that Tom was gone.....as Blakey posted...Do the "crime" do the time....

I have no doubt there was motive behind Tom's action...I actually don't blame him for it...obviously there was an incident on Joel and he ( along with Mitch Duncan) responded immediately. So something occurred. The ump called play on and Mitch and Joel took off while Tom went on with it... and now he misses a week that was an obvious result of his action.

A week off won't hurt him...though it may not help the team...which will no doubt be pointed out to him...though his reaction to support his mate who was being worked over is no major crime as far as I am concerned.

It happened....move on.

I really don't see why there's any debate here. As soon as it happened we all knew (surely ) that Tom was gone.....as Blakey posted...Do the "crime" do the time....

I have no doubt there was motive behind Tom's action...I actually don't blame him for it...obviously there was an incident on Joel and he ( along with Mitch Duncan) responded immediately. So something occurred. The ump called play on and Mitch and Joel took off while Tom went on with it... and now he misses a week that was an obvious result of his action.

A week off won't hurt him...though it may not help the team...which will no doubt be pointed out to him...though his reaction to support his mate who was being worked over is no major crime as far as I am concerned.

It happened....move on.
Yeah; basically.

It happened....move on.

I don't think anyone is complaining that he got suspended for what was a stupid action. It's more to do with the gross inconsistencies that we see time and time again from the MRP. How one player can be suspended for the same action that other players have only received fines for is utterly ridiculous. Surely if Hawkins gets a week for what he did, then so should Cotchin, Zac Jones and Cunnington.

Should probably throw a **** YOU HAWKINS in as well

He is 100% responsible for his own actions, and knowing the talk about it of late there is no excuse
Was sticking up for his captain who already had 12 stitches. Good on him. Shame we won't have the big fella for a week but I wished more players stuck up for Joel.

Yes. I understand all that, and basically agree.

But its not right to say if he had done it at some other time (a month ago, or 3 months ago, or whenever), he would have "got away" with it. He did it a year ago, and was pinged. So......
I should have said that in my opinion if he had done it a month ago he would have gotten away with it.. who knows though for sure

Please update for those of us who refuse to watch that shit

And who aren't currently in control of the remote :oops:

Cats superstar Patrick Dangerfield did not mince his words when asked about his immediate reaction to the MRP's verdict.
"I don't think it's consistent at all," Dangerfield told Channel Seven on Monday night.
"I'm disappointed as a teammate, and I by no means condone the jumper punch, but we've seen it for the past month where there's been incidents and nothing's come of it – there's been a few fines – but all of a sudden there's a suspension.
"This is what frustrates fans (and what) frustrates players – there's no consistency there."

the same article starts with Scott talking about why they won't challenge (basically because the system is such that you can't challenge the actual charge, but rather the subjective view of the incident)

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-06-05/cats-accept-hawkins-ban-after-studying-system

I don't think anyone is complaining that he got suspended for what was a stupid action. It's more to do with the gross inconsistencies that we see time and time again from the MRP. How one player can be suspended for the same action that other players have only received fines for is utterly ridiculous. Surely if Hawkins gets a week for what he did, then so should Cotchin, Zac Jones and Cunnington.

I would actually say that the actions by Cunnington was probably the worse of the lot, especially when you consider that it wasn't a jumper punch but rather just a punch to the gut - and frustratingly some who used that footage in highlights were commenting how Vince was soft for the the little tummy hit. Not sure how much footage it got outside of the match, but Vince actually ended up going off because he spent the next few minutes on the sidelines on all fours throwing up - that doesn't happen from a little tummy tap & a bit of acting, there was genuine force in the punch from Cunnington.

**** you MRP and **** you AFL.

Park a line in the sand here you pricks.

GO Catters
I'd like to see the Cats go along and challenge then say what about the flog who punched Joel in the back of the head on the ground a minute before? Oh what you (BT) didn't see that? Here it is ... and play the video. ****in tossers

I agree that it's a joke to be rubbed out for that . Rules should not be changed during a season . However with all the talk about those sort of things it was a dumb move to have thrown that punch or push, whatever you want to call it . He should have known better . Is Hawkins the sort of guy who would do something like that in the prelim final and risk getting rubbed out for the grand final ? I don't think he has before but it was a dumb thing to do. I think Scott would have mentioned it at some stage before the game telling them not to do it because of the risk . Very silly by Tom.

Sent via HAL

I would actually say that the actions by Cunnington was probably the worse of the lot, especially when you consider that it wasn't a jumper punch but rather just a punch to the gut - and frustratingly some who used that footage in highlights were commenting how Vince was soft for the the little tummy hit. Not sure how much footage it got outside of the match, but Vince actually ended up going off because he spent the next few minutes on the sidelines on all fours throwing up - that doesn't happen from a little tummy tap & a bit of acting, there was genuine force in the punch from Cunnington.

I didn't even see it , didn't watch that game . Did he get reported?

Sent via HAL

I didn't even see it , didn't watch that game . Did he get reported?

Sent via HAL

Based on the available video evidence and a medical report from the Melbourne Football Club, the incident was assessed as intentional conduct with low impact to the body. The incident was classified as a $1500 sanction. The player has no applicable record which impacts the penalty. An early plea enables the player to accept a $1000 sanction.

hmmmm - pretty "high" low impact if the guy loses the contents of his gut

Look let's just accept two things.

1. Tom hit the guy in the chest and under this week's new rules he is gone.
2. The guy who punched Joel in the head while sitting on him did not get cited by BT therefore there is no case to answer.

Oh and I suppose a third thing is that Hodgey accidently hit some other guy. Again. But it's Ok cos he's such a good bloke. Even when he's driving pissed.

No...the umpire was 5 meters away and didn't lodge a report....unbelievably.

A jumper punch to the neck/jaw region......AFL crackdown......bye bye Tommy.

I reckon the ump was as close as 2 metres away and watched it very closely. I expected a free to be awarded to the Crow's player. I knew Hawkins was near certain to be cited by the MRP but the inaction by the ump was confusing.

MRP / Trib. Tom Hawkins "made an example of" - accepts 1 match suspension