We still lack depth

ShlomoGlickstein

Nice to see two wins against struggling teams in the pre-season.

I'm very impressed with our draft picks. Murphy will win a Brownlow in the next 2-3 years, Gibbs' skill is also inspiring compared to Chief-Drongo HOULIHAN, makes you realise how bad Houla really is. I think Gibbs and Murphy have been a good kick in the bum for guys like Bentick and Carazzo, Carazzo seems to have stepped up a little, and Bentick is trying hard, though it'll be interesting to see how the year pans out for them.

Cloke and Ackland have been interesting so farf. Sure they aint gonna cause fireworks, and look similar to previous recyclabes like Morrel an dMcLaren, but hey, they seem a whole lot better than that Accounting-experiment that was DeLuca. My how I bagged that guy last year and all youse nong-nongs stood up for him. Geez it was embarassing sticking up for him at the pub with me mates who barrack for other sides!

If the stars align correctly and injuires don't occur, I reckon Waite, Walker, Carrazzo and pssibly Bentick will have good years.. HOWEVER, i am worried about Betts, Fisher and well Houla is gonna have another mediocre year getting 20 possession a game, of which 15 will be turnovers...

Betts: looked confused, and doesn't seem to be impactful and dangerous enough with the ball, he will need to work harder esp since Fev wont be marking as much as he will be triple-quadriple teamed all year.

Fisher: I know it;s early day but he just doesn't look right. another player who should be deepening our forward structure, he also seemed confused, and despite his great goal, he should be more composed in the forward line.

Houla: its like Groundhog day again. Some mistakes, same slowness. I appauaded his good work in the last quarter on 'the ****' Crawford, who looked like he was gonna send us all to Sydney for the Mardi-Gras in the last qtr, but I will never feel relaxed when Houla gets the ball...

The promising thing is the way Dennis and his new coaching team have restructured the backline - I just hope it holds together during the season. T-Bird look alot more relaxed and able to play his natural game now he has Waite and Setanta down there, and Scotland seems to have found his place in the back pocket/flank - I just hope Scoltand doesn't turn into a HOula and make too many unforced errors. Walker also look comfy down there, esp with the extra bulk, and he seems to be becoming a more intimidating player _ I would love to see him smash some St.Kilda p00fs this year! Simmo though shouldn't be in the defence, will hafta wait and see,

Still we all have to be mindful this is our VERY BEST team, and we've only snuck these win in. I mean who do we have waitng in the wings? Rubbish like Teague, Bannister and Wiggo?

I reckon this year if we can assert our authority over struggling sides like Essendon, Collingwood, Hawthorn, Richmond and North, well we at least won't get another spoon, and I really like to see us beat the Saints because after 5 years of fakery and handouts (and the mouthing off of that sacked middle-manager loser dropkick Grant Thomas), I despise everything they stand for.

(NOTE: I haven't mentioned our 'oldies'...Well here I go..HOW GOOD HAS KOUTA PLAYED? I reckon the 'dancing with the stars' has worked wonders in his game! And it's even better to know that Kouta's still got it in him where the Bummer 'Captain Underpants' Hird is finito-la-musica, bound to get a wooden spoon send off with that senile-bastard Sheedy! Larnce will be good and Lappin will be played off the bench me thinks)

By all means crap on Teague, Wiggins and Bannister. But when you say that Houlihan is "Chief-Drongo" it makes you look like an idiot who has no idea of the game.

Get off Houlihan's case and stop spouting the same crap that was said about him two years ago. Acknowledge that he's improved his game heaps, and give him a break.

Not just that is that some sheepish ****s just love to hang sh1t on this greatly skilled player. 2 years ago he was a softer player, and while still a receiver - which by the way when you've got silky skills like houla does thats a good role - he can go in and get his own ball.

Once again HOULA is so underrated!

Can not agree on Betts.
When in the midfield he did a lot of chasing, and several good tackles.
He can not kick goals if played in midfield, but is good all the same, either forward or midfield.

Probably should be thankful Schlomo saw any positives at all. Baby steps.

Between audas and Schlomo, I don't know who's worse. It just amazes me that these 2 guys can sit there and type that sort of drivel. I mean, what do they expect? We have come from a long long way back in terms of our list, the lack of $$$ has meant we haven't been able to get the facilities, the coaches, the recruiting guys, etc etc, and they almost expect 4 quarters of brilliance every time we go out.

It's called baby steps guys, and we are making progess. A win is still a win, and although our turnovers were ordinary last night, there were plenty of positives.

No team is going to have a playing list all supporters are happy with.
Consequently Schlomo will always have a poor bitch he can get his boots into.
Consequently he will never ever be happy.
Right now I'm happy with the way we are travelling despite the fact it is very early days.
Get happy Schlomo!

I think we know who the real Chief-Drongo is. I didn't read any further after that. I'll just move on and read someone who's posts are worth reading. I suggest everyone else does the same.:rolleyes:

It is definitley nice to win, but it was better to hear Braddles at half time talking about our turnovers. They killed us last year and they were again very poor last night. If we are going to make real steps forward this year we will have to start using the football better.

Shlomo did you actually watch the game??? Eddie was a little terrier, running, chasing, tackling very much in the Hulme mould.

Houlihan has improved out of sight and in the last quarter was very composed when he had possession and Hawthorn were at our heels.. and last week he was one of the BOG.

Shlomo so was there anything positive you saw?

It is definitley nice to win, but it was better to hear Braddles at half time talking about our turnovers. They killed us last year and they were again very poor last night. If we are going to make real steps forward this year we will have to start using the football better.

Agree. Disposal in general was shocking last night from both teams. We also need to find some more guys who can kicked goals if they aren't just 10m straight in front. Pagan should also tell the guys that if they run inside 50 and are in a position to have a shot at goal they should go for it. To many times did our players handball themselves into trouble when they could have gone themselves.

^^^^ Shlomo will never be happy, until every player plays at 100% every game and doesn't make a mistake. So, he's looking for the impossible to happen. :rolleyes:

No you're wrong there. He enjoys seeing us lose and make mistakes and is only happy when we lose. Seeing us win 2 games in a row is driving him mad. His posts are a watse of space. Don't waste your time reading them. :rolleyes:

Very harsh on a few players there Shlomo.

Betts, Bentick, Wiggo... they are as good as the rest of our average players - not everyone is a murphy or a simpson. For the record, Bentick is such a hard runner and hard worker. How many times was he on the bottom of packs last night? Heaps.

Betts' pressure is superb. If only every player in our forward line chased down the players and balls like he does.

Wiggo was injured all of last year, as was Bentick, stevens, Walker, S. o'hAilpin.

People need to start realising that it will take time and that not every single player on our list will be as good as Murphy nor do they have the ability to.

Between audas and Schlomo, I don't know who's worse. It just amazes me that these 2 guys can sit there and type that sort of drivel. I mean, what do they expect? We have come from a long long way back in terms of our list, the lack of $$$ has meant we haven't been able to get the facilities, the coaches, the recruiting guys, etc etc, and they almost expect 4 quarters of brilliance every time we go out.

It's called baby steps guys, and we are making progess. A win is still a win, and although our turnovers were ordinary last night, there were plenty of positives.

Exactly HBF.

We're not going to be premiers anytime soon, nor are we going to be playing like West Coast do just yet. Give it time.

Nice to see two wins against struggling teams in the pre-season.

Two teams at the same level as us and two wins.

I'm very impressed with our draft picks. Murphy will win a Brownlow in the next 2-3 years, Gibbs' skill is also inspiring compared to Chief-Drongo HOULIHAN, makes you realise how bad Houla really is. I think Gibbs and Murphy have been a good kick in the bum for guys like Bentick and Carazzo, Carazzo seems to have stepped up a little, and Bentick is trying hard, though it'll be interesting to see how the year pans out for them.

Houlihan bad? Why do you only look at the negatives? Houlihan does more positive things than negative. To call him "Chief Drongo" clearly shows you have no idea.

Oh and Carrazzo and Bentick stepping up? Perhaps that's because Carrazzo is finally playing in his rightful spot - the midfield and Bentick finally has some good assistance, instead of trying to do it all himself.

In regards to Carrazzo - has he stepped up because he gets more of the ball now that he is playing in the midfield rather than the back pocket? Puhlease!! That's just a given. Do you have any idea?

Cloke and Ackland have been interesting so farf. Sure they aint gonna cause fireworks, and look similar to previous recyclabes like Morrel an dMcLaren, but hey, they seem a whole lot better than that Accounting-experiment that was DeLuca. My how I bagged that guy last year and all youse nong-nongs stood up for him. Geez it was embarassing sticking up for him at the pub with me mates who barrack for other sides!

Wow! I actually agree with you about Deluca. Blind Freddy could see that he was average at best. There was clearly no room in our team for him as a forward but to compare him to Ackland and Cloke is a joke!!! Deluca wasn't a ruckman!!!!

Oh and sticking up for him at the pub infront of your mates when you thought he was a hack? Ah huh.... shows the kind of person you are.... :rolleyes:

If the stars align correctly and injuires don't occur, I reckon Waite, Walker, Carrazzo and pssibly Bentick will have good years.. HOWEVER, i am worried about Betts, Fisher and well Houla is gonna have another mediocre year getting 20 possession a game, of which 15 will be turnovers...

Betts: looked confused, and doesn't seem to be impactful and dangerous enough with the ball, he will need to work harder esp since Fev wont be marking as much as he will be triple-quadriple teamed all year.

Fisher: I know it;s early day but he just doesn't look right. another player who should be deepening our forward structure, he also seemed confused, and despite his great goal, he should be more composed in the forward line.

Houla: its like Groundhog day again. Some mistakes, same slowness. I appauaded his good work in the last quarter on 'the ****' Crawford, who looked like he was gonna send us all to Sydney for the Mardi-Gras in the last qtr, but I will never feel relaxed when Houla gets the ball...

Are you sure you are a Carlton supporter? Three honest players and you have managed to highlight things that are only in your head.... Betts' defensive pressure and work in the middle of the ground clearly has an impact on the game. If he was to work any harder he wouldn't have any soles left in his footy boots.

Fisher is the same. The only thing he needs to work on is his kicking which is something you failed to mention. Is it me or do you only point things that are completely irrelevant? :rolleyes:

I am not even going to go there with Hoops because I have wasted enough of my time replying to the rest of your post which wreaks of drivel.

The promising thing is the way Dennis and his new coaching team have restructured the backline - I just hope it holds together during the season. T-Bird look alot more relaxed and able to play his natural game now he has Waite and Setanta down there, and Scotland seems to have found his place in the back pocket/flank - I just hope Scoltand doesn't turn into a HOula and make too many unforced errors. Walker also look comfy down there, esp with the extra bulk, and he seems to be becoming a more intimidating player _ I would love to see him smash some St.Kilda p00fs this year! Simmo though shouldn't be in the defence, will hafta wait and see

Wow, NEARLY a whole paragraph of positives :rolleyes:

Still we all have to be mindful this is our VERY BEST team, and we've only snuck these win in. I mean who do we have waitng in the wings? Rubbish like Teague, Bannister and Wiggo?

Our very best team? Waiting in the wings are players like Bower, Hartlett, Edwards, Anderson, Grigg, Hampson, Austin, Benjamin. Teague and Bannister will not get a game in our best 22.

Depth is one thing we finally have and you can't even acknowledge that? Fair enough, only Bower has debuted in the real season but the kids coming through and those we have just drafted have all shown something!!!

I reckon this year if we can assert our authority over struggling sides like Essendon, Collingwood, Hawthorn, Richmond and North, well we at least won't get another spoon, and I really like to see us beat the Saints because after 5 years of fakery and handouts (and the mouthing off of that sacked middle-manager loser dropkick Grant Thomas), I despise everything they stand for.

(NOTE: I haven't mentioned our 'oldies'...Well here I go..HOW GOOD HAS KOUTA PLAYED? I reckon the 'dancing with the stars' has worked wonders in his game! And it's even better to know that Kouta's still got it in him where the Bummer 'Captain Underpants' Hird is finito-la-musica, bound to get a wooden spoon send off with that senile-bastard Sheedy! Larnce will be good and Lappin will be played off the bench me thinks)

Lance an oldy at 27? Ah huh :rolleyes:

Houlihan bad? Why do you only look at the negatives? Houlihan does more positive things than negative. To call him "Chief Drongo" clearly shows you have no idea.

Houlihan has improved out of sight and in the last quarter was very composed when he had possession and Hawthorn were at our heels.. and last week he was one of the BOG.

Not just that is that some sheepish ****s just love to hang sh1t on this greatly skilled player. 2 years ago he was a softer player, and while still a receiver - which by the way when you've got silky skills like houla does thats a good role - he can go in and get his own ball.

Once again HOULA is so underrated!

But when you say that Houlihan is "Chief-Drongo" it makes you look like an idiot who has no idea of the game.

Get off Houlihan's case and stop spouting the same crap that was said about him two years ago. Acknowledge that he's improved his game heaps, and give him a break.

WOA! Fall off my chair.

Great to see the all support for Houla. :thumbsu:

Disagree 100%. We have a heap more depth this year on everyline. That's just a fact. :)

i agree i;m very happy with out Depth in ever area ;D and i don't call Essendon or Hawthorn Struggling if they were we would have flogged em by more like us
they were playing to win

i wouldn't Call The Kangaroos as Struggling, or any club
Essendon smashed the WCE by a big margin
in Perth

I actually agree we don't have much depth currently.
But by round 9-10 I think we will have some with our youngsters getting in the best 6 more than often for the Ants.
When they are ready, have earnt a spot and are lucky enough to play through injuries or another players lack of form then we do have depth.