Banter Who will be Better in 2025, Collingwood or Carlton? Part 4

Banter threads are not to be taken too seriously. Have fun. Let others have fun.

Who will be better in 2025

• Collingwood

Votes: 126 52.1%
  • Carlton

Votes: 116 47.9%

Crisp formline in club best and fairests:
4, 3, 3, 1, 1, 7, 4
Also a proven elite finals player (including being awarded the club's best finals player in the 2023 premiership year).

And you reckon Acres is on the field ahead of him in a combined team?
As a winger Crisp isn’t as good as Acres. He has played better as a half back and a midfielder. Bench spot fits, as he isn’t as good as others for the other roles. Acres is a quality winger.

Crisp gets on the field, anywhere, ahead of Acres.

Sidebottom is also ahead of Acres as a wingman.

Acres not fit to walk in Crisps shadow. I don’t think you realise how good Crisp is. How many B and Fs has Acres won? How many big finals has Acres peformed in? How many top 3 B and F finished has Acres had? Crisp also starts before Newman every day of the week.

I'm not sure what your point is here. Walsh has accumulated more Brownlow votes over the past 4 years than Degoey has for his entire career.
This is an easy game to play, comparing stats

Thanks for admitting Nick Daicos is the GOAT. Stunning admission. Huge morning for Collingwood supporters when Worm4 admits this.

I've seen many opinions ( experts and journalists , people within the AFL industry) and not one of them , zero, bagels, Leon Davis GF stats, donuts, has ever rated N Daicos as the GOAT. Just you, and your old mate. Happy for you to show some official listing

Incorrect, as usual.

I won't talk for SOTY, but I have postulated whether he can be the GOAT, given the outstanding and unprecedented start to his career, in the same way others in the media have also made the same comments.

By the way, you joke about Leon Davis' Grand Final stats, but here is a list of other players who are yet to have a single possession in a Grand Final:
Patrick Cripps
Charlie Curnow
Jacob Weitering
Sam Walsh

I could go on, but I expect you get the picture...

I don’t think Nick Daicos is the GOAT. He may well be in the discussion one day. I have never said he is GOAT ever. Leigh Mathews is the GOAT and by a long way. You were using Brownlow votes as a metric of who was better and by this you are indicating that Nick Daicos has out performed everyone in history to date.

Come back to me after 10 years we will see how those numbers stack up. Longevity clearly is the key

Incorrect, as usual.

I won't talk for SOTY, but I have postulated whether he can be the GOAT, given the outstanding and unprecedented start to his career, in the same way others in the media have also made the same comments.

By the way, you joke about Leon Davis' Grand Final stats, but here is a list of other players who are yet to have a single possession in a Grand Final:
Patrick Cripps
Charlie Curnow
Jacob Weitering
Sam Walsh

So Leon has played footy on grand final day and has as many touches as those players you listed . Sick set of stats.
Edit - he played a few GFs . At least his stats got better with time.

Incorrect, as usual.

Patrick Cripps
Charlie Curnow
Jacob Weitering
Sam Walsh

Incredibly Jordan De Goey as a midfielder averages more goals in Grand Finals than Curnow does in all finals as a key forward.,

It's just unfortunate for Charlie that he doesn't get double up games against the bottom 3 teams during finals series' on the rare occasions his team qualifies first finals....

So Leon has played footy on grand final day and has as many touches as those players you listed . Sick set of stats.
Edit - he played a few GFs . At least his stats got better with time.

The concern is that those players playing together have not been good enough to get to Grand Final day.

Weitering + Moore
Quaynor + Maynard
Saad + Houston

is my back 6.

Cripps TDK Naicos Walsh Crisp and Jaicos are my midfielders

DeGoey ( if fit ) Harry McCreery
Elliott Charlie Hill

is my forward line

IC: Cerra Pendelbury McGovern Cameron
sub: Hewett

Carlton 0 flags in 30 years
Carlton 1 flag in 37 years

Carlton the laughing stock of the AFL
But if you stretch it back another four decades it's Carlton eight flags and Collingwood three flags.

Would that not suggest that Collingwood is the bigger laughing stock?

The fact these brain rotten Pies would even suggest a washed up Steele Sidebottom is getting picked ahead of Acres these days is evidence enough that they've got no clue about footy.

View attachment 2208815
Where in that table does it highlight the shutdown jobs each of the players did on the likes of Gulden and Neale?

By the way, Steele finished 5th in the Pies Best and Fairest in 2024. What is Acres' highest club best and fairest finish, ever?

Where in that table does it highlight the shutdown jobs each of the players did on the likes of Gulden and Neale?
Oh... Well I guess Finn Maginness is a superstar of the comp by that measure then?

Fadge theres no argument here. Sidebottom is washed up as hell and isn't close to Acres these days - And Acres isn't even in the top couple of wingers in the league.

Sidebottom is washed upppppppppppppppppppppp

Oh... Well I guess Finn Maginness is a superstar of the comp by that measure then?

Fadge theres no argument here. Sidebottom is washed up as hell and isn't close to Acres these days - And Acres isn't even in the top couple of wingers in the league.

Sidebottom is washed upppppppppppppppppppppp
Answer my other question about b&f finishes...

Steele's so washed up that he finished higher in his club's 2024 best and fairest than Blake Acres ever has in his...

But according to Walshy, there's no argument...
Tougher competition at the Blues. As you always go on about, our top 6 is arguably the best there is in the league and then it drops away massively. Isn't that the line you've been peddling for years?

Sidebottom is factually a lesser player than Acres by every measure going into 2025. It's not even close really, just look at the stats linked above.