TODAY'S VIDEOS

* Round 4 - Brisbane Lions Press Conference
Fri, Apr 17, 09
* Round 4 - Collingwood Press Conference
Fri, Apr 17, 09
* Round 4 - Brisbane Lions v Collingwood 2nd half highlights
Fri, Apr 17, 09

By Michael Whiting 11:30 PM Fri 17 April, 2009
BRISBANE Lions coach Michael Voss will search for answers from the League’s director of umpiring Jeff Gieschen this week after believing his big forwards copped a raw deal in Friday night’s 17-point loss to Collingwood.

Voss said he would “seek clarification” on what defenders could do against forwards after Jonathan Brown and Daniel Bradshaw were kept to just two goals in Collingwood’s 13.12 (90) to 10.13 (73) win at the Gabba.

Brown kicked two goals on namesake Nathan Brown in the first term but was kept goalless after Simon Prestigiacomo moved to him in the second term.

The pair tangled several times in one-on-one contests.

His partner-in-crime Bradshaw, the competition’s leading goalkicker before this round, went without a major courtesy of Harry O’Brien’s tight checking.

But Voss seemed far from happy with the treatment of his star duo.

“I’ll seek that out with Jeff during the week exactly what they can do for my own piece of mind and just to let Braddy and Browny know what can happen,” he said.

“We’ll pull the vision off and send it off and make contact with Jeff during the week.”

Other than the treatment of his forwards, Voss was relatively happy with the Lions’ performance despite the loss.

With ruckman Jamie Charman and the in-form Jed Adcock both going down with ankle injuries during the match, the bench was reduced to two during the last quarter and the home team ran out of legs.

“I thought we had two pretty committed teams going at the ball and they probably did it just that bit better than us,” he said.

“They won the in-tight ball a couple of times and they spread really quickly.

“We knew coming into the game that was one of Collingwood’s strengths, being able to get outside and carry the ball and they were able to do that well.

“We clearly didn’t look like we ran out he game as well as they did. They looked a lot fresher and more on top of the ground.

“We were looking a bit more tired at the end, they looked like they were full of running, they were going from contest to contest, they got that encouragement, saw the opening and went for it.”

Voss said the fatigue late in the match led to turnovers, on which Collingwood was able to capitalise through small forwards Paul Medhurst (four goals) and Leon Davis (three).

“They gradually got control of the game by trying to keep possession and wee weren’t able to capitalise on our opportunities,” he said..

“To their credit, they put enormous pressure on us and we made the wrong decision at different times and when we turned it over they scored.

“They were able to sweep it down and get their small fleet footed guys on the end of it and they kicked the goals.”

Voss also said the Lions did not keep the “foot to the throat” when they led by 22 points during the second quarter.
for lions.com.au

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/75175/default.aspx

What crap. Can't he give credit where credit's due? They were beaten fair and square. I've seen some forwards been manhandled in my time (Tarrant any one?) and Presti and O'Brien played their man as fair as possible. Most of Presti's work was clear spoils and clean body work.

Tbh, I thought Harry got away with about 3 (2 on Bradshaw and 1 on Brown on the switch) but Presti was very clean.

All the HTB went their way though, so it balanced out.

IMO they got the rub last night. Sure, there were a couple of one's where forwards/backmen may have given one but there some really shitty ball/non calls given against us.

defenders cant do shit all usually so i doubt they got away with anythin majorly out of the rules.

forwards have it easy these days. imho clokey cops the rough end more than anyone.

u can not be serious!!!!

they were literally in it at half time because of the umpires, and then we blew them away in the second half. they were totally outclassed from the quater time we deserved to win!!

We do the same when we lose and then we have a sook when other coaches to it. We definately are the most one eyed............

WTF is Voss trying to pull with this crap. Was a standard crap house performance by the umpires, more so in Brissie's favor imo.

One obvious free missed on Brown and he has a whinge. If this guy had to put up with the crap Collingwood cop week in week out from the maggots he would be a bald blabbering idiot locked up in a mental institute.

Also, Medders your an animal!

Watching the game at 2am last night somewhat hammered, i thought our big forwards had a hard time with defenders mauling them.

But i suppose only voss is allowed to complain, and what the hell was teh 50 for after qtr time?

Anyone else noticed in the last quarter he stopped coaching and started spectating the game, everytime they went to him he had his headphones off and was just sitting there spectating.

Not what you'd expect of the head coach.

I've always thought beneath the tough, confident exterior, voss was a very immature man. There was a moment last night which i'm sure many of you saw, where dalzeill kicked a goal, and channell 7 broadcast a shot from the coaches box, where voss had turned to his coaches, and the look on his face was one of pure arrogance. Voss supporters will call it insignificant, and a bit of inexperience, but for a coach knowing full well the cameras are on him, to show how funny he thinks beating the opposite team his is such a thoughtless thing to do, and one in a long line of moments to come for voss i reckon.

Although you can't blame him for being confident really. After he made it clear his thoughts on out hardness, and the wet conditions, you'd reckon he's have it penciled in at that stage. Ah, doesn't it make it sweeter.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/75175/default.aspx

What crap. Can't he give credit where credit's due? They were beaten fair and square. I've seen some forwards been manhandled in my time (Tarrant any one?) and Presti and O'Brien played their man as fair as possible. Most of Presti's work was clear spoils and clean body work.

As mentioned in this thread Tarrant spent his career at Collingwood sharing his jumper with the opposition backman week in week out.

I put this down to the rules changing every year and the umpires inforcing the new rules from R1-R6. I hate the modern day game.

The cry baby should be the last to complain about the umpires, he got an armchair ride his whole career.

Voss has no class and he showed it again. I was so glad he was laughing half way through the second quarter.

What a low life he is. Thanks for proving it again you punce.

At half time, Brisbane were clearly getting a good ride with the umps. That 50m on the siren was a shocker. MM had a huge stare at the umps.

We got a few good calls after that...but Rocca was been held badly as well. On one occassion his defender pretty much pulled him away from the contest. Didak was also held a few times.

Congrats to Presti and Harry for some great tight checking.

Honestly, last night the umps could've payed about 10 free kicks in front of goals...but it would've destroyed the game. It was a tough hard in game that had to be let go.

Oh Michael, were you upset? :( Were those nasty umpires unfair to little Brown? Poor boy! Poor young coach! To have your lovely, new, flawless record blemished by a loss. What a shame! And a disgrace.

What went wrong Michael? Was it just those big, bullying upms? Or were you perhaps just outcoached - just a wee, tiny bit? Never mind. The umps will be back tormenting Collingwood next week, and you'll be able to have a good long sook in the meantime.:)

I've always thought beneath the tough, confident exterior, voss was a very immature man. There was a moment last night which i'm sure many of you saw, where dalzeill kicked a goal, and channell 7 broadcast a shot from the coaches box, where voss had turned to his coaches, and the look on his face was one of pure arrogance.

I think you misread this. To me it was a look of "lulz, Dalziell just pull a left-footed snap goal out of his..."

I'm also a bit bemused by this thread. Given how much we've been whinging about umps lately (justified or not), it seems a tad hypocritical to me to begrudge another club a whinge.

There were definately some missed ones but it cuts both ways, Bradshaw holding Presti anyone? Presti is by AFL backman standards a very clean player, always has been and why he so easily accomodated the new rules and 'interpretations' (rules shouldn't be able to have more than one interpretation but that's another discussion). Where were our continued tackle 50s? have we got one yet?

At least it was better than last year.

This coming from Voss is amazing.
Even if he had questioned something else.
Presti and O'brien were great and beat their men fair and square.

I think Voss will back down from his stance pretty quickly after watching the video of the game.

It would be good to remind Vossy of the 2002 GF when late in the game Rocker boots a goal from 60 to put the pies in front only to be called touched by the umpire who took the advise of a Brisbane player. Replay went on to show daylight between the ball and the players hand. This decision stopped collingwoods momentum and possibly a win. Bucks asked Vossy last year in the commentators box if it was touched and he just laughed. There is a lot more Karma to come yet mate!

So this is what it feels like to be on the other end when the opposition club bitches about umpiring....

I must say, it's quite an experience, **** up Vossy. :)

I think you misread this. To me it was a look of "lulz, Dalziell just pull a left-footed snap goal out of his..."

I'm also a bit bemused by this thread. Given how much we've been whinging about umps lately (justified or not), it seems a tad hypocritical to me to begrudge another club a whinge.

In this case I think it's about the fact he can't accept these particular players got beaten. I know he can't really complain about the umpiring in general, but if he did that I wouldn't have made this thread.