Zebs Thread

Woody's due to play over the next 2-3 weeks, so we'll get an idea of where he is at by the end of the year.

Had a good leap and hands, but kicking was questionable which seemed to affect his confidence.

Probably plays a different role to Lynch, and would be a more natural replacement for Roo or Kosi (mind you, so is Goose), whereas as soon as Lynch has developed suffciently he should play regardless (as a mobile lead-up forward). Whilst he's progressing quickly, I think another pre-season (strength wise) is needed.

Maybe a bit early, but some of these young guys will need to show something by the end of the year.

We have a very full list of Rookies and four NSW scholarship players, and only one obvious retirement on the main list ( Max ).

Its really hard to see that Haretuku has done enough to be elevated though it might be tempting to keep someone of that stature if he still shows promise.
We probably could elevate McGarry or Gaertner if necessary.

Surely Eljay should be further along by now!
Howard playing seniors may give him a bit of a chance but seriously, three years to start playing at AFL level?
I suspect poor old Leigh Fisher may have a case of Birssitis ( a rare desease that prevents you being picked to play AFL no matter how good you are at VFL level ).

Maybe a bit early, but some of these young guys will need to show something by the end of the year.

We have a very full list of Rookies and four NSW scholarship players, and only one obvious retirement on the main list ( Max ).

Its really hard to see that Haretuku has done enough to be elevated though it might be tempting to keep someone of that stature if he still shows promise.
We probably could elevate McGarry or Gaertner if necessary.

Surely Eljay should be further along by now!
Howard playing seniors may give him a bit of a chance but seriously, three years to start playing at AFL level?
I suspect poor old Leigh Fisher may have a case of Birssitis ( a rare desease that prevents you being picked to play AFL no matter how good you are at VFL level ).

Depends on the draft ultimately, if there are better players currently or who show more promise than guys on the list who can't get a game or aren't so much required then they'll be cut. The talls somewhat have it easier because they come on slower, especially those without an AFL background but they're still not immune. But there' still the distinct possibility that we go into the draft only chopping 2-3 and using 3 draft picks. Sure it'd be unpopular but its still plausible (especially since if we do finish first our 1st pick will be relatively high anyway).

We have to get rid of at least 3 players. And if we wanna hang on to Dawson and Miles we'll need to get rid of another 2 others.

It's gonna be tough come October.

mmm you're not wrong..

i reckon if we win the flag a few may retire

Max, Gardiner, King being the 3 most likely.. all are more than capable of going around again if we don't though.

as for possible delistings.. i'd say Leigh Fish, James Gwilt and even guys like Raph, Armo and Goose would be nervous.. (i doubt we'd delist Armo and Goose though, i certainly hope we wouldn't as i believe they are required players.. and in in the unlikely event we move them on it'd certainly be through trade week)

JB - should you have any tidbits from the games, they can be posted on the thread any time. Did the ABC pick up the incident (I didn't see it), were you at the game, or just using telepathy today?
No Abc coverage in Qld ,wasseveral thousand kilometres away but had relatives and friends at game who spoke to me via that modern facility the mobile telephone.
Depressing news regarding Armo due to a late ,vicious attack to the head by a big 112kg thug fifty metrews away from the ball.
Sadly he didn't see it coming and is now paying the consequences.

mmm you're not wrong..

i reckon if we win the flag a few may retire

Max, Gardiner, King being the 3 most likely.. all are more than capable of going around again if we don't though.

as for possible delistings.. i'd say Leigh Fish, James Gwilt and even guys like Raph, Armo and Goose would be nervous.. (i doubt we'd delist Armo and Goose though, i certainly hope we wouldn't as i believe they are required players.. and in in the unlikely event we move them on it'd certainly be through trade week)

I think I heard that Gardiner had a one year contract extension, with King a possibility to get one as well. Thats a good thing because we really aren't ready for them to go yet. I think Hudgeton retiring is a certainty and Baker a possibility.
Yea'h Leigh Fisher would be nervous.
Armo often named as Emergency would be reasonably safe if he keeps working.
But like I said , after 3 years on the list Howard has only just made the senior VFL side, and while Eljay was allways a long term prospect, we are not hearing much from him at VFL either.

Although I rate X as a player, his injuries have meant that he can hardly get on the field, and ATM we have plenty of other players who could play instead of him. He may be one of the hard decisions at the end of year.

I may have misinterpreted it, but I believe that Ross Lyon has spoken to X and told him he is a required player already.

correct, Ross has told Xav publicly that he will be on the list next season.. don't see him going back on his word.

Eljay won't get delisted. he's only turned 19 at the start of the year.. pretty much the equivalent of a first year draftee..

i guess it's good that for once it is really hard to pick obvious delistings.. means we've got a good core group (the 30 odd pushing for selection) and a bunch of promising youngsters who we don't want to part with yet.

it's those middle men that we've mentioned (Fish, Gwilt, Raph etc.) that are in trouble.. and even then i still find it hard to see us delisting them

correct, Ross has told Xav publicly that he will be on the list next season.. don't see him going back on his word.

Eljay won't get delisted. he's only turned 19 at the start of the year.. pretty much the equivalent of a first year draftee..

i guess it's good that for once it is really hard to pick obvious delistings.. means we've got a good core group (the 30 odd pushing for selection) and a bunch of promising youngsters who we don't want to part with yet.

it's those middle men that we've mentioned (Fish, Gwilt, Raph etc.) that are in trouble.. and even then i still find it hard to see us delisting them

So no-one will be de-listed?
Just to keep Miles and Zac we need to find two places on the list.
OK lets say Hudgeton and Baker retire.
Haretuku will need to be elevated this year if we are to retain him.

We have 4 NSW scholarship players. I'm pretty sure that if we want to keep them we need to rookie list them. But that would mean we need to elevate or drop more rookies.

Then you start talking about draft picks.

Colm Begley could be another in the hot seat.

B Biddlecombe Miles Smith
HB Simpkin Maguire Steven
C Geary Summers Gallagher
HF Heyne Lynch Armitage
F L. Fisher Sautner Ball
R Stanley Tregear Begley
Int Howard Paterakis Monaghan Johnson* McGarry T. Johnston Waller Gaertner S. Clarke

Reserves:

B Garrubba Gribbin T. Johnston
HB M. Johnston Dean Williams
C Connors Allan Cosson
HF McConnell Cahill Plymin
F C. Johnston Harektuku Hardiman
R McGrath Tungatalum Liddell
Int Monaghan Ferraro Waller Cleeve McGarry Gilchrist

Ball named in the forward pocket, and Ali Smith in the back pocket.

Paul "Wiz" Cahill moves back to the forward line in the 2's.

At least 15 Saints in the senior team, so let's hope they can play some good footy. I'd still be worried if the clear the F50 (again) so Sautner can win another Frosty Miller.

B Biddlecombe Miles Smith
HB Simpkin Maguire Steven
C Geary Summers Gallagher
HF Heyne Lynch Armitage
F L. Fisher Sautner Ball
R Stanley Tregear Begley
Int Howard Paterakis Monaghan Johnson* McGarry T. Johnston Waller Gaertner S. Clarke

Reserves:
B Garrubba Gribbin T. Johnston
HB M. Johnston Dean Williams
C Connors Allan Cosson
HF McConnell Cahill Plymin
F C. Johnston Harektuku Hardiman
R McGrath Tungatalum Liddell
Int Monaghan Ferraro Waller Cleeve McGarry Gilchrist

Ball named in the forward pocket, and Ali Smith in the back pocket.

Paul "Wiz" Cahill moves back to the forward line in the 2's.

At least 15 Saints in the senior team, so let's hope they can play some good footy. I'd still be worried if the clear the F50 (again) so Sautner can win another Frosty Miller.

Squizz, I think Gaertner and Stanley have done enough in the ruck. Where does this leave McGrath? I'm sure that in 2 years' time when Gardi and King are gone Rosco would like to have three good rucks on the list, but can he keep all five next season? Or does he cut McGrath and look elsewhere?

2009 VFL Reserves
Sandringham 0.4 7.8 10.12 16.15 (111)
Williamstown 0.3 3.3 8.4 10.9 (69)

GOALS:
Sandringham: Ferraro 3 Tungatalum 3 Cahill 2 Connors 2 Gilchrist Allan Waller Johnston Hardiman Johnston
Williamstown: Georgiadis 2 Lynch 2 Lee Cravino Florance Nicolopoulos Isbister Cordy

BEST:
Sandringham: Tungatalum Gilchrist Johnston McGrath Connors McConnell
Williamstown: Cravino Tanner Georgiadis Lynch Grossman Knight

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Sandringham: Tom Dean (6) for charging Dean Muir (52) in the 2nd quarter
Williamstown: nil

Seniors heading for a big win over the ladder leaders as well.

Choo-choo needs to be paired with his other Tiwi mate, James Pautjimi. Watch this space. :cool:

2009 VFL Seniors
Sandringham 4.1 7.7 8.10 15.15 (105)
Williamstown 4.4 6.6 9.11 11.13 (79)

GOALS:
Sandringham: Sautner 5 Tregear 4 Maguire Armitage Summers Geary Steven Paterakis
Williamstown: Galea 4 Rose 2 Cloke Skipper Daniels Gotch Johnson

BEST:
Sandringham: Lynch Summers Ball Simpkin Stanley Tregear
Williamstown: Jolley Wood Galea Skipper Cloke Stretton

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Sandringham: nil
Williamstown: nil

Is that our Lynch, no goals but BOG?
Simpkin, rookie draft gem.

Is that our Lynch, no goals but BOG?
Just got off the phone wuith Tom and he was told to play as a hovering foward rather than a marking option, only reason i can think this happened is because of Willy's mosquito fleet out of defence and they'd need a 'big boy' on the ground.

saintsational were also saying Geary played well, yet he isn't in the best which is odd.

word is Ball was good but not outstanding, a bit like Dal Santo last year. I reckon he'll come back in nextweek.

more great signs from Stanley and Lynch for the future.

I thought Geary was brilliant, probably the match winner. Ball was fantastic, he set up two goals from tackles on the forward line and just looked a class above. Stanley was great aswell, very mobile for a guy of his (enormous) size. Young Jack Stevens did some good things, including a brilliant goal from outside 50 in the last quarter.

Lynch looks a real prospect, took some really strong grabs and his kicking was good.

Zebs Thread