25. Dean Kent - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – tbc (approx. Friday November 19)

List Lodgement 1
tbc (approx. Thursday October 28)

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
tbc (approx. Friday October 29 - Monday November 8)

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
tbc (approx. Tuesday November 9)

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
tbc (approx. Wednesday November 10 - Friday November 19)

Last edited by a moderator:
I don’t mind having a Frawley game with the emphasis obv on mental health - but not that whole lead up in the middle. Hopefully that was just bc it was the first one and in future just do some media leading up to it. It was totally draining.
We present Maddie's Match and the Pride game so well where it doesnt interfere with the actual game but the message/cause is respected. Hopefully we can do that with this one, and have it be much more enjoyable to attend.

I like Dunstan, but I believe he was playing for his career. He was horrible in the Richmond game and not great again after his pp. Do you want him to play in the best 22? If not, I’ve already mentioned that he obv wants to, so whether we wanted to keep him or not it’s not our choice - he doesn’t want to stay, he’s gone. Doesn’t really matter what we want anyway, the coaches obviously feel that way.

Same question with Ross. And Gears. Do you think our team improves with them in our permanent best 22? I don’t. If we don’t get past those players we’re not going anywhere.

You want an exciting list, well when do our youngsters get a chance to step up and be exciting if you want the others playing? Ross too I’m sure would prefer to move and play seniors than playing at Sandy.

We’re not going anywhere with those three still in the senior team.

I don’t mind having a Frawley game with the emphasis obv on mental health - but not that whole lead up in the middle. Hopefully that was just bc it was the first one and in future just do some media leading up to it. It was totally draining.

I think Dunstan should have been depth and the worst of any of the mids should be pushed out. I keeps players like Crouch and Gresham etc honest as well with under performers pushed out. . The Dogs managed to keep Wallace around. It depends how keen we are on finals I guess. Cutting him and not having some ready made back up mids could be a real test of depth if we have another year like this one.

Our mids next year would be Steele, Jones, Crouch. Jones is very injury prone as was Crouch for much of his career. Gresham and Hanners may play but both have hardly played in the last 2 years.

Players like Clark, Higgins and Bytel might be able to transition in there and Byrnes may get into a starting midfield spot. Then who ever we recruit this year.

To me that's pretty thin and really leaves us vulnerable. If finals aren't a real issue cutting guys like Seb and Dunstan makes sense as you try to bring on kids and you cut the cord and don't give yourself the option of playing solid but limited players. I guess I hoped we'd stay up while playing finals and developing a youth brigade at the same time. By the time Dunny is ready to move on Bytel and Byrnes types are ready to step in.

I think Dunstan should have been depth and the worst of any of the mids should be pushed out.

Not looking for a fight gringo, and not after a gotcha at all, but a few pages back you posted that players in modern AFL need to be able to run both ways all game (or words to that affect).

I am interested in why you are so bullish on Dunstan remaining with your previous view in mind and a commonly held view that Dunstan patently does not run both ways and one of his greatest weaknesses.

The us vs Carlton list debate reminds me of the one we used to have with Melbourne a few years ago. It was always their midfield was better than ours but we’re ahead at all the other positions with better depth. Now look where Melbourne have gotten to. McKay, Walsh, Cripps, Cerra and Weitering is a damn good young core, it’s really not that far off Dusty, Cotchin, Edwards, Riewoldt and Rance from a few years ago. As painful as it is unless we pass them with A grade players in the middle they will go past us eventually.

Meh, we saw what Gags could do with picks 6 & 56, plus a couple of future 2020 picks in 2019…. So I’m prepared for anything

That was timing, GWS had Tom Green who they wanted to get their picks in front of so were happy to try to get in the top picks. They ended up with Ash by trading up which meant they could make up Green a top 10 talent out of junk picks.

We also lost Jack Steven, Josh Bruce and got compo for Hickey and paid for Hanners in that draft.

Brought in Howard, Ryder, Jones, Butler and Hill. Byrnes and Connolly in the draft.

Time will tell how much difference it made to our fortunes but that was a very nice draft. Could have had some nice kids at 6 or even with the two GWS picks....Kozi Pickett was one we missed out on. Howard, Jones and Byrnes are long term pieces of our best 22. Hill has been disappointing and probably not a trade we'd want to do again. Ryder short term has been great but just a shame we didn't have a 25 year old Ryder. Connolly looks pretty promising. Butler had a great first season but not quite able to back it up.

I think Dunstan should have been depth and the worst of any of the mids should be pushed out. I keeps players like Crouch and Gresham etc honest as well with under performers pushed out. . The Dogs managed to keep Wallace around. It depends how keen we are on finals I guess. Cutting him and not having some ready made back up mids could be a real test of depth if we have another year like this one.

Our mids next year would be Steele, Jones, Crouch. Jones is very injury prone as was Crouch for much of his career. Gresham and Hanners may play but both have hardly played in the last 2 years.

Players like Clark, Higgins and Bytel might be able to transition in there and Byrnes may get into a starting midfield spot. Then who ever we recruit this year.

To me that's pretty thin and really leaves us vulnerable. If finals aren't a real issue cutting guys like Seb and Dunstan makes sense as you try to bring on kids and you cut the cord and don't give yourself the option of playing solid but limited players. I guess I hoped we'd stay up while playing finals and developing a youth brigade at the same time. By the time Dunny is ready to move on Bytel and Byrnes types are ready to step in.

Wallis is a massive chance to leave the Dogs during free agency. 12 months ago he was in the best 22 but Weightman & a few others are now preferred.

Come to think of it, he wouldn't be a bad replacement for Dunstan should we not look like getting compo and especially if we flick a few of the peripheral small forwards.

Not looking for a fight gringo, and not after a gotcha at all, but a few pages back you posted that players in modern AFL need to be able to run both ways all game (or words to that affect).

I am interested in why you are so bullish on Dunstan remaining with your previous view in mind and a commonly held view that Dunstan patently does not run both ways and one of his greatest weaknesses.

Dunstan does run both ways, you have made that bit up to justify your opinions. Dunstan was good when he got back in. I can buy that he might have played to an unsustainable level but his 2021 was easily his best footy and looked like he belonged in the best 22 easily. His fortunes and the sides turn around coincided. Having Crouch locked away is what probably pushed him out as we'd already replaced him. People excuse Clark but he is proper one way, if he moves into the mids he has to change that.

That was timing, GWS had Tom Green who they wanted to get their picks in front of so were happy to try to get in the top picks. They ended up with Ash by trading up which meant they could make up Green a top 10 talent out of junk picks.

We also lost Jack Steven, Josh Bruce and got compo for Hickey and paid for Hanners in that draft.

Brought in Howard, Ryder, Jones, Butler and Hill. Byrnes and Connolly in the draft.

Time will tell how much difference it made to our fortunes but that was a very nice draft. Could have had some nice kids at 6 or even with the two GWS picks....Kozi Pickett was one we missed out on. Howard, Jones and Byrnes are long term pieces of our best 22. Hill has been disappointing and probably not a trade we'd want to do again. Ryder short term has been great but just a shame we didn't have a 25 year old Ryder. Connolly looks pretty promising. Butler had a great first season but not quite able to back it up.

So it was really nothing much according to you and everyone has been a disappointment. Where was Rors wrong a FRDP and junk for 5 first 22 quality players.

Oh the great failure Hill was 5th in the B&F, yeah really bad.

All I’m saying is that we can see what Gags can do. We already have picks 9, 46 & 64, so basically already have enough for a 1st round selection & 1 of the NGA boys. Now making a few moves, I can’t see why it’s so unfathomable to end up with another 1st rounder & 2 more later picks 🤷🏻‍♂️

Dunstan does run both ways, you have made that bit up to justify your opinions. Dunstan was good when he got back in. I can buy that he might have played to an unsustainable level but his 2021 was easily his best footy and looked like he belonged in the best 22 easily. His fortunes and the sides turn around coincided. Having Crouch locked away is what probably pushed him out as we'd already replaced him. People excuse Clark but he is proper one way, if he moves into the mids he has to change that.

Dunstan is terrible once the ball gets out of the contest mate. Has always been the case. His next chase will be his first.

Hunts needs to improve that but he's 5 years behind Dunstan.

Dunstan does run both ways, you have made that bit up to justify your opinions.

Absolute garbage, that is recognised not by people on here (which has been recognised) but by the coaches and one of the big reasons he is out. He absolutely does not run both ways. His defensive running is non existent. Really weird Dunstan is the hill you have chosen to die on, especially on his defence

Look because you have contradicted yourself with Dunstan do go down the path of playing the man not the question.

I like Dunstan, but I believe he was playing for his career. He was horrible in the Richmond game and not great again after his pp. Do you want him to play in the best 22? If not, I’ve already mentioned that he obv wants to, so whether we wanted to keep him or not it’s not our choice - he doesn’t want to stay, he’s gone. Doesn’t really matter what we want anyway, the coaches obviously feel that way.

Same question with Ross. And Gears. Do you think our team improves with them in our permanent best 22? I don’t. If we don’t get past those players we’re not going anywhere.

You want an exciting list, well when do our youngsters get a chance to step up and be exciting if you want the others playing? Ross too I’m sure would prefer to move and play seniors than playing at Sandy.

We’re not going anywhere with those three still in the senior team.

Plus the fact that just about every special event game we stuff it up

Dunstan is so good that GC are considering him for a rookie spot lol

Dunstan is terrible once the ball gets out of the contest mate. Has always been the case. His next chase will be his first.

Hunts needs to improve that but he's 5 years behind Dunstan.

No I made it up apparently, only I, about 100 posters on here and all the coaches can see it, so it is made up.

You are absolutely right, refuses to chase. His best chance to be on a list so far is being rookied by GC (from reports so far). Hardly an endorsement of his midfield worth.

They seemed to move the ball really well and looked fluid while we stuttered and bumbled around but stayed with in reach without ever looking like we had any energy to jump over them. My memory is pretty sh*t these days though.
What about during the period where we kicked 5 goals to none in about half a quarter (from the 25 minute mark of the 1st quarter, to the 11 minute mark of the 2nd), to go out to a 39-23 lead?

They didn’t kick a goal for almost a full quarter. Kicking just two behinds (and one rushed) from the 21 min mark of the first to the 19 min mark of the 2nd.

Then Kossie Pickett sparked them to life with a few bits of brilliance and we stopped like we were shot and forgot how to kick a football to someone in a similar outfit.

Their changes from that game to the GF were:

Out: Tomlinson Jones Jordan Hunt Jetta
In: Brown Harmes Hibberd Bowey Petty

While for that match we didn’t have any of the following:

Ryder Marshall Crouch Hannebery Paton Sharman McKenzie Geary Byrnes

Prediction:

- Minimum of 3 of Dunstan, Ross, Long, Battle & Coffield will be gone by the end of this trade period.

- We will have two 1st rounders between picks 7 & 15, and also enough later picks for our NGA boys

Now let’s get this show on the road 🔥
You are really are Nostradamus reincarnated .....maybe not ?

Also Dunstan shouldn't have been dropped last round - that was, to put it mildly, a harsh call on him.