Your 1st match

• Thread starter Thread starter Mars II

The first game I can really remember is the first ever Night game at the G for points against North, early in 1985. I remember the old wooden seats on the second level of the Southern Stand, and I remember seeing banners and big bright lights for the first time.:eek::D

I have the 90 minute replay show of this game on dvd.

My first game...well picture this, 6 year old Hoggy, top of the Ponsford Stand in the second row...Pies have won nine on the trot, it's mid 1990....and f&CkInG STEVEN KOLYNIUK 5$#%@#%#@#%#%@#$%@#$%# runs around Graham Wright to put the Dogs three points up.

Geelong V Fitzroy at Kardinia Park in 1988
Ablett tore them a new a-hole.

My family had a beach house at St Leonards on the Bellarine Peninsula.
My uncle was staying with us for afew days and he barracked for Fitzroy so he asked me if i wanted to go. I said yes and that was it.

I think Geelong won it very comfortably.

My first Collingwood game was the following week against Hawthorn at VFL park.

I've been going ever since!:thumbsu:

Pies vs Port in 1997 I believe. May have even been Ports first game in the AFL?

yeah I went to that as well.massive,massive fight at the top of the great southern stand.About 15k bogans came over from adelaide and they werent impressed when we flogged them.they all started leaving in the 3rd quarter and well,it wasnt pretty

My first Collingwood game was the following week against Hawthorn at VFL park.

dude i think i was born that day.

edit: no i wasnt i was later that year august 27th 1988 Collingwood 129 Geelong 94. dunno why i always thought i was born during that hawthorn match.

some of you will be like wow, but my first ever game was 2006 rd 2 against adelaide at the dome where mcleod kicked a goal on the boundary line with about a minute left i ran out of the stands and into where the hot chips and stuff is mum went crazy at me.
My first win i saw was against carlton 2007 m.c.g.
Now i go to every game in Melbourne :D

some of you will be like wow, but my first ever game was 2006 rd 2 against adelaide at the dome where mcleod kicked a goal on the boundary line with about a minute left i ran out of the stands and into where the hot chips and stuff is mum went crazy at me.
My first win i saw was against carlton 2007 m.c.g.
Now i go to every game in Melbourne :D

Why did you mum go Crazy for?

Thta's what i was thinking!

My first game would have been in around 1974/5 but i cannot remember exactly which one it could have been.

I'm about the same time I don't remember to much a lot of your sig has happened in the meantime:D

Pies v Swans at Vic Park around 1987 (hard to believe the Swans played at vic park isn't it?) Pies lost by a point on that day.

I bough my scarf at that game which I still have.

Would have been 1975 I think - Pies v South Melbourne at Waverley.

Makes me feel very old - playing a club that no longer exists on a ground that no longer exists.

It was the day Peter McKenna got seriously hurt in the ressies and never played for the Pies again.

As a 6 year old kid who had only ever seen Colingwood play on a black & white telly, I can remember the starkness of the black & white stripes more than anything from that day - was almost magical.

Pies vs Port in 1997 I believe. May have even been Ports first game in the AFL?

Yep thats right. I was at that game too.... barracking for Port.
Took the supporters bus over with the Port guys.
This was back when i was a passionate Port Magpies fan and Collingwood and couldnt choose who to go for so i went for Port since it was the 1st game. After a couple seasons i couldnt do it anymore, way more passionate about Collingwood and now i hate Port as much as anyone going around.

Yep thats right. I was at that game too.... barracking for Port.
Took the supporters bus over with the Port guys.
This was back when i was a passionate Port Magpies fan and Collingwood and couldnt choose who to go for so i went for Port since it was the 1st game. After a couple seasons i couldnt do it anymore, way more passionate about Collingwood and now i hate Port as much as anyone going around.

I'm not sure I even know you anymore.......................... Lmao

I too was at that game walker started off on fire, and we kicked like 12 straight or something close too.

My first game was round 1 89 according to my old man, first I remember was the Carlton match with the daicos lap, bucks and mcguanes goals, not that I remember them I just remember the crowd and my dad and brother being very happy

I'm not sure I even know you anymore.......................... Lmao

I too was at that game walker started off on fire, and we kicked like 12 straight or something close too.

Yeah a bad time in my life lol. I was a kid and loved Port Magpies, after watching them for a while it wasnt the same, didnt feel like Port so it wasnt a hard decision. I use to cop so much shit cause i had a Port season ticket and would go for them against everyone and when Collingwood came to Adelaide i would sit in my seat in my Collingwood guernsey and i copt it from everywhere lol.

The first game I can actually remember was the last Fosters Cup Grand Final. Wikipedia tells me this was in 1994. Got free tix from dad's mate, it was Essendon v Adelaide.
There was an almighty mexican wave at the games...it went forever. We were sitting right next to a fenced off area that housed all the Adelaide fans, and when the wave came around everybody threw all their trash over the fence. One guy threw a full beer can over, it donked some guy right on the head.
Dad was yelling at Andrew Jarman all day, telling him to get a wig and other witty bald jokes.
Good times.
I know I went to some games earlier than this. Mum tells me we took my Grandpa out to Waverly for one last game for him. It was either Blues v Pies or Blues v Tigers. Would have been around 1989. All I can remember is being freezing cold :(

My first AFL match was in 2001 against Carlton i think it was round 21 we got smashed by 80 something points i was six at the time and from that day on i hate Carlton with a passion.

First game I went to was actually the 1989 Grand Final. Went to almost every game and the four finals in the magnificent year after! :D

I was at the replay of the Prelim final in 1990, but that's just the earliest game I remember - I was probably at an earlier game.

I was at that game too, but my first game was in Rd. 2 or 3 in 1988. I was 7 years old and we beat Richmond by 70 points at the MCG. BT kicked 7 goals. Over the next 4 years I went to about 15 games before witnessing a loss.

I think you both mean the qualifying final replay???

The first game i recall is the one where Ablett took that mark over Pert. Sorry, I should have said the game Ablett was 'paid that mark' over Pert.

Still was exciting to watch even though it was not a mark. I think we won that game too.

I was at that game too

1992 Carlton v Collingwood, the last time we met at Waverley. We won, but don't actually remember any of the game, I just remember sitting on the steps with a couple of other kids because there were no seats.

Best part of the day was my grandpa buying me chips from the servo on the way home :D

I went to 11 losses in a row over 3 years before I finally saw us win, round 13 1999 at Waverly Park against St.Kilda!

Apparently was inconsolable after all 11 losses :)

i think my uncle has the worst luck, every game he goes to we lose,for the last 6 years he has not been to a game where we have won. poor bugga, ill take him to round 2 when we play Melbourne nxt yearm hopefully we win:D