Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2

The fact that the AFL can't schedule an all interstate Friday night game without a dud Vic game next to it proves this is a vias league. Imagine if the NFL had 16 teams out of NYC and no one else played primetime without one of them. It's crazy
When it starts costing them money they’ll change it I.E when more people start caring about the Freo’s or Ports of the world that don’t live that state.

What’s also a wee bit rich is a Collingwood supporter claiming there are “swings and roundabouts” in the fixture, while enjoying 17 games in Melbourne and leaving Melbourne once since the middle of May.

Like every other Melbourne or Vic team, that’s what happens when more then half the comp plays in one state.

Blame the universe for you being born in a state that can only support 1 and half teams

When it starts costing them money they’ll change it I.E when more people start caring about the Freo’s or Ports of the world that don’t live that state.
The problem with that is 99% of the media are out of Melbourne. So it's unlikely that it will ever change. They couldn't even put Brisbane v Sydney in primetime slots this year.

Ah. So there isn't Vicbias in the Free kick count, just HokBias?

Also they are Non Vic clubs, not 'Interstate clubs'. check your own Vicbias.
Nah, we're interstate, Sydney is interstate from us, WC are interstate from Brisbane.
The real AFL clubs

And then theres the 10 VFL legacy clubs squished into a postage stamp parcel of land.
They're just Vic clubs.

Nah, we're interstate, Sydney is interstate from us, WC are interstate from Brisbane.
The real AFL clubs

And then theres the 10 VFL legacy clubs squished into a postage stamp parcel of land.
They're just Vic clubs.
Your tears continue to fill my heart with joy.

Keep us updated on what your peer reviewed findings are this weekend, maybe someone at the AFL will see them again and you'll have some influence.

Changing the landscape one weekend at a time 😍

The real AFL clubs

They're just Vic clubs.
But those Vic clubs are Interstate to you as well, hence the confusion. Calling your self interstate is just feeding into the narrative that the AFL should be centred in Melbourne.

What’s also a wee bit rich is a Collingwood supporter claiming there are “swings and roundabouts” in the fixture, while enjoying 17 games in Melbourne and leaving Melbourne once since the middle of May.

The point you don't seem to understand is that I'm not whinging about Colingwood's fixture. You're whinging about Adelaide's fixture.

Let's pretend it's a two team comp and compare the two fixtures:

Adelaide have the disadvantage against Collingwood of flying 4 more times. (Adelaide Melbourne flights)
Adelaide have the advantage of an extra home game.
Adelaide have the advantage of easier opponents.

Overall, you're not even disadvantaged against Collingwood. But let's compare you to the other contenders, as it is an 18 team comp.

Adelaide travel a lot less than Freo, Brisbane, GC and GWS. The same amount as the Hawks. And less than Geel and Dogs - you're in the middle in terms of travel.
Then you get an extra home game than anyone else in contention other than Freo.
You have an easier fxture than most of the other teams and much easier than Brisbane.

But hey, somehow youu keep finding little things to whinge about. - It's quite sad.

The point you don't seem to understand is that I'm not whinging about Colingwood's fixture. You're whinging about Adelaide's fixture.

Let's pretend it's a two team comp and compare the two fixtures:

Adelaide have the disadvantage against Collingwood of flying 4 more times. (Adelaide Melbourne flights)
Adelaide have the advantage of an extra home game.
Adelaide have the advantage of easier opponents.

Overall, you're not even disadvantaged against Collingwood. But let's compare you to the other contenders, as it is an 18 team comp.

Adelaide travel a lot less than Freo, Brisbane, GC and GWS. The same amount as the Hawks. And less than Geel and Dogs - you're in the middle in terms of travel.
Then you get an extra home game than anyone else in contention other than Freo.
You have an easier fxture than most of the other teams and much easier than Brisbane.

But hey, somehow youu keep finding little things to whinge about. - It's quite sad.
I’ve never complained about Adelaide’s fixture, nor did I mention it.

What’s laughable is a Collingwood supporter (or any Victorian club fan outside of North/Hawks who play in Tasmania) claiming the fixture is fair.

Time to take off the blinkers mate. It's sad.

What’s laughable is a Collingwood supporter (or any Victorian club fan outside of North/Hawks who play in Tasmania) claiming the fixture is fair.

Time to take off the blinkers mate. It's sad.
Apologies. I must have gotten you confused with the Adelaide poster complaining about the shorter break this week.

Clearly you think that nothing compares to the disadvantage of extra travel games. Hawks are an interesting one in this regard. They no longer need Tassie for financial reasons and they're the most premiership or wasted year team in the comp. Yet they continue to choose to do do those extra 4 flights that you guys have to do each year and view as an incredible disadvantage. They say it's because they feel that the Tassie base gives them an advantage. They pretty clearly value home ground advantage over travel as an advantage as they have the choice between the two.

Meanwhile I keep seeing that the opponent has a far greater implication on the results and betting markets than the venue. The bottom 8 have barely won a game against any decent team at any venue this year

Thus I think who your opponents are in the fixture is far more significant than how many times you fly or the breaks between games. And no I don't think the fixture is fair. Brisbane have a much harder set of opponents than some other contenders - particularly Geelong, but also Adelaide.

Should take a look at it and see how easy the Crows have it
None do, they are aware that teams like Adelaide have a big advantage during H&A.

I’m convinced of vic bias now. How’d we let him win a Brownlow.
Because that's a voting system that that's probably the best for it.

But honestly mate, bloke was a legend of the game and he doesn't merit a mention? We both know when it's a Vic player it'll take over the whole episode, you'd think there'd be more respect but unfortunately not.

Collingwood fans will say it's okay, because mentioning Fyfe doesn't bring money in.
It's a Fox footy show. Do you expect the AFL to take over the media and control all content so it's proportional per club?
I'd expect them to celebrate a legend of the game, irrespective of where they are based or from in our country.

I also expect everyone here to understand why I find it highly disrespectful when people say this comment -

'If X played in Victoria they'd get so much attention' without even acknowledging the irony of what they are saying.

But honestly mate, bloke was a legend of the game and he doesn't merit a mention? We both know when it's a Vic player it'll take over the whole episode, you'd think there'd be more respect but unfortunately not.

Collingwood fans will say it's okay, because mentioning Fyfe doesn't bring money in.
I'd expect them to celebrate a legend of the game, irrespective of where they are based or from in our country.

I also expect everyone here to understand why I find it highly disrespectful when people say this comment -

'If X played in Victoria they'd get so much attention' without even acknowledging the irony of what they are saying.
It's not about whether it's ok or not, but I agree with you that it's not. It's that the media is outside of the AFL competition and unless you think the AFL should be controlling media shows are completely irrelevant to bias within the competition.

Tbh I personally think what they did with Freo's home games this year was absolutely fantastic and shows the AFL is listening... so I don't actually have that many complaints about so called 'bias'. I applaud what they did with the fixture.

Tbh it's extra frustrating as a Freo fan, we're in a football state, we're a wealthy club, we have passionate fans that show up... and we hardly get mentioned here WA or there Vic, apparently hearing about a bloke having wandering fingers or the latest Harley Reid article is more important than Freo entering the top 4 and a legend of the game retiring.

It's contended on this thread plenty of times that clubs need to put the work in to get the national recognition to therefore get the dollars because certain clubs make the AFL money to get the prime time slots, so shows like 360 not putting teams like Freo on platform when there's ample reason to do so is why I get annoyed because it links into that metric you all state we need to meet to get a seat at the table.

No the AFL doesn't have a bias lol, it just needs to be brave and put top 8 teams on Friday night more often so they can benefit, instead of the trifecta of Collingwood, Carlton or Essendon. Personally I think the AFL having to lean into having those clubs on the prime time fixtures isn't bias... it's just a sign the AFL isn't as financially healthy as they claim to be.

Tbh I personally think what they did with Freo's home games this year was absolutely fantastic and shows the AFL is listening... so I don't actually have that many complaints about so called 'bias'. I applaud what they did with the fixture.

Tbh it's extra frustrating as a Freo fan, we're in a football state, we're a wealthy club, we have passionate fans that show up... and we hardly get mentioned here WA or there Vic, apparently hearing about a bloke having wandering fingers or the latest Harley Reid article is more important than Freo entering the top 4 and a legend of the game retiring.

It's contended on this thread plenty of times that clubs need to put the work in to get the national recognition to therefore get the dollars because certain clubs make the AFL money to get the prime time slots, so shows like 360 not putting teams like Freo on platform when there's ample reason to do so is why I get annoyed because it links into that metric you all state we need to meet to get a seat at the table.

No the AFL doesn't have a bias lol, it just needs to be brave and put top 8 teams on Friday night more often so they can benefit, instead of the trifecta of Collingwood, Carlton or Essendon. Personally I think the AFL having to lean into having those clubs on the prime time fixtures isn't bias... it's just a sign the AFL isn't as financially healthy as they claim to be.
It's not about working harder. It's just a reality that in each state fans have more interest in their local rivals than the rest of the comp. So with Vic being the biggest market, interest in the big Vic clubs is far greater than those from other states. And thr media goes where the interest is.

I live in SA and always find complaints about lesser media coverage for Non-vic teams a bit bemusing. There's so much saturation coverage of the Crows and Port over here that when Michael Voss was last in town, he was asked about the current media pressure. He responded that it's much easier to avoid the media in a 10 club town like Melbourne (as Head Coach of Carlton) than it was when he was assistant coach at Port. SEN SA is often like being in the Port or Adelaide Bigfooty forum. Them being Port and Adelaide centric is just a reality of their market - that's where the interest lies. This morning when driving in I heard that Ollie Lord (who will probably be delisted next time he's out of contract) would have far greater trade currency than Beau McCreery when they were hypothesising about a trade for the two - Port nuffie territory. Not sure but I assume that WA is the same regarding Freo and WCE.

Yes legend of the game. But seems like a bit of an attention whore. Hasn’t played much all this year and team will be in finals. Wait till the end of year to announce retirement?

It's not about working harder. It's just a reality that in each state fans have more interest in their local rivals than the rest of the comp. So with Vic being the biggest market, interest in the big Vic clubs is far greater than those from other states. And thr media goes where the interest is.

I live in SA and always find complaints about lesser media coverage for Non-vic teams a bit bemusing. There's so much saturation coverage of the Crows and Port over here that when Michael Voss was last in town, he was asked about the current media pressure. He responded that it's much easier to avoid the media in a 10 club town like Melbourne (as Head Coach of Carlton) than it was when he was assistant coach at Port. SEN SA is often like being in the Port or Adelaide Bigfooty forum. Them being Port and Adelaide centric is just a reality of their market - that's where the interest lies. This morning when driving in I heard that Ollie Lord (who will probably be delisted next time he's out of contract) would have far greater trade currency than Beau McCreery when they were hypothesising about a trade for the two - Port nuffie territory. Not sure but I assume that WA is the same regarding Freo and WCE.

These people aren't self aware enough to understand this mate, i live in Adelaide and never would i complain about lack of Collingwood coverage on the nightly news. Why? Because i understand most people who are watching the program, and who it is targeted at... couldn't give a shit.

Why do they think it is different in somebody else's state? Are they extra special so warrant it? Media and content is made to attract as many people as possible and for that to happen they need to appeal to the biggest interest points amongst that targeted viewership I.E Melbourne.

This isn't opinion, this isn't Bias. It's the reality of the World we live in.

Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2