Why did Mcleod play?

auscast

Jun 3, 2008
Murray Bridge
That has to be one of the most disgraceful performances I have seen on a footy field, and I thought Jericho was soft......clearly just playing for himself not the team.
Will limp his way to 300, very selfishly.

Has to go at the end of the year.

I think calling his effort 'selfish' is a bit harsh. He was selected to play far too early - he clearly isn't fit. He was selected out of desperation after two of our best players were injured last week. In hindsight it was a very poor decision to play him, as he was never going to be able to contribute to his usual standard while unfit.

That has to be one of the most disgraceful performances I have seen on a footy field, and I thought Jericho was soft......clearly just playing for himself not the team.

Obviously you have no respect for a true champion of our club. It was actually a great performance by Kane Kornes he cleaned McLeod up, plus it was clear to see McLeod is still not 100% fit.

As for most disgraceful performances go, obviously you don't watch that much footy! That's all I can say.

Close this thread.

I think calling his effort 'selfish' is a bit harsh. He was selected to play far too early - he clearly isn't fit. He was selected out of desperation after two of our best players were injured last week. In hindsight it was a very poor decision to play him, as he was never going to be able to contribute to his usual standard while unfit.

You don't think it's selfish to put your hand up when you know your not fit....... come on!

All he is trying to do is limp his way to 300.

I agree with OP.

It's been plain as day this season that the once great player is finished and the only reason I can see that he continues to play is to get to 300.

The past is the past and there is not much room for sentimental bollocks in today's game as you'll get quickly left behind. He should be doing the right thing and moving on. His next appearance at West Lakes should be in the back of a ute.

A great career let's not remember it as someone who got pushed...

I agree with OP.

It's been plain as day this season that the once great player is finished and the only reason I can see that he continues to play is to get to 300.

The past is the past and there is not much room for sentimental bollocks in today's game as you'll get quickly left behind. He should be doing the right thing and moving on. His next appearance at West Lakes should be in the back of a ute.

A great career let's not remember it as someone who got pushed...

As sad as it is, you're spot on. Yesterday while at the footy a crow supporter yelled out "COMON LETS SEE SOME MACCA MAGIC". I thought to myself - "Its not gonna happen mate". A lot of us still think he's 21 and able to do the things he once did for us. We have to stop relying on him, Goody & Edwards to get us out the poo. Should not have played.

How quickly they turn.

Get on your bike fella, Mcleod still runs rings around the majority of the AFL yesterday he was poor and obviously not ready, to scream for his axing is a long way over the top. Get a grip and watch a few more games of footy before making further comment.

I'm not sure of the motivations for why he was played/put his hands up to play. That is pure speculation and he is a champion who should be given the benefit of the doubt in that respect.

However, he should NOT have played. Cornes as good but Macca didn't/couldn't commit to contests he would have blitzed a few years back. His disposal, when he got the footy, was worse than sub-standard.

Not fit, shouldn't be played til he is.

Is he selfish? I don't think so. Even if he were, the club owes him the loyalty of allowing him to get to the 300 game milestone.

Macca hasn't been bad all year, as you might have us believe. Prior to the Vic Self-Love Flagellation Event, he was actually in quite good form.

If you look at this Board's POTY voting, you'll see he polled votes in Round 2 and was BOG in R5.

After the Flagellation Event, his knee problems started to flare up and his effectiveness dropped dramatically. Eventually he went off and had surgery. This week was his first game back and Blind Freddy could see that he should still have been watching from the coaches box.

Is it selfish to want to play for your club, in one of the most important games of the season? I sincerely doubt that Macca's motivation for playing on Saturday was any desire to achieve a milestone. He would have wanted nothing more than to do his best for his club, to help his team beat the arch-enemy one more time and to give his club the lead in the Showdown tally. Selfish? No. Selfless? Quite possibly.

Some posters on this board have claimed that McLeod on one leg is preferable to most other players (especially a rookie like Mackay or Otten). I suspect that the selection panel would have been thinking similar thoughts. One way or another, the foolishness of this particular concept was cruelly exposed yesterday afternoon.

It is sad to see a formerly great player coming back to earth. It was sad watching Roo run around last year, a caricature of himself. Before him, we had Nigel Smart who went one year too many. McLeod is becoming the same this year.

Macca has 6 games left in 2008. If he can show that he has recovered from the knee surgery and is capable of returning to his previous lofty heights, then he will be retained for 2009. If he cannot return to those levels, then I have little doubt that he will retire gracefully, saving the club the indignity of having to delist one of its two greatest ever players.

That is an awful thing to say about him. Totally unacceptable. Do you expect him to be a machine, comeon because he's only human. Has been a great player for many, many years and has done great things with this team and I'm looking forward to his 300th. Yes, he is struggling and might need to rest this weekend.

But I also agree that I think he does have to go at the end of the year, and come Round 22 we need to give him a big sendoff.

How quickly they turn.

Get on your bike fella, Mcleod still runs rings around the majority of the AFL yesterday he was poor and obviously not ready, to scream for his axing is a long way over the top. Get a grip and watch a few more games of footy before making further comment.

You must be deluded to think that, his time has come , surely you can see that!

So get a grip yourself or your in for a nasty fall!

Is he selfish? I don't think so. Even if he were, the club owes him the loyalty of allowing him to get to the 300 game milestone.

Macca hasn't been bad all year, as you might have us believe. Prior to the Vic Self-Love Flagellation Event, he was actually in quite good form.

If you look at this Board's POTY voting, you'll see he polled votes in Round 2 and was BOG in R5.

After the Flagellation Event, his knee problems started to flare up and his effectiveness dropped dramatically. Eventually he went off and had surgery. This week was his first game back and Blind Freddy could see that he should still have been watching from the coaches box.

Is it selfish to want to play for your club, in one of the most important games of the season? I sincerely doubt that Macca's motivation for playing on Saturday was any desire to achieve a milestone. He would have wanted nothing more than to do his best for his club, to help his team beat the arch-enemy one more time and to give his club the lead in the Showdown tally. Selfish? No. Selfless? Quite possibly.

Some posters on this board have claimed that McLeod on one leg is preferable to most other players (especially a rookie like Mackay or Otten). I suspect that the selection panel would have been thinking similar thoughts. One way or another, the foolishness of this particular concept was cruelly exposed yesterday afternoon.

It is sad to see a formerly great player coming back to earth. It was sad watching Roo run around last year, a caricature of himself. Before him, we had Nigel Smart who went one year too many. McLeod is becoming the same this year.

Macca has 6 games left in 2008. If he can show that he has recovered from the knee surgery and is capable of returning to his previous lofty heights, then he will be retained for 2009. If he cannot return to those levels, then I have little doubt that he will retire gracefully, saving the club the indignity of having to delist one of its two greatest ever players.

Sorry but those days are gone, you can't afford to play favourites anymore.

Round 2 and 5 were a long long time ago, finals aren't played at the start of the year.

Not at all selfish to want to play but if your injured and you know it it's the biggest crime you can make.

Footy is a team sport remember!

How quickly they turn.

Oh dear, you're obviously watching recordings from 5 years ago...

McLeod had to complete training successfully on Thursday and see how the knee came up on Friday/Saturday before being considered. Neither Club nor player would have said he was right to play unless the knee was fine. He was shut-down by Cornes, conditions were crap... it happens. He'll be better for the run I would think.

A club on the move owes a former great nothing, in my opinion.

I may be in the minority but I don't think there are too many things more embarassing than a struggling former champion being pushed or limping over the line to reach a milestone.

McLeod had to complete training successfully on Thursday and see how the knee came up on Friday/Saturday before being considered. Neither Club nor player would have said he was right to play unless the knee was fine. He was shut-down by Cornes, conditions were crap... it happens. He'll be better for the run I would think.

OMG Your kidding arn't you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now he played bad cause it was a CRAP DAY ..............................

Where's Kevin Sheedy and his Martians........................

OMG Your kidding arn't you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now he played bad cause it was a CRAP DAY ..............................

Where's Kevin Sheedy and his Martians........................

Did you read what I said? Cornes wore him like a glove, the conditions WERE poor.... all possible contributing factors to his poor game. Sheesh

Okay give Macca a break for a second and think, yes his game yesterday was well below par, but then he had been rushed back from injury, we've done this before with him and from memory it didn't work then either. Give him a game or 2, throw him back to the HBF where he does his best work, perhaps with the odd stint in the midfield.

Also, if he's so useless, why is it that opposition coaches still see fit to apply a heavy tag to him, similar to Edwards and Goodwin, despite the fact that he's playing in defence?Think, what might have Kane Cornes done to us if he hadn't been tagging Mcleod, maybe he tags Thompson completely out of it and racks up his usual 30 odd possessions as well. Whilst he didn't do much, neither did Kornes, it was up to others to take up the slack when Mcleod, Edwards and Goodwin were under heavy, successful tags. Where would we be if it weren't for these blokes still taking the tags week in week out?

Also to claim that Mcleod is selfish is disgraceful, he wasn't out there for his own personal gain, yes he would want to be back there asap, name me a player who wouldn't, he was out there to help out our side which had lost 4 on the trot and whose season if not dead already was taking its penultimate breath.

Okay give Macca a break for a second and think, yes his game yesterday was well below par, but then he had been rushed back from injury, we've done this before with him and from memory it didn't work then either. Give him a game or 2, throw him back to the HBF where he does his best work, perhaps with the odd stint in the midfield.

Also, if he's so useless, why is it that opposition coaches still see fit to apply a heavy tag to him, similar to Edwards and Goodwin, despite the fact that he's playing in defence?Think, what might have Kane Cornes done to us if he hadn't been tagging Mcleod, maybe he tags Thompson completely out of it and racks up his usual 30 odd possessions as well. Whilst he didn't do much, neither did Kornes, it was up to others to take up the slack when Mcleod, Edwards and Goodwin were under heavy, successful tags. Where would we be if it weren't for these blokes still taking the tags week in week out?

Also to claim that Mcleod is selfish is disgraceful, he wasn't out there for his own personal gain, yes he would want to be back there asap, name me a player who wouldn't, he was out there to help out our side which had lost 4 on the trot and whose season if not dead already was taking its penultimate breath.

You just don't get it do you! putting your hand up when you know your not fit is the biggest crime you could commit in a footy team.

So if he knows he's not fit what else could he be doing out there?? 300 in the back of his mind??

you dont think thats selfish

You just don't get it do you! putting your hand up when you know your not fit is the biggest crime you could commit in a footy team.

So if he knows he's not fit what else could he be doing out there?? 300 in the back of his mind??

The biggest crime? You are joking.

I'd rather have a bunch of guys putting their hands up for selection than a mob who want to make sure they are 100% fit and strong before daring to declare themselves fit.

That's why the players don't sit around and do the selections, and why we have doctors and physios and the like. To make the decisions.

Just for comparison - Cameron Ling put himself up for selection with a broken cheekbone this week. Selfish - or a competitor??

Not at all selfish to want to play but if your injured and you know it it's the biggest crime you can make.

Footy is a team sport remember!
It would be selfish if his motivation was to reach the milestone. But that was not and would never be his motivation. His motivation was to help his team to victory in the best way he knew how.

Should he have played? In retrospect no. He thought he was fit enough. He thought wrong. End of story.

Error in judgement? Absolutely. Selfish? No way.

A club on the move owes a former great nothing, in my opinion.

I may be in the minority but I don't think there are too many things more embarassing than a struggling former champion being pushed or limping over the line to reach a milestone.
Sorry but those days are gone, you can't afford to play favourites anymore.
If you feel that there is no room left in the game for sentimentality and loyalty, then I pity you. Your view of the game must be a completely soulless and desolate one. Why do you even bother following a club/team? I could understand watching because you enjoy the game, but following a club involves emotional attachment, something you both feel no longer has a place in the game.

I agree it is sad to see a player limping to a milestone. That doesn't mean that I disagree with the club's decision to help him get there. The season is gone for the Crows - playing McLeod at less than 100% won't change that. You might be able to argue (as Peter Bell did) that to play on would be to deprive a youngster of a position in the team. Fair enough. But don't suggest to me that he should be dumped short of the milestone because he's no longer good enough. That kind of list statement will be made once the season is over, there's no need for that kind of brutality while the season is still in progress - especially when dealing with a player who is arguably the greatest the club has ever seen. He's given his heart and soul to the Adelaide Football Club, I don't think it's too much to ask for the club to give him a little back.

The biggest crime? You are joking.

I'd rather have a bunch of guys putting their hands up for selection than a mob who want to make sure they are 100% fit and strong before daring to declare themselves fit.

That's why the players don't sit around and do the selections, and why we have doctors and physios and the like. To make the decisions.

Just for comparison - Cameron Ling put himself up for selection with a broken cheekbone this week. Selfish - or a competitor??

The coach didn't let him play , funny about that.

So you think a broken cheekbone is the same as a knee injury, only the player knows how his knee is feeling, no scans pick that up!

Gee and why didn't he have a week offf instead of playing in that crap game no one cared about....... ohhh thats right he was named captain....

thats more important that his team!

Why did Mcleod play?