Wrong Place, Wrong Time

• Thread starter Thread starter Chaisa

To take a different tack, NicNat and Hugh Greenwood. I'd love to see how their opponents in the '80s and '90s would have combatted their athleticism, attack on the footy and tackling pressure, elements that would have been virtually unprecedented for players of their size at the time. Would bust a lot of myths about the "hardness" of footy back then IMO.

The usual way they dealt with players who were better than them back then. Whack 'em when they weren't looking.

Farmer was 10cm shorter and 15kg lighter than NicNat, and probably less athletic with a shorter reach too. I'm sure NicNat could adapt and out-ruck him.
Yeah, but if NicNat had been born in the 1930s, he'd be 10cm shorter and 15kg lighter, too.

Don't forget, Farmer won three Sandovers back when that meant something, and came second in the Brownlow here. Going by that, he'd spank pretty much every ruckman in the competition bar Grundy and Gawn.

Justin Koschitzke, an 18 year old Kozi coming into footy in 2020 would be fantastic.

Also would say Peter Everitt who with todays fitness and under 18 programs would be a great a player

Why? Is it a reflection of the Saints then or now?

More to do with whole league being more professional and strict with diets and more sports science knowledge with regards to Spida, Bloke was good but i think in todays footy he would be great.

With Kozi his athletic gifts would be more pized today then 20 years ago.

I feel Taberner would go alright in the 90s, contested marking big forward, would fit right in, would need to add a bit of grit to his game though.

What if Ben Cousins and co had played in the years prior to the Ice Age, when players had to hold down day jobs and they didn't have the time or money to do that kind of sh*t.

Things might have turned out differently. He could have made an honest living as a horse trainer like his dad.

Bryan Cousins.jpg

What if Ben Cousins and co had played in the years prior to the Ice Age, when players had to hold down day jobs and they didn't have the time or money to do that kind of sh*t.

Things might have turned out differently. He could have made an honest living as a horse trainer like his dad.

View attachment 939865

I don't know if that's legit and if so I apologise, but putting Cousins and Kerr around Horses probably isn't the best idea. :eek:

AFL players on police tapes

AM - Saturday, 24 March , 2007 08:21:49
Reporter: Alison Caldwell
ELIZABETH JACKSON: The AFL will speak to Victoria Police about tapes of police phone taps from 2003, which reveal two AFL players talking about illicit drugs.

For it's part, the West Coast Eagles Football Club is refusing to comment on the tapes which reveal player Daniel Kerr discussing his drug use with a convicted drug trafficker.

The ABC obtained copies of the police phone taps, which implicates the West Coast midfielder in a drugs deal, along with another player, Aaron Edwards, who is now with the Kangaroos.

After hearing the tapes, a former senior AFL football coach says he believes the drug problem is far more widespread than previously believed. He says the AFL has no choice but to tear up it's drugs policy and start all over again.

Alison Caldwell reports.

ALISON CALDWELL: Police Operation Remuda tapped the phone calls of a drug trafficker, Shane Waters.

Among the hundreds of hours of tape, police recognised the voices of three well-known sportsmen: Eagles midfielder Daniel Kerr, Aaron Edwards, now with the Kangaroos and basketballer James Harvey.

The conversations suggest Daniel Kerr bought the powerful horse sedative Ketamine from the dealer the night after an away game in August 2003.

Here Daniel Kerr talks about how the drug affected him.

(tape excerpt)

DANIEL KERR: (bleep) I'm just recovering, I'm just feeling good today.

SHANE WATERS: He's (bleep) crazy, (bleep).

DANIEL KERR: I was (bleep) struggling the other day, how are you feeling?

SHANE WATERS: Yeah fair, I'm ready to go tonight mate.

DANIEL KERR: Are you going out again tonight?

SHANE WATERS: Probably.

DANIEL KERR: (bleep) That's a big effort.

(end tape excerpt)

ALISON CALDWELL: Ben Cousins is referred to in the phone taps but isn't heard speaking directly to the dealer.

(tape excerpt)

DANIEL KERR: You should come over here 'cause got Cuzzy and all that's coming around here.

SHANE WATERS: Yeah, he's got a (bleep) big bag of (bleep) horse chaff.

DANIEL KERR: Oh! Well, suddenly the stakes have been raised.

(end tape excerpt)

DAMIAN DRUM: I think it's quite startling, just tends to reinforce the view that the drugs issue is in fact bigger, certainly at the Eagles than what we were led to believe.

ALISON CALDWELL: Damian Drum coached the Fremantle Dockers from 1999 until 2001 before entering politics in Victoria.

DAMIAN DRUM: It now becomes very apparent that the club may have a bit more to answer for than just having one or maybe two players go off the rails. I think it's now looking like it was a serious problem amongst quite a few of their players and it just seems as though the club is being quite… over a long period of time, the club has been quite happy to turn a blind eye to it.

ALISON CALDWELL: He says if he'd heard suggestions of drug taking such as these when he was coach, he would have taken immediate action.

DAMIAN DRUM: There's no doubt we would have fronted the players, we would have fronted their parents, we would have fronted their manager. We would have, without a doubt, we would have called in the drug squad to make sure that those players were tested.

It seems as though there has been some serious breaches of that type of ethic within the Eagles.

ALISON CALDWELL: And as for the AFL's three-strikes-and-you're-out drugs policy, Damian Drum says the league needs to start all over again.

DAMIAN DRUM: The revelations on the ABC last night have blown the last semblance of control that the AFL had over its... last semblance of confidence that the AFL can possibly have in its drug policy. I think it's been widely condemned now.

ELIZABETH JACKSON: Former Fremantle Dockers coach, Damian Drum, ending Alison Caldwell's report.

And the AFL says it will cooperate with any investigation, inquiry or request by police in any matter pertaining to alleged illegal activity. It says it was never made aware of the existence of the tapes until last night.

I'll tell you how Polly would tackle NicNats leap, he would jump early, into the body, hang in the air & either get the tap or grab the ball & handball it. A technique he perfected in WA against taller opponents most notably 4 time AA Jack Clarke who complained Farmer cheated by doing it.
Matthew Primus v Nic Naitanui would have been interesting, before the "Primus" rule was brought in.

Royce Hart.

Regarded as one of the best players in the game, then did his knee and afterwards was just 'very good'.

Modern knee surgery techniques probably would have had a huge impact.

---------

On a similar note, although perhaps in a different way...Jack Dyer always said that his bash and crash style was because he hurt his knees, and after he got back lost his mobility/agility...and having lost the ability to go around opponents, he started going through them.

What might have been....

Influenced a bit by the discussion in the "Adelaide decline", with a few people theorising that Fogarty would be a much better player if he was based 20 years ago but a possible bust in today's climate.

So, who do we think are players that were flops in their time but would be much better players in a different circumstance? Not talking about guys that had horrid injury runs but players who's skillset was poorly suited to the era they played in or had a thing that held them back that would've been less relevant in another time.
Fogarty chews gum whilst he plays.

Fo' real.

To take a different tack, NicNat and Hugh Greenwood. I'd love to see how their opponents in the '80s and '90s would have combatted their athleticism, attack on the footy and tackling pressure, elements that would have been virtually unprecedented for players of their size at the time. Would bust a lot of myths about the "hardness" of footy back then IMO.
You could make contact with an opponent back then. They'd rub into either of them and lay them out. They'd last 2 minutes

For Collingwood reckon someone like Leon Davis would be better suited to today. Beautiful kick could play the set up role off half back like in 11 or pinch hit forward. Zones mean he wouldn't have as much one on ones and there is a greater appreciation of pace skills and the role of outside players

Daniel Chick was strong, lightening fast and one of the best tacklers in the game in the early 2000's. Would be a serious weapon as a pressure forward who could hit the scoreboard if he was playing now.

I know it’s not really what the thread is about but buddy would have kick 1400 if he played in the 80’s and 90’s
I actually disagree with that. I think mid-2000s footy suited Buddy perfectly - because he wasn't a great mark, but he got a lot of goals by leading out and then running back into space behind his opponent, or finding pockets of space in the fifty. To be really successful as an 80s forward you needed to be a clean mark, the one thing that Buddy isn't.

For Collingwood reckon someone like Leon Davis would be better suited to today. Beautiful kick could play the set up role off half back like in 11 or pinch hit forward. Zones mean he wouldn't have as much one on ones and there is a greater appreciation of pace skills and the role of outside players
Completely agree. There's also much more scope for small forwards to push up the ground now, so he wouldn't have been lost in the graveyard that is the forward pocket quite so much.