Unofficial Preview Changes & Pre-match Discussion - Round 16 vs. GC Suns, Sat 02/07, 7:25pm MS

Nah he's better than that.

Dean's someone who was unlucky not to be drafted, cut his teeth for Williamstown and now is an impressive prospect. If you are a spud of a player and haven't shown much, you wouldn't be re-contracted until 2024.
Don’t get me wrong we know he can play football but it’s a step up from VFL and as much as anyone I hope he transitions well and impacts positively, maybe a quiet side bet he does but I’m not putting my house on it.

Been worried about Dean ever since I noted his name was an anagram of 'a chandelier', which, according to the Urban Dictionary, is 'a pretty person on the outside, but whose actually s***e' Hope not!

(as noted in the "players' anagrams" thread posted yesterday)

I have not seem much of Poulter this year but I do have a gew questions about him & so if anybody can assist, then that would be very much appreciated. OK.

1. Has he put on any weight/muscle after his 2nd pre-season?

2. Is he a player that runs in both directions as a wingman or mid-fielder in terms of both an attacking mindset as well as a defensive mindset when needed?

3. How would you rate his disposal out of 10?

4. What is his intensity like when he is competing for the ball in terms of repated efforts & tackling?

5. A question that I think tends to go under the radar in 2022 but is he more of an athlete playing football or does he possess genuine footy smarts?

Anyway, I will see what unfolds. Good luck & goodnight.

1. Looks like he has but is still slight
2. I don't think he runs much defensively
3. 6/10
4. Intensity seems to fluctuate
5. Footballer first

I'd like for them to experiment with Grundy as a forward. If anyone has the attitude it won't work, Grundy hasn't had a fair shot at it and as a team, it's healthy to experiment.

Grundy should not just be a ruck. Pure rucks are a dying breed. The best have another trick. For Cameron, it's part-time goal-kicking and marking. For Cox, it's being Cox and his unorthodox self which involves numerous instances of small forward abilities and revving up the crowd. With Grundy, we don't see to much else apart from rucking. To me, developing forward craft is smart move for all parties.
Wasn't the great thing that Grundy offered was his ruck roving capability. This is surely "another trick".

It’s also based on ability and probability.

There is plenty of time between now and when Grundy is due to return for Cox to fall in a heap or for Grundy to have a recovery setback, or for him to return too late to warrant anything other than games to build his fitness in the VFL. One thing for certain is that the two rucks currently playing are putting a rocket up Grundy's rear end by teaming so well together and also highlighting the deficiencies in Grundy's game through strong marking around the ground, accurate disposal in general play and kicking goals.

There is plenty of time between between now and when Grundy is due to return for Cox to fall in a heap or for Grundy to have a recovery setback, or for him to return too late to warrant anything other than games to build his fitness in the VFL. One thing for certain is that the two rucks currently playing are putting a rocket up Grundy's rear end by teaming so well together and also highlighting the deficiencies in Grundy's game through strong marking around the ground, accurate disposal in general play and kicking goals.
To be fair, Cox has only kicked two goals.

I had Cameron in mind rather than Cox for goal kicking. I am hoping Cox is going to acquit himself well against Witts in the ruck this week. He needs to consistently produce the kind of form he displayed two weeks back to really threaten Grundy's immediate return to AFL football.

Very happy to see DeGoey back in. Like the selection of Ruscoe as well - not a surprise given he was sub last week and has been playing in defence.

Given the lack of "talls" in defence I would expect Cameron/Cox to drop back regularly to impact some contests and take a few marks.

How I hope to see us line up:

B - Quaynor Moore Maynard
HB - N.Daicos Murphy Crisp
C - J.Daicos DeGoey Sidebottom
HF - Elliott Cameron McCreery
F - Ginnivan Mihochek Henry
R - Cox Adams Pendlebury
INT - Lipinski WHE Noble Ruscoe

Chugg/Madgen to be the travelling emergencies/sub.

Carmichael won't debut as a sub.. surely.
Bianco a bit more work to do in the VFL.

Looking at the teams from round 7 when we beat them by 25 points, there are changes.

Madgen, T. Brown, C. Brown and Begg have been replaced by Murphy, Henry, Elliot and Cox. Then Howe is out for Ruscoe. Overall our ins are an upgrade, I think, other than Ruscoe for Howe.

Our defence at that time struggled with Casboult who started to look like Carey as he was left on his own or with lesser sized defenders as Darcy became the whipping boy for straying from his forward. I think our defensive structure has been improved since then but Howe is a big out. This will need to be addressed. The rain will help.

For them, there are changes to their team from the one we played - L. Weller, Alex Davies, Will Powell and Jye Farrar are all out due to injury. I don’t know enough about their replacements to assess the overall picture but Weller and Davies are significant outs and I am assuming that the ins are not walk up best 22. It looks like an overall downgrade.

Having said that, the Suns are playing better now and players like Ainsworth and Rankine have been big improvers since that time.

I am not sure why, other than the game being at Metricon the tipsters are favouring the Suns when Pies are in good form, beat them comfortably before and our system and personnel are improved since that time. I am assuming the prospect of Collingwood winning 6 in a row is too much to bear for some commentators.

The rain will favour the Pies territory based game style (as it did in Freo) and I am not sure that the fact the Suns beat Blues and Dockers at Metricon (oft-quoted) necessarily means that they will beat the Pies. The game plans are different and slippery conditions less of an issue for us.

My only hesitation is simply because I am not used to winning so many games in a row and you expect to drop one somewhere along the way. Given we play Norf, Bombers and Adelaide, this seemed to be most logical as a 50/50 proposition.

If Collingwood wins this, we will have won the same number of games in a row as we won the whole of last year!

I trust the coaching crew to have a plan in place to address the weaknesses from last time, even missing Jeremy Howe.

Jordy will have something to prove, IQ will have his 50th and they did not have to deal with Jamie or Ollie last time. Murphy will be mad with courage. They won’t have the benefit of turnovers from the Brown boys or Madge. The ruck is more settled with Cameron/Cox.

Pies by 20 points.

Perhaps a Pink Floyd inspired sign:
‘Hey Robbo, leave our Jordy alone!’
Or maybe a Sex Pistols inspired:

" Mark was a drunk from Bendigo
His english is an abortion
He has a lack of integrity
His name is Robbo, he lies through his teeth.

Robbo, OH! Your just a fantasist.
Robbo, OH! Miserable ****!"

I had Cameron in mind rather than Cox for goal kicking. I am hoping Cox is going to acquit himself well against Witts in the ruck this week. He needs to consistently produce the kind of form he displayed two weeks back to really threaten Grundy's immediate return to AFL football.
Watched the last couple of games in replay.
Have a Look at Cox legs.
I reckon he has chunked up a bit.

No longer the baby giraffe flailing around as he was.

Watched the last couple of games in replay.
Have a Look at Cox legs.
I reckon he has chunked up a bit.

No longer the baby giraffe flailing around as he was.

Stood next to him recently, you are spot on. He's much more solid build than a few years ago.

Are we too small or light in defence this week?
Chol and Casboult …only Moore as the recognised big.

Ruscoe for Howe?

I’ll back Craig on this one …let’s see

Are we too small or light in defence this week?
Chol and Casboult …only Moore as the recognised big.

Ruscoe for Howe?

I’ll back Craig on this one …let’s see

Was looking at Ruscoe last Sunday, when he participated in the warm ups as the sub. I was surprised at how big he looked. Not taller, just stronger and more muscular. At least that was my impression from over the fence.

Been worried about Dean ever since I noted his name was an anagram of 'a chandelier', which, according to the Urban Dictionary, is 'a pretty person on the outside, but whose actually s***e' Hope not!

(as noted in the "players' anagrams" thread posted yesterday)
His name is also an anagram of "Enchilada re" which means he is delicious mate.

Or he is also "Deca Hernial" which means he could be 10x pain in the arse

But he is also "Arachnid Eel" which means he could be slippery and have legs everywhere which is a positive...

Who knows...

Was looking at Ruscoe last Sunday, when he participated in the warm ups as the sub. I was surprised at how big he looked. Not taller, just stronger and more muscular. At least that was my impression from over the fence.
He hasn't had a great year in the VFL. I thought he would be an AFL regular but not the case.

Well, another door has opened for him…now it’s his turn to shine & give the selectors another headache.