List Mgmt. Trade & Draft Discussion 2023 post season - Picks Reid,30,40,49,66 (Bush league)

Hello Eagles fans!

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

Keys you may like to sticky this post & move it to the start of the thread (so the sticky post doesn't rotate if a post is deleted before it), or copy it to your draft thread if you have one.

Rookie list is fine if it were to be renamed Supplementary List. The name is just outdated as its often mostly mature / re-drafted players.

I’d agree if they were limited in how much they could play seniors. But they can all play at any time these days can’t they?

Just do away with the thing.

Rawlinson has elite Speed and kicks clutch goals , I liked Sanchez he reminded me of Don Pyke ..

I love Sanchez and think he has almost every trait an AFL player needs ….. except one.

The best ability any football can have is availability, unfortunately Sanchez is injury prone and just can’t get a sustained run at it.
Such a bloody shame because when he is on the ground he is so impactful and things happen when he is around the ball, kid has a very high footy IQ.

However if he struggles with the rigours of Colts football, I question how his body would holdup against even bigger, stronger and quicker players at the next level.

I make these observations about him, with a heavy heart, as talent wise he was one of my favourite players in this cohort.

I actually had a first round grade on him talent wise but had to recalibrate that to late to undrafted due to his availability.

Doesn't feel like an Eagles draft without a backman!
Curtin... (a great add to the rebuild)(MIA)

Much to be excited about watching all these new dudes strut their stuff in the preseason.
Also seems to be lots of old connections amongst various players, great for the whole bonding/chemistry thing...could be a special group this one?
Rawlinson has the speed, and we have the need for speed...ticking some boxes.

I had read several posts bagging or being confused by the recruiters going after KPF and peps not being able to get their heads around the concept of taking Archer Reid, if we were planning on taking Livingston as a NGA pick.

Food for thought people.

1. Any player who can play as a KPF can also play as a KPD, for obvious reasons it’s easier to play as a defender than it is a forward.
So the likes of Jamieson, J Williams, B Williams and Reid all need to be firstly tried as forwards at the next level and if after a sustained trials they don’t make it as a forward, then then should be trialed as a KPD.

2. It should also be remembered that Harry Barnett was a CHB as a junior footballer and he was cast in the role of SA ruck because he was needed there.
I if I am honest, I am not sure that he has the skill set to be an AFL ruckman, but I think he could be a very good option as someone to trial at CHB.
Flynn coming on board gives Barnett a reprieve as to how quickly he need develop.

3. For those who may question point 1. above may I remind you of this.

Our current FB Tommy Barrass and our CHB Jeremy McGovern both started their WAFL footballing careers at Claremont as forward ….. YES ….. forwards.

And historically another great KPD pairing, Glen Jackovich and Ashley McKintosh also both started as forwards.

4. We are a team in rebuild and the FIRST item that a list manager needs to address in a full rebuild in getting the spine in order.

We are three years into a our six year rebuild so we need to get our spine for the next decade sorted and supported by a dynamic midfield.
We are quite some way away from completing that task, BUT it’s definitely under way.

2021- Chesser, Hough, Bazzo, Williams J, Culley.
2022- Ginbey, Hewett, Barnett, Burgiel, Long, Maric.
2023- Reid H, Reid A, Hall, Johnson, Livingston.

That’s 17 new faces that are either spine or midfield options.
If only half of them work out thats half a team. We need to do the same for another three drafts and get a couple of traded players in and …… whamo….. there is our rebuild.

Repeat we need to get our talls sorted early otherwise we become like The Violet Crumbles with, a nice new shiny midfield feeding a ineffective forward line and relying on a make shift defense to hold the opposition at bay.
One thing unwashed have done well, is get their ruck stocks in order for both the now and the future.

Embrace the rebuild and enjoy watching it as it unfolds.

I guess we did go hard for Curtin and (surprisingly) Caddy as tallish options so we were looking to stiffen up our spine

The draft haul looks a lot different overall to what I thought so it’ll probably take me a bit of time to get my head around - the A Reid and Johnston picks in particular which is more a reflection of my lack of knowledge than anything else

Like the Hall pick. Hoped we might get him, just a bit later and bummed about the F3

Livingstone as a cat B I’m fine with. Like that we’ve picked up someone, especially a big bloke, with genuine aggression

Rawlinson I know nothing about but the same was true with Long last year and he turned out more than ok. He’s quick so that’s a good starting point for a small forward. Also like that knowing we had pick 1 today we didn’t burn a main list spot - 1 year contract vs 2 and his base pay sits outside the cap

Oh and we got that Harley fellow. He goes all right I’ve heard

Rawlinson reminds me a bit of Murray Newman from those highlights.

Bodes well.

I had a mate that got invited to the eagles Vic draft event last night, most of the recruiters including ROB and Bell were in attendance. Some good info:

-Norths best offer was 2, 15, 17

-GWS didnt want the F1 for curtin cause they are obsessed with the 2 guys they drafted, so traded with crows to stay in the draft

-The other 14 teams are livid at the Qld and NSW handouts, no surprise

- Eagles had A Reid ranked in their top 15, were very surprised he slipped to 30. Thought he was too good to pass up or accept trades for pick 30. Bris were very keen the pick after

- Hall they were also very high on, had to move up as both essendon and tigers had shown interest. Interestingly, ROB also mentioned harley gave feedback saying he was the toughest opponent he played on during the year

- Johnston they had top 30 on their board

Also my mate asked ROB if they would have strongly considered 2 and 3 if north did offer it in some way. ROB said for sure, but they probably still would have taken Reid cause he interviewed even better than expected and doesnt seem bothered at all about moving.

Scrap the Rookie List and increase list sizes. The Category B Rookie list serves the purpose that the original rookie list was supposed to

Scrap the Rookie list... Madness!

We need to start thinking like the AFL and work out how to commercialise it instead. Sell the naming rights to it and we could be welcoming Loch Rawlinson to the new Shandong Gold List and the AFL can collect another revenue stream to pump back into Victorian football!

Scrap the Rookie List and increase list sizes. The Category B Rookie list serves the purpose that the original rookie list was supposed to
The rookie listers only get one year righ? whereas the main draft rookies get minimum of two years.

Could restructure the draft with players selected after round 5 only getting one year. If you'd passed previously your picks come live again at that stage.

I love Sanchez and think he has almost every trait an AFL player needs ….. except one.

The best ability any football can have is availability, unfortunately Sanchez is injury prone and just can’t get a sustained run at it.
Such a bloody shame because when he is on the ground he is so impactful and things happen when he is around the ball, kid has a very high footy IQ.

However if he struggles with the rigours of Colts football, I question how his body would holdup against even bigger, stronger and quicker players at the next level.

I make these observations about him, with a heavy heart, as talent wise he was one of my favourite players in this cohort.

I actually had a first round grade on him talent wise but had to recalibrate that to late to undrafted due to his availability.
Fortunately there are multiple pathways onto an AFL list. If he carves up the first half of next year and is injury free he'll be picked up midseason i'm sure.

Scrap the Rookie list... Madness!

We need to start thinking like the AFL and work out how to commercialise it instead. Sell the naming rights to it and we could be welcoming Loch Rawlinson to the new Shandong Gold List and the AFL can collect another revenue stream to pump back into Victorian football!
The Zooper Dooper List!

If he can get his body right hopefully will be picked up later down the track.

Rookie list is fine if it were to be renamed Supplementary List. The name is just outdated as its often mostly mature / re-drafted players.

From being a tool to list speculative players it is now as you say just mature or re-drafted players.

Maybe the AFL should scrap the list (amalgamated into the main list) but add a ‘mature age rookie’ list spot to each club.

Would have to be 24yo+ at the start of their first AFL year, and have to have nominated for the draft previously (but possibly not in the most recent season). Can not have been AFL listed previously.

From the diamonds in the rough that was the rookie list in the early 2000’s, the next untapped resource seems to be the elite mature age players in state comps. 1-2 a season get a go - would be good to see 10-18 get their chance.

Is this even allowed?
Has anyone else done this?
I would have thought it's more about getting in front of the team that's actually likely to take them.
Should we start doing it next year as well lol?
Sydney did it to GWS last year, demanded that they trade for Sydney's pick (the one before). GWS told them no, Sydney proceeded to pick the GWS academy player earlier than anyone expected. Which meant that GWS lost the pick anyway. So, sometimes you have to cede to the blackmailers demands!

Sent from my CPH2197 using Tapatalk

pretty happy with how we drafted, of course only time will tell, but like all the picks in the main draft.
I'm a fan of taking talls in this range (A reid), as they have a high bust rate but are a position you need to constantly invest in otherwise they become holes that are way too hard to fill.

Rookie draft is typically a throw at the dart board, so lets see.

I'll give more insight later.

But this draft you have seen Duane's impact on drafting as well as two of the general belief's both of us hold. Expect if there are a few more tight calls in the future WA players of equal talent won't take priority. Skill level, athleticism and work rate will take priority if players are of a similar or considered an equal talent level for a particular role.

1. An athletic KPF as long as they are willing to do the work will almost always make it as a decent KPD if they don't make it as a forward
2. A quality HFF as long as they have the skills and are willing to do the work will almost always make it as a small defender or HB and they will sometimes also transition into top tier outside mids.

Over the course of the draft there has and was a continuing theme by almost all clubs. Speed and athleticism was highly rated. If you were slow or lacked agility you either fell down the order or weren't drafted.

As a WCE supporter I understand why the club has gone down this path however I am a little disappointed in some of the selections. I do however tend to rate aggression and intent higher than some other people who follow the draft.

Like the Hall pick. Hoped we might get him, just a bit later and bummed about the F3

Although it's never nice losing a pick - especially for a two pick upgrade effectively - is F3 really that consequential?

Assuming we finish bottom, before academy and father/son and compensation picks that is still only pick 37. If this year was a guide, that pick 37 would be an effective pick 45ish.

Hall's price is effectively pick 40 in 2023 and pick 45ish in 2024. If he makes it as an AFL level player, it's a success given the price paid.

Keys was correct
darn-damn-it.gif

It’s confirmed Baker was moved to the rookie list. WCE press release. Keys was correct about the 2 spots.

I’ll be sending a dead crow in the mail to anyone who doubted me

From the WCE_phil post above

I do however tend to rate aggression and intent higher than some

I reckon I could use one amputated hand to count the number of people surprised at that comment