24. James Frawley - Link
25. Dean Kent - Link
38. Oscar Clavarino - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link
42. Max Heath - Link
45. Sam Alabakis - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Who are our gun FAs? We seem to have lost more good players to FA than we have brought in.
That’s timing more then anything.

if we had free agency 20 years ago - we probably would have used it the same way. It came in as we were at the bottom.

..... We haven't drafted much....
King, Clark, Coffield, Paton, Byrnes, bytel, Wilkie, Highmore, Connolly, Sharman.
From the last 4 drafts.
Butler and snags came in young too.

Our list is honestly in the best state it’s been since 2010
Obviously not as top heavy on elite talent as we were yet but we are building steadily.

And I keep telling you. Take whatever pain you think we will have next year moving on a few senior bodies this off season.

bring in Bing and a free agent, then you instantly start talking top 4 with an easier draw etc.

That's a hope not a plan. Top 4 is because you have set up a plan and achieved it. Moving out players doesn't make you top 4, stockpiling enough good talent to play consistently good footy gives you a starting point. What if Bing changes his mind or Collingwood offer $1.4 million over 8 years?

Yes we may have one or two lined up, i just hope we’re not just shuffling the deck chairs. I’d be happy enough with quality or promising youth but Ross out crouch in type trading is a waste of time imo.
Brodie/Crouch with Bytel in the wings, Dunstan done.

DMAC/Connelly/Billings can cover Ross.

Sharman can take Billings forward role.

Minimal impact, actually better outcome

That's a hope not a plan. Top 4 is because you have set up a plan and achieved it. Moving out players doesn't make you top 4, stockpiling enough good talent to play consistently good footy gives you a starting point. What if Bing changes his mind or Collingwood offer $1.4 million over 8 years?
It’s never a done deal until it is.

but if we weren’t a serious chance - don’t you think the club would have stopped the noise?

Secondly if it doesn’t come off. Keep the currency and go buy something else. You have picks again and a war chest. Go shopping. Unsettle a player.

it isn’t the end of the world.

King, Clark, Coffield, Paton, Byrnes, bytel, Wilkie, Highmore, Connolly, Sharman.
From the last 4 drafts.
Butler and snags came in young too.

Our list is honestly in the best state it’s been since 2010
Obviously not as top heavy on elite talent as we were yet but we are building steadily.

I meant we have drafted less than other clubs. We have less under 21s than most clubs as well. We still have to turn those guys into seriously good consistent footballers or it's just the same as the Richo era and we'll be back here again. Remember when losing Dal and Goddard was going to mean all our talented kids would be given clear air?

That’s timing more then anything.

if we had free agency 20 years ago - we probably would have used it the same way. It came in as we were at the bottom.

Still Crouch is the only one of a decent standard I can think of. We would want to be playing finals to attract more as well.

What would you give up for Brodie?

I meant we have drafted less than other clubs. We have less under 21s than most clubs as well. We still have to turn those guys into seriously good consistent footballers or it's just the same as the Richo era and we'll be back here again. Remember when losing Dal and Goddard was going to mean all our talented kids would be given clear air?
And if we take a big crop of 5-6 this year. How do we stack up then?

you need to relax.

What would you give up for Brodie?
Don't know. But better than Dunstan.

Still I don't even think whomever we bring in wont take Dunstan's spot. Bytel will take that.

I would be concerned we are taking spread from the mids if we lose Ross and bring in just inside mids. As I wrote he can be covered with whom we have but wouldn't mind an outside mid with some toe.

And if we take a big crop of 5-6 this year. How do we stack up then?

you need to relax.
For a team with no kids, we got some hope from Connelly, Byrne's, Highmore, Sharman, and that old bloke Higgins.
And that's not even speaking about old mate Bytel.

I for one never thought that and never wanted those 2 to go.
It was a matter of salary cap pressure and we couldn’t afford them.

I know we have a low amount u21 compared to some clubs but just because you have kids doesn’t mean they are good..
Eg I know the pies and tigers have a lot of youth but a lot of those kids are rubbish.
Our talent in the u25 bracket would be up there with the best.
Steele, Marshall and Billings are only 25.
Our list demo quality gap is still in the older group that’s why we have been bringing in older guys.

its starting to balance out now, need to be going for both experience and youth this year.

Still I don't even think whomever we bring in wont take Dunstan's spot. Bytel will take that.

I would be concerned we are taking spread from the mids if we lose Ross and bring in just inside mids. As I wrote he can be covered with whom we have but wouldn't mind an outside mid with some toe.
Throwing it out there… but Sydney’s Dylan stephens is on the market.

For a team with no kids, we got some hope from Connelly, Byrne's, Highmore, Sharman, and that old bloke Higgins.
And that's not even speaking about old mate Bytel.
Got plenty of vets tho,
Steele, Marshall, Billings 25
Gresh 23
Skunk, Jones 27

sure Brodie better than dunstan?
Can’t get a game up at GC.

definitely need to improve our spread especially we lose seb.

Got plenty of vets tho,
Steele, Marshall, Billings 25
Gresh 23
Skunk, Jones 27

sure Brodie better than dunstan?
Can’t get a game up at GC.

definitely need to improve our spread especially we lose seb.
Matt crouch is better and gettable

We can move past Ross and dunstan without a problem, billings is incredibly underrated on here and isn’t the sort of player st Kilda should be moving on.

We have some young players I rate who can cover for Ross and dunstan but not billings as well. Ross and billings cover big distances loosing both would need someone who hasn’t been able to do that to step up or for us to go out and trade someone in.

If billings wants out and the compensation is right we may have shot ourselves in the foot playing hardball. I think Byrnes will get more midfield time and bytel would be an obvious choice, Clark probably moves into billings spot with Connolly getting the utility treatment.

Anyway when we get down to it all three are free agents so maybe in reality they all want out. I doubt Tom Morris has a hotline to the club and managers so he’s probably one jump ahead of bigfooty or just spitballing himself.

Camel ?

Geary is from an era where we were generally uncompetitive and bereft of any real leadership and star players. Apparently being out spoken and brave/hard working is good enough to be a captain.. let’s face it, Gears is a GOP that won’t get in most other sides’ backline, the fact that he is now 33 and can’t stay on the park should be enough reason to retire. We were not overly sentimental with Goddard, Dal Santo and Montagna/Riewoldt, need to be ruthless and cut the players that are not going to make impact; adds little to the team.. in the past we are way too conservative with recruiting/list turnover/player development.. time to turn a leaf.
I don't think he plays a huge on field, or off field role for us next year but the reality is we have a number of players who are just as injury prone, who offer less and are coming off the books as well. We can't shed them all in one off season to replace them with players who may never offer anything and simply take up a list spot.
You'd imagine we'd lose Hunter, Mckernan, Carlisle, Frawley, Lonie, Alambaskis, any of Billings, Ross, Dunstan and Battle, and that's almost a 1/4 of the playing list. You then have to replace it in a cost effective manner. This is usually done by rookies, kids, of veterans. Next year will be Geary's last. That's totally fine in my eyes.

You may be right in the short term but if all 3 stay and are mainstays in the team we won't come close to a flag in the long run.

I'd rather we try Bytel more in the guts and give him the license to try and improve as a footballer instead of picking the old mainstays so we can feel confident in getting Dunstan's 25 touches either dug out of a pack admittedly well or blasted on the boot aimlessly
This is one of the biggest myths on this board.

Every single premiership team has players a lot worse than Billings and Ross in them. A lot worse.