Roast Umpires thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Groupie_

It's not really cringeworthy we do it to support the team and try and create a hostile atmosphere. I always yell out baaall even if it's a clear holding the man or the opponent gets his head ripped off and vice versa with holding the man. I've yelled out for some absolutely ridiculous deliberates as well just to take the piss. I honestly think Richmond supporters are among the most knowledgeable footy going fans. We're not stupid but why not get under the skin of the opposition? I've been to a few games up in Sydney and the ignorance of the Swans fans so often has the Tiger fans there shaking their heads.
Yeah fair enough.
It's not for me but I guess everyone is different.

First and most crucial, if you are infront with 21 secs to go and there's a stoppage, irrelevant of where that stoppage is, you should win the game, SIMPLE.

And in nearly all circumstances I don't believe bad umpiring actually costs you the game.... HOWEVER I look at it this way...

If you leave a contest that you lost, with zero to little influence by the umpires, you are upset, but you move on.
If you leave a contest that you lost, with several critical calls not going your way, you are not just upset, you are angry that you were not afforded the opportunity to get the best outcome possible (which granted still could mean you lose the game). And that's where this angst lies.

I will also say, supporters can also have this feeling when they win, not just when they lose. Bad umpiring could keep a game close, even though you win, nd the potential missed percentage could cost you a place in the 8 or top 4 even. So IMO it's not just sour grapes.

To show it's not just Richmond supporters turning into whingers, an ex AFL umpire even sent me a txt during the bulldogs telling me we had been shafted and umpire #11 had been deplorable...

So my question is this, why are AFL umpires such a protected species from criticism???

The automatic retort will be, players make mistakes all game, give the umpire some slack. And I agree, but here is the big difference...

An AFL player makes mistakes, then the media run stories on them, highlight it over and over on the numerous footy shows, the are scrutinised to the end of the earth for their mistakes. Yet an AFL umpire makes a mistake (which of course will happen multiple times a game) and the media and AFL house do everything in the world to twist an interpretation to give the umpire an out.

So I don't want an avenue for people to just bash umpires. But I tell you, if the AFL came out each week, showed examples of calls from every game that were wrong, calls that were 50/50 and calls that where exactly what the umpires where trying to achieve, there would be a lot less backlash from fans, it would give them a greater understanding of what umps are trying to achieve and possibly greater empathy from supporters to umpires.

Look at US Sports, if there is call that is wrong at any stage of the game, the commentators are not shy to call it out instead of covering it up. They even have ex umpires in some sports critiquing calls during breaks of games... No umpires where harmed in process.

Now back to RFC supporters, they are allowed to feel aggrieved, we did get a sh*t run from the umpires two weeks in a row, and both game it could be said that we would have won if a couple of INCORRECT calls weren't paid against us. As as passionate supporters they realise that thos two results could end they unlikely event of us playing finals, given the closeness of the season. That in itself is upsetting.

First and most crucial, if you are infront with 21 secs to go and there's a stoppage, irrelevant of where that stoppage is, you should win the game, SIMPLE.

And in nearly all circumstances I don't believe bad umpiring actually costs you the game.... HOWEVER I look at it this way...

If you leave a contest that you lost, with zero to little influence by the umpires, you are upset, but you move on.
If you leave a contest that you lost, with several critical calls not going your way, you are not just upset, you are angry that you were not afforded the opportunity to get the best outcome possible (which granted still could mean you lose the game). And that's where this angst lies.

I will also say, supporters can also have this feeling when they win, not just when they lose. Bad umpiring could keep a game close, even though you win, nd the potential missed percentage could cost you a place in the 8 or top 4 even. So IMO it's not just sour grapes.

To show it's not just Richmond supporters turning into whingers, an ex AFL umpire even sent me a txt during the bulldogs telling me we had been shafted and umpire #11 had been deplorable...

So my question is this, why are AFL umpires such a protected species from criticism???

The automatic retort will be, players make mistakes all game, give the umpire some slack. And I agree, but here is the big difference...

An AFL player makes mistakes, then the media run stories on them, highlight it over and over on the numerous footy shows, the are scrutinised to the end of the earth for their mistakes. Yet an AFL umpire makes a mistake (which of course will happen multiple times a game) and the media and AFL house do everything in the world to twist an interpretation to give the umpire an out.

So I don't want an avenue for people to just bash umpires. But I tell you, if the AFL came out each week, showed examples of calls from every game that were wrong, calls that were 50/50 and calls that where exactly what the umpires where trying to achieve, there would be a lot less backlash from fans, it would give them a greater understanding of what umps are trying to achieve and possibly greater empathy from supporters to umpires.

Look at US Sports, if there is call that is wrong at any stage of the game, the commentators are not shy to call it out instead of covering it up. They even have ex umpires in some sports critiquing calls during breaks of games... No umpires where harmed in process.

Now back to RFC supporters, they are allowed to feel aggrieved, we did get a sh*t run from the umpires two weeks in a row, and both game it could be said that we would have won if a couple of INCORRECT calls weren't paid against us. As as passionate supporters they realise that thos two results could end they unlikely event of us playing finals, given the closeness of the season. That in itself is upsetting.

the AFL is trying to keep the betting issue under the carpet,

Okay-that-was-good-Clap-Clap-Clap..gif

yes maybe, but highlighting the errors and communicating them to the public would place the umps under too much scrutiny to risk getting caught doing the wrong thing.

how far away are we from an umpiring betting scandal?

or will it be hushed up because we are aussies?

I don't blame umpires for loosing games but I definitely havent been happy with our treatment this year. It is simply stupid to blame the umpiries for last weeks loss, if you are by 2 points up with 21 seconds to go you should always be winning the game regardless of the umpiring.

how far away are we from an umpiring betting scandal?

or will it be hushed up because we are aussies?
any sport is only ever 1 extraordinary deal away from an umpiring betting scandal... An offer to good to refuse to an ump for a couple of calls here or there.

There has been corruption in sports forever and with more betting options available by the day, it's not going to die any time soon.

So the only way to fight it is through transparency. Going back to my point, AFL having a weekly show, admitting incorrect calls, explaining 50/50 calls, making every call an umpire makes there to be explained if needed. Covering it up only allows corruption to grow.

Umps get paid more to umpire (which is a second job) than most people do for their main income, so don't give me the part time sob story. Infact make them full time if you have too, make them commit to the position, pay them more, and expect better results (Exactly what happened to players 30 years ago).

I don't blame umpires for loosing games but I definitely havent been happy with our treatment this year. It is simply stupid to blame the umpiries for last weeks loss, if you are by 2 points up with 21 seconds to go you should always be winning the game regardless of the umpiring.
And you would normally be 100% correct.
However, without that decision we legitamely scored 76 points to 72.
FACT

And you would normally be 100% correct.
However, without that decision we legitamely scored 76 points to 72.
FACT

Are you factoring in the Brady Grey goal, which was an obvious one, but paid a behind?
Or is that goal umpire corrupt too and had money on the Tigers.

Are you factoring in the Brady Grey goal, which was an obvious one, but paid a behind?
Or is that goal umpire corrupt too and had money on the Tigers.
or the HTB call we should of got inside 50 in the third that would have resulted in a shot on goal, but was given high....
Everyone can go 1 for 1 here...

But even you have to admit that call against jack on the 3/4 time siren was wrong.

or the HTB call we should of got inside 50 in the third that would have resulted in a shot on goal, but was given high....
Everyone can go 1 for 1 here...

But even you have to admit that call against jack on the 3/4 time siren was wrong.

Won't bother with the other bloke as labelling me anti-Richmond is typical nonsense.
But yes ...... and have said it at least three times on this or other threads .... the Riewoldt decision was CLEARLY wrong. But ...... it was an error of judgement by the umpire, not some deep-seated conspiracy, or some field umpire on the take as people here suggest. An ERROR, no more, no less.
No one here has had the balls to concede the umpires made another ERROR in not awarding Grey a goal that wasn't even reviewed.
As someone who looks at things objectively, I would also question the free to Rance in the last two minutes, which was the cause of much angst from the Fremantle guy who gave it away and seemed from the limited footage from a long way away 50/50. I reckon Rance got away with one in the third thta most likely should have been paid and would have given Freo a goal, so be it!
Hank, I'm certain not EVERY free kick we got sat well with Freo or neutral supporters, but we take it as a given ALL of them are ours. It's ridiculous.
Blaming umpires for an insipid three quarter performance is rubbish and if people can't see that it's a collection of decisions from umpires, coaches and players that influences a game of football and not just one individual decision that affects a game, well there's no hope.
At the end of the day, the fact CEllis and Markov - two supposed young guns - can't get a kick, the fact we have the worst CHF in the league right now and now real contingency plan, the fact we think we can turn up and play a quarter of football each week and get away with it, the fact we let Hil and Walters (and to a lesser extent Fyfe) run rampant and unchecked, and the fact we coughed up a lead with 20 seconds to go for the umpteenth time with no leadership being shown out on the field, are of far pressing concern that one or two umpiring decisions each week.
If we are so worried about one incident and goal, how about turning up before three quarter time and making a dent on the scoreboard instead of trying to win with 20 minutes of football.

Won't bother with the other bloke as labelling me anti-Richmond is typical nonsense.
But yes ...... and have said it at least three times on this or other threads .... the Riewoldt decision was CLEARLY wrong. But ...... it was an error of judgement by the umpire, not some deep-seated conspiracy, or some field umpire on the take as people here suggest. An ERROR, no more, no less.
No one here has had the balls to concede the umpires made another ERROR in not awarding Grey a goal that wasn't even reviewed.
As someone who looks at things objectively, I would also question the free to Rance in the last two minutes, which was the cause of much angst from the Fremantle guy who gave it away and seemed from the limited footage from a long way away 50/50. I reckon Rance got away with one in the third thta most likely should have been paid and would have given Freo a goal, so be it!
Hank, I'm certain not EVERY free kick we got sat well with Freo or neutral supporters, but we take it as a given ALL of them are ours. It's ridiculous.
Blaming umpires for an insipid three quarter performance is rubbish and if people can't see that it's a collection of decisions from umpires, coaches and players that influences a game of football and not just one individual decision that affects a game, well there's no hope.
At the end of the day, the fact CEllis and Markov - two supposed young guns - can't get a kick, the fact we have the worst CHF in the league right now and now real contingency plan, the fact we think we can turn up and play a quarter of football each week and get away with it, the fact we let Hil and Walters (and to a lesser extent Fyfe) run rampant and unchecked, and the fact we coughed up a lead with 20 seconds to go for the umpteenth time with no leadership being shown out on the field, are of far pressing concern that one or two umpiring decisions each week.
If we are so worried about one incident and goal, how about turning up before three quarter time and making a dent on the scoreboard instead of trying to win with 20 minutes of football.
I don't disagree with most of what you said tbh... We didn't play well at all for 3 qrts of footy...

BUT... Supporters have every right to be upset, that despite us playing like shit, and acknowledging the fact that it was our own fault we were in that position in the first place, umpiring decisions clearly effected the result (even the Freo goal you mention). And its their right to upset at that fact alone.

As I said in my big post, I believe it is out fault we lost, not the umps, but I am also smart enough to acknowledge that umpiring errors are influencing games (and results) too much for my liking...

Often you hear the saying a team didn't deserve to win that game (due to potentially playing sh*t for 3/4's like we did) but it happens, teams play poorly and win. A team should not be denied a win (even if they played extremely poorly for 3/4's) due to the influence of umpires.

So just like you judge our kids on how you dont think they live up to what number they where drafted and go on about it constantly (and I'm not even debating as to whether your right or wrong), other are happy to hold umpires up to their supposed standards and judge them accordingly.

Debate the so called outcome all you like, but given the amount of moaning you do here, don't tell other they shouldn't do the same irrelevant of the topic.

Bulldogs would be out of the 8 now and we'd be 1st if it wasn't for dodgey umpiring

The umpires should become the 19th AFL team

As far as I know there hasn't been a peep from the AFL about the Riewoldt shepherd. Normally during the week they come out and highlight any controversial calls and either justify it or admit the call was wrong and any steps taken to improve performance, interpretation of the rule etc. Why the f**k have we not had at least a explanation of the call? It was a bewildering decision. I'm annoyed at the club as well for not making any noise about it.

RFC_Official

I don't disagree with most of what you said tbh... We didn't play well at all for 3 qrts of footy...

BUT... Supporters have every right to be upset, that despite us playing like shit, and acknowledging the fact that it was our own fault we were in that position in the first place, umpiring decisions clearly effected the result (even the Freo goal you mention). And its their right to upset at that fact alone.

As I said in my big post, I believe it is out fault we lost, not the umps, but I am also smart enough to acknowledge that umpiring errors are influencing games (and results) too much for my liking...

Often you hear the saying a team didn't deserve to win that game (due to potentially playing sh*t for 3/4's like we did) but it happens, teams play poorly and win. A team should not be denied a win (even if they played extremely poorly for 3/4's) due to the influence of umpires.

So just like you judge our kids on how you dont think they live up to what number they where drafted and go on about it constantly (and I'm not even debating as to whether your right or wrong), other are happy to hold umpires up to their supposed standards and judge them accordingly.

Debate the so called outcome all you like, but given the amount of moaning you do here, don't tell other they shouldn't do the same irrelevant of the topic.
That's kinda a point, as if I 'moan' about something I'm told not to be repetitively negative.
But I acknoweledge it and at least now I know that I can be repetitively negative ..... not that I am ... but just viewed that way.
Cheers buddy!

Good point, if the club has a problem, say so. Hardwick has been defending the umpires all season.
So it's a case of:
1. It's not working.
Or 2. Maybe they are being impartial as they are supposed to be.

AFL website has a video called the "whistleblowers" where they used to roll out Hayden Kennedy and he would tell us how all the decisions they got wrong that week were actually right

They've stopped doing it the last three- four weeks probably because not even he could defend those calls

Good point, if the club has a problem, say so. Hardwick has been defending the umpires all season.
So it's a case of:
1. It's not working.
Or 2. Maybe they are being impartial as they are supposed to be.
Toeing the party line.

Hardwick,you could tell was fuming inside over the third quarter time decision but they have their arms tied,umpires are allowed to rort the system,players are bagged when under scrutiny.

Sorry,but that's double standards by the AFL.