I am gonna enjoy this thread and people raging

In: Rioli MRJ CCJ Naish RCD
Out: Martyn Aarts Astbury Castagna Lambert

I wouldn't be in too much of a hurry to bring back Dan Rioli. He needs to really earn a game. He has used up all of the free credits that came with his surname.

Reckon we should put baker into the midfield in Prestia absence, conceding so much contested ball and clearances puts us on back foot . Also add a tall CCJ will do , mix it up some . I’d keep mansell in for another game , Martyn can make way , bloody tough game to debut , they don’t get much harder
In all though I’m happy that our game style is standing up despite us not playing any better than 70% against a top4 oppo in hostile territory and effectively an extra man on the field with the arm chair ride the campaigners got , how many times we had htb paid against after being ridden into the ground , not once did we get rewarded and we had more tackles
Wouldn’t mind Martyn getting another shot
We need to start giving these kids a proper crack and thought his game was pretty decent bar the times he got caught holding it

Not angry today. If that's the best Port can throw at us, we are in a good space. Hostile crowd, one sided umps, missing key players (Prestia, Vlastuin, Macca )
Port was missing
1618024589187.png
Though

I think Dimma took a bit of a swipe at last week’s umpiring saying they paid marks that weren’t 15 and coaches need to teach their players not to duck their heads to draw free kicks.
He can’t say anything directly or he will get fined.
However everyone would have read between the lines, and the umpires response this week was to be even less generous to us.
You can’t fight the establishment.
We need Benny in the chair.

After some reflection, we could easily have won that game with only slightly more composure. But also it has never been clearer that the AFL has it in for us based on that umpiring effort.

******* Roast

• Damien Hardwick and selection committee. Pick two mids in Ross and Martyn only to play them anywhere but where they're suited too.
  • Toby Nankervis. Horribly skilled footballer and soft.
  • Selfish football, long bombing into our forward 50 when targets are open.
Nankervis soft? 😂

Ok my thoughts on the game. I'll address the umpiring first. Did they cost us the game ? No they did not, our dumb choices did. Nank kicking backwards to Grimes and kicking over his head or the dumb act from Balta throwing the forward off him off the ball that lead to another goal, if we did not need him for the saints game, i would drop him for it.

The big picture for me, and one I hope the club is addressing is the huge disparity atm in our games in the free kick count. It is like we are giving sides a 4 goal head start. I hope we have asked the umpiring department to please explain in detail. Tell us by always giving away nearly twice more the frees to our opposition in game is it due to our play and if so why? I also ask if they say yes, please explain why the sides we play never infringe like we do to validate the huge discrepancy.

Now Gray 2 last goals should not have happened, one was clearly out of bounds before he kicked it and the last one Balta tackle should have been holding the ball free for us. I hope we will demand an explanation why they were paid, really drill down on it. Love to be a fly on the wall as they explain.

That said, we lost the game IMO at selection. We should never brought two 1st gamers in a hotly contested and hostile game, one yes but not 2 particularly when we have Houli playing his first game for the year and started off rusty as all hell and with vlaustin out. To decide not to play RCD as we did not need more inside type but more spread was a huge error. Particularly without Prestia, we should have replaced like for like.

Now our smalls excluding George are so out of form. Why we dont play Caddy as a permeant forward, take the pressure off him by saying he wont be dropped so he can play his natural game has me stumped. We needed his bigger body and footy smarts last night. Yes he is slow but we have runners to make up for it. What Caddy does well when forward, he runs to the right spaces and is a fantastic mark for his size, simply port would have to man him up which would help free up slightly Lynch and Jack.

Our midfield has been out of form but what was pleasing was they regained touch in the last half which bodes well for next week. CCJ needs to be played for the next 8 games regardless of impact, so he can go in confident he wont be dropped but needs to be played as a RUCK not a bloody full time forward. Nank needs a chop out. We are over working our big Nank and he is being fatigued and making errors imo he normally would not make due to it. CCJ gives him a chop out, allows him to float to defense to help support down there and CCJ can float forward of the ball if needed.

The positives for me was it was Picketts best game for the club last night. I have come to accept he is not a one touch player so fumbles. Once you get past that, his strengths then can be appreciated. Is the season over ? Not by a long stretch. Atm we are trying to make up the 4-5 weeks of preseason missed while playing games, its like the past few years we do our learnings this time of year at what the oppo are doing, we then get to work and once that extra conditioning we are doing now kicks in which is june-july we then motor over sides.

A common question asked is how come we dont have crumers at the fall of the ball now so Aarts is s**t, Rioli is s**t etc. people need to understand we are rolling our smalls high to support the mids which leaves our forwards out numbered. I know why we are doing it, I understand it but * me I hope we abandon it as its not working. It's making us to easy to defend atm hence why our forward line seems disconnected.

Lastly, Lynch needs to put his kicking boots on. In all games bar the carlton game he has had many opportunities to kick a score and has failed to do so, I have faith however he will work through it.

Outs - Martyn and Aarts

In's- CCJ and Caddy. Aarts took Caddy spot initially, throw the challenge to Caddy to now keep it. CCJ needs games regardless of where the team sits and team structure. We need to know NOW in this 3 month period if he is going to make it. Bite the bullet match comity and do it!

I don't recall ever seeing a player pinged for holding the ball for doing what Houli did with that (non-)mark.

I was a bit gobsmacked by that decision.

seen it once before it was also against us couple years back lol

Wouldn’t mind Martyn getting another shot
We need to start giving these kids a proper crack and thought his game was pretty decent bar the times he got caught holding it

Martyn won’t play next week

It’s rough to drop him after 1 game BUT he needs to play some VFL to get some confidence

Martyn won’t play next week

It’s rough to drop him after 1 game BUT he needs to play some VFL to get some confidence
Fair point
Was thinking about it before and he has never even had the chance play a proper VFL level game
Last year was only scratch matches and so far this year it’s only been practice games

VFL season should start the same time as the AFL imo

Fair point
Was thinking about it before and he has never even had the chance play a proper VFL level game
Last year was only scratch matches and so far this year it’s only been practice games

VFL season should start the same time as the AFL imo
Sort of worked in our favor with CCJ.
VFL practice matches meant he could play.
No match fitness issues if picked next week.

We can’t have both Jack and Lynch play from in front because they would get in each other’s way and block each other’s leading lanes

Atm Jack is the one playing as the lead up type
With respect, no they shouldn't get in each others way. Both should be mobile because:
Lunch take 2-3 defenders,
JR8 take 1-3.
Did I mention Dusty? he lurking about there somewhere and stationary. Defenders start at 2 for him.

So basic math indicates Tiges should have an abundance of free forwards / mids that either crumb or get mark and shots inside 50.
Not happening.
Just turning the ball over or
concede way too many stoppages from fumbles then oppo tackles, allowing teams to reset defense.

Over to you forwards and mids coaches.

The team miss Leppa.

Ok my thoughts on the game. I'll address the umpiring first. Did they cost us the game ? No they did not, our dumb choices did. Nank kicking backwards to Grimes and kicking over his head or the dumb act from Balta throwing the forward off him off the ball that lead to another goal, if we did not need him for the saints game, i would drop him for it.

The big picture for me, and one I hope the club is addressing is the huge disparity atm in our games in the free kick count. It is like we are giving sides a 4 goal head start. I hope we have asked the umpiring department to please explain in detail. Tell us by always giving away nearly twice more the frees to our opposition in game is it due to our play and if so why? I also ask if they say yes, please explain why the sides we play never infringe like we do to validate the huge discrepancy.

Now Gray 2 last goals should not have happened, one was clearly out of bounds before he kicked it and the last one Balta tackle should have been holding the ball free for us. I hope we will demand an explanation why they were paid, really drill down on it. Love to be a fly on the wall as they explain.

That said, we lost the game IMO at selection. We should never brought two 1st gamers in a hotly contested and hostile game, one yes but not 2 particularly when we have Houli playing his first game for the year and started off rusty as all hell and with vlaustin out. To decide not to play RCD as we did not need more inside type but more spread was a huge error. Particularly without Prestia, we should have replaced like for like.

Now our smalls excluding George are so out of form. Why we dont play Caddy as a permeant forward, take the pressure off him by saying he wont be dropped so he can play his natural game has me stumped. We needed his bigger body and footy smarts last night. Yes he is slow but we have runners to make up for it. What Caddy does well when forward, he runs to the right spaces and is a fantastic mark for his size, simply port would have to man him up which would help free up slightly Lynch and Jack.

Our midfield has been out of form but what was pleasing was they regained touch in the last half which bodes well for next week. CCJ needs to be played for the next 8 games regardless of impact, so he can go in confident he wont be dropped but needs to be played as a RUCK not a bloody full time forward. Nank needs a chop out. We are over working our big Nank and he is being fatigued and making errors imo he normally would not make due to it. CCJ gives him a chop out, allows him to float to defense to help support down there and CCJ can float forward of the ball if needed.

The positives for me was it was Picketts best game for the club last night. I have come to accept he is not a one touch player so fumbles. Once you get past that, his strengths then can be appreciated. Is the season over ? Not by a long stretch. Atm we are trying to make up the 4-5 weeks of preseason missed while playing games, its like the past few years we do our learnings this time of year at what the oppo are doing, we then get to work and once that extra conditioning we are doing now kicks in which is june-july we then motor over sides.

A common question asked is how come we dont have crumers at the fall of the ball now so Aarts is sh*t, Rioli is sh*t etc. people need to understand we are rolling our smalls high to support the mids which leaves our forwards out numbered. I know why we are doing it, I understand it but fu** me I hope we abandon it as its not working. It's making us to easy to defend atm hence why our forward line seems disconnected.

Lastly, Lynch needs to put his kicking boots on. In all games bar the carlton game he has had many opportunities to kick a score and has failed to do so, I have faith however he will work through it.

Outs - Martyn and Aarts

In's- CCJ and Caddy. Aarts took Caddy spot initially, throw the challenge to Caddy to now keep it. CCJ needs games regardless of where the team sits and team structure. We need to know NOW in this 3 month period if he is going to make it. Bite the bullet match comity and do it!
Great review, can’t disagree with anything you said.
Agree we need Caddy, back and you could be right about him playing forward. Our time with a mosquito fleet up forward could be done I think. I don’t think the new rules work for it quite as well, we need to be taking more contested marks up forward, or at least stop the intercept marks which is where Caddy could help. Would also help stop the double/triple teaming of our forwards and make their backs more accountable.

I'm just watching Hardwick's press conference and it would appear he is 'in' on the AFL woke narrative saying Port could have buried us in the second quarter. Is he fooking kidding? It was blatantly due to the unfair free kicks they received.

Someone has got to stand up about this ridiculous partial umpiring ruining our game. Hardwick who I thought a family man until a few months ago would have had the balls to do this? Nope, not now. It wasn't a great game of footy Damien! Our game is misunderstand by even those on the field.

The game how it's misinterpreted right now and led forward by the woke insurgency of weakening the better team is how our society is going. It's abhorrent that the leaders aren't, (like ours) isn't standing up to this garbage of manufacturing wins for the weaker unit.

It's appalling overall how our supposed leaders are just letting this unjust bs slip. It's happening everywhere in our culture. We are up to our neck in this socialist agenda of ensuring equality in outcome - at all costs. Everyone gets a medal. Change the rules if need be. Wake the fu** up!

Dimma can't criticise the umpiring openly, he has to do it through the official channels. Whether or not he does won't change a thing, cheats like O'Gorman and DeBoy are backed to the hilt by the AFL and the best we can hope for is that the AFL are left in no doubt that we're unhappy with certain umpires and they don't (or rarely and only in the H&A season) get given our games. The best way to achieve that is through the official channels. Is it fair? No, but you deal with the system you have to.

As for all your 'reds under the bed' references to "woke" culture and a "socialist agenda", we were on the verge of bankruptcy so often over the last few decades (including when Dimma took over) and without the AFL's "socialist agenda" we would be watching clubs like the Visy Blooze win their 20th flag in a row with sides stacked full of Judd's and Stevens'.

We owe three flags to the "Socialist Agenda", not to mention the fact that we'll never be called the Tassie Tigers and now have a membership base that has secured the club's financial future for the next few decades and probably beyond.