Who do you hope and think will win this Thursday?

Tipped Richmond and hope they win. I think they have a real chance with Carlton looking a bit underdone and undermanned after a poor pre-season.

Still wouldn't be surprised to see Richmond get rolled though but I doubt it will be a shellacking like previous years.

The heart always says a Richmond win.

The head thinks Carlton has the better team (for now), but injuries and them seeming to be starting the season slow means we're in the mix, but we'll probably go down by a few goals.

If Carlton loses, BF will meltdown.
If Richmond loses by a few, Carlton fans will try and make a big deal of it, but nobody will care THAT much.
If Richmond loses by a lot, meltdown.

I hope that one day the AFL stops giving these two substandard teams a standalone spot at the start of the year for a game that is inevitably a let down.

Its a radical idea I know but why not have two good highly skilled teams play in that spot?

I hope Richmond win, I think Carlton will win.

But the "envy" concept is a winning meme for me.....

So to go with that:

I envy Carlton because:
They tanked to get pick 1 and picked Bryce Gibbs, leaving Joel Selwood for us :D I think Gibbs gets to tag Selwood when we play them.

Your turn BF!

I hope that one day the AFL stops giving these two substandard teams a standalone spot at the start of the year for a game that is inevitably a let down.

Its a radical idea I know but why not have two good highly skilled teams play in that spot?

I hope Richmond win, I think Carlton will win.

But the "envy" concept is a winning meme for me.....

So to go with that:

I envy Carlton because:
They tanked to get pick 1 and picked Bryce Gibbs, leaving Joel Selwood for us :D I think Gibbs gets to tag Selwood when we play them.

Your turn BF!

80,000 screaming fans disagree.

Sad to see that the Sydney and GWS game out rated last years Blues/tigers game.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/131553/default.aspx

Maybe people just wanted to see how the GWS would play?

Like to see the ratings on Thursday night?

Not sad at all i watched it too out of curiosity like most footy supporters out there....

Yeah 2moro nite the crowd is expected to hit 80K....think this Rd 1 between Rich V Carl is gonna be a lot closer and think the ratings will top a million viewers...

It was until your President decides to give an interview which allows today's HUN to have this headline;

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/mor...d-for-giant-step/story-e6frf9jf-1226311799512

Seriously why does he feel the need to give an interview at this point of time?

Sponsorships sown up, club heading towards record membership, coach and leading player signed to new deals (and no leaks prior to the signings), promising pre-season form.

It doesn't need the President to remind the footy world of Richmond's ability to talk itself up......and then fail to produce.

I think Richmond will win this week and are on the right track, but the club can publicly pat itself on the back when it wins finals.

Mate - I agree with you as do a lot of other feral Tiges. We've done SFA at this point in time on field. We are definitely showing signs of improvement and we seem to be going about it (on and off field) in the right way this time around. But let's leave the BS to one side. Now is not the right time to be spruiking about our improvement. I remember the debacle from a couple of years back when Carlton spanked us after a lot of preseason talk.

Before I had money on the game I wanted Richmond to win. Exciting young team plus it gets a bit tiring continuously hearing about how easily Carlton are going to win and how good they are going to be from some of their supporters.

I think Carlton will win though I believe it will be close.

Why would anyone envy Carlton?
Maybe because they have won more Grand finals than any side in the comp ..i realise why a pies supporter would hate them tho ..having owned collingwood in 5 Grand finals ;)
But anyway, hope Tigers will win, and I think the Tiges will win. Shown good signs in the preseason, healthy list for the most part, will molest Carlton's woeful backline and I dare say they'll almost hold their own through the middle through Martin and Cotchin. Hopefully their own average backline can hold their own against the mosquito army, et al.

Tigers by 19.
If the Tigers can't get up against a severely depleted and underdone Carlton line up tomorrow night then they wil have serious questions asked of them .

it's all set up for a long awaited richmond win ..but can they actually get across the line when it counts ? ..it will be interesting viewing .

Oh and BTW i'm tipping the Hawks to easily account for the Pies as well ;)

If the Tigers can't get up against a severely depleted and underdone Carlton line up tomorrow night then they wil have serious questions asked of them .

it's all set up for a long awaited richmond win ..but can they actually get across the line when it counts ? ..it will be interesting viewing .

c'mon ease up ur not "severely" depleted thats the pies in having bout 10 players out V the hawks this Friday....u guys have jamo & walker guns and laidler & duigan solid backs and warnock (i dont really rate him) but he takes away structure..

we are pretty much full strength, Moore out is perhaps our most experienced defender and jake king out, contrary to what people say provides excellent pressure and can kick goals....regardless of who Carlton has out you are aspiring to be top 4 and should have depth to cover the ruck which u do with kreuz and hampson, fwd line its one player to replace and he's not a buddy or a riewoldt or a cloke, however u still have guns in betts and garlett... your back half thats the crust right there will the replacements be the depth that can cover them, if we get the ball into our fwd line enough times jack and vickery will be to strong for hendo and bower...

ur last point is spot on its their for the taking can we do it time will tell but ill put my thoughts out there now, think we'll win by 10-25 points....Go Tiges!!!

c'mon ease up ur not "severely" depleted thats the pies in having bout 10 players out V the hawks this Friday....u guys have jamo & walker guns and laidler & duigan solid backs and warnock (i dont really rate him) but he takes away structure..

we are pretty much full strength, Moore out is perhaps our most experienced defender and jake king out, contrary to what people say provides excellent pressure and can kick goals....regardless of who Carlton has out you are aspiring to be top 4 and should have depth to cover the ruck which u do with kreuz and hampson, fwd line its one player to replace and he's not a buddy or a riewoldt or a cloke, however u still have guns in betts and garlett... your back half thats the crust right there will the replacements be the depth that can cover them, if we get the ball into our fwd line enough times jack and vickery will be to strong for hendo and bower...

ur last point is spot on its their for the taking can we do it time will tell but ill put my thoughts out there now, think we'll win by 10-25 points....Go Tiges!!!

Take out your best ruckman (because Warnock is better than any you have) take out your best forward (because last year Walker was our best forward)
then take out 3 of your best defenders ..and then get back to me.

Carlton have been hit hard in the areas they could least afford to be hit ..their backline and forward line....this should bring the Tigers into the game ..whether they are good enough to get the job done, time will tell .

Blues by 4 goals.

Maybe because they have won more Grand finals than any side in the comp ..i realise why a pies supporter would hate them tho ..having owned collingwood in 5 Grand finals ;)

Oh and BTW i'm tipping the Hawks to easily account for the Pies as well ;)

When Carlton run out each week, I see a club that hasn't won a flag in close to 20 years. At least the Collingwood team has a team full of premiership players.....that's something to be envious about.

I find Carlton more comical now. How can you cheat the salary cap and still not win a flag in that long? Gross incompetence comes to mind :p

Obviously Carlton ;)

But I am not as confident as the last 3 years going into the season. Missing a lot of key players but I don't think that counts as an excuse, if we want to talk up being a top 4 side, we still should win.

The game will be won in the midfield.

Blues by 15.

Envy, that would be like envying Bernard Madoff or Ben Johnson, but at least they had to give the money and medals back, while the Tankers got to keep their illegally gained flags, there are lots of terms I can think of when talking about Carlton, but envy just isn't one of them.

I'm hoping for a Tiger win, although if the Tankers want to be top 4 they really should win this, lets just hope we get a good game for once.

This is why I hate Richmond supporters, absolutely delusional bunch.

I will only be supporting my SC team players tomorrow night.

Why do Melbourne supporters seem to hate Richmond, is it just because yet another club has moved over the top of the Dees in the pecking order?

Maric should help us because he gives our midfield a chance of at least getting first touch, it's been a long time since we have had even a half decent ruckmen and as we have a reasonable midfield it is obvious why Maric may, if he performs, make a big difference.

Why do Melbourne supporters seem to hate Richmond, is it just because yet another club has moved over the top of the Dees in the pecking order?

Maric should help us because he gives our midfield a chance of at least getting first touch, it's been a long time since we have had even a half decent ruckmen and as we have a reasonable midfield it is obvious why Maric may, if he performs, make a big difference.

I've hated the tigers a lot longer than that. Going back to nearly having the shit kicked out of me by a 30 something tigers fan at the 'G when I was 12, until another tigers fan told him to leave me alone and they both proceeded to beat the shit out of each other until being ejected.

Regardless, my hatred for Richmond has nothing to do with MFC, simply their followers.

Maric is a spud of the highest order, if you want to win games, focus on sharking the oppositions taps.

I've hated the tigers a lot longer than that. Going back to nearly having the shit kicked out of me by a 30 something tigers fan at the 'G when I was 12, until another tigers fan told him to leave me alone and they both proceeded to beat the shit out of each other until being ejected.

Regardless, my hatred for Richmond has nothing to do with MFC, simply their followers.

Maric is a spud of the highest order, if you want to win games, focus on sharking the oppositions taps.

Fair enough, I must say I've had a few run ins with some Carlton and Essendon supporters in the younger days, but never had trouble from a Dees supporter.

I think you may be underestimating Marics ability as a tap ruck, he may not be the best in the league, but I am sure he will work his arse off to help us win the ball and with Vickery backing him up, I think this will really help our mid field.

Of course we are still a long way off a top side, but we do seem to be heading in the right direction.

Fair enough, I must say I've had a few run ins with some Carlton and Essendon supporters in the younger days, but never had trouble from a Dees supporter.

I think you may be underestimating Marics ability as a tap ruck, he may not be the best in the league, but I am sure he will work his arse off to help us win the ball and with Vickery backing him up, I think this will really help our mid field.

Of course we are still a long way off a top side, but we do seem to be heading in the right direction.

Your midfield is good, going to be great. Your ruck is shit. Maric is a stopgap, hopefully you have some tall, weedy ****er to take over his spot.

Maric's only value is the mullet.

I dont get any of this crud toward the tiges...im about as level as they get across the board in relation to other teams in the comp. I am a richmond supporter. I love my Tiges and like every other richmond supporter i hope to god we finally get our S**T together and win some games, starting with Carlton! not because i hate Carlton but because i want to start seeing some success after years of almost torture!! Yes there is Hype for this game...not just for the tiges but BOTH sides...as it would be if any other two clubs played. I hope we can get across the line against the blues, either way i think it will be a great game to watch as will around 80,000 others at the ground. And on a side note? i use to LOATHE carlton, but after flying to the US late last year after the season had finished, most of the carlton lads were on that flight for an end of season trip...lets just say i have never walked off an aircraft with a hangover in my life, but this one was severe...was a great trip and they were actually really good lads, so now i hope they do OK...just not as good as the tiges... my tip will be tiges by a couple.

People are severely overrating Ivan Maric.. he's until now been a spud, not sure why he's being viewed as a savior.
If we can control the midfield, which I'm reasonably confident we will, we should win.They may not be stars but Waite, Betts and garlett generally do quite well against the tigers so with enough ball inside 50 I'd say each can kick a bag.
Going the other way Riewoldt is a certainty to kick 4/5 it's more a matter of stopping Miller/Vickery etc from popping up and kicking a few each.

Who do you hope and think will win this Thursday?