News Simonds Stadium stage 3 redevelopment - Players Stand, big screen and new lights

Did anyone hear Tim Watson this morning basically blame Geelong for this error. Does he not realise that we would have got surveyors to provide the expected costings. I sent in a text saying Essendon are the losers because no doubt they'll poach the surveyor off us anyway. But of course it wasn't read out.

Why in the world would you listen to Timmy 'Shitting bricks' Watson ?
We all know his hatred for Geelong,so take no notice of that drongo.

Surely there has to be a provision in the contract that if the surveyor stuff's up this badly that a penalty kicks in, I mean $12m isn't a little stuff up it is a Mick Nolan sized stuff up

I wonder if the surveyors thought this blokes company was building the grandstand

Next thing you know the players will be getting there Vitamin R through there daily serving of Malk

malk.jpg

tumblr_lnj990y4Ct1qck0y3o2_400.jpg

This is embarrassing, as a former surveyor-in-training - but what the hell does 'quantity surveying' mean? Is that just a euphemism for construction estimate?

Yep, essentially a construction cost estimate put together by the stadium designers, who may have engaged a specialised 'quantity surveyor' to price the job for him.

The term is used a lot more in the UK than in Australia. In my section of the Construction Industry (Civil Infrastructure), it is an Engineer's Estimate.

http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2011/09/27/281845_news.html

Reading here the pokies do seem to kick in a hell of a lot of cash. It's just the licences per machine are expensive. Would amount to almost 4 million in total and they are probably taxed at a large rate too. I am hoping it's more semantics than anything (i.e. bank and AFL regs/triggers) plus good governance that's stopping us going into too much debt.

FWIW, if Geelong were to take legal action as some are suggesting, what have the damages been exactly?

Redesign costs perhaps, as well as maybe some financial and advertising expenses? not much in the schem of things, given that if the GFC had have set out a proper scope of works for the design (providing an upper limit of stadium construction cost), it would be the Design Engineer responsible for redesigning to meet scope.

If, however, the GFC simply said in the scope of works "design us the fanciest, biggest stadium ever, regardless of cost", then they would be responsible for all redesigns. I would hope the GFC would be more astute than to provide a poor scope.

Bottom line, without knowing the design brief, it is hard to see what damages Geelong have actually incurred. There is no use yelling out "Sue the bastards, sue the bastards!!"

This is bad news, but there are some very savvy people in Geelong's off-field group. I wouldn't completely rule out any additional funding from third parties at this stage. I'm sure Cook will chart a safe course through this, and we'll still have the 2nd best footy stadium in Victoria.

http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2011/09/27/281845_news.html

Reading here the pokies do seem to kick in a hell of a lot of cash. It's just the licences per machine are expensive. Would amount to almost 4 million in total and they are probably taxed at a large rate too. I am hoping it's more semantics than anything (i.e. bank and AFL regs/triggers) plus good governance that's stopping us going into too much debt.
I really hope future on and off-field successes can put ourselves in position where we can scale back/remove pokies.

Pretty disappointing. You have to hope that the club builds this stand with the intention of expanding it 10-15 years down the track due to this.

I really hope future on and off-field successes can put ourselves in position where we can scale back/remove pokies.
Hope? We have to. At some point the pokies industry wont be profitable, either through legislative changes or through competition from other sources, eg online gambling.

You reckon? Not a fan of pokies at all but I'd of thought there'd need to be a pretty serious cultural/generational change before online gambling at home trumps going down the club and playing pokies.

Re: Redevelopment

Has the redevelopment of the stadium started and if so does anyone have any pics? :D

You can read about the problem here http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...bers-dont-add-up/story-fn7shz1t-1226201798548

Or read manboob's summary below: (that feels weird typing that name.:eek:)

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...bers-dont-add-up/story-fn7shz1t-1226201798548

GEELONG'S grandiose plan for an upgraded and expanded Kardinia Park stadium has hit a $12 million hurdle.

The Cats have learned, to their horror, that a grandstand expected to cost $30m in the proposed $45m redevelopment can't be built to specifications for less than $42m.

Will be interesting to see where this ends up. Hopefully they can stagger the redevelopment rather than have to scale it back too much and fingers crossed the supporters' lounge can be added later.

Im sure all Geelong supporters would rather the whole thing delayed than a substandard downscaled version to be built sooner. We want the best stadium.

The front page of the Geelong Addy Saturday Dec 3, reports that :

Geelong Football Club's $49 million redevelopment of Simmons Stadium may be put on hold for 12 months.
Cats chief executive officer Brian Cook has admitted the club needed to find $4 million by Christmas to finance the project, which includes building the new Doug Wade Stand and installing light towers for night sport at the ground..............

http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2011/12/20/298641_gfc.html
GEELONG Football Club is sweating on an early $2 million Christmas present to press ahead with a multi-million stadium upgrade.

Cats finance and administration general manager Rob Threfall last night told the club's annual meeting the stage three development of the Doug Wade stand faced being abandoned if it failed to secure $2 million in funding by Friday. The Cats are prepared to pay $2 million of the $4 million needed for the works to begin.
http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2011/12/20/298641_gfc.html

Just noticed W-League from Simonds Stadium on ABC1 as we speak.

Flicking channels on the weekend and saw another game being played there.One thing I noticed is the seats in front on the Peter Street Stand,where opposition cheersquads sat,have gone.
I guess it wouldn't take much to put them back in place if the development is delayed a year,but still odd they've been taken out.

Good news today according to the Geelong Addy - the state government has chipped in an extra $2.5 million to the project so it will now go ahead - the old Doug Wade Stand will be demolished in the second week of January