Prediction Which ex-GWS players will make it?

Which of these ex-GWS players will come good?

420280-tlsgalleryportrait.jpg
Don't take your eyes off the ball! :)
I like that pic: it says so much. But I do have a much more positive feeling about him than I did.

Like most, I went for Plowman. I remember seeing him as an U18. He had a LOT going for him. He showed more than a bit in the time he had at GWS without being able to get on the field regularly.

I've probably ruined both of these guys now. They will end up as cripples in the Injury Room or looking like Alan Thorpe when the season started. (I remember Thorpe in the preseason a few too many years ago. He looked totally brilliant until the season started. He won games off his won boot. Then the serious stuff started and he went back to not being able to get a kick :( in a paddock.)

Plowman - Pick #3 2012
Sumner - Pick #10 2011
Jaksch - Pick #12 2012

Lamb - Pick #21 2010
Phillips - RD Pick #4 2011
Whiley - Recruited before the 2010 draft as an NSW zone selction

For mine, the first three must have showed obvious potential to go so high in the draft.
I expect to see these guys go up a gear in 2016 in training / work ethic and show their worth.

Of the last three, we have to simply hope 1 of the 3 seriously goes all out, the come from nowhere guy, to make the senior grade regularly. Much in the same way Carrazzo and E Curnow through shear hard work forced their way into the team.

Plowman - Pick #3 2012
Sumner - Pick #10 2011
Jaksch - Pick #12 2012

Lamb - Pick #21 2010
Phillips - RD Pick #4 2011
Whiley - Recruited before the 2010 draft as an NSW zone selction

For mine, the first three must have showed obvious potential to go so high in the draft.
I expect to see these guys go up a gear in 2016 in training / work ethic and show their worth.

Of the last three, we have to simply hope 1 of the 3 seriously goes all out, the come from nowhere guy, to make the senior grade regularly. Much in the same way Carrazzo and E Curnow through shear hard work forced their way into the team.
Very interesting looking at that. Suprisingly the 3 not drafted in the first round have shown more at AFL level than the other...obviously Plowman being injured hasnt helped.

Well the trade for Henderson(Cats 1st pick 2016) and pick 28 for the 4 GWS players and Harry McKay(pick 8)
Has been an absolute master stroke IMO. Can remember that we were all hoping may be one of the 4 could make it.
None of these guys will ever be absolute super stars of the comp, but all of them could be very good footballers.
SOS certainly shown that he knows the players he recruited at GWS, and knows what they are capable of.

Plowman is getting better and better every time he plays. He really is the ideal full back for modern football.
Played on Stringer and kept him goalless in his first game back :eek:, but also can play on smalls like Wingard.
That adds some real flexibility to our defence.
Just hope he can have a really good run with injuries and get a full preseason under his belt.
Regardless his starting to look very comfortable at AFL level.
Kids got all the right tools to be a gun defender, strength, courage, composure, speed, nice kick, good mark and seem to be a very smart player too.
Think he played his best game for the club on the weekend.
17 possessions @82%DE 9 marks 5 intercept marks 4 tackles 10 Pressure acts 3 score Involvements
336meters gained from 82%TOG

Sumner has been the other one to really surprise me, remember how over weight he was at the start of the year.l His still not there from a fitness level point of view, only 72%TOG.
But you can certainly see why SOS was keen to get him to the club, if he can stay fit he will be a gun player for us.
Could be like a Devon Smith type for us. High pressure small forward who also can run through the midfield.
Bolton has already pushed him into the centre square a few times.
Every week his gotten better and better and every week he does a few really classy things that just make me think wow this kid could be a player.
I knew he hand decent skills around goal when he first came to the club, but what really surprised me is how hard he cracks and chases and tackles.
That HTB on Amon was a ripper tackle, think Bolts is the kind of coach Sumner needed.

Lamb has also been a great pick up. Might not rack up heaps of stats or do lot of flashy type things.
But he brings the heat with pressure tackling and locking the ball in the forward line.
Plays he role pretty well every week and is starting to get the rewards on the scoreboard.
Think he is definitely benefiting from playing in seniors every week, has never really had that chance before.
Bolts has even pushed him into the midfield a few times, which IMO is great.
More players that can run through the midfield the more flexible the side can be.
13 possessions 7 contested @69%DE 291 meters gained 2 clearances 4 tackles 3 marks
10 pressure acts 2 goals 1 goal assist 6 score involvements 83% TOG.

Liking all of the GWS recruits from last year.

Whiley has been underwhelming and Jaksch is still along way off from proving himself.

So basically we've made the right moves since Bolton and SOS got on board. Coincidence? I think not.

Hoping we can keep up a good trading relationship with GWS and get another good deal with them for some talent stuck in the 2s (e.g. Tomlinson)

So basically we've made the right moves since Bolton and SOS got on board. Coincidence? I think not.

Hoping we can keep up a good trading relationship with GWS and get another good deal with them for some talent stuck in the 2s (e.g. Tomlinson)

Tomlinson or Marchbank would be nice indeed.

Not sure what the story is with Ahern as well after his awful injury as well.

Tomlinson or Marchbank would be nice indeed.

Not sure what the story is with Ahern as well after his awful injury as well.
We'll be pretty well positioned at years end to have a real crack at these two IMO. Hopefully they are seeing what is going on at our footy club and want to be a part of it.

All of the GWS4 would deservedly be playing now, if Phillips wasn't injured.

Sumner is the real surprise for me.
Hunts the ball and the man....leaves nothing behind. He must love playing for Bolton.

The win real though, is Plowman.
You can have too many generals I guess, but he just complements Simpson, Docherty, Weitering and co., beautifully.
We're finally going to have backline on which attacks will be launched from.........just like the good 'ol days. :)

EDIT: I wonder if there are any teams now asking; How did they do that?

I like Sumner's mongrel & want to get in the oppositions face :)
You can see on the replay he's partial to a bit of a chat in contests. I like the boy. When he ran down Amon in the last he was already giving him a mouthful before casually trotting back and dobbing it from just inside the 50.

You can just about lock Plowman into our future. Lamb and Sumner look great but imo need to get involved a little bit more. I'd like to see Lamb get 15-20 damaging touches a game, and no reason Sumner can't become a Dahlhouse type, he has that zip and mongrel that can see him cause a headache around the ground. Phillips looks the goods, but Kreuzer doesn't seem to perform as well when he's in the side - what to do with him?

Well what is the definition of make it?

100 games?
150 games?
200 games?

Some guys are good players, who hold their own in the team for 5+ years, but maybe have injury issues along the way, and end up playing 150 games (Jamison).

I think all 4 GWS boys look good right now. Even Jaksch I still think will make it.

You see that? Interesting.

I see the other two; Plowman & Phillips.

Sumner is like Mitch Robinson but with more speed and better skills. Lamb is just a really clever footballer who'll thrive when we have a semi-functional forward line.

But if you'll allow me to backtrack, I do think Plowman is a tier above all of them.

What I like about all four is that they are already entrenched best 22 but all have considerable upside. Dont think any will be busts, injury not withstanding, and can really see the potential for a couple of out and out guns. What is clear is that they all want to make it and are siezing their chance at the Blues.

Was apparent even when they were getting pumped in 2012 that SOS prioritises kids with swagger and mongrel. Love that we're finally becoming a team that oppositions won't want to play against, and the GWS boys are a big part of that.

Liking all of the GWS recruits from last year.

Whiley has been underwhelming and Jaksch is still along way off from proving himself.
Really disappointed as it stand with the Jaksch trade. Whiley was thrown in as steak knives but nothing has come of the guy who we gave up pick #7 for. We then went with Boekhorst at pick #19. Players that went before him that we could have taken -

Paul Ahern, Peter Wright, Nakia Cockatoo, Liam Duggan, Corey Ellis, Lachlan Weller, Jake Lever, Jarrod Garlett, Sam Durdin.

Peter Wright stands out for mine as one we could have really used. I think we identified it as a shallow draft and that talent was pretty even through the back of the 1st round. Still, if you trade for a player that doesn't come on it's a waste of a trade. I am concerned what is happening in our 2's side with these guys playing and getting smashed by 100+ points for the past two weeks. I know there is 22 guys on the park but if these guys expect to be making the seniors there needs to be some leadership to stop the bleeding in these types of games.

Really disappointed as it stand with the Jaksch trade. Whiley was thrown in as steak knives but nothing has come of the guy who we gave up pick #7 for. We then went with Boekhorst at pick #19. Players that went before him that we could have taken -

Paul Ahern, Peter Wright, Nakia Cockatoo, Liam Duggan, Corey Ellis, Lachlan Weller, Jake Lever, Jarrod Garlett, Sam Durdin.

Peter Wright stands out for mine as one we could have really used. I think we identified it as a shallow draft and that talent was pretty even through the back of the 1st round. Still, if you trade for a player that doesn't come on it's a waste of a trade. I am concerned what is happening in our 2's side with these guys playing and getting smashed by 100+ points for the past two weeks. I know there is 22 guys on the park but if these guys expect to be making the seniors there needs to be some leadership to stop the bleeding in these types of games.

I think Wright was a slider that year from memory?

If Boekhurst makes it then I'm not too worried since he fits a need as well.

Jaksch certainly needs to lift his intensity if he wants to make it. At this stage I'm not even sure what position he is going to play in....

Prediction Which ex-GWS players will make it?