Why you started supporting Port Adelaide??

Came over as a family of Collingwood supporters from Melbourne at age 3-4 = black and white, sister clubs, etc etc.

First memory of Port Adelaide was the crapulence of the Russell Ebert coaching era. We were rubbish, Glenelg and North were awesome.

I assumed this was the permanent way of the world until I got a hold of a 1980 AMPOL Sporting Records (about the size of two phone books) and had a gander at the premiership record. Apparently this was an anomaly.

1988 rolled around. Ah, so it was...

my dad and his parents lived in port adelaide, they always did and my grandma still does. she worked in the kitchens for PAFC in the 70's close with the players and such from what i'm told and i guess that's where it all began - my dad and his cousins attending Magpies games, never supporting a different club but never loving the game more than soccer - being greeks the blue and white came before the footy..

there's still a fair bit i don't know that i would love to find out one day, also why my mum goes for glenelg while her brother was maggies, dont know his story of supporting the great club..

i was 7 in 1997, i liked west coast before that for some reason but started attending the games and never looked back. i remember how loud the first showdowns were, i remember sitting up in the northern stand when we lost the 2002 qf to collingwood. it was around then the stinkwood nickname came up and never looked back with that either

My Father was born and raised in Larg's Bay and represented the Port Adelaide Magpies Reserves for one season (unfortunately that year they lost the Grand Final after Barry Pontt kicked a goal after the siren to win the game for Norwood). However he was not the type to force me to choose the Magpies as my SANFL team, and after being raised in a country town (down the street from Chirs Natt), the SANFL didn't play a big part in my life.

However, my Grand Mother had a huge influence on my football following though and when Port Adelaide bid for the AFL licence, which was about the same time I moved to Adelaide where she lived, she was disgusted and abandoned the Magpies and started following Woodville (and then West Torrens), and I followed her.

When the Crows entered the AFL I was bought some Crows merchandise by her and attended the odd game but never claimed to be a supporter, and then after the Bombers beat them in the 1993 prelim final I had an easy choice to make in terms of which team to support in the AFL and followed the Bombers until 1996.

When Port Adelaide won the AFL licence I made an easy decision to sign up for membership and season tickets as they provided a genuine alternative to the Crows who by that time I had decided I did not like and therefore to support what would be their arch rival, and the club which I had strong family and geographical ties to, made perfect sense.

In 1997 I, together with my Father, Mother and sister, attended every Power home game and we embraced the passion and traditions of the crowd and the club and will never support another club again. I now also claim to be a Port Adelaide Magpies supporter, and attended the 1997, 1998 and 1999 SANFL Grand Finals as a Magpies supporter as my alligience with Woodville was not really of my own making being a young and impressionable lad at the time!

I was there for our first final, I was there again in 2004 and I also drove all the way to Melbourne and back by myself to attend the 2007 Grand Final.

Sadly none of us go anymore. I have lived overseas for two seasons, my sister lost interest after about 3 years and her other half dislikes the game, and my parents are semi-retired, miss my company at games and have other things in their life now and gave their tickets up after last season.

They, like me, have also tired of what we perceive to be a competition biased towards Victorian clubs and this has also contributed to the decline in interest amongst family and friends. And that brings me to this day and now, and if anyone has read this far well done to you!

In the family.

My great gradmother lived in a massive property on Colston St across the rd from Alberton Oval....huge block which had a full size bowling green & swimming pool in her back yard. Theres now 5 houses on her old property. She lived there most of her life and boarded players from the country in the Fos era onwards through to the early 80s. Tony Hobby and Martin Leslie I think were two. Would often be the odd port person around there when we'd pop by. Bucky lived across the road, Choco used to help her out a fair bit when he came back from Brisbane and Jack used to be around there a bit as well. She had a big influence on me supporting. We'd go back there for drinks and cake at half time. Id often stay there after half time and we'd sit on her porch with the radio listening to the commentary and the crowd across the road. Those days will stay with me to the grave....great memories. To go with that, had a grandfather who was a trainer before the war and some family play there.

So didnt have a choice...not that im complaining. A couple of days after I was born theres video footage of me with a black and white beanie on with black and white booties. First games I can remember going to were in 88 but I know I went to some in 87. 88 was the first year I went every week. Loved it. Russell Johnston and Scott Hodges my two heroes.

• Banned
My Father was born and raised in Larg's Bay and represented the Port Adelaide Magpies Reserves for one season (unfortunately that year they lost the Grand Final after Barry Pontt kicked a goal after the siren to win the game for Norwood). However he was not the type to force me to choose the Magpies as my SANFL team, and after being raised in a country town (down the street from Chirs Natt), the SANFL didn't play a big part in my life.

However, my Grand Mother had a huge influence on my football following though and when Port Adelaide bid for the AFL licence, which was about the same time I moved to Adelaide where she lived, she was disgusted and abandoned the Magpies and started following Woodville (and then West Torrens), and I followed her.

When the Crows entered the AFL I was bought some Crows merchandise by her and attended the odd game but never claimed to be a supporter, and then after the Bombers beat them in the 1993 prelim final I had an easy choice to make in terms of which team to support in the AFL and followed the Bombers until 1996.

When Port Adelaide won the AFL licence I made an easy decision to sign up for membership and season tickets as they provided a genuine alternative to the Crows who by that time I had decided I did not like and therefore to support what would be their arch rival, and the club which I had strong family and geographical ties to, made perfect sense.

In 1997 I, together with my Father, Mother and sister, attended every Power home game and we embraced the passion and traditions of the crowd and the club and will never support another club again. I now also claim to be a Port Adelaide Magpies supporter, and attended the 1997, 1998 and 1999 SANFL Grand Finals as a Magpies supporter as my alligience with Woodville was not really of my own making being a young and impressionable lad at the time!

I was there for our first final, I was there again in 2004 and I also drove all the way to Melbourne and back by myself to attend the 2007 Grand Final.

Sadly none of us go anymore. I have lived overseas for two seasons, my sister lost interest after about 3 years and her other half dislikes the game, and my parents are semi-retired, miss my company at games and have other things in their life now and gave their tickets up after last season.

They, like me, have also tired of what we perceive to be a competition biased towards Victorian clubs and this has also contributed to the decline in interest amongst family and friends. And that brings me to this day and now, and if anyone has read this far well done to you!

Very interesting - thanks for sharing

Mine was pure family....Grandfather - Father - Me

All Port Adelaide through and through...first started going to Port games in 1982/1983. First grand final - 1984. First premiership - 1988.
Been to every one since and every finals game since.
It's in the blood.

Was a family thing for me, my dad influenced me as a young kid in the mid 70's. My great grandmother's brother was involved in an off field role, including as a financial backer 70 or so years ago.

First went regularly to the footy in 1980 which was a sensational year for the club.

My story will probably be the strangest.

I played for the Bays as a Kid, and went to Glenelg Primary school.

Always followed Richmond as a kid, due to the Tigers/Tigers & Black & Gold/Black & Gold.

When Port came into the AFL my teacher at the time (Year 5 I believe) was a huge supporter and tried to get a few of the kids to follow the club, met a few of the players because of that, and basically followed them ever since.

I remember he put a can of coke up for grabs for the first kid to sing the Port Club Song. Was a good drop. haha.

Probably a very different story than a lot of the others, but I was pretty young at the time haha.

Every one of both my parent's families apart from my dad were Port supporters. Dad was Roosters. I pretty much didn't get a choice in the matter. I was at Alberton wearing a guernsey with number 11 on the back and singing the club song before I could talk properly.

My Papa on mums side was a lifelong supporter, and converted my Carlton supporting Nana decades and decades ago. His ashes were spread over Alberton when he died (a week after Showdown I), and I reckon that's what I want to happen when I die if they still allow it.

born and bred port supporter
it was a part of my genetic make up
grandmother was as one eyed port supporter as they come which followed through to my mum and myself
theres photos of me as a baby with black and white infant clothes on and nanna knitted me a Port beanie

one of my favourite childhood memories was going to Alberton as a little tacker with my nanna and mum, decked out in the black and whites.... and we were playing Sturt.
We hated Rick Davies with a passion. We were down the Brougham Place end next to the point post and Sturt were kicking that way. He was fighting for possession in the pocket and it dribbled out of bounds and into the gutter right in front of where we were sitting.
The Jumbo Ponce went to pick the ball up and my nanna gave him a spray and in fine form Davies had a few choice words back to her... she then belted him over the head with her umbrella... i'll never forget it... it was awesome...

I too have alot of memories of being either behind the goals at Alberton (which ever way port was kicking...) with my footy, and decked out in my Port gear... rain hail or shine i was always there. My dad even though he was a South supporter took me every week to Alberton because he knew how much i loved my maggies

Used to get taken to Norwood oval as a kid and one day this black and white team turned up with a very impressive guernsey and very loud supporters . Of course , this was Fos Williams Port Adelaide and that day they came back from behind and won which was a trait I learned to love . I reckon Geof Motley won the magarey that year . My father was not a Port supporter but he still told me of the Port tradition and the way Fos did things and with players like John Cahill on the ground how could I barrack for anyone else ? Dad was good enough to take me to Port games but regretted it sometimes. One day he had to hold me back when I was 11 after Weideman kicked John Cahill in the head and knocked him out on Richmond oval . I remember the day Sturt beat us in the 1966 grand final and the Sturt ferals booed Fos even though they had won and how I reflected on that day when we were awarded the AFL licence while Sturt "won" another wooden spoon .The 1998 SANFL GF topped it nicely . Ahh , the memories and all those flags .

Family came out from Ireland in '69 and, like most fresh arrivals, stayed at Pennington for a bit.

Dad was a proud Kerryman and looked to barrack for a team that played tough and hard like the men from 'The Kingdom'.

He didn't have to look far. Turned out such a team played just around the corner.

Port Adelaide.

A move to Elizabeth split the family in half: half barrack for Port, the 'other' half barrack for Central.

Dad took me to Port games as a kid, setting my support in stone.

Sometimes wonder 'what if' my older brother had been a bit more persuasive and taken me to more games at The Ponderosa...

:eek:

I was about 7 or 8, when the company my dad worked for at the time had a corporate box. I was able to go with him during half time to the rooms and got to shake the hands of a few players - including the great man Russell Ebert. Of course I was like a kid in a candy shop and no chance I'd end up supporting anyone else afterwards.

As I got older, the ethos of Port Adelaide - the teamwork, never say die attitude, accountability of everyone - ie. the creed in practice, not farce of spitting on it in practice like this year - re-enforced this was who I wanted to support. Of course the flags helped, but those were the effect of the reasons why I supported the club, not the cause (something that pisses me off everytime mindless drones tell me I'm not a true supporter for questioning the club/coach and it's not the SANFL were we win every 2 - 3 years anymore).

It was the late sixties, only a kid from England, my best mate at the time decided to support Sturt so I choose Port - never looked back, although the current climate tests my patience !
Glad I'm not a sheep otherwise I may have supported Sturt and that could have led to supporting the dark side at west lakes - <shiver>

I'm a little bit different. Grew up in New Zealand and moved to Adelaide when I was about 8 or 9. My old man hated Aussie Rules, called it aerial ping pong and thought it was inferior in every respect to Rugby.

I was in year 7 when Port was playing in a QF against Glenelg. I was at a friends house and they were all avid Port supporters. Ended up watching the game and listening to the commentators gush over how successful and glorious Port were as a football club. It reminded me of how everyone spoke of the All Blacks.

From memory we were actually losing but managed to claw our way back for a marvelous victory. I then went to the Grand Final that year and watched them win the flag. Been a fan ever since.

----------

What is very clear from this thread though is that Marketing gimmicks don't garner supporters. Family, tradition and success is what builds and sustains a football clubs supporter group.

I'm a little bit different. Grew up in New Zealand and moved to Adelaide when I was about 8 or 9. My old man hated Aussie Rules, called it aerial ping pong and thought it was inferior in every respect to Rugby.

I was in year 7 when Port was playing in a QF against Glenelg. I was at a friends house and they were all avid Port supporters. Ended up watching the game and listening to the commentators gush over how successful and glorious Port were as a football club. It reminded me of how everyone spoke of the All Blacks.

From memory we were actually losing but managed to claw our way back for a marvelous victory. I then went to the Grand Final that year and watched them win the flag. Been a fan ever since.

----------

What is very clear from this thread though is that Marketing gimmicks don't garner supporters. Family, tradition and success is what builds and sustains a football clubs supporter group.

Very good point.

absolutely.... theres only so much a giant pumping fist (thank christ thats gone) can do... and other gimmicks

If its not already bred into you by family/friends then the way to attract supporters is success
success breeds envy and i can guarantee that there would be ALOT of long time Port supporters who began supporting Port because of the success, history, heritage, respect, fear, stature of the club back in the 60, 70, 80s and early 90s

dancing teenagers, pumping fists, marketing campaigns wont work... success, playing like a real football club, not being a laughing stock of the AFL, and not capitulating when any team puts pressure on you will

Basically the way we are now is EVERYTHING Port Adelaide isnt....

anyway i digress... back to the topic

I was born at Lefever hospital and my dad, grandpa and great grandpa (it may go back further but I think the family history is a bit dodgy and my great grandpa never spoke of it) were all raised in Port Adelaide. Everyone in my family follows Port Adelaide, even partners which have come into the family and most of the family have a membership.

When I was young my family moved to Melbourne and I needed a team so Collingwood was the obvious choice. I lived away from Adelaide for around 10 years and attended many Collingwood games at Waverly, Victoria Park and the G. We returned to Adelaide and the Crows had just started but I couldnt bare the thought of following them so I continued to follow Collingwood in the AFL and Port Adelaide in the SANFL. Although I did attend quite a few SANFL games and went to a few GFs in the 90s I had a pretty strong connection with Collingwood as I grew up in Melbourne following the AFL and idolising players like Milane, Brown, Shaw, McGuane and BT.

When the license was announced I thought my loyality would be tested, but Port Adelaide is in my blood and I didnt hesitate in becoming a 'turncoat'. I have always had a passion about Port Adelaide and the Port Adelaide Football Club, but this didnt really get reignited until Port Adelaide entered the AFL.

Why you started supporting Port Adelaide??