Roast Umpires thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Groupie_

It's as simple as this, high-pressure team puts pressure on other team, they therefore make more mistakes which results in frees. Pressure increases as scoreboard and time tick over leading to more mistakes and therefore more chances for free kicks. This phenomenon is seen at every level of the game. Either way it's, a strange line of arguing because you guys are assuming the free kicks we got even had an impact on the game, let alone the scoreboard.

So how does that explain the 2017 and 2018 seasons where we were known equally for our high pressure football and poor free kick differential?

There are some serious Big Cox sizes gaps in your logic and reason chain 🥳

So how does that explain the 2017 and 2018 seasons where we were known equally for our high pressure football and poor free kick differential?

There are some serious Big Cox sizes gaps in your logic and reason chain 🥳
Alright, you got me. I'll admit it, we did pay off the umps. We actually have a trust fund where we all chip in to pay off the umps for the game, maybe you guys should try it ;)

How easy must it be to look watch footy through the lense of a 9-year-old.

Just looked at the Carlton vs Richmond game from last week, 22 - 23. You lot are the Alex Jones of the footy world right now :drunk:

You’re actually delusional.

So no counter-argument? Come on you make it too easy

Alright, you got me. I'll admit it, we did pay off the umps. We actually have a trust fund where we all chip in to pay off the umps for the game, maybe you guys should try it ;)

How easy must it be to look watch footy through the lense of a 9-year-old.

Pot Kettle?

No counter argument in sight form you mate.

All I said was your logic is ****** as high pressure football and high free kick tally are not stats that can be consistently and accurately correlated.

Eg

Our differential from memory was about -50 and -60 for seasons 2017 and 2018, where we won a flag and finished minor premiers on the back of a game plan which was based on... wait for it.... manic pressure.

Prove me wrong with reason and logic and prove your “nothing but respectful” presence isn’t actually “notin’ but brainless and mildly respectful”

How about you guys play some high pressure footy and maybe you might get some free kicks next time :drunk: Instead of blaming the umps who kept you in the game for most of it, how about you cash in that reality check, swallow your pride and admit you were beaten by a superior side.

Do you guys even know what most of those frees were for? Most of them came from YOUR mistakes; high tackles, out on the fulls etc. which was exasperated by our high-pressure style of footy.

But no, continue to shift the blame onto others, I'm sure you'll improve that way.
We did play high pressure footy, for two years, nothing was different tonight than it was in 2017 or 2018 from the umpires.
You barely played a high pressure game anyway, chipping it back and forth around the backline isn't very high pressure.

Pot Kettle?

No counter argument in sight form you mate.

All I said was your logic is ****** as high pressure football and high free kick tally are not stats that can be consistently and accurately correlated.

Eg

Our differential from memory was about -50 and -60 for seasons 2017 and 2018, where we won a flag and finished minor premiers on the back of a game plan which was based on... wait for it.... manic pressure.

Prove me wrong with reason and logic and prove your “nothing but respectful” presence isn’t actually “notin’ but brainless and mildly respectful”

-120 in 2018 the next nearest -62 .. Collingwood finished +99. 2017 we finished bottom but that was a bearable 60 something.

Losing that Grand Final was so worth it just to see your 'era' fall :thumbsu:

hahahahahahaha "losing the grand final was worth....." a great way to start a comment but I guess you must get used to settling for choking and need to find enjoyment somewhere else in the game.

comment of the month I say ... well done

We had more possessions and tackles tonight that's pretty rare, it wasnt a case of the umpires not wanting to give you frees this game I believe your guys just didn't want it enough, however I do agree you guys have had a rough gig with the umpires over the past 2 years I just dont believe it was a factor tonight

Razor Ray lol,his spiel about “emotions don’t come into it” with Sheahan,only supporters think emotionally.

What a load of bs.

Lynch takes a fair and square mark and Razor Ray gets indigestion from a swallowed whistle.

MY gf is a Pie,happy for her but over the corruption of the umpires,looks like we are gonna get rorted for yet another year.

We were Charles Trevelyaned last night.

We had more possessions and tackles tonight that's pretty rare, it wasnt a case of the umpires not wanting to give you frees this game I believe your guys just didn't want it enough, however I do agree you guys have had a rough gig with the umpires over the past 2 years I just dont believe it was a factor tonight
So your captain gets a kick in front of goal for incorrect disposal than 1 min latter in goal square and than straight after the break same player same act through s the ball and its play on. Did i mention the same umpire that gave you the free kick was the one that played on the other 2.
Footy was something I enjoyed in this miserable life I live in and now I'm in the stage where I cbf about it as well.

This is an accurate post.
Last night we did not want it enough and free kicks had little to no influence on the result.

Our overall free kick differential issue is however a legit discussion.

So your captain gets a kick in front of goal for incorrect disposal than 1 min latter in goal square and than straight after the break same player same act through s the ball and its play on. Did i mention the same umpire that gave you the free kick was the one that played on the other 2.
Footy was something I enjoyed in this miserable life I live in and now I'm in the stage where I cbf about it as well.
Your allowed to disagree that's fine say we give you those 2 free kicks we still win the free kick count and the game your point is kinda irrelevant

You had a good win and yes it’s shame you didn’t win with less frees or a more even free kick count and that part is obviously bothering you You are the new free kick Hawthorn just enjoy it because ask West Coast at home .. it’s bloody handy.

The free kick differential last year between you and us was well over the 200 mark. We won a premiership with a - 100 odd frees differential. We are basically just sick of getting smashed by umpiring for 2 years. This isn’t about Collingwood it’s about the our shocking run with the frees.

Firstly the ordinary umpiring decisions went both ways. The pies had a lot more of the ball, the tigers were chasing and scragging all night....that easily accounts for the free kick count.
The tigers play a high risk last to the ball, swarming tactic game. It’s worked well for 18 months, it got them a flag. The lopsided umpire decisions are a result of this game plan, get over it.

Firstly the ordinary umpiring decisions went both ways. The pies had a lot more of the ball, the tigers were chasing and scragging all night....that easily accounts for the free kick count.
The tigers play a high risk last to the ball, swarming tactic game. It’s worked well for 18 months, it got them a flag. The lopsided umpire decisions are a result of this game plan, get over it.

You are the umpires darlings ..get over it.

hahahaha did you flogs get over it, maybe we should start a petition to have last nights game reversed.

All everyone heard over summer was pie flogs complaining about Sheed being awarded his mark and Maynard not getting a soft free when in actual fact Rioli was taken high by Maynard.

like i said did you flogs GET OVER IT.

hahahaha did you flogs get over it, maybe we should start a petition to have last nights game reversed.

All everyone heard over summer was pie flogs complaining about Sheed being awarded his mark and Maynard not getting a soft free when in actual fact Rioli was taken high by Maynard.

like i said did you flogs GET OVER IT.

Nice melt.
I have no idea what your asking me to get over? The umpiring was less than desirable for both, the free kicks can be accounted for by the tigers being 2nd to the ball all night, and basically your a salty sour puss.

its been pretty obvious for years that the Pies are loved by the umps and we are not. Yes last night was bad and the missed Sidebottom throws x2, Tom Lynch non mark and the tap out of the pack paid a throw to the Pies for another gifted goal sapped all momentum from the game. Pies fans saying they had no influence are kidding themselves.