Mega Thread The Adam Goodes Megathread - Now with Added Poll!

Why are crowds booing Goodes?

• Racism

Votes: 565 29.9%
  • He's perceived as a dirty player

Votes: 563 29.8%
  • He's perceived as making a team game all about himself

Votes: 758 40.1%
  • Because everyone else is booing, I thought I'd join in - like a Mexican wave thing

Votes: 268 14.2%
  • Because Gillon doesnt want them to

Votes: 135 7.2%
  • I have no idea

Votes: 74 3.9%
  • Other

Votes: 183 9.7%
  • His onfield message is at odds with his off field one

Votes: 233 12.3%
  • He can do no wrong with the MRP

Votes: 164 8.7%
  • I was saying Boo-Urns?

Votes: 61 3.2%
  • Jack Watts

Votes: 56 3.0%

The only way to bring about unity between peoples is through peaceful and conscious ways, not war and divisiveness. Goodes has all the right to speak about Indigenous rights, however, he has used his AFL platform to raise these issues in the wrong way.

I for one am offended that the AFL and a lot of media personalities have called the average white person racist just for booing him. Out of the 71Indigenous folk who are currently playing the game, he is the only one who is being booed.

Now is the time for him to be honest with himself and for the public to quit the boos. He has so much potential at raising these issues, but there really is better ways to go about then what he has done so far in the AFL.

Let's hope he has had some time to reflect on his behaviours, and I hope also that the booers have had time to reflect on whether or not they really need to be booing him anymore.

Let's make peace, not war. After all, we are all human beings who share the same rock.

thats rich coming from you. lets look at some of the people supporting the booing

Alan Jones
Andrew Bolt
Warnie
Aker
Miranda Devine
Fatty McChins
Sam Newman
Dermie

That is a mighty fine list even if I do say so myself. The collective IQ of my left shoe sits with Warnie, Aker, Devine, Newman, Fatty and Dermie. Bolt and Jones are just fckwits of the highest order. Even EFC supporters were pleading for Jones to heck off when he started sticking his nose into the PED storyline.

What's that got to do with racial slurs? Most 'names' are not racial slurs. At what age are kids typically informed of what is/isn't a racial slur?
:drunk:

Name calling is the most basic form of racism, and can start as early as preschool.

You can't seriously tell me that this 13yr old had no idea that calling a grown man an ape was wrong up until that night.

Jesus christ this is stupid; by that logic anyone who insults anyone is a racist.

Stop twisting the definition, and point out where I (or anyone else) suggested that Goodes gets booed because he's inferior to the white race.

I'm not twisting the definition. You admit that you will continue to boo Goodes despite the fact that he doesn't want to be booed due to the racial torment he has endured for years. You will boo Goodes despite the AFL, other Aboriginal leaders, notable Australians and even our PM requesting that people stop due to it being a racist act.

You would only continue to bully him for some perverse pleasure gained by doing this now. This would have to be for the fact that he has made a stand against racism and has challenged your norms. Whether you realise it or not you feel threatened by it.

I actually believe you that you don't think you are racist. I think you probably think racists are members of the KKK or neo-Nazi's. The true racists. And they are but at the extreme end. But, whether we like it or not, many in Australia are pissed off with Aborigines receiving perceived handouts; not progressing in society as we would hope them to have done etc etc and that, whilst no where near on the scale of the KKK etc, can result in prejudice. Now that Goodes is sticking his head out demanding that he, and other Aboriginals be treated better, many think why? " "They" are treated fine - they piss everything they get up against a wall" or similar.

Now tell me whether that is how you may feel?

So when Goodes now goes for the ball next time they play the Bulldogs, are you going to boo him because of sheer bloodymindedness? Or is it more?

PS. I shouldn't have called you a piece of shit.

Having reported a racial issue further up the ladder of my employments management I can say most racists never have the courage to say to someone "I don't like you because your black" it's the small things like not looking at the person when speaking to them, not acknowledging that they are even in the room, never talking about them to others by their first name, making excuses why they couldn't possibly be considered for a promotion & I could go on & on. I believe a lot boo goodes because it's fashionable & because of reasons other than the colour of his skin but the minority are definatly doing it because of his colour of skin. I would never join that gutless, week minority. If you believe he's a diver yell that out n then yell he could get a gold at the Olympics, if you think he's self centred yell he's a selfish flog, if you think he's past it yell out for him to get the wheelchair to the interchange bench. But don't join that minority.

Seriously, this crap you're carrying on about with 'free speech' is laughable.

Really?....Does that include your statement also?

Your lack of constitutional understanding of the fundamental basis for a free society is what is 'laughable'!...No, Actually, it's rather sad.

Don't make me shred you on this forum chum, because I will.

We shouldn't want someone to feel like they are being racially abused. If Adam Goodes says he feels that the booing is because of racial abuse, and you don't want him to feel like he is being racially abused, then don't boo. Simple as that. It is not that hard to shut your mouth when he has the ball.

In fact, if any player publicly states that they don't want to be booed, then don't boo them. I don't care if this has been a part of the game for 100 years, or if it is newly introduced. When is it alright to demand someone to accept your jeers and insults? In school and other workplaces, it is called bullying, but in the AFL you should be allowed to jeer whomever you want just because you paid to get in? Ridiculous.

Let's see how long any of you last in the workplace/school if you get jeered all the time and have insults thrown at you, and then get called a sook if you complain or a coward if you take leave from the workplace. On a national scale

Let's be realistic here. These players are humans just like the rest of us are and have feelings. They aren't robots and respond to negativity just the way most of us do

NO NO NO. The people have spoken...they want to BOO!!!

They have paid their money and feel as if it is their god given right to boo at opposition players.

Never understood it myself but each to their own.

Can someone forward that the Department of Education from each State/Territory for inclusion in the Year 1 curriculum next year?

everyone needs to learn it not just year 1. I never knew saying Tendai Mzungu was racist.

What is she was in general admission? What if it was AFL reserve and she was borrowing someone's membership? What if she moved seats because it can start getting a little unstructured with a minute left in the last quarter and one team getting flogged?
Anybody with information is encouraged to contact the club or ground management on the following number.

personally i don't boo, or get to the footy but,

is that anything like "you're either with us, or you're with the terrorists"?

or, follow god, or you're going to hell?
Like I have said, I booed him earlier this year but it's become quite apparent that for every 10 people who are booing him because they think he's a diving flog, there's 2-3 who think he had no right to stand up to being racially vilified and that he should have just worn the "ape" tag and stop sooking.

If you choose to boo, especially after EVERY clubs players have tried to get it to stop, you're going to be judged as being a part of the 2-3, not the other 7.

:drunk:

Name calling is the most basic form of racism, and can start as early as preschool.

You can't seriously tell me that this 13yr old had no idea that calling a grown man an ape was wrong up until that night.
I can't believe how many people are excusing or defending her because she was 13, I'm willing to bet the vast majority of 13 year olds know that Ape is a racial slur or at the very least offensive. It's not like she was 7 or something.

The fact that you consider racial abuse is freedom of speech is actually more of a concern for mine.

You and the AFL condoning censorship by labeling booing as "racism" but only for one player is what is concerning and being debated by people with strong measured opinions here.

Umpires have feelings too. They get berated, called maggot, called white flogs, bood at every decision, they know they are considered scum by half the crowd. No one asks them to be coddled. They show up and do their job and leave.

Goodes has the exact same decision to make.

Guys and girls who think that there really is nothing wrong with booing Goodes, do you realise that you're now going to be seen as racists, regardless of whether you are or not? There's no grey area here anymore. It's now very much a black and white issue.

That kinda reminds me of the article in the Guardian "Thomas the Tank Engine had to shut the hell up to save children everywhere".

"What are you doing James? You're a big pink steamie," says Diesel, the bad-boy engine. (For the record, all the "villains" on Thomas and Friends are the dirty diesel engines. I'd like to think there was a good environmental message in there, but when the good engines pump out white smoke and the bad engines pump out black smoke – and they are all pumping out smoke – it's not hard to make the leap into the race territory.)

note : steam engines pump out white smoke and diesel engines pump out black smoke.

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/jul/22/thomas-the-tank-engine-children-parents