Updates from Perth

May 8, 2003
Hamish Paradise
Islanders, Nuggets
Whisper is that coaching deal has been done, and Eugene said today that he hoped it would be announced within two weeks. Very mum on who it might be, but Hardwick would have to be the red hot fave, with Brad Scott next in the market it seems.
Eugene also said:
Chances of home game in Perth next year less than 50%.
No likelihood of Good Friday game in next few years.
Asking AFL for our game before bye next year to be in Perth to allow players to stay on for a couple of days.
We had Bucks until his brekkie with Mick on the Saturday, said the good thing is Collingwood is now paying an extra $1.5 million a year as a result. Said it was Geoff Walsh who got the deal done, not Eddie.

Highlights:
Barry Cheatley, Peter Steward and Michael Redenbach taking over the proceedings at the pre-match function and putting on a show!
Best of it was when Barry fell off the stage. Wish I had recorded it.
Catching up with all the local Roos fans, and a few brave souls who had flown in for the day.
Lachie Hansen explaining why sugar goes on Weet Bix before milk.
Petrie's game.

Lowlights:
Eagles flogs celebrating like they had won a flag at 3-4 time, geez it would have been sweet if we'd stormed over the top of them, but we needed to be 2 goals closer at the last change.
Jones's hamfisted attempts to dodge tackles, Thomas's lack of influence and poor kicking.
The bloke behind us who kept bagging Thompson, saying "you're crap 16" over and over again until the man formerly known as Pharro offered to buy him a budget so he could learn a few player names.

We need some good news in the media. We must appoint a coach now and spin it in the media as the greatest thing to happen to this club since our last Premiership. Enough negative shit. Our 2010 membership and season promotion starts with this new coach and hopefully a productive draft and trading period.

Hansen also said he much preferred playing in defence.

Which is exactly where he should be played. I blame Sheedy for the "move him all over the park to educate him" thinking that's become popular with some coaches. (Hi Dean)

Play him where he's most confident and more importantly where he plays his best footy.

Which is exactly where he should be played. I blame Sheedy for the "move him all over the park to educate him" thinking that's become popular with some coaches. (Hi Dean)

Play him where he's most confident and more importantly where he plays his best footy.

Exactly, we drafted him as a CHB FFS play him there..

Interestingly if the deal is done would it be fair to assume its Scott ? As Scott doesn't seem that keen on the Tiges for whatever reason. And wasn't Hardwick less keen on North? BT just said during half time that North are going to run the broom through the club at seasons end- he didn't ellaborate on who was going ,b ut would think most assistants will be gone.

I gathered that the implication was much deeper than that and it involves a lot of the semi-pro, part timers and volunteers as well.

By the way, outstanding effort from the key organisers of the WA Supporters' Group led by 'wiper of course. Thank you once again for welcoming a weary traveller.

Any updates on the Sunday morning breakfast function? Did any of the Saturday night revelers turn up / get any sleep? Did the club send any players along?

Saturday night revellers unsighted, with the exception of yours truly.
Small crowd, Andrew Swallow, Liam Anthony, Arocca and Bewick all turned up.
General consensus was that the Corey Jones brain is a very dark and disturbing place. :D
Highlight was Manuel bailing up Euge about the need to make the players more available when in Perth.

Just incase you weren't aware but Dean was playing him CHB. He played one game this year at CHF under Dean and that was on his return from a hamstring.

It has been Crocker who has played him at CHF.

Just incase you weren't aware but Dean was playing him CHB. He played one game this year at CHF under Dean and that was on his return from a hamstring.

Just in case you weren't aware, but my inference was on the Sheedy school of thought. My opinion is Laidley went to the same school.

What's yours?

Yeah, DR's right, Groggy.

Clearly this move to CHF wasn't initiated by Dean, even though he was the first one to play him there.

Yeah, DR's right, Groggy.

Clearly this move to CHF wasn't initiated by Dean, even though he was the first one to play him there.

Crocker was in his ear about it all year and Laidley gave it a go to try to shut him up.

Updates from Perth