Autopsy Cats lose to Saints by 7 points - should have been more

Ok, so no Stewart against Brisbane

Rhys comes in plays ruck position
SDK starts in key defender position
CatToTheFuture starts in the foetal position

Simple?

No. Stanley cooked.

To the half, Danger had 5 disposals. Holmes 6. Cameron 6. Close 5. Miers 3. Bowes 6. Dempsey 5. Henry 3.

These aren’t second stringers. They are our senior and experienced players. We were entirely let down by these guys failing to stand up.

In the first half, Clark 9. Knevitt 7 with 5 tackles, O’Sullivan 7.

Yes entirely the issue is the midfield, as it was in the third quarter last week. Totally out coached here, however, blaming the kids when they stood up more than the leaders is totally incorrect.
That's a tad disingenuous imo. He was talking about our 2nd tier mids.
So Cameron, Close, Miers, Dempsey and Henry (whichever you were referring to) are not relevant in the discussion.

Bowes, Atkins, Clark, Blicavs, Knevitt and Bruhn over the last couple of seasons since Selwood retired have shown to not be able to do the job without Danger and/or Holmes doing the lionshare. And tonight Holmes was well tagged by Windhager and despite Baz being a withdrawal and not being able to call on TB we still used Danger forward and we got the predictable result in the midfield.

Some will point to Knevitt showing some positive signs, or Clark displaying some nice traits.
Other clubs with 1-3 year mids are already producing 25-30 touch games on the regular. And our 2nd tier mids not being able to get to that level, experienced or otherwise, is a clear sign that this is our weakness still. 20 touches should be the bare minimum for a full time midfielder.

Calm down a bit yeah

I doubt there's a Geelong supporter who walked away from tonight's game doing cartwheels, but folks are allowed to try and find positives from the match - and looking at how some of our youngsters played should be seen as good signs going forward

Not sure the third paragraph is necessary or really adds anything to the discussion - though it could be seen as somewhat insulting to supporters and unnecessarily add fuel to the fire when it's not needed
Find positives when we lose to a bottom four team… come on… that’s just silly. You find positives in games in which you play good sides and come up short.:. This isn’t close.

For what it’s worth, the third ‘paragraph’ is a sentence not a paragraph.

Well it is CatGPT. You'll be lucky if it tells you to get the misspelled name of a former football player instead of telling to get LeBron James.

LeBron also cannot play next week
Is Bronny available? Maybe footy is his sport. NBA sure as hell isn't.

Yeah, the chips were down early when he had gas in the tank. He has a really good quarter in him, a quarter where he's second to the contest, half a quarter where he's plodding, and a quarter and a half where he's on the bench.

I don't know what he has to do to improve his endurance but he has to do it

Running coach all year and diet management to the Max.

Is Bronny available? Maybe footy is his sport. NBA sure as hell isn't.

Bronny is more useless than our useless cavalcade of rucks the last 10 years.

It’s just a game go have a early night and sleep it off

Round 2 it’s not the end of the season
That’s the definition of a loser attitude. I’ve not said it’s the end of the season. Realistically in such an even competition you’ve got to win these types of games. We ****ed up badly. Can we get it together and go deep..
Of course. But we’ve just made it harder.

That's a tad disingenuous imo. He was talking about our 2nd tier mids.
So Cameron, Close, Miers, Dempsey and Henry (whichever you were referring to) are not relevant in the discussion.

Bowes, Atkins, Clark, Blicavs, Knevitt and Bruhn over the last couple of seasons since Selwood retired have shown to not be able to do the job without Danger and/or Holmes doing the lionshare. And tonight Holmes was well tagged by Windhager and despite Baz being a withdrawal and not being able to call on TB we still used Danger forward and we got the predictable result in the midfield.

Some will point to Knevitt showing some positive signs, or Clark displaying some nice traits.
Other clubs with 1-3 year mids are already producing 25-30 touch games on the regular. And our 2nd tier mids not being able to get to that level, experienced or otherwise, is a clear sign that this is our weakness still. 20 touches should be the bare minimum for a full time midfielder.

My point.

When the game was being taken over, experienced players should have taken more load.

Danger, for whatever reason, didn’t think his leadership would be better in the midfield when we were getting hammered.

That’s my point entirely.

Secondary to that was those players, who are experienced enough to give a toss, to actually try to win the ball. Those I listed also.

To continuously blame the younger kids, when these senior players float about with no accountability, is daft.

And here you are.

But true. Clark can't run out full games yet and a few other guys are lazy (such as both ollies).

The only time I thought Dempsey was lazy, was when he failed to get in front. Outmarked on a ball that was clearly signalled as coming to the wing. It was the night for it. Shocked that Holmes, after he slipped, didnt even bother to jump on the mark, they kicked a point anyway, which said he could have assisted in that, but had given up!

My point.

When the game was being taken over, experienced players should have taken more load.

Danger, for whatever reason, didn’t think his leadership would be better in the midfield when we were getting hammered.

That’s my point entirely.

Secondary to that was those players, who are experienced enough to give a toss, to actually try to win the ball. Those I listed also.

To continuously blame the younger kids, when these senior players float about with no accountability, is daft.

And here you are.

I've been strong on this, we're in a position we haven't been in for a long time with these youngsters.

Some of them may never get any better, but in the meantime, we're going to face some teething issues.

Even guys like SDK, Holmes, and Baz who are seen as some of our frontliners now (who we expect a lot out of) aren't exactly grizzled veterans.

They're going to face their own challenges as they develop their respective games. Holmes dealing with a tag, SDK his positional changes, and Baz getting his legs back under him.

Then it's Dempsey, COS, Knevitt, Henry, Humphries, Neale, Clark, Mullin, and Clohesy.

It's a huge jump from where we've been for so long, and as supporters, our expectations probably should shift as well.

Anyway, the most frustrating thing about tonight was the effort, particularly with our game-plan.

When you play a style based on pressure, it's really easy to tell when you're 'on' or 'off' as a supporter. You can judge it within five minutes.

With a really tough stretch coming up, it's annoying to drop these games that we should be winning if we'd just prepared with a bit more respect for the opposition...but alas, just gotta move on, and hope for better next week.

Not expecting a win, particularly with Stewart, Baz, and Danger all either certain or potential outs, but if the efforts there, that's all you can ask for.

That’s the definition of a loser attitude. I’ve not said it’s the end of the season. Realistically in such an even competition you’ve got to win these types of games. We ****ed up badly. Can we get it together and go deep..
Of course. But we’ve just made it harder.

Mate, you've just contradicted yourself. Either STK are a bottom four side in one post or they are participants in an even competition in your next post. They played outside themselves tonight, and we played shite but were good enough to fight back. Get off your high horse, for all we know it may still be the only game we lose.

I've been strong on this, we're in a position we haven't been in for a long time with these youngsters.

Some of them may never get any better, but in the meantime, we're going to face some teething issues.

Even guys like SDK, Holmes, and Baz who are seen as some of our frontliners now (who we expect a lot out of) aren't exactly grizzled veterans.

They're going to face their own challenges as they develop their respective games. Holmes dealing with a tag, SDK his positional changes, and Baz getting his legs back under him.

Then it's Dempsey, COS, Knevitt, Henry, Humphries, Neale, Clark, Mullin, and Clohesy.

It's a huge jump from where we've been for so long, and as supporters, our expectations probably should shift as well.

Anyway, the most frustrating thing about tonight was the effort, particularly with our game-plan.

When you play a style based on pressure, it's really easy to tell when you're 'on' or 'off' as a supporter. You can judge it within five minutes.

With a really tough stretch coming up, it's annoying to drop these games that we should be winning if we'd just prepared with a bit more respect for the opposition...but alas, just gotta move on, and hope for better next week.

Not expecting a win, particularly with Stewart, Baz, and Danger all either certain or potential outs, but if the efforts there, that's all you can ask for.

Smartest thing I've read all day....and I read a lot.

Minor adjustment, but I reckon the club needs to consider the way they deploy Dangerfield in his Autumn Years.

Just watched Chris Scott's Rd 2 defeat presser and he stated that ''if we're getting the ball to him then we'll play him forward, if not then he'll come up the ground''.

I think it might be more beneficial to spread his midfield minutes by playing him in the initial 5 minutes of every quarter, then having him drift into the F50.

Mate, you've just contradicted yourself. Either STK are a bottom four side in one post or they are participants in an even competition in your next post. They played outside themselves tonight, and we played shite but were good enough to fight back. Get off your high horse, for all we know it may still be the only game we lose.
🤣🤣🤣🤣 I’ll take that bet! How much you want to outlay chief??

Stk can be a bottom four side in an even competition. Just means they’re one of the worst teams in the spectrum of even teams… someone has to finish on the bottom no matter what.

Realistically we should never have needed to ‘fight back’. Cats should have won this by 4-5 goals. We didn’t so it’s a setback. Losing to lions in Brisbane is understandable. Losing to saints is not

🤣🤣🤣🤣 I’ll take that bet! How much you want to outlay chief??

Stk can be a bottom four side in an even competition. Just means they’re one of the worst teams in the spectrum of even teams… someone has to finish on the bottom no matter what.

Realistically we should never have needed to ‘fight back’. Cats should have won this by 4-5 goals. We didn’t so it’s a setback. Losing to lions in Brisbane is understandable. Losing to saints is not

Nice back pedal mate.
I only bet on Smiths, so no cigar.

Just watched the last quarter on tv.

Atkins was enormous.

COS will more than make it, he was outstanding. A rush of blood at the end shoots for goal. C. Scott picks up the phone, then puts it down with a wry smile.

It was probably the more experienced players that were a bit disappointing tonight. The kids did well.

It’s a long season. A very inexperienced side tonight at Marvel where it doesn’t really matter. Sure, it’s annoying to lose, but to lose by a little over a goal after being absolutely outplayed isn’t too bad.

In Chris Scott I trust.

Autopsy Cats lose to Saints by 7 points - should have been more