News Trade Week thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Cap

Pick 10 & Davis compo seems alot.. i would've been far more comfortable with pick 14 coming back. Crouch had better be a gun!

Crouch is a top 4 pick in next years 'super draft' he's definitely worth Pick 10 in this draft plus something. Not sure the Davis Compo is right though. Luke Brown had a ripper year though and is still a teenager too.

We have just turned pick 10 and a stupid comp pick for the 2nd best 17 yr old player in the land

and this board complains ? FFS what a bunch of nancies - seriously go and play fish or something.

I know. Sad isnt it. I think some of them would of been happy to pick up 3 hacks from Hawthorn rather than having an elite talent on our list for the first time in our history.... Peanuts

hmm i was only happy for the deal to go ahead if we got #14 as well. Not sure i am happy with this, if the case.

We have confirmation from Silvagni that it will happen today or tomorrow. Today's trading has finished, so tomorrow it will be. It has to happen tomorrow before the requirement is up for the AFL. Emma Quayle and Jake Niall, who are both excellent journalists with high reputations and they would not have published that article or tweeted about it without some solid sources themselves. Emma Quayle was the one journalist who knew the Crows strong interest in Dangerfield prior to that draft.

You will NOT get a club to come out in the media to say exactly what they are planning to do before it is fully signed off. To ask and expect that shows a height of naivety that is unbelievable.

Noble would NOT say anything too much to dumb and dumber. He is always going to talk around the situation a little bit, because the paperwork hasn't been lodged as yet.

If you want to be chicken little, fine, but don't expect the rest of us to fall in line behind you blindly when we can see the bigger picture.

A) stop patronizing me, especially after asking me to read between the lines. I guess I can only read between the lines to find a positive result.

B) I have no issue with the deal - pick 10 and the compensation deal from Phil Davis seems fair and a good result

and

C) I'm yet to see any direct connection between the Gunston deal and the MD deal. That is my issue - we have been burnt on the Gunston deal and no one seems to care because they have bright lights in their eyes over a gun 17 year old. Almost, like it's ok. But it's not because we have still lost on the Gunston deal.

Hope we can some how can another 1st rounder.

Got a feeling it's coming. May be part of a trade GWS does with someone else and then gets on traded to us. Might be to do with Maric or Armstrong?

Is Crouch the Big Fish talked about earlier? Anything else in the wings??

Crouch is a top 4 pick in next years 'super draft' he's definitely worth Pick 10 in this draft plus something. Not sure the Davis Compo is right though. Luke Brown had a ripper year though and is still a teenager too.

Luke Brown will be interesting.

Elite Talent >>>>>>>> Couple of mid first rounders. Very happy if this gets up. Future midfield gettting sorted. Liking Noble's work.

This is a great individual deal for the Crows and David Noble and co should be congratulated but....

what happened to the add ons from the Hawks? :eek:

The md deadline is tomorrow. All sorts of trades would have been discussed. We probably thought it best to have the picks in hand before then, if needed.

The alternative was to sit it out all week only to get a slightly better pick (which would have similar currency in an ontrade) , or some hack thrown in.

We have just turned pick 10 and a stupid comp pick for the 2nd best 17 yr old player in the land

and this board complains ? FFS what a bunch of nancies - seriously go and play fish or something.

Would you have traded Phil Davis and pick 10 in this years draft for, lets say, pick 5 next year and Norwood's Luke Brown?
I know we didn't have any control over Davis, but that's effectively the trade here.
Emma Quayle thinks it's lopsided too.
I love that we're going for, what we believe to be, an elite talent, and that you have to give up something big to get that. But it does seem like we're giving up a LOT.
Again, I'm not gonna freak out until all deals are done, but this isn't looking as exciting as it did yesterday.

Ok with it, but, like Quayle, I'm expecting more to come our way.

Maybe we trade Armstrong (maybe with another pick) to them for #14?

C) I'm yet to see any direct connection between the Gunston deal and the MD deal.

Which is exactly what Noble said.

You might not see a direct link, but let it play out mate.

I reckon by Monday, we will be thinking this has been one of the best weeks in AFC history. Really impressed with what I've seen so far. More trades this week than in the last 7 years and very good ones at that hopefully. :) Good work AFC

What i dont get, is how do GC get pick 1, and us pick 2?

They traded pick 4 and mid round 1 combo, we traded pick 10 and combo pick directly after your first pick.

The way it works out, is GWS get pick 4 in a weak draft, and around pick 10 in next years super draft. With our offer, its pick 10 in the weaker draft, and a good chance at a top 3 pick in the super draft due to the fact of their high likelihood of finishing bottom.

Personally, i think our offer is better, what would you take?

will have to check out this Norwood guy - having memory issues......

[YOUTUBE]HS37wSdI0QU[/YOUTUBE]

Not much but its all I could find ATM

I know we didn't have any control over Davis, but that's effectively the trade here.

But it isn't though, is it? It's just a draft selection. Could be a very high pick if we're absolutely craptacular, but more likely a pick around the middle of the first round.

I'd expect potentially a swap of first rounders to be thrown in, because we're overs right now, but even if not, I'm still relatively satisfied. Crouch is an elite talent, one of the best prospects in the country, and how long is it since we've had one of those?

will have to check out this Norwood guy - having memory issues......

Brown is a real gun, great skills and knows where the goals are. Turned games many times this year for the legs, even kicked the winning goal from 55 against Port in R1... Will be stoked Adelaide secured him! :thumbsu: