WRFL Division 2

• Thread starter Thread starter coldog

First time i think Lane hasnt been in West Footscray's goals ... did he play?

Death@ #27 said:
First time i think Lane hasnt been in West Footscray's goals ... did he play?

Can shed some lite on that. He played the full game (went off with 10 minutes to go). Got completely flogged by Hinge from Heights who was playing his first game for the year. Up until now he has been playing super rules. He was brought in specifically to play on Lane because he has beaten him in the past and heights were so under manned. Will qualify for finals and come back to do another job on him in the finals if required!!!

DekkaRoo said:
West Footscray by 42 points over Heights

North Footscray by 37 over Wyndhamvale.

I was right on the money with West, but North Footscray where very disapointing.. A big month coming up for the Devils.... Brunswick this week followed by three teams in the eight.

DekkaRoo said:
but North Footscray where very disapointing..

What happened dekkaroo. Got within a few goals of Glenorden, but flogged by Wyndhamvale?? Another below standard year from the devils

GoesBangFrom50 said:
What happened dekkaroo. Got within a few goals of Glenorden, but flogged by Wyndhamvale?? Another below standard year from the devils

The year is not over yet GoBang, still a fair few games to go mate.
But yeah, although we had a few player out with injury last week and a few unavailable, we where very disapointing. We know we can play good footy as we shown againt the yard stick in Glenorden, so we are looking to build back up to that come finals time. Our next month will be tough and we will need to be back right on to our game if we want to come away with the chocolates.

Couple of good games this week.

Deer Park vs Wyndhamvale
Sunshine Heights vs Ablvanvale
your thoughts???

The Seddon Football club has withdrew from the WRFL... what possibility is there of it happening to other small clubs? . Does anyone have any thoughts on what teams maybe at risk?

on the league website it says the players from seddon can transfer to other wrfl clubs delaying the cutoof date to july 4th (next tuesday). are there any players for seddon who are decent enuff for other teams to want them. could be handy to have to fill in for injured players

this could mean a long road for seddon , if most of the players get cleared to other clubs, they will most likely stay there and for next year if they choose to continue in B grade they wouldnt have many players to keep them going to re-build.

bush_tucker77 said:
on the league website it says the players from seddon can transfer to other wrfl clubs delaying the cutoof date to july 4th (next tuesday). are there any players for seddon who are decent enuff for other teams to want them. could be handy to have to fill in for injured players
damian truslove, getting cleared to Mayne in the QAFL played for douttas a few seasons back- gun

Death@ #27 said:
Couple of good games this week.

Deer Park vs Wyndhamvale
Sunshine Heights vs Ablvanvale
your thoughts???

deer park too strong for wyndhamvale at home, rizzo and dipietro will do the damage up forward - deer park by 5 goals

heights and albanvale will be the closest game of the round i reckon, heights will have a few players out of the world cup (greto weston etc) but they play there ground well and there full of run, heights by 2 goals

I believe that albanvale shall smash Sunshine Heights.
Deer Park will beat Wyndhamvale. (Closest Game of the Round Tip)
West Footscray will smash Central Altona
Coburg to beat North Sunshine (Reserves by more)
Glenorden to hammer Gladstone Park
North Footscray to kill Brunswick
Braybrook to account for Western Magpies. Not sure how much, Braybrook haven't been that impressive? Could be an upset?

GoesBangFrom50 said:
Any reason's behind that???

I'm under the impression that Heights are missing a few players still and I really rate albanvale. It has nothing to do with Heights being crud, infact they're a good fast side, but I think Albanvale have the bodies in the middle to get the upperhand. If Heights have a fullstrength team, then I'd say Albanvale just - I could be totally wrong and have this make me look silly. Also Albanvales performances against the top teams have been better than Heights, so I just believe they'll come out on top.

Spurling Reserve said:
I'm under the impression that Heights are missing a few players still and I really rate albanvale. It has nothing to do with Heights being crud, infact they're a good fast side, but I think Albanvale have the bodies in the middle to get the upperhand. If Heights have a fullstrength team, then I'd say Albanvale just - I could be totally wrong and have this make me look silly. Also Albanvales performances against the top teams have been better than Heights, so I just believe they'll come out on top.

I just spoke to a bloke at work who plays for Heights, he said everyone's back from there mid season break except for Nick Malia. They will go in full strength and will wipe the floor with Albanvale, he's very confident. Every chance you could look silly.

sunline 11 said:
I just spoke to a bloke at work who plays for Heights, he said everyone's back from there mid season break except for Nick Malia. They will go in full strength and will wipe the floor with Albanvale, he's very confident. Every chance you could look silly.

Fair enough, I'll cop it on the chin if thats correct. It is just that I am really impressed with the Albanvale side. Perhaps smash was a negative slant on saying account for them easily. Not very sure now however, should be a good game.

sunline 11 said:

pretty close to the money... still no greto, camilleri, martin, mallia and a few off the boys are coming back through the two's for match fitness... will be at ful strength in 2 weeks.

still good enough to beat Albanvale. They dont really like the tight tough in close footy u get at asmall ground.

Big week for the falcons.... I reckon tey will be shown up as the pretenders they are this week

GoesBangFrom50 said:
pretty close to the money... still no greto, camilleri, martin, mallia and a few off the boys are coming back through the two's for match fitness... will be at ful strength in 2 weeks.

still good enough to beat Albanvale. They dont really like the tight tough in close footy u get at asmall ground.

Big week for the falcons.... I reckon tey will be shown up as the pretenders they are this week

good luck to all the teams this week , have a good one

beefy

did anyone see the deer park game? i thought wyndemvale were better than that. is it true deer park have recruited some extra players from epping?

also what about west footscray. how can you be trailling central altona at 3 1/4 time? it was still a good comeback to win but if you are expecting to challenge for the flag this year you should be able to account for central altona pretty easily.

Albanvale looked like a team that liked the close , hard, tough footy to me on Saturday. Heights would have been beaten by ten goals if it wasn't for the late few goals they got in junk time when Albanvale had no bench.

crappermd said:
Albanvale looked like a team that liked the close , hard, tough footy to me on Saturday. Heights would have been beaten by ten goals if it wasn't for the late few goals they got in junk time when Albanvale had no bench.

Well said Dr, heights are very over rated, too hot and cold to be a real threat to the top two or three. Have threatened for years to take the next step. Usually take their foot off when the finals are in site. Like being cosy in the middle of second division.

What are your thoughts on the influx of players from Seddon to Deer Park?

obe1 said:
Well said Dr, heights are very over rated, too hot and cold to be a real threat to the top two or three. Have threatened for years to take the next step. Usually take their foot off when the finals are in site. Like being cosy in the middle of second division.

What are your thoughts on the influx of players from Seddon to Deer Park?

Well Obe1, all the league websites are down at the moment. The latest I heard Sat night was that a number of players (about 6 or so) have gone to North Footscray. I am still yet to confirm if Deer Park have picked up any. If true then North would have to be eyeing top four depending on quality and Deer Park would be eyeing top spot.

They might add quality but then again they were the bottom side in A-Grade getting smashed every week. I wouldn't like to be a regular senior player at either of those clubs who now finds himself running around in the magoos because of some "big " names have now come on board. Couldn't do much for club morale one would think. Then again footballers are fairly insular and just like to win and who cares if your best mate misses out on a game because of some late comer..........[/quote]

Agree with your thoughts regarding morale, it is usually the "club people" who suffer (miss out) when things like this happen. As for big names, I hardly think any of the names will rock second division. I would be more concerned if I was at one of the said clubs playing for the jumper and in rolled these blokes. Even though Seddon were rock bottom, they still paid out some reasonable monies to these players. Where will the money come from at North and Deer Park? someone will have to miss out?

so deer park have ended up with seddon players. i heard that they got players from either epping or taylors lakes? does anyone know if true?

I heard a lot of the players for Seddon were players who jumped ship from North Sunshine because they didn't want to play div 2 again, i think it's a big risk to pick up those type of players this late in the year. Morale at your club would plummet.