What future do Essendon have post Sheedy ?

that any essendon people can only see the possible negatives in sheedy leaving is saddening.

with the right coach there is a huge upside to the change, starting with an overdue cleanout or kick up the behind for several not so senior players, the introduction of new blood with obvious talent (that btw i reckon sheeds has beautifully brought along nice & slowly) along with those youngsters that have shown they are up to the job this season, a revamped game plan & much needed enthusiasm that has obviously waned since the last flag.

only ups as far as im concerned, for both sheeds & essendon

that any essendon people can only see the possible negatives in sheedy leaving is saddening.

with the right coach there is a huge upside to the change, starting with an overdue cleanout or kick up the behind for several not so senior players, the introduction of new blood with obvious talent (that btw i reckon sheeds has beautifully brought along nice & slowly) along with those youngsters that have shown they are up to the job this season, a revamped game plan & much needed enthusiasm that has obviously waned since the last flag.

only ups as far as im concerned, for both sheeds & essendon

absolutely spot on.

is there anyone on BF who HASN'T started a thread about where essendon is going to be post sheedy over the next couple of years? do we really need to tread over this old ground again?

just to recap what has been discussed in the 724 other identical threads

• essendon will struggle next year and possibly for a few years as the core of the team gets old and retires (hird, fletcher, lloyd, lucas)
  • macpie hates essendon but enjoys baiting essendon supporters
  • essendon's list management has been poor 2001 - 2006 which has resulted in a lack of 24 - 28 year olds at the club
  • most essendon supporters think that ryder is the second coming
  • most opposition supporters and a few essendon supporters (myself included) think ryder shows potential but is yet to prove himself
  • jobe watson can't kick
  • macpie is obsessed with essendon
  • the board have handled the sticky sheedy situation rather well, although they have still copped a lot of critiscm
  • it was time for sheedy to go
  • matthew lloyd is considering his options post 2007. he is yet to declare if intends to try out for australias diving team for the beijing olympics
  • macpie hates essendon but loves to talk about them
  • sir james > buckley
i think that is about everything.

altered for accuracy

It'll be interesting to see where he goes, do you think he's a chance to coach unlisted understudy. What kind of keyboard warrior doesn't even put up the club they support.

Dont understand the fascination with the listing of the club, all that means is that the actual point of the thread is avoided as people respond with stupid insults relating to the team supported.......how does that address the issue of Essendon post Sheedy??

the biggest worry for Essendon is that their best player this year isn't going to be there next year (Hird) and they are still too reliant on the likes of Fletcher, Lucas, Lloyd, Michael, the Johnsons, Camporeale...all of which are 29+

apart from Gumbleton and Ryder there young kids haven't shown too much

Young kids..um jetta, davey, monfries, reimers, hocking, houli..we will be fine. We had a ripper of a draft in the last draft, so we'll be sweet. The only concern I have is over our backline and who is filling key positions say 3-4 yrs down the track but if we get darcy daniher in the draft and johns has been playing CHB in the reserves so maybe we'll be fine. We also need a damn ruckman!

stanton, winders, watson, davey all shown enough......but the dons fans just drop names of players who have hardly even played AFL footy and think they will be all quality!

Young kids..um jetta, davey, monfries, reimers, hocking, houli..we will be fine. We had a ripper of a draft in the last draft, so we'll be sweet.

Yep, a list of blokes who have shown nothing yet!

Draftees are all potential stars when they are yet to be found out at AFL level

the biggest worry for Essendon is that their best player this year isn't going to be there next year (Hird) and they are still too reliant on the likes of Fletcher, Lucas, Lloyd, Michael, the Johnsons, Camporeale...all of which are 29+

Why do people continue to think we are reliant upon the Johnsons, with one who hasn't played for 4-5 weeks and the other just returning from being dropped. Do you watch our games at all? Campo is not going to be a big loss, we hadly rely on him as he is there to add depth to our midfield. Fletcher Lucas Lloyd all have at least 3 years left in them, which is plenty of time to find replacements.

The club has declined significantly in the last few years

How have we declined in 2007?

We've been the biggest improvers in the competition.

Essendon really dont seem to be making any positive moves to reinvigorate their club

Apart from completely rebuilding the footy department of course...

The board has arguably been a major contributor to their decline.

This board has only been in for 18 months.
There are members on the board that should and will get moved on, but they've overseen the club go from 3 wins to 10 and quite possibly 11 or 12 wins.

Surprised at how defencive same peoples responses are here

So you ask people how Essendon will cope post-Sheedy and Essendon supporters think we'll be fine.

When they don't give you the answers you want to hear, when we don't subscribe to the doom and gloom theory, we're defensive?

Some supporters at the club are actually excited by the change.

Smy comments were pretty much motivated by how impressed Gary Lyon seemed to be by Sheedy's presentation to Melbourne.

He's been involved at Melbourne Football Club his whole adult life.
Wouldn't be too hard to get excited really would it?

Theres no doubt Sheedy knows his stuff and would be a very valuable acquisition for any club.

Of course he knows his stuff. He's a legend of the game.

Why do I suspect that if we re-signed Sheeds for 2-3 years you'd have started a thread stating we'd go backwards and we needed a change?

I dont think anything Ive written here could be considered to controversial or glaringly inaccurate.

No, it's not controversial.
Just subjective and not very well thought out.

Why do people continue to think we are reliant upon the Johnsons, with one who hasn't played for 4-5 weeks and the other just returning from being dropped. Do you watch our games at all? Campo is not going to be a big loss, we hadly rely on him as he is there to add depth to our midfield. Fletcher Lucas Lloyd all have at least 3 years left in them, which is plenty of time to find replacements.

We already have a couple of replacements for them.
The question of course is, like with every team, will they make it?

We will also recruit a lot more players before they retire so the replacements might come from players we don't even have yet.
We might also trade into players

We have plenty of young talent on our list that most on BF have never even seen and many have never even heard of.

Only time will tell

stanton, winders, watson, davey all shown enough......but the dons fans just drop names of players who have hardly even played AFL footy and think they will be all quality!

Yep, a list of blokes who have shown nothing yet!

Draftees are all potential stars when they are yet to be found out at AFL level

Thing is most of our players are not old, and the ones that are have long term replacements!

Fletcher- Johns
Michael- Darcy Daniher
Hird- Monfries

Then you add Jetta who has shown enough this season for us to believe he is the real deal. Our youngsters are fine!

Thing is most of our players are not old, and the ones that are have long term replacements!

Fletcher- Johns
Michael- Darcy Daniher
Hird- Monfries

Then you add Jetta who has shown enough this season for us to believe he is the real deal. Our youngsters are fine!

say no more!

Fletcher- Johns
Michael- Darcy Daniher
Hird- Monfries

Please

Johns is a dud, and IF he was to somehow prove most wrong, he will not be any where near as good as Fletcher
We haven't even recruited Darcy yet, and maynot
Monfries will be a good player, but not in tha same ballpark as Hird.

And here I was expecting you work through the questions I raised, instead you threw a pretty weak attempt at a retort.

Not sure why I expected better really.

Have a nice weekend.

You seem upset, clearly theres a divergence of views, appears to me your an Essendon fan that is passionate about their club but possibly not completely realistic about where they are at and what they are doing to rectify it.

Clement, Presti, Rocca, Buckley, Licuria, Holland, O'bree

The typical response of ignoring the point raised in the thread and instead just have a dig at the team of the poster!

Will humour u tho

Clement - aint contributed at all in 07
Presti - season ruined by injury
Rocca - solid
Buckley - aint contributed at all in 07
Licca - struggles to get a game
Holland - aint contributed at all in 07
O'Bree - good

not sure what ur point is, we dont rely on those blokes and are on track for finals!

How about Burns? You have so many young effective clearance players dont you?

Guessing that was addressed to me,

yes Burns has been good this year, yet to have anybody to replace him....our weakness is the rucks and clearance type players

But not sure what the fascination is with Collingwood in a thread about Essendon's future post Sheedy??

The typical response of ignoring the point raised in the thread and instead just have a dig at the team of the poster!

Will humour u tho

Clement - aint contributed at all in 07
Presti - season ruined by injury
Rocca - solid
Buckley - aint contributed at all in 07
Licca - struggles to get a game
Holland - aint contributed at all in 07
O'Bree - good

not sure what ur point is, we dont rely on those blokes and are on track for finals!

Where are all the tall defenders and young clearance players coming through ?

Any cause for pessimism down at Lexus ?

Where are all the tall defenders and young clearance players coming through ?
Defenders

H.O'Brien
Anthony
N.Brown
Goldsack

well covered for KP stocks

Clearance players struggling, presume the succession plan would be for Pendles, H.Shaw, Thomas to move into the middle

Any cause for pessimism down at Lexus ?
Look like making the finals on the back of our kids, biggest crowds ever flocking to watch the pies, the great man is back for our finals tilt, eddie back on the radio....things looking good at pie land atm, thanx for ur concern tho!

Defenders

H.O'Brien
Anthony
N.Brown
Goldsack

well covered for KP stocks

Clearance players struggling, presume the succession plan would be for Pendles, H.Shaw, Thomas to move into the middle

Anthony and N Brown have played what, two games between them. Yet they will adequately replace Presti, Wakelin, Clement etc but Gumbleton, Neagle, Johns can't replace Lloyd and Lucas.

We've got no one to replace Hird yet you lot have got plenty of options to replace Buckley.

Look like making the finals on the back of our kids, biggest crowds ever flocking to watch the pies, the great man is back for our finals tilt, eddie back on the radio....things looking good at pie land atm, thanx for ur concern tho!

And we will most likely be one game behind Collingwood at the end of this weekend however things aren't looking good at Windy Hill but they are at Lexus.

Lets take the eye patch off and try and look at things a bit more objectively in the future, okay.